[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Jun 14 2021, 02:03 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 14 2021, 01:22 PM)
You remind me to open my FB... I hate that place.

And nooo.....missed a custom cable GB last month.... cry.gif
yeah fb lol

if you want, you can join mymkb discord also, https://discord.com/invite/FEUMXhT

these days i stopped checking out many places also.

ntw
post Jun 14 2021, 03:00 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(cat_food_lover @ Jun 14 2021, 09:52 AM)
Hi sifu, any recommendation of mechanical keyboard with red switch (not cherry also ok la), budget around rm300++.

I'm always shifting between 2 laptops + 2 phones, looking for something like IKBC W210, but need hot-swappable, bluetooth & PBT cap.

Thanks!!!!
Just ordered this from Taobao -> https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=637294463074.

2.4G, BT5.0 and USB-C connection, available with TTC or Kailh Box linear switches. Also have the option to go without switches so you can use your own switches (hot-swappable) brows.gif

horns
post Jun 14 2021, 03:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Jun 14 2021, 03:00 PM)
Just ordered this from Taobao -> https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=637294463074.

2.4G, BT5.0 and USB-C connection, available with TTC or Kailh Box linear switches. Also have the option to go without switches so you can use your own switches (hot-swappable)  brows.gif
a good find (supports 5-pin switches; and uses gateron switch sockets). please share the findings after assembly if possible smile.gif

ntw
post Jun 14 2021, 03:56 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 14 2021, 03:41 PM)
a good find (supports 5-pin switches; and uses gateron switch sockets). please share the findings after assembly if possible smile.gif
freight shipping... going to be a long wait cry.gif
cat_food_lover
post Jun 14 2021, 04:09 PM

44 posts

2.4G, BT5.0 and USB-C connection, available with TTC or Kailh Box linear switches. Also have the option to go without switches so you can use your own switches (hot-swappable)  brows.gif
Wah! Nice! More rooms to upgrade compare with others! Thanks!
irsyadfy
post Jun 14 2021, 04:25 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 14 2021, 01:10 PM)
it's for reference purposes LOL

from my limited observations, these old unmodded prebuilts are still better than most new and existing boards out there. although impressive, this also tells us that most manufacturers just don't bother to improve theirs. they just wanna make money
have to agree with that. as i dont have financial power to buy customs, typing on old kibods feels better compared to some newer ones. they had more "quality", "sturdy-ness". this is stock vs stock.

ahhh 2.4G. ahhhh.
ntw
post Jun 14 2021, 04:51 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 14 2021, 04:25 PM)
have to agree with that. as i dont have financial power to buy customs, typing on old kibods feels better compared to some newer ones. they had more "quality", "sturdy-ness". this is stock vs stock.
ahhh 2.4G. ahhhh.
You can imagine the quality with some keyboards going as low as RM100+ nowadays. You get what you pay in the end.

What do you mean by the 2.4G buddy? Good or bad? The reason why I didn't go for the IKBC W200 is because it lacks the option for wired connection in case wireless turns out to be a mess

horns
post Jun 14 2021, 05:04 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Jun 14 2021, 03:56 PM)
freight shipping... going to be a long wait  cry.gif
oh that means about 3 weeks to a month. it's fine. sooner or later it will reach you haha

i guess the current trend for makers are making boards with 2 to 3 connection modes. it's a good news for those who longed for wireless setups.

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 14 2021, 04:25 PM)
ahhh 2.4G. ahhhh.
yes, some how old ones are relatively better.

.. and i think you just choose not to go for customs smile.gif

--

just picked jwick queen up. this linear switch is with gold-plated 3-stage long spring. (more stages mean heavier preload force)

irsyadfy
post Jun 14 2021, 09:10 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Jun 14 2021, 04:51 PM)
You can imagine the quality with some keyboards going as low as RM100+ nowadays. You get what you pay in the end.

What do you mean by the 2.4G buddy? Good or bad? The reason why I didn't go for the IKBC W200 is because it lacks the option for wired connection in case wireless turns out to be a mess
yea, but even the 300+ stuff is the same. the plastic nowadays seems cheaper? more plasticky? hahaha. but this is just normal like any other stuff. anything can cut cost, cut cost. max profit.

i think 2.4g is better in wireless terms compare to btooth. btooth lags like shit during gaming(from my noob view) while i can use my logitech membrane which uses 2.4g connectivity(i think) without even feeling any lag(again, im a noob gamer). so yeah, gooding 2.4g.

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 14 2021, 05:04 PM)
oh that means about 3 weeks to a month. it's fine. sooner or later it will reach you haha

i guess the current trend for makers are making boards with 2 to 3 connection modes. it's a good news for those who longed for wireless setups.
yes, some how old ones are relatively better.

