203 Pages « < 168 169 170 171 172 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

iXora.ix
post Oct 21 2024, 08:50 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Oct 20 2024, 09:36 PM)
Guys, is withdrawing money via Wise from Japanese 7-11 / Post Office ATM still the best option for getting Yen right now despite the fees?

I am planning to withdraw about RM5K only when I arrive in Japan, would there be a problem?

Tried to search around but seems like there are new fees to Wise withdrawal, can't really tell what's the reliable information here.
As what i read, first 2 withdraw = free with max rm1000

after rm1000, will charge 1.75% with rm5 withdrawal fee
ragk
post Oct 22 2024, 11:34 AM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

Guys, is withdrawing money via Wise from Japanese 7-11 / Post Office ATM still the best option for getting Yen right now despite the fees?

I am planning to withdraw about RM5K only when I arrive in Japan, would there be a problem?

Tried to search around but seems like there are new fees to Wise withdrawal, can't really tell what's the reliable information here.
Why dont just swipe ur card all the away? hmm.gif
I've been swiping all the way during my last visit except in kampung area where many old shop dont take card

This post has been edited by ragk: Oct 22 2024, 11:36 AM
JustForFun
post Oct 22 2024, 11:52 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Oct 22 2024, 11:34 AM)
Why dont just swipe ur card all the away?  hmm.gif
I've been swiping all the way during my last visit except in kampung area where many old shop dont take card
Ahh, cause it's difficult to tell how much cash I actually need and if Wise can withdraw so freely then I wouldn't need to worry too much.

Also it's simply finding out if that's the best way to arrive at best exchange rate.
KuroWanko
post Oct 22 2024, 09:41 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(Leto @ Oct 18 2024, 05:49 PM)
hai guys - planning for a 7 days trip to Osaka / Kyoto
can someone recommend a good itinerary
how convenient is the transportation to travel around?
Do let me know if there is any news. I am planning same area in early October 2025.
ZforZebra
post Oct 22 2024, 11:28 PM

172 posts

my first day i reached in the morning straight go kyoto then play around kyoto station
didnt pack much into first day as flight might delay.
then 1 day at arashiyama and its surroundings
1 day at fushimi inari and its surroundings

then i went to nara for a day trip after that.
if you din do nara then you can put more days in kyoto if you like shrines and heritage stuff to cover everything.

else you can put more days in osaka if you like city and the likes of it.
i did 1 full day at USJ also.

kyoto mode of transport is either city bus or train, whichever faster or more convenient.
city bus masuk belakang then come out from front and tap icoca to pay.

public transport is very convenient in japan
Leto
post Oct 23 2024, 08:54 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(ZforZebra @ Oct 22 2024, 11:28 PM)
my first day i reached in the morning straight go kyoto then play around kyoto station
didnt pack much into first day as flight might delay.
then 1 day at arashiyama and its surroundings
1 day at fushimi inari and its surroundings

then i went to nara for a day trip after that.
if you din do nara then you can put more days in kyoto if you like shrines and heritage stuff to cover everything.

else you can put more days in osaka if you like city and the likes of it.
i did 1 full day at USJ also.

kyoto mode of transport is either city bus or train, whichever faster or more convenient.
city bus masuk belakang then come out from front and tap icoca to pay.

public transport is very convenient in japan
bro u have detail itinerary?
HumanExtinction
post Oct 23 2024, 10:40 PM

364 posts

Beware some 3rd party atm do charge a small fees as well, I believe i withdraw this at some metro station
The first atm fee is by wise, the second one is by the atm bank

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Oct 23 2024, 10:43 PM
cmah89
post Oct 24 2024, 09:11 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Oct 21 2024, 03:33 PM)
There shouldn’t be snow during that time but usually already equipped with snow tires.
Usually I change my tires to winter ones by end of Nov/early December
Awesome, thanks for the info.

I opt for snow tires since renting nissan 7 seater. Just worry the route to hirayu onsen and back to takayama. Last year oct it was wet there for kamikochi.
quadcube
post Oct 24 2024, 11:20 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(cmah89 @ Oct 24 2024, 10:11 AM)
Awesome, thanks for the info.

I opt for snow tires since renting nissan 7 seater. Just worry the route to hirayu onsen and back to takayama. Last year oct it was wet there for kamikochi.
oh nice, hirayu onsen is an absolute nice place to wind down in the winter and enjoy the outdoor onsen biggrin.gif

made a few visit while i was living in Ishikawa
vankodoq
post Oct 24 2024, 12:56 PM

377 posts

is this going to be your first time in Osaka/Kyoto? if so, the typical tourist spots are quite nice to visit..
Osaka has Osaka Castle, USJ, Dotonbori, and a lot of foods.. Kyoto has Arashiyama, Kinkakuji, Kiyomizu-dera, Fushimi Inari, etc..
what I'd suggest is not to be too ambitious.. for example, if you're going to USJ, I'd suggest locking 1 day for it and not trying to add additional activities/spots in that day..
also for Kyoto, I'd recommend spreading the activities/spots for two days.. nod.gif

from my experience, Osaka is easier to navigate with trains compared to Kyoto..
depending on your itinerary, you might take more buses than trains in Kyoto.. hmm.gif
RegentCid
post Oct 24 2024, 01:28 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Oct 24 2024, 10:20 AM)
oh nice, hirayu onsen is an absolute nice place to wind down in the winter and enjoy the outdoor onsen biggrin.gif

made a few visit while i was living in Ishikawa
People from Tokyo & Kansai travel all the way to Noto for Wakura Onsen & Kaga Onsen at Ishikawa. You at Ishikawa but go to Gifu biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Oct 24 2024, 01:28 PM
quadcube
post Oct 24 2024, 02:48 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 24 2024, 02:28 PM)
People from Tokyo & Kansai travel all the way to Noto for Wakura Onsen & Kaga Onsen at Ishikawa. You at Ishikawa but go to Gifu  biggrin.gif
That said, I visited Noto more than 10 times, mostly car camping around the peninsula laugh.gif

Kagaonsen not that many but only when bringing new visitors
Human Nature
post Oct 24 2024, 04:27 PM

- student of human nature -
26,525 posts

Damn facebook keep showing memories of my trip last now and now itching to go back again. Thinking to bring my parents to Hokkaido next year covering Sapporo/Otaru/Hakodate and maybe to nearby locations. I wonder if this is a good idea considering they are elderly and Hokkaido has lack of public transportation (?) compared to other cities. No specific month yet, if not snowy may consider to rent a car.

Any recommendation for direct flight KUL to CTS?
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Oct 24 2024, 05:48 PM

875 posts

日本に住んでる人で、5年以上住んでるのに全然日本語をしゃべれないマレーシア人に会ったことある人いる?

This post has been edited by Hoka Nobasho: Oct 24 2024, 05:49 PM
OrewaGundam
post Oct 24 2024, 09:29 PM

Hi guys, want to us about buying things in japan and bringing back to malaysia. Planning to buy figures and merchandise, and packed in box instead of put in luggage. Will this kena tahan at imigresen and need to pay? Any experience can share?
Icehart
post Oct 24 2024, 11:08 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 24 2024, 04:27 PM)
Damn facebook keep showing memories of my trip last now and now itching to go back again. Thinking to bring my parents to Hokkaido next year covering Sapporo/Otaru/Hakodate and maybe to nearby locations. I wonder if this is a good idea considering they are elderly and Hokkaido has lack of public transportation (?) compared to other cities. No specific month yet, if not snowy may consider to rent a car.

Any recommendation for direct flight KUL to CTS?
Might want to avoid winter as elderly can't stand the cold. Plus buses don't run so frequently during the winter.
Rent a car if you have more than 3 pax. Sapporo/Susukino can rely on train network. Any other adventure just rent car. More convenient.

Direct flight to CTS not many. I see AirAsia X fly there but not consistent.
Best is layover at HK or Shenzhen.
Human Nature
post Oct 24 2024, 11:14 PM

- student of human nature -
26,525 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 24 2024, 11:08 PM)
Might want to avoid winter as elderly can't stand the cold. Plus buses don't run so frequently during the winter.
Rent a car if you have more than 3 pax. Sapporo/Susukino can rely on train network. Any other adventure just rent car. More convenient.

Thanks for the input. I will scout around for flight and start from there.
RegentCid
post Oct 24 2024, 11:55 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 24 2024, 10:08 PM)

Based on my experience. Japan cities bus and express bus are the most reliable transport during winter. Those non frequently will be sightseeing bus.
Train normally will delay or cancel if blizzard storm happen but bus will not effected.
Leto
post Oct 25 2024, 10:57 AM

214 posts

does Malaysian need visa for a short 10 days travel to Japan?
xiaomoon
post Oct 25 2024, 11:03 AM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(Leto @ Oct 25 2024, 10:57 AM)
does Malaysian need visa for a short 10 days travel to Japan?
no need

203 Pages « < 168 169 170 171 172 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:12 AM