4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

SUSHornyAngMoh
post Aug 19 2008, 09:41 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(maxovista @ Aug 19 2008, 11:14 AM)
Thanks.. actually I kinda undeclared onkyo freak since 2003 starting with the TXSR501(rare species that is)...then early in this year change to the 505E!
But weeks back, some dude came to my place and "bodek" me on getting my own demo set as he cant afford the new set that I intend to sell!

Phew.. now i am onkyo "less" almost a month ! cry.gif

Luckily i got Marantz AVR to ease the pain..but it aint the same.. i tell you!
So Onkyo is better then Marantz?? hmm.gif Actually I am on the look out for a av receiver which is more 'suitable' for my bd30!
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Aug 30 2008, 05:31 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 30 2008, 05:05 PM)
Managed to connect the new receiver. biggrin.gif

No calibration whatsoever has been done. So can't say anything yet. Going out again, talk to you guys later. wink.gif
Wah! Look very high tech! biggrin.gif Well the amp melt the Transformer or not? blink.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 1 2008, 12:18 AM

801 posts

QUOTE(AstroCreep @ Aug 31 2008, 10:48 PM)
Today I ran a full movie, Kingdom of Heaven, 'ahem' DVD only, with 5 surround without .1 (subwoofer).
..and wow the baby is super hot! Hot in terms of temperature hot!!
Straight away after that did a mini DIY with two old PC fan and old power adapter. Have to force ventilate the top area of the 875... and I think I'm gonna put another two 'exhaust fan'...

On your question of sub, is your Celestion passive?- typically HTIB comes with passive sub, like my Pioneer.
When I ran the movie today without sub, it was still bearable, but playing AudioCD with my QA1010i without sub... aiya...
If your Celestion sub is active, why not just use it first before deciding to upgrade?

As for my case, I will check tonight if I can use one of the Zone 2 or 3 channels for the passive sub.
Any comments from anyone on this?
How 'hot' is 'hot' arrr??? hmm.gif Is it so 'hot' cannot put ur hand there??? Hot enough to cook an egg??? Oh yah! Please post up ur DIY fan! Tq very much & have a nice day! smile.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 2 2008, 06:24 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(hian @ Sep 2 2008, 05:39 PM)
Well, as long as we are a happy owner of that beast, what's the matter with what's the unit for, right? Be it for local market or for export, as long as the price is good and we can afford it, it's consider a good buy liao.  wink.gif

myqd, I'm from Sabah. smile.gif
Wah! From Sabah! So ow did u buy ur 875??? By currier or u bring back urself by AirAsia? blink.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 2 2008, 07:03 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(hian @ Sep 2 2008, 06:46 PM)
callmevil, if the person can afford a few ninja king, sure he has got at least a credit card la kan, and for sure with very high credit limit one. biggrin.gif  Yeah, the new ninja king...I wonder if I can ever afford one. laugh.gif

HornyAngMoh, I do wish that I can fly over to KL to grab that 875 and bring it back without my fiancee knowing about it...haha.  So, no, I bought it here in KK.  Carried it into the house while she was watching TV upstairs. tongue.gif
So u buy at retail price??? How much arrr???
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 8 2008, 11:31 AM

801 posts

Doing set-up on Onkyo 875....I can't use the remote arrow button, have to use the arrow button located on the 875. sad.gif Anyone having this problem although on the owner manual it seem to be done using the remote? I end up doing setting using the arrow located on the amp. Tq for the answer.
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 8 2008, 12:02 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 8 2008, 11:47 AM)
Is it faulty? Or you have switch the remote to other source and not AVR?
Switch to avr, can go to main manual only cannot chg value, have to use amp button. hmm.gif Don't know if faulty. Need comfirmation fro all the sifu & 875 owner here. Tq very much in advance for all the input.
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 8 2008, 01:45 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Sep 8 2008, 01:40 PM)
good question  thumbup.gif didnt try that on 875 yet...but when not using ur "another amp"(power amp) to biamp the front spk ? I'm actually testing the 875 pre-out to my Denon POA-T10 to drive the front spk.Maybe both rated power handeling is similar,dun really feel the diff. tongue.gif
May I ask? Did u do set-up using the 875 remote?
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 8 2008, 10:40 PM

801 posts

hmm.gif I suppose my 875 remote's navigation button is faulty! Now I got to contact the seller & hope he can solve the problem! cry.gif

Apart from this I am quite happy! The sound is awesome & I like the HDMI full control! It is compatible with Panny Viera Link. Once set up I just play my Panny BD30 the 875 will auto on & also auto on the Panny Plasma! If I off the Panny Plasma everythings all auto off! Very nice & convinence! rclxms.gif BUT I think I will off the feature as the Onkyo 875 is in 'ready' mode so it is warm all the time & save on electric bill! blush.gif
LFE I set to -15db sub vol is half way quite good maybe set it to full afterward when everybody is already sleeping! tongue.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 10 2008, 05:02 PM

801 posts

No more??? No 2nd round???