.. and i think you just choose not to go for customs smile.gif

--

well priorities man. lol. going customs mean diving deeper. icon_question.gif
+ i dont type a lot nowadays compare to before. so not much use of a good kibod anyway. haha

hope covid dies soon so i can try all ur kibods. keep growing them man.
horns
post Jun 14 2021, 09:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 14 2021, 09:10 PM)
well priorities man. lol. going customs mean diving deeper.  icon_question.gif
+ i dont type a lot nowadays compare to before. so not much use of a good kibod anyway. haha

hope covid dies soon so i can try all ur kibods. keep growing them man.
it's fine; you didn't miss anything smile.gif

yes, once the situation is more stable, sure. now my build #23 is already in progress LOL

irsyadfy
post Jun 14 2021, 09:35 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 14 2021, 09:31 PM)
it's fine; you didn't miss anything smile.gif

yes, once the situation is more stable, sure. now my build #23 is already in progress LOL
lol. that will last u generations.

100 years later, LYN Mech Kibod Klab V420, horns jr jr jr jr jr jr will use ur kibod still.
horns
post Jun 14 2021, 09:42 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 14 2021, 09:35 PM)
lol. that will last u generations.

100 years later, LYN Mech Kibod Klab V420, horns jr jr jr jr jr jr will use ur kibod still.
.. by then i'm not sure if PC still use keyboards as input device or not LOL maybe playing games all use voice control already, "aiming, piang! piang! piang!" (sniper in battlefield 2121)

This post has been edited by horns: Jun 14 2021, 09:43 PM
irsyadfy
post Jun 14 2021, 11:47 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 14 2021, 09:42 PM)
.. by then i'm not sure if PC still use keyboards as input device or not LOL maybe playing games all use voice control already, "aiming, piang! piang! piang!" (sniper in battlefield 2121)
hahahaha. cant play games sorok2 anymore.
cat_food_lover
post Jun 15 2021, 10:56 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 14 2021, 03:41 PM)
Let me share something interesting.

After chit chat with the seller, he recommended me to go with this, my request between 100-108 keys:
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?ut_sk=1.Xh...3a08&app=chrome

For the PBT cap:
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?ut_sk=1.Xh...aad1&app=chrome

About RM340 in total

removed 3 spaces/cap

the key cap

All i need to do will be sit & relax, he will fit in everything and deliver by today or tmrw. thumbup.gif
niakulah
post Jun 15 2021, 11:53 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(cat_food_lover @ Jun 15 2021, 10:56 AM)

After chit chat with the seller, he recommended me to go with this, my request between 100-108 keys:

For the PBT cap:

About RM340 in total
removed 3 spaces/cap
the key cap
All i need to do will be sit & relax, he will fit in everything and deliver by today or tmrw.  thumbup.gif
Is that the board you're buying or just a sample pic from the seller?
horns
post Jun 15 2021, 12:03 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

All i need to do will be sit & relax, he will fit in everything and deliver by today or tmrw.  thumbup.gif
nice this one is new stuff at pre-order stage. as long as you're ok with the layout, then it's all good.

for key cap replacement, just take note of the non-standard bottom row before purchase. it shouldn't be a big deal, as plenty of key cap sets have those keys already.
ntw
post Jun 15 2021, 01:58 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

anyone have heard of custom mechanical keyboard modded with logitech unifying/ lightspeed wireless? looks interesting but very few resources online about it

Reference:
1. https://www.zfrontier.com/app/eqp/nzox9LEbgvgR

2. https://zhuanlan.zhihu.com/p/346244672

3. https://www.chiphell.com/thread-2174821-1-1.html

4. https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=585464884133
tsg_7
post Jun 15 2021, 03:50 PM

2,223 posts

guys,
anyone here knows who is the one selling mechanical keyboard here and now he plans to open the retail shop. forgotten his name...
irsyadfy
post Jun 15 2021, 03:56 PM

219 posts

For the PBT cap:

About RM340 in total
removed 3 spaces/cap
the key cap
hi, looks intelesting.

what does removed 3spaces/cap means?
and base on the link, what does it means by highlight RGB no other RGB?

is this hot swap?
cat_food_lover
post Jun 15 2021, 06:33 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 15 2021, 11:53 AM)
Is that the board you're buying or just a sample pic from the seller?
Just a sample from seller, mine will be new board, new design but smtg similar.

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 15 2021, 12:03 PM)
nice this one is new stuff at pre-order stage. as long as you're ok with the layout, then it's all good.

for key cap replacement, just take note of the non-standard bottom row before purchase. it shouldn't be a big deal, as plenty of key cap sets have those keys already.
The board didnt come with any key cap and i need to purchased additional.
He said got extra 20 key caps and will free 5 TTC brown switches as pre order lol.

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 15 2021, 03:56 PM)
hi, looks intelesting.

what does removed 3spaces/cap means?
and base on the link, what does it means by highlight RGB no other RGB?

is this hot swap?
The board is 94 keys, but the function key like normal 100 or 108, just removed the space and make it more compact.
Yup, got RGB and it's customizable.
YES! IT'S HOT SWAP! but i didnt go for TTC but box, limited budget lol.

Will share actual photo when he start to install my board. rolleyes.gif

125 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0368sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:57 PM