Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

myqd
post Dec 10 2008, 07:38 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(swine @ Dec 10 2008, 04:44 PM)
the thing i notice is the sound is lower volume in DTS..may i shud tested it out wit other DVDs.. tongue.gif

1) wat u eman by calibrating properly? recalibrate Audyssey again? but i m using pasar malam DVDs.. tongue.gif
the volume is DTS should be louder then DD,i mean using normal durian DVDs.

re-calibrate or 1st time audyssey calibration doesnt need and DVDs smile.gif

swine
post Dec 10 2008, 09:36 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(augustinesoh @ Dec 10 2008, 07:14 PM)
I am currently watching Astro upscaled to 720p by my Onkyo and do notice a difference in PQ.
Depending on which analogue connection you are currently using, PQ may or may not be better. If you are using component video then with DVD being only an SD source, the PQ should be about on par with HDMI. If your DVD player has HDMI out and TV has HDMI in, you should still consider using HDMI if only because it's current technology. Not so sure about sound quality, though. If you're already outputting audio from your DVD player using a digital audio connection (e.g., optical or coaxial), then i would say there is little difference compared to HDMI. I'm guessing it only really makes a difference with HD content (e.g., Bluray) with HD audio sources such as Dolby TrueHD or DTS HD MA.
1) my dvd dun support HDMI, now using coaxial cable for audio connection, adviceable to upgrade to HDMI players? will the diff be huge?
2) if suppose i get a HDMI player with upscaling capabilites, any diff comapring with the 805 doing the upscaling job? the end product is a much more higher picture quality?

Added on December 10, 2008, 9:40 pm
QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 10 2008, 07:38 PM)
the volume is DTS should be louder then DD,i mean using normal durian DVDs.

re-calibrate or 1st time audyssey calibration doesnt need and DVDs  smile.gif
erm..so adviceable to use DTS for movie and concerts most of the time? after selecting DTS do i need switch to THX cinema from the remote control? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by swine: Dec 10 2008, 09:40 PM
augustinesoh
post Dec 11 2008, 08:28 AM

103 posts

[quote=swine,Dec 10 2008, 09:36 PM]
1) my dvd dun support HDMI, now using coaxial cable for audio connection, adviceable to upgrade to HDMI players? will the diff be huge?
2) if suppose i get a HDMI player with upscaling capabilites, any diff comapring with the 805 doing the upscaling job? the end product is a much more higher picture quality?

Upgrading to HDMI would not make a huge difference for SD sources such as DVDs. If you are currently connecting via component video and coaxial digital audio you should be good. Having said that, with the current crop of DVD players costing less than (or maybe just a little over) RM200 (even for the branded ones) and with most of them equipped with HDMI out as well as 1080p upscaling, it may be worth considering an upgrade, esp. if your TV supports 1080p (or 1080i). In this case, you should let either the DVD player or your TV's built-in upscaling engine take care of the upscaling.
swine
post Dec 11 2008, 09:15 AM

157 posts

[quote=augustinesoh,Dec 11 2008, 08:28 AM]
[quote=swine,Dec 10 2008, 09:36 PM]

Upgrading to HDMI would not make a huge difference for SD sources such as DVDs. If you are currently connecting via component video and coaxial digital audio you should be good. Having said that, with the current crop of DVD players costing less than (or maybe just a little over) RM200 (even for the branded ones) and with most of them equipped with HDMI out as well as 1080p upscaling, it may be worth considering an upgrade, esp. if your TV supports 1080p (or 1080i). In this case, you should let either the DVD player or your TV's built-in upscaling engine take care of the upscaling.

[/quote]
branded HDMI player cost around RM400, with my existing still working fine, throw away kinda waste..just thinking save the $$ wait for blu ray to drop or get the hdmi player hmm.gif

if i get the HDMI player, how many hdmi cable to i need? from HDMI to AVR, den from AVR to LCD? 2 HDMI cable?
rakyat
post Dec 11 2008, 09:43 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(swine @ Dec 11 2008, 09:15 AM)
branded HDMI player cost around RM400, with my existing still working fine, throw away kinda waste..just thinking save the $$ wait for blu ray to drop or get the hdmi player hmm.gif

if i get the HDMI player, how many hdmi cable to i need? from HDMI to AVR, den from AVR to LCD? 2 HDMI cable?
U need to check ur calibration manually after audessy as they default front speakers as full range and sumtimes centre & surround oso. But most likely ur got "all channel DTS" since u r usin pasar malam DVD i.e. made in pasar malam punya DTS. Go pinjam ori DVD and try again.

LG HDMI DVDP can get RM260 + free HDMI cable sumor. For 805 jus connect the hdmi directly to ur LCD (DVDP will upscale to 1080p instead of onkyo's 720p) w. audio into AVR so no need 2 hdmi cables.

