203 Pages « < 167 168 169 170 171 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

vreis
post Oct 9 2024, 12:33 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

I've got a trip to Tokyo coming up feb 2025. Was wondering if u guys maybe kind enuff to comment on it & give some suggesstions?

Day 1 - Landed 2pm haneda. Go Yokohama straight.
Day 2 - Spend the morning in Kamakura (is it advisable to go from yokohama) then evening in Yokohama
Day 3 -5 - check out 11am and go Tokyo station to catch a bus/train to Kawaguchi. Overnite Kawaguchi
Day 6 - Kawagoe Day trip
Day 7 - 8- Local tour to Ginzan
Day 9 - Tokyo vicinity
day 10 - Gala Yuzawa
Day 11 & 12 - any suggestion? flight on midnite day 12 so have almost fullday can utilise.

My question is
1) Is spending 2 nites in yokohama a lot - I check only have those Chinatown, brick building & cup noodles museum????
2) Haneda bus only go kawaguchi on weekend???
3) Advisable to spend a nite in Gala Yuzawa?
4 ) any other recommendation?

FYI, I've been to Tokyo this year and cover basic tourist attraction like Sensoji, Shibuya Shinjuku etc
RegentCid
post Oct 9 2024, 01:18 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Oct 9 2024, 11:33 AM)
I've got a trip to Tokyo coming up feb 2025. Was wondering if u guys maybe kind enuff to comment on it & give some suggesstions?

Day 2 - Spend the morning in Kamakura (is it advisable to go from yokohama) then evening in Yokohama
Day 3 -5 - check out 11am and go Tokyo station to catch a bus/train to Kawaguchi. Overnite Kawaguchi
Day 6 - Kawagoe Day trip
Day 9 - Tokyo vicinity
day 10 - Gala Yuzawa
Day 11 & 12 - any suggestion? flight on midnite day 12 so have almost fullday can utilise.

My question is
1) Is spending 2 nites in yokohama a lot - I check only have those Chinatown, brick building & cup noodles museum????

FYI, I've been to Tokyo this year and cover basic tourist attraction like Sensoji, Shibuya Shinjuku etc
Gala Yuzawa on Feb will be very expensive. Peak season.
Icehart
post Oct 10 2024, 12:49 AM

14,899 posts

I have a flight that will land in Tokyo at 12.10pm (Domestic). My next flight is at 7pm (International and check-in luggage required).

Is there enough time to take a stroll to Narita town and eat Unagi? What you guys think?

This post has been edited by Icehart: Oct 10 2024, 12:49 AM
RegentCid
post Oct 10 2024, 09:37 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 9 2024, 11:49 PM)
I have a flight that will land in Tokyo at 12.10pm (Domestic). My next flight is at 7pm (International and check-in luggage required).

Is there enough time to take a stroll to Narita town and eat Unagi? What you guys think?
Way more than enough. Bus from Narita to Tokyo City appox 90 minute. If you want fastest, can take Mini Shinkansen (Skyliner) to Ueno 40 minute.
I got few nice & cheap Unagi pocket list. You can try but it taste sure can't beat those 10k Yen above Unagi restraurant lah....but still very good.

Unatoto Asakusa 名代 宇奈とと 浅草店

My Personal Pocket list:
Kabuto かぶと (Splurge)
Izumo Ikebukuro (Economy)
Both also my favorite, I spend more time on Izumo, one of my usual dinner spot before heading back home.

If you don't want take a Risk. Inside Narita Airport also got Kawatoyo branch. Kawatoyo are the Best Unagi restraurant in Narita area.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Oct 10 2024, 09:44 AM
Icehart
post Oct 10 2024, 09:54 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 10 2024, 09:37 AM)
Way more than enough. Bus from Narita to Tokyo City appox 90 minute. If you want fastest, can take Mini Shinkansen (Skyliner) to Ueno 40 minute.
I got few nice & cheap Unagi pocket list. You can try but it taste sure can't beat those 10k Yen above Unagi restraurant lah....but still very good.

Unatoto Asakusa 名代 宇奈とと 浅草店 

My Personal Pocket list:
Kabuto かぶと  (Splurge)
Izumo Ikebukuro (Economy) 
Both also my favorite, I spend more time on Izumo, one of my usual dinner spot before heading back home.

If you don't want take a Risk. Inside Narita Airport also got Kawatoyo branch. Kawatoyo are the Best Unagi restraurant in Narita area.
Thank you for sharing your list. I really appreciate it! smile.gif
RegentCid
post Oct 10 2024, 10:00 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 10 2024, 08:54 AM)
Thank you for sharing your list. I really appreciate it!  smile.gif
Kabuto are Tokyo People no.1 pocket list, Japan Tabelog No.1 spot. So the Q might be long, depends luck.
Kabuto only take Cash & not accept any children age 12 below.

Icehart
post Oct 10 2024, 10:02 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 10 2024, 10:00 AM)
Kabuto are Tokyo People no.1 pocket list, Japan Tabelog No.1 spot. So the Q might be long, depends luck.
Kabuto only take Cash & not accept any children age 12 below.
Is table reservation possible there?
RegentCid
post Oct 10 2024, 10:43 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 10 2024, 09:02 AM)
Is table reservation possible there?
Reservation for 2024 already full. You have to try luck on spot only.
cmah89
post Oct 14 2024, 06:29 AM

157 posts

hi,

Any of you guys drove before, around early december in takayama? Wonder if the road is slippery, considering to opt for snow tires.

Landing in Nagoya end of Nov for 1-2 days then kyoto for 2 days next is rent a car to Gifu, spending a night in hirayu onsen then go takayama for 2 nights. Dropoff ar at chubu airport before depart.

I drove last year Oct Tokyo>Nikko>Matsumoto>kamikochi>Takayama>Tokyo, was a pleasant drive especially use rural roads. Havent try during december / winter.
RegentCid
post Oct 14 2024, 08:46 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(cmah89 @ Oct 14 2024, 05:29 AM)
hi,

Any of you guys drove before, around early december in takayama? Wonder if the road is slippery, considering to opt for snow tires.

Landing in Nagoya end of Nov for 1-2 days then kyoto for 2 days next is rent a car to Gifu, spending a night in hirayu onsen then go takayama for 2 nights. Dropoff ar at chubu airport before depart.

I drove last year Oct Tokyo>Nikko>Matsumoto>kamikochi>Takayama>Tokyo, was a pleasant drive especially use rural roads. Havent try during december / winter.
Takayama won't have any snow on early december.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Oct 14 2024, 08:46 AM
Scissorshand
post Oct 14 2024, 08:49 PM

1,691 posts

Any good affordable car rent in Tokyo for a day to recommend pls?
Leto
post Oct 18 2024, 05:49 PM

214 posts

hai guys - planning for a 7 days trip to Osaka / Kyoto
can someone recommend a good itinerary
how convenient is the transportation to travel around?
iXora.ix
post Oct 19 2024, 11:37 AM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 9 2024, 01:18 PM)
Gala Yuzawa on Feb will be very expensive. Peak season.
Hi, I also in state planning to go gala yuzawa on feb next year. Just wondering, beside its a lot of people, its expensive in term of what ya? food?

This post has been edited by iXora.ix: Oct 19 2024, 11:38 AM
Blofeld
post Oct 19 2024, 03:32 PM

4,702 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Oct 9 2024, 12:33 PM)

Day 6 - Kawagoe Day trip
Day 9 - Tokyo vicinity
day 10 - Gala Yuzawa

My question is

if u're going to Ginzan at Yamagata in February, might as well go to Zao Onsen to see the snow monsters. I waited 2 hours queuing for the cable car but it's worth the wait wub.gif February is the best time to see the snow monsters.

On the other hand, I felt Ginzan Onsen is just a tourist trap. I felt like wasting my time going to Ginzan Onsen.

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Feb 27 2024, 08:44 AM)
RegentCid
post Oct 19 2024, 06:05 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Oct 19 2024, 10:37 AM)
Hi, I also in state planning to go gala yuzawa on feb next year. Just wondering, beside its a lot of people, its expensive in term of what ya? food?
Hotel will be the most expensive. Peak price. Restaurant will be alot people, long Q for the local famous restraurant.
RegentCid
post Oct 19 2024, 06:05 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Edit

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Oct 19 2024, 06:05 PM
iXora.ix
post Oct 20 2024, 11:25 AM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 19 2024, 06:05 PM)
Hotel will be the most expensive. Peak price. Restaurant will be alot people, long Q for the local famous restraurant.
Thanks, will consider this into my itinerary tongue.gif
JustForFun
post Oct 20 2024, 09:36 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Guys, is withdrawing money via Wise from Japanese 7-11 / Post Office ATM still the best option for getting Yen right now despite the fees?

I am planning to withdraw about RM5K only when I arrive in Japan, would there be a problem?

Tried to search around but seems like there are new fees to Wise withdrawal, can't really tell what's the reliable information here.

This post has been edited by JustForFun: Oct 20 2024, 09:36 PM
Scissorshand
post Oct 21 2024, 03:33 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Oct 8 2024, 05:41 PM)
Asking a noob question, meaning one don’t need a physical card to be added to wallet instead get a new suica card directly from wallet? Thanks

Pls ignore found a video of it
Update suica in iPhone wallet works well in Osaka and Kyoto so far
quadcube
post Oct 21 2024, 03:33 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(cmah89 @ Oct 14 2024, 07:29 AM)
hi,

There shouldn’t be snow during that time but usually already equipped with snow tires.
Usually I change my tires to winter ones by end of Nov/early December

203 Pages « < 167 168 169 170 171 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:19 AM