Money market fund

GrumpyNooby
post Feb 21 2021, 06:41 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 21 2021, 06:40 PM)
Extra of RM0.01 per RM100 or RM0.08 per RM500 or RM0.15 per RM1000 or RM1.40 per RM10000

Not much per annum because the overnight weekend returns only kicks in when you deposit every time on the weekend

The purpose of the overnight deposit is to compensate your deposit earnings which are earning interest but indifferent way as compared to normal holdings due to slower execution time
RM 0.01 per RM 100 only? dry.gif

I thought they're going to compensate generously due to incompetency of processing as fast as they could; i.e at the rate of RM 1 per RM 100.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Feb 21 2021, 06:42 PM
ericlaiys
post Feb 21 2021, 06:53 PM

7,547 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 21 2021, 06:40 PM)
Extra of RM0.01 per RM100 or RM0.08 per RM500 or RM0.15 per RM1000 or RM1.40 per RM10000

Not much per annum because the overnight weekend returns only kicks in when you deposit every time on the weekend

The purpose of the overnight deposit is to compensate your deposit earnings which are earning interest but indifferent way as compared to normal holdings due to slower execution time
Nope . I received overnight interest when posit on weekday. Just that not a lot compare to weekend
ericlaiys
post Feb 21 2021, 06:54 PM

7,547 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 21 2021, 06:41 PM)
RM 0.01 per RM 100 only?  dry.gif

I thought they're going to compensate generously due to incompetency of processing as fast as they could; i.e at the rate of RM 1 per RM 100.
Better than SA which don’t have
DragonReine
post Feb 21 2021, 06:58 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 21 2021, 06:38 PM)
So you keep for less than a month?

Keep till about dividend to declare, cash out and put back after dividend is announced?

With this strategy can maximize the return the extra overnight deposit?
No laaaa, I meant that theoretically if you deposit it just before dividends declare, then withdraw only a few days later, you MIGHT make a loss. In practice it's incredibly difficult to actually get -ve, will only happen if the MMF is underperforming for whatever reason. Like a recent deposit on Versa of mine still gets net +ve gains even though I deposit one day before dividend declare.

Because their interest calculate daily if you withdraw and deposit like that you potentially lose the interest you could get during those prossessing days. Only Versa to my knowledge calculates those processing days into the dividend they pay you LOL.

If want to be that kind of maximise interest then better to use conditional high yield savings account LOL, less hassle and instant processing time

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Feb 21 2021, 07:00 PM
guy3288
post Feb 21 2021, 07:06 PM

5,850 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 21 2021, 10:41 AM)
Addition overnight interest when money is in limbo.

Here you go.
https://versa.com.my/
Upon signing up you will get email from both versa and affin hwang.

I have always use mmf VS FD cause I like the liquidity that MMF give.
QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 21 2021, 06:18 PM)
FD is only because it more accessible compared to MMF but it will be changing now due to more platforms are encouraging more MMF onboard
Because the amount is so small there is no need to time it a simple it doesn’t make any difference

But always make on Versa to deposit on every long weekend and the weekend that is not being offered payout ie 1st and 3rd weekend to enjoy extra overnight deposit  brows.gif
Thanks, already opened account with Versa on mobile Apps, Versa not accessible via Website?

Unlike Stashaway, Versa cannot make deposit straight away, must wait so many days!

Besides deposit Versa via FPX, can we deposit via JOMPAy like we can do for Stashaway?

Ramjade
post Feb 21 2021, 07:13 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 21 2021, 07:06 PM)
Thanks, already opened account with Versa on mobile Apps, Versa not accessible via Website?

Unlike Stashaway, Versa cannot make deposit straight away, must wait so many days!

Besides  deposit Versa via FPX, can we deposit via JOMPAy like we can do for Stashaway?
No website available. Unfortunately.
I use a separate phone for banking.

Can. Once account approved. Today Sunday. Wait for account to be approved (check your email). If not approved yet, of course cannot. I had to wait for my account to be approved.

Only FPX available.
DragonReine
post Feb 21 2021, 07:15 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 21 2021, 07:06 PM)
This is a misunderstanding of how Versa and SA record their deposit. In practice their investing into MMF is the same number of days. Quoting my previous post on this:

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Feb 18 2021, 01:10 PM)
From my experience with both...

Versa and Simple record their timeline a bit differently. Effectively they actually have the same timeframe from receiving funds to investing in the MMF (T+3) but Versa is more transparent.

Versa:
They only announce "complete" when the funds is invested into HWAEDEP and they show the complete amount with the units bought in Versa balance.