Added on September 10, 2008, 5:04 pm
QUOTE(AstroCreep @ Sep 9 2008, 03:50 PM)
... just to share with those who are still in the search ...
(probably from one of the forummers also...) http://www.mudah.com.my/vi/1203672.htm?ca=8_s

I thought that's cheap for 805!!
Quick!!!
No more ads! Sold off?? sad.gif

This post has been edited by HornyAngMoh: Sep 10 2008, 05:04 PM
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 10 2008, 06:04 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 10 2008, 05:26 PM)
If I can make RM2k profit, why not. tongue.gif

No lah, just kidding of course. biggrin.gif
Which model is urs onkyo? 805,875 or 905??? How much is the best price for 805, 875 & 905 in the mkt? Tq very much for the infor! Have a very nice day! smile.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 12 2008, 10:14 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(maxovista @ Sep 12 2008, 10:00 PM)
606 is around 2.7k....this receiver is more than enough for most of us here until recently... there was a super deal on onkyo 8 series receivers..and suddenly, a 6 series receivers have been forgotten! But if you refer to this forum 2-3 months back, this 6 series receivers are somethin people drool abt here! cool2.gif
U r absolutely right on this! Suddenly everyone ( well almost everyone ) got up-graded to the eight series! thumbup.gif But having the eight series got its own 'problem'......... shocking.gif Problem with speaker! What is the best speaker to match this big ass amp! hmm.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 14 2008, 11:45 AM

801 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Sep 14 2008, 11:30 AM)
I agreed with you....805 and 875 almost same sound quality...

but looking at their spec....875 have VLSC (Vector Linear Shaping Circuitry)-don't how much can improve the sound quality??? and slightly 10W (8ohm) power more....

and also better video feature...(upconversion)-DVD upconverson or BD make little used. Astro - many complained even worst....

but 805 vs 875 price difference will be 1K...worth it or not? - you have to decide.....
I have try up the video up-conversion, Astro s-cable to 875 HDMI 1080p out to Panny 700y. Video quality slightly better so not really worth it as the 875 have to be on. Beside I seldom watch astro apart from new.
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 14 2008, 01:18 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Sep 14 2008, 12:25 PM)
i have compared the 875 reon to my sony78h.. 875 reon is better.. but just slightly...  given another chance i would rather save up rm1k.. in my case when i bought my 875 it was around rm1.5k more than 805:(..  Should have save up the rm1.5k for lazyboy
Ah! But u can brag to ur friend that u have the no 2 top range in Onkyo Av amp! biggrin.gif I am very sure ur friend will go drool.gif rclxms.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 14 2008, 07:29 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(hian @ Sep 14 2008, 06:39 PM)
Not to say being a "suiyu" lah.  I believe the price I paid for my unit is one of the highest here but as long as we love our metal, I think it's worth it and I believe it will serve me for quite some time from now.  Except I tiba2 kena 6/49 then different story lah. laugh.gif 

Anyway, just this afternoon my buddy lend me a power cord and a Tacima 6 Way Extension And Mains Conditioner, and hell, now the sound is more solid and clear.  thumbup.gif
Wah! That Tacima really got effect arrr? hmm.gif I got one UPS with power filter! Haven't try it out yet! Will I get more solid sound!
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 15 2008, 08:24 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(AstroCreep @ Sep 15 2008, 04:54 PM)
Have not spent too much time making sure all the remote buttons work etc.. but for the basic functions, my Onkyo remote can control my TV, Astro and BD. But, it can't switch on/off my BD.
Anybody tried controlling Pana BD-30 with the Onkyo remote?

Come to think of it, have not tried to control my HTPC with it.... will try tonight.

By the way, now I conect 2 HDMI out from my HTPC for Video+Audio, through my XFX 8800 Alpha Dog, each to TV and AVR. HTPC straight away recognised it's SR875!! Super cool!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Only snag is the screen resolution.. still trying to configure.. maybe the LCD screen dimension/resolution.. good justification to get new FullHD tv with right resolution/dimension.. whistling.gif
I can control my Panny BD30 & Panny Plasma with 875 remote! If u set the 875 to full HDMI enable one switch on all! rclxms.gif But power is on 'ready' mode for 875 so it is warm all the time! blush.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 16 2008, 12:21 AM

801 posts

QUOTE(AstroCreep @ Sep 15 2008, 11:17 PM)
Yes, I can control most of the functions, but can't switch off my BD-30 using SR875 remote when I want to change source... can you?
Can! Key in the Panny DVD code from the code booklet then u can on/off plus the DVD usual button. But for navigation button have to 'learn' by the 875 remote! I even programed the eject button on the 875 remote! I must say even thought the 875 remote is big & ugly but it is by far the best remote I have use! rclxms.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 16 2008, 12:38 AM

801 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 16 2008, 12:31 AM)
dude, you should check out the logitech harmony series...One remote to rule 'em all....
Ah! That wan is awesome & 'sexy' but need $$$$ which I don't have at the moment! sad.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 16 2008, 02:18 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Sep 16 2008, 02:04 PM)
boss,ur arrow button on remote control ok liaw?  thumbup.gif
Ehhhh coolie only lah not boss!!! blush.gif Yes 875 remote arrow buttom ok liew. I think since I wrap the remote in plastic bag so affected the 'joystick' button. smile.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 16 2008, 03:55 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 16 2008, 02:58 PM)
moral of story:
don't use plastic rubber on ur joystick or else  rclxub.gif
Ha! Ha! Ha! Nicely put!!! tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0489sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled