First time deposit into Versa this morning, will see how fast it reflects for first time deposit.
Money market fund
Feb 9 2021, 09:34 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
2,610 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
First time deposit into Versa this morning, will see how fast it reflects for first time deposit.
Feb 10 2021, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Feb 10 2021, 10:05 AM) No i get confused. Versa is an agent to help invest in money market fund, for MMF it's not like UT where they track unit price daily I dun care about dividend or what becasue UT dividen is useless. And the lifetime gain is preety not on point. Thats just the price difference isnt it. The price update should be daily. But versa seem delay abit. The dividends also different from UT lol, I think you misunderstanding thinking that MMF works like UT. |
Feb 10 2021, 02:40 PM
Feb 16 2021, 10:33 AM
Received payout for Versa + overnight interest.
Not bad since only started a few days before I get dividends. Most likely migrate SA Simple funds to Versa after a few months. Tried Allocate Plus but the app so buggy + so many problems just during signing in that I gave up |
Feb 16 2021, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 16 2021, 10:35 AM) Too early to comment on returns Since I don't DCA from SASimple, there's no particular reason to keep it in Simple. Edit to add: based on reading Bloomberg analysis PRUISIN (SA Simple) performed better than HWAEDEP (Versa) in YTD, 1y, 3y, and 5y return, so take that as you will. This post has been edited by DragonReine: Feb 16 2021, 11:15 AM |
Feb 16 2021, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 16 2021, 11:29 AM) I thought the recent is amazing and since everybody is talking about payout in here. Nah it's just comment that Versa really does payout dividends in middle of month + end of month as they promised, instead of just monthly compared to SA Simple. Simple usually get dividends one business day after PRUISIN declare dividends which is 7th to 10th of the month.Perhaps Versa or Affin is distributing red packets via the app. |
Feb 16 2021, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 16 2021, 12:10 PM) I thought so too, but Morningstar and Bloomberg both say otherwise:PRUISIN: https://my.morningstar.com/my/report/fund/p...px?t=0P0000GEZP HWAEDEP: https://my.morningstar.com/my/report/fund/p...px?t=0P00008ME1 unless I mistake funds name then I apologise in advance |
Feb 16 2021, 04:12 PM
my most recent deposit timeline of Versa since it's so near dividend payout date:
09/2 (morning) : Deposit received by Versa thru FPX transfer. 09/2 (evening) : Versa booked units in HWAEDEP at NAV=1.1723, Overnight interest calculated and added in. 11/2 (morning): Dividend paid out and reinvested to get more units at approx NAV=1.1679 12/2 (morning): Versa successfully processed all the above and reflected the total number of new units in Versa. All in all, quite fast. This post has been edited by DragonReine: Feb 16 2021, 04:13 PM |
Feb 18 2021, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(jynngerale @ Feb 18 2021, 11:57 AM) From my experience with both...Versa and Simple record their timeline a bit differently. Effectively they actually have the same timeframe from receiving funds to investing in the MMF (T+3) but Versa is more transparent. Versa: They only announce "complete" when the funds is invested into HWAEDEP and they show the complete amount with the units bought in Versa balance. StashAway Simple: They announce "complete" when they received funds and it's reflected in Simple balance under Overview tab of Simple, recorded as "Deposit" on that day of receipt. However if you check the Assets tab, you'll see that it's not invested in PRUISIN yet, with the assets split into % of funds in PRUISIN and in "Cash" form. It'll only reach 100% in PRUISIN after a couple of days when they've completed the buy order in PRUISIN. This is not announced or shown in transactions for SA Simple unless you actively look into the Assets tab of SA Simple. |
Feb 18 2021, 03:08 PM
Feb 21 2021, 06:01 AM
QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Feb 21 2021, 03:30 AM) I don't really understand how does payout work, I assume that since we are earning interest daily (and it seems to reflect on the lifetime gains), but those gains are not used to buy units until "payout" day? But then payout would sound a little misleading. Basically payout/distribution is a cash reward of sorts that the fund gives out to investors based on the profit generated from the fund. Are we suppose to get a bonus on payout day or something? When you see the NAV of your units climb (gaining interest), that's actually the potential dividends you're earning slowly increasing over time. Which is why when dividends are paid out, NAV drops (and your versa balance might become negative or seemingly make a loss during distribution day). For people who invest directly with mutual fund companies typically you can decide to get this distribution credited into your linked bank account, or the fund will use it to buy more units at no sales charge. In Versa this distribution gets automatically reinvested to buy more units. This rise and dip in NAV is also a reason to actually time when you put additional money into money market funds This post has been edited by DragonReine: Feb 21 2021, 06:05 AM |
Feb 21 2021, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(chongteck @ Feb 21 2021, 05:59 PM) Wow.. as I am not well-versed in this NAV, so I must ask..do we usually need to time our investment then, in this case, every two weeks only after payout? Will it make any big difference? IMO if your keeping long term, difference is minimal It's only potential loss incurring if you keep less than a month haha |
Feb 21 2021, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 21 2021, 06:38 PM) So you keep for less than a month? No laaaa, I meant that theoretically if you deposit it just before dividends declare, then withdraw only a few days later, you MIGHT make a loss. In practice it's incredibly difficult to actually get -ve, will only happen if the MMF is underperforming for whatever reason. Like a recent deposit on Versa of mine still gets net +ve gains even though I deposit one day before dividend declare.Keep till about dividend to declare, cash out and put back after dividend is announced? With this strategy can maximize the return the extra overnight deposit? Because their interest calculate daily if you withdraw and deposit like that you potentially lose the interest you could get during those prossessing days. Only Versa to my knowledge calculates those processing days into the dividend they pay you LOL. If want to be that kind of maximise interest then better to use conditional high yield savings account LOL, less hassle and instant processing time This post has been edited by DragonReine: Feb 21 2021, 07:00 PM |
Feb 21 2021, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 21 2021, 07:06 PM) This is a misunderstanding of how Versa and SA record their deposit. In practice their investing into MMF is the same number of days. Quoting my previous post on this:QUOTE(DragonReine @ Feb 18 2021, 01:10 PM) From my experience with both... Versa and Simple record their timeline a bit differently. Effectively they actually have the same timeframe from receiving funds to investing in the MMF (T+3) but Versa is more transparent. Versa: They only announce "complete" when the funds is invested into HWAEDEP and they show the complete amount with the units bought in Versa balance. StashAway Simple: They announce "complete" when they received funds and it's reflected in Simple balance under Overview tab of Simple, recorded as "Deposit" on that day of receipt. However if you check the Assets tab, you'll see that it's not invested in PRUISIN yet, with the assets split into % of funds in PRUISIN and in "Cash" form. It'll only reach 100% in PRUISIN after a couple of days when they've completed the buy order in PRUISIN. This is not announced or shown in transactions for SA Simple unless you actively look into the Assets tab of SA Simple. |
Feb 22 2021, 01:36 PM
Feb 22 2021, 01:51 PM
Feb 22 2021, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 22 2021, 01:53 PM) It just tracks number of days until next dividends paid by HWAEDEP It's a form of "gameification" design that's actually quite interesting and might motivate people to hold onto investment longer. |
Feb 22 2021, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(keluarpattern @ Feb 22 2021, 02:35 PM) Btw now you are using which for now? Currently using both. Have put in roughly equal amount of money to track their individual performance.Will it be any SOP if suddenly there's huge transaction in the account? If you mean transfers between bank account and Versa/SA, so far I've never gotten any warnings from bank, but my bank is used to large sums of money suddenly moving in/out my account 😅 I think for banks they mostly want to find out your source of funds and that they're legit clean money (not from criminal activities/money laundering/terrorist financing), so if you transfer from SA/Versa they usually won't get red flags because they're legitimate entities registered under Malaysia Securities Commission. |
Feb 22 2021, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(keluarpattern @ Feb 22 2021, 03:26 PM) Yea maybe this is due to AMLA? Itu best you consult with bank directly or with your lawyer, not a random LYN forumer like me Yes meaning is there any problem If you sudden move in and out huge transaction But based on your observation Should be safe as long you know yourself clean? How about this scenario Because sometimes we have many transaction Hence might forgotten 1 or 2 transaction If somehow some other fellow wrongly deposit an amount to you And if you are not aware for some time the money in And suddenly there's a flag raise And some authority find you due to uncertainty amount deposited to your account from unclean sources. Do you think It will be trouble? |
Feb 22 2021, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(keluarpattern @ Feb 22 2021, 03:44 PM) Based on the way you are commenting Only from personal experience with managing bmy family's and my finances and knowledge from research Actually can feel that you are experience guy especially finance part Don't be too humble=) But I zero direct experience with that kind of situation you describe, so I don't know what will happen or what kind of legal process is involved. Also asking about suspicious transaction is a bit out of topic with this thread, suggest you start your own thread elsewhere so sifus can discuss better? This post has been edited by DragonReine: Feb 22 2021, 05:42 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0532sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:51 PM |