15 posts

Jkan2021 P
post Feb 20 2022, 08:38 PM

Probation
15 posts

*My bad! I pressed the add reply to the 3 images above and left out my comments below:

Hi all, need your advice as I have this leaking issue, allegedly from my apartment to the unit downstairs that's been ongoing for the last 3 years. My apt is tenanted.

First image was taken at the downstairs unit's bedroom before any repair was done. After the downstairs owner reported a complaint, I engaged a contractor, which was recommended by the management office. Waterproofing was done to my bathroom and issue closed (mid 2019).

2nd image was taken at the same spot by the downstairs unit 1.5 years after my repair (early 2021). The management office this time suspected the leak may be from somewhere else (my planter box unit). Because of covid SOPs etc. and didn't want the issue to drag on for too long, I once again engaged the contractor to do the repair.

Fast forward to this year, you can see in the 3rd image that the watermark is slowly coming back. Management office contacted me again. At this point, I am not sure what else they want me to do. Plus I recently changed the piping in my unit's bathroom to new ones.

How can I push this back to the management office so that they do the proper checking on their side rather than just simply forwarding me the downstair's unit's complaints? Could it be that the leaks originate from within the downstair's unit itself (eg. their own piping etc)?

Also, do you have any recommended waterproofing companies? I am thinking of engaging one, to get their opinion.

Thank you.
Jkan2021 P
post Feb 20 2022, 10:36 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 20 2022, 08:56 PM)
Show photos of your unit where the leak to below unit.

Definite some repair work is not done property. Otherwise it will leak again.

Did you see how the repair work was done or you left it to them to say is 'completed' ? Any photos taken during repair work ?
See the 3 photos are right before my written post. You can refer to my written post for explanations of each photo. No I did not oversee the work myself as the contractor did the work during office hours.
Jkan2021 P
post Feb 21 2022, 01:38 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Feb 21 2022, 07:44 AM)
Ask this from the contractor:-

1) Condition of the wall before ponding test (video) - to be witness by the unit below & MO. Normally they will apply a layer of chalk powder. If wet, the chalk power will become wet.

2) Condition on the ponding test, video on your unit with water proofing & water (video) - to be witness by MO. The ponding test to last at least 24H.

3) Condition of the wall after the ponding test (video) - make sure the floor above still got water ponded before proceeding to check unit below. If floor below dry, then the water proofing shall be deemed as repaired.

I do agree that at this point, you could not totally eliminate the possibility the previous repair had totally resolved this issue. Also on the water proofing, the common mistake made by the contractor / construction ppl - they didn't extend the water proofing 300mm up the perimeter wall of the water proofed floor[B].
Thank you for this suggestion. The MO did not suggest such a test. I get that not all MOs are proactive. I'm surprised that none of my MO's technicians or the contractors that they recommended have suggested this. I'll make this suggestion to them.

Any recommended waterproof specialist that any of you know of? I googled and found some with reasonably good reviews like Shieldo and NanoG. Worst case, I'm thinking of engaging them. Hopefully they don't charge super duper expensive.
Jkan2021 P
post Feb 22 2022, 09:31 AM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Feb 21 2022, 01:58 PM)
Sorry that I'm unable to recommend you any specialist. I just engaged one recently but the final result yet to be proven, hence too risky. You better search your own specialist.

If already spending the money, go for the option of

"5. Hacking and redo everything new. New waterproofing, new screeding, new tiles." as per suggested in the page 1. This should be the most reliable & lasting method.

I managed to find a water ponding test photo for your visual reference. It should be something like as below , the only different was the area tested was at car porch slab instead in the toilet flooring. The concept is still the same - the ponding test is to test out the integrity of the water proofing.

Thanks for all the info. Yea, I don't mind spending the money to hack and redo. Just hope to find a reliable contractor and hpefully fix this issue once and for all, or at least can tahan for more than 5 years.
Jkan2021 P
post Feb 23 2022, 04:49 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Feb 22 2022, 10:11 PM)
Water leaks is a nightmare for all homeowners including myself. I have a very bad experience in my previous house which I sold it due to too much headache solving water leaks non-stop.

Now moved in to new house more than 20 years ago and learnt alot about water leaks from my previous house.

When there is water leaks, don't use cheap method to resolve, that's my motto.
Go get expertise advise and do proper waterproofing.

*hint, don't use water proof paint (just my experience). Won't last long.
Yea, I'm engaging what I hope is a good contractor since my friend have recent experience with this guy. Fingers crossed, the workmanship is much better this time around. W

Jkan2021 P
post Mar 28 2022, 11:05 AM

Probation
15 posts

Hi all - those living in older apt or condo, what is your experience with bathroom having bath tubs? How likely is it for bathrooms with old bath tubs to 'store' water underneath it and start leaking to the unit below? Is it recommended to just remove that old bath tub if it is not in use anymore?

Also, in terms of waterproofing have you come across contractors who previously did not fully do hacking job for the waterproof. Instead, the fella removed the old bathroom tiles, then coated a layer of waterproof paint and then lay with a new set of tiles. In this case, I assume that the waterproofing may not be long lasting?

An update on my case is MO suspected one of the building pipes passing through my unit may be the cause of the leak. Repair is underway.

Now, as far as my bathroom is concerned, should I be proactive and just redo the waterproofing properly. Or wait until downstairs file a leak complaint? And yes, I am aware that being proactive in this case comes with added cost and time; but I'd like to see what your views are. Thanks!

Jkan2021 P
post Jun 1 2022, 11:52 AM

Probation
15 posts

Hi all, advise needed. Looking for a simple and quick method to waterproof the small yard area in my old apt. It's mostly a dry area, except for that small part where the washing machine is at. Downstairs owner is complaining of water dripping from ceiling/my unit just around that area where my washing machine is. I am not aiming for a full hacking & waterproof method yet. Planning to try coating with waterproof paint method first. Anyone here can recommend a brand or any products that you have used? TQ.
Jkan2021 P
post Jun 2 2022, 04:43 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jun 1 2022, 10:11 PM)
The waste water from the WM will go to waste pipe through a hose, so leaking from the floor is unlikely.

Possible the internal pipe leaking ?

If you can stop using the WM for sometime, then you can check the source of the leaking.
Thanks! just confirmed with my tenant. The floor in that area is dry almost all the time. And they have stopped using washing machine (WM) for over a year already. Hmmm so it could be internal pipe leaks. It seems like there is no quick fix to my issue, since I initially thought the WM was still in use and causing wetness around the area.

May be best to bring along a contractor to have a look. Else issue will persist. Plus I am no expert with piping and leaking.
After reading few comments here for owners of old apt/house units, I'm determined to sell of the unit. Will see what needs to be fixed and hopefully, put my unit on sale in a decent condition.

0.0335sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:39 AM