Actually, component oso good enuf for DVDs but RM260.00 for 50% more resolution and the satisfaction of pushin ur LCD to its potential & get hdmi cable..... up to ur budget-la
myqd
post Dec 11 2008, 11:51 AM

2,247 posts

about audyssey auto set up,what're the disavantage if setting the front LR and Center to FullBand ? ( cos mine it set LR and center to Fullband )

Added on December 11, 2008, 11:54 am
QUOTE(swine @ Dec 10 2008, 09:36 PM)
erm..so adviceable to use DTS for movie and concerts most of the time? after selecting DTS do i need switch to THX  cinema from the remote control? hmm.gif
Normally i after selecting DTS in DVDP,i juz use DTS with my 876,sometimes i do try THX Neo 7.1 if tangan gatal since no harm,juz personal liking tongue.gif

This post has been edited by myqd: Dec 11 2008, 11:54 AM
rakyat
post Dec 11 2008, 12:15 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 11 2008, 11:51 AM)
about audyssey auto set up,what're the disavantage if setting the front LR and Center to FullBand ? ( cos mine it set LR and center to Fullband )

Added on December 11, 2008, 11:54 am

Normally i after selecting DTS in DVDP,i juz use DTS with my 876,sometimes i do try THX Neo 7.1 if tangan gatal since no harm,juz personal liking  tongue.gif
Very few speakers r fullband (20hz to 20khz) normally cannot go below 30hz unless u got large floorstandin with side woofers. Check your speakers powerband but even if ur speakers can go low, it is advisable to let the sub handle the bass & LFE freeing more wattage to power the mid and tweeters. (altho seems like wastin the woofer section if u got 3 way speakers but this is the advise fr HT si-fus as not to strain your fronts)

U don't have to select everytime, your AVR can default DTS/DD/THX for DVD via set-up menu and u only change if u wanna try other surround modes. Mine is defaulted in THX for DVD and stereo for CD.

THX bass lagi kau but dialog oso softer mayb overall volume not loud enuf or centre speaker 'pariah' cry.gif
myqd
post Dec 11 2008, 02:36 PM

2,247 posts

thanks rakyat smile.gif

my front spk respone only 38-200Hz but i want some bass from LR cos most of the time in stereo CD listening mode i didnt switch on the sub.Also,only in FullBand i can set the "Double Bass" on.Anyway,i will try to change my center to 60Hz later.

Btw,lastnite re-watch Ice Age BDs....wow,so nice the colour.Aslo the bass very geng,esp when the ice start to crack,the story still very interesting even after watched few times on DVDs,the little animal looks so funny smile.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Dec 11 2008, 03:41 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 11 2008, 02:36 PM)
thanks rakyat smile.gif

my front spk respone only 38-200Hz but i want some bass from LR cos most of the time in stereo CD listening mode i didnt switch on the sub.Also,only in FullBand i can set the "Double Bass" on.Anyway,i will try to change my center to 60Hz later.

Btw,lastnite re-watch Ice Age BDs....wow,so nice the colour.Aslo the bass very geng,esp when the ice start to crack,the story still very interesting even after watched few times on DVDs,the little animal looks so funny smile.gif
He! He! I bet u like that squirrel! tongue.gif hmm.gif U listen to audio without the sub on??? So far try using mp3 ( BD30 ) Bass Makenik song! Fuyoh even my house roofing vibrating!!! drool.gif Oh I am using a 'chapalang 12" sub'!!! biggrin.gif
myqd
post Dec 11 2008, 03:58 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Dec 11 2008, 03:41 PM)
He! He! I bet u like that squirrel!  tongue.gif  hmm.gif  U listen to audio without the sub on???  So far try using mp3 ( BD30 ) Bass Makenik song! Fuyoh even my house roofing vibrating!!! drool.gif  Oh I am using a 'chapalang 12" sub'!!! biggrin.gif
ya,that squirrel is cute,what's the name of another smaller animal huh,very adorable too tongue.gif

ya,i listen to audio normally wihout the sub on cos basically i love songs with good vocal,recently quite like the " 2V1G ",a Bolehland production/songer,recommended. thumbup.gif

if not mistaken,u're looking for sub,rite? I got a used KEF PSW2010 (customer ask me to sell ) for sell at < RM700,let me know if u're interested biggrin.gif

swine
post Dec 11 2008, 06:59 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Dec 11 2008, 09:43 AM)
LG HDMI DVDP can get RM260 + free HDMI cable sumor. For 805 jus connect the hdmi directly to ur LCD (DVDP will upscale to 1080p instead of onkyo's 720p) w. audio into AVR so no need 2 hdmi cables.