StashAway Simple:
They announce "complete" when they received funds and it's reflected in Simple balance under Overview tab of Simple, recorded as "Deposit" on that day of receipt.
However if you check the Assets tab, you'll see that it's not invested in PRUISIN yet, with the assets split into % of funds in PRUISIN and in "Cash" form. It'll only reach 100% in PRUISIN after a couple of days when they've completed the buy order in PRUISIN. This is not announced or shown in transactions for SA Simple unless you actively look into the Assets tab of SA Simple.
guy3288
post Feb 21 2021, 09:26 PM

5,850 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 21 2021, 07:13 PM)
No website available. Unfortunately.
I use a separate phone  for banking.

Can. Once account approved. Today Sunday. Wait for account to be approved (check your email). If not approved yet, of course cannot. I had to wait for my account to be approved.

Only FPX available.
Versa should follow SA accept Jompay to widen the nett for money

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Feb 21 2021, 07:15 PM)
This is a misunderstanding of how Versa and SA record their deposit. In practice their investing into MMF is the same number of days. Quoting my previous post on this:
Useful info even though not exactly related to what i ranted .

Useful fact -say you deposit RM$$$ on the same day for both SA and Versa, your deposit will be reflected on SA few days earlier than Versa.

However actual investment takes about the same number of days for both SA or Versa.
Use example do FPX RM1000 each to SA and Versa on Monday 22.2.21, and then withdraw same day 2 months later, assuming return for Versa and SA same rate, both profit from SA and Versa would be about the same, correct?

earlier I was saying SA very easy and convenient -open account, instantly account approved, and SA instantly can accept your deposits , FPX or Jompay.

Versa on the other hand, wont allow you to make deposit straight away, need many extra steps , submit IC, do selfie, asking for OTP and must wait for them to review, take few days it warned.

Any idea why Stashaway is like cincai cincai can open account, no need submit IC no need selfie, no need wait for approval
?SA no tight security, very eager to get people open account?
whereas Versa rather strict checking front and back before allow us to open account??
ericlaiys
post Feb 21 2021, 11:01 PM

7,547 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 21 2021, 09:26 PM)
Versa should follow SA accept Jompay to widen the nett for money
Useful info even though not exactly related  to what i ranted .

Useful fact -say you deposit RM$$$ on the  same day for both SA and Versa, your deposit will be reflected on  SA few days earlier than Versa.

However actual investment takes about the same number of days for both SA or Versa.
Use example do FPX RM1000 each to SA and Versa on Monday 22.2.21, and then withdraw same day 2 months later, assuming return for Versa and SA same rate, both profit from SA and Versa would be about the same, correct?
earlier I was saying SA very  easy and convenient -open account, instantly account approved, and SA instantly can accept your deposits , FPX or Jompay.

Versa on the other hand, wont allow you to make deposit straight away, need many extra steps , submit IC, do selfie, asking for OTP and must wait for them to review, take few days it warned.

Any idea why Stashaway is like cincai cincai can open account, no need submit IC no need selfie, no need wait for approval
?SA no tight security, very eager to get people open account?
whereas Versa rather strict checking front and back before allow us to open account??
It is part of malaysia sc policy. I don't see it is a problem on doing this when open an account.
You only do once. Not do it many times
On deposit, don't see it a problem on using fpx. Very fast money deposit in and process buying complete within a day.

SUSxander83
post Feb 22 2021, 05:44 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Feb 21 2021, 06:53 PM)
Nope . I received overnight interest when posit on weekday. Just that not a lot compare to weekend
Didn’t you post it on the Friday?

I think overnight weekend interest are factor in when you’re deposit in the weekend while weekdays interest are being added into the units instead

Will know when next month will try do to rotation then on my funds will roughly know on the calculation then

But expect to be about rm1 to rm1000 deposit per month ratio on monthly basis on just interest only

Bonus payout calculation is possibly another rm0.23 to rm1000 per month o let’s whether towards mid year end more deposits coming in

This post has been edited by xander83: Feb 22 2021, 05:50 AM
GrumpyNooby
post Feb 22 2021, 06:47 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 22 2021, 05:44 AM)
Didn’t you post it on the Friday?

I think overnight weekend interest are factor in when you’re deposit in the weekend while weekdays interest are being added into the units instead

Will know when next month will try do to rotation then on my funds  will roughly know on the calculation then

But expect to be about rm1 to rm1000 deposit per month ratio on monthly basis on just interest only

Bonus payout calculation is possibly another rm0.23 to rm1000 per month o let’s whether towards mid year end more deposits coming in
Wow, got bonus payout somemore!
What is this bonus payout? What is the rate in term of per annum?
Versa got a lot of hidden extra handouts. Not bad.
SUSxander83
post Feb 22 2021, 08:37 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 22 2021, 06:47 AM)
Wow, got bonus payout somemore!
What is this bonus payout? What is the rate in term of per annum?
Versa got a lot of hidden extra handouts. Not bad.
Everybody 2 weeks is the bonus payout as the fund uses it as a tool to rebalance the unit and price for it

The rate should be around 0.3 to 0.5 per annum indicative based on the current market price trend

So the actual fund it is performing on 1.9% pa on their pricing units

Will know after next month when q1 is done whether it will exceed 2% for 2021
guy3288
post Feb 22 2021, 08:46 AM

5,850 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 22 2021, 08:37 AM)
Everybody 2 weeks is the bonus payout as the fund uses it as a tool to rebalance the unit and price for it

The rate should be around 0.3 to 0.5 per annum indicative based on the current market price trend

So the actual fund it is performing on 1.9% pa on their pricing units

Will know after next month when q1 is done whether it will exceed 2% for 2021

so StashAway Simple is better? reported as 2.4% pa.
GrumpyNooby
post Feb 22 2021, 09:12 AM

12,387 posts

Low interest rates attracts more players into the money market

ETALING JAYA: The prevailing low interest rates have attracted more money market funds (MMFs) into the domestic market.

Based on the Lipper data, the total size of these funds currently stands at RM110bil. This represents less than 10% of the total deposits market.

The time is ripe according to analysts for such funds to gain prominence in the market as MMFs provide higher returns than deposit rates amid the Covid-19.

They expect the key benchmark interest rate – the overnight policy rate (OPR) which determines the cost of borrowings – to be cut by at least 25 basis points this year, hence a lower deposit rate. This augurs well for the pick up of these funds.

Among some of the players making headway in the MMF space are Versa, Stashaway and Touch ‘n Go. More are joining the bandwagon, one analyst noted.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...he-money-market
SUSxander83
post Feb 22 2021, 09:26 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 22 2021, 08:46 AM)
so StashAway Simple is better? reported as 2.4% pa.
Simple is fixed indicative 2.4% but Versa is better in terms of liquidity as you when you withdraw is next businesses day

Reported doesn’t mean guaranteed as it is indicative rate only

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 22 2021, 09:12 AM)
Low interest rates attracts more players into the money market

ETALING JAYA: The prevailing low interest rates have attracted more money market funds (MMFs) into the domestic market.

Based on the Lipper data, the total size of these funds currently stands at RM110bil. This represents less than 10% of the total deposits market.

The time is ripe according to analysts for such funds to gain prominence in the market as MMFs provide higher returns than deposit rates amid the Covid-19.

They expect the key benchmark interest rate – the overnight policy rate (OPR) which determines the cost of borrowings – to be cut by at least 25 basis points this year, hence a lower deposit rate. This augurs well for the pick up of these funds.

Among some of the players making headway in the MMF space are Versa, Stashaway and Touch ‘n Go. More are joining the bandwagon, one analyst noted.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...he-money-market
Wait for TnG with CGS CIMB MMF soon then we will know whether it can hit 2.5% more competition better for us consumers rclxms.gif
GrumpyNooby
post Feb 22 2021, 09:29 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 22 2021, 09:26 AM)
Simple is fixed indicative 2.4% but Versa is better in terms of liquidity as you when you withdraw is next businesses day

Reported doesn’t mean guaranteed as it is indicative rate only
Wait for TnG with CGS CIMB MMF soon then we will know whether it can hit 2.5% more competition better for us consumers  rclxms.gif
Not with Principal Asset Management?
TSrocketm
post Feb 22 2021, 09:39 AM

1,627 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 20 2021, 11:17 PM)
Forget about Phillip already. I dump it for Stashaway simple then Versa.

If you will want Phillip can get from official site. Scroll to the bottom.
It's 1.77%p.a
https://www.eunittrust.com.my/
Now is SA simple vs Versa. Let's see who will win.
SUSxander83
post Feb 22 2021, 09:39 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 22 2021, 09:29 AM)
Not with Principal Asset Management?
Unless they going for Shariah based then Principal Islamic MMF

If conventional would be CGS CIMB

Rumormill is saying launching on March 8 so keeps your eye so peeled rclxms.gif
SUSkeluarpattern
post Feb 22 2021, 12:36 PM

KP
1,466 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Feb 21 2021, 06:54 PM)
Better than SA which don’t have
But why ppl might still using SA.

If this is better?
ericlaiys
post Feb 22 2021, 01:21 PM

7,547 posts

QUOTE(keluarpattern @ Feb 22 2021, 12:36 PM)
But why ppl might still using SA.

If this is better?
it really up to individual. I've tested SA and Versa. Now moved from SA and use only versa. Except ETF left on SA.
each people got own preference.

50 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:09 PM