Actually, component oso good enuf for DVDs but RM260.00 for 50% more resolution and the satisfaction of pushin ur LCD to its potential & get hdmi cable..... up to ur budget-la
erm..means connect HDMI from AVR to LCD, den the DVD just use component cable? so the upscaling will be done by the DVD player? hmm.gif
samlee860407
post Dec 11 2008, 07:39 PM

4,631 posts

guys, mind to share whats the price of 606 and 806 these days?
myqd
post Dec 12 2008, 11:52 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Dec 11 2008, 07:39 PM)
guys, mind to share whats the price of 606 and 806 these days?
If u're from Sarawak here,606 can get < 2.3k,806 no idea,876 < 5.5k. smile.gif
rakyat
post Dec 12 2008, 01:55 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(swine @ Dec 11 2008, 06:59 PM)
erm..means connect HDMI from AVR to LCD, den the DVD just use component cable? so the upscaling will be done by the DVD player? hmm.gif
Not sure bout ur question but if u get a HDMI DVDP, then connect directly to ur LCD oso can. Only route audio to AVR so don't need 2 hdmi cable. HDMI DVD player upscale higher resolution then TX805 (1020p vs 720i) No need to connect AVR to LCD via HDMI if ur DVD connect directly to LCD since there will be no output unless ur using LCD's speaker.

If u do not have hdmi DVDP then connect via component to AVR and hdmi to LCD u get 720i only. U still need another toslink cable fr audio fr DVDP to AVR.

876 quoted by CMY RM7k, Desa RM6,700 probably coz I look like 'waterfish' mad.gif
myqd
post Dec 12 2008, 02:04 PM

2,247 posts

re-calibrate using audyssey again last nite cos re-arrange the spk a bit.It still set my front and center to FullBand and most spk at "_" level,sub level -9.5db shocking.gif I reset the center to 60Hz and front remind FullBand.Adjust the sub level to -6.5db but doesnt like it with audio cd listening.Still prefer front LR at FullBand with double bass "on" and without the sub.

Last nite listen to "A Child is Born" by Jhenna Lodwick,WOW... shocking.gif her vocal is so nice with some kind of "magnet" to make u continue the whole album. thumbup.gif Same with Stacey Kent " What A Wonderful World"..... thumbup.gif Not forget also " My Way" by Shirley thumbup.gif ( but on my set up i found the vocal a bit toward the right,other songs are fine....

This post has been edited by myqd: Dec 12 2008, 02:05 PM
samlee860407
post Dec 12 2008, 03:50 PM

4,631 posts

wah...876 <RM5.6k??

thats damed cheap man.... >.<

pity my place is so so far from sarawak sad.gif
myqd
post Dec 12 2008, 05:32 PM

2,247 posts

hehe,my supplier here sold one unit to penang the other day,with courier service still cost much cheaper then penang retail price. biggrin.gif
swine
post Dec 12 2008, 05:45 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Dec 12 2008, 01:55 PM)
Not sure bout ur question but if u get a HDMI DVDP, then connect directly to ur LCD oso can. Only route audio to AVR so don't need 2 hdmi cable. HDMI DVD player upscale higher resolution then TX805 (1020p vs 720i) No need to connect AVR to LCD via HDMI if ur DVD connect directly to LCD since there will be no output unless ur using LCD's speaker. 
If u do not have hdmi DVDP then connect via component to AVR and hdmi to LCD u get 720i only. U still need another toslink cable fr audio fr DVDP to AVR.
876 quoted by CMY RM7k, Desa RM6,700 probably coz I look like 'waterfish'  mad.gif
u got my question right...
but now my setup is connect my non HDMI DVDP to AVR using the yellow composite cable? issit call composite cable? hmm.gif
audio using coaxial cable..

so now the case is remain the same connection as b4, but just get a HDMI cable to conenct from AVR to LCD for the upscaling to 720i by 805 right? hmm.gif

tat day i saw HV selling 876 at RM7.5k and 806 at RM5.5k..u still not 100% waterfish tongue.gif

rakyat
post Dec 12 2008, 05:58 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(swine @ Dec 12 2008, 05:45 PM)
u got my question right...
but now my setup is connect my non HDMI DVDP to AVR using the yellow composite cable? issit call composite cable? hmm.gif
audio using coaxial cable..

so now the case is remain the same connection as b4, but just get a HDMI cable to conenct from AVR to LCD for the upscaling to 720i by 805 right?  hmm.gif

tat day i saw HV selling 876 at RM7.5k and 806 at RM5.5k..u still not 100% waterfish tongue.gif
Ya its called composite cable, I was thinkin of component cables (3 cables) which can support digital video.

Its advisable to upgrade ur cable to a well shield HDMI since not much differnet in price with component cable and u 'futureproof' urself. No need to buy xpensive just good quality can connect ur AVR to LCD & let us know whether u can see the difference.

Nearly wanted 2 buy 876 fr Desa but the salesman refuse to give RM6.5k so bought a 905 for RM3.5k instead icon_idea.gif . Now enjoyin 1080p thumbup.gif I oso don't have a HDMI DVDP only using component. Saving $$ fr bulu-ray
ronnt88
post Dec 12 2008, 06:02 PM

2,353 posts

905 only 3.5k ?? great deal man... congrats rclxms.gif

130 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.0330sec    1.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:26 AM