Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!
Duckies
Mar 9 2023, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(deseldag @ Mar 9 2023, 05:44 PM) https://www.jreast.co.jp/multi/en/pass/tokyo_free.html1 day pass covers almost all the train stations. But only worth it if you are travelling A LOT. Travel a lot as in go out of Tokyo or just within Tokyo? Probably will visit hot places like Shinjuku, Shibuya, Akihabara and Roppongi kot.
iXora.ix
Mar 9 2023, 09:37 PM
Hi all, thinking to repeat trip to Osaka this year or maybe next year. Previously was fliying using airasia x and its kinda affordable. But since after covid, even airasia x flight is sky rocket. Just wondering if let say I landing at Nagoya and ride train/buses to Kyoto/Osaka, it is make sense?
Example AAX > KIX ( around 1.7-2k random date )(not all inclusive) SIA > SG > NGO (1.9-2k) ( all inclusive ) random date
Both flight are return flight
michaelchang
Mar 10 2023, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 9 2023, 06:26 PM) Travel a lot as in go out of Tokyo or just within Tokyo? Probably will visit hot places like Shinjuku, Shibuya, Akihabara and Roppongi kot. Tokyo trains n subway not expensive, approx 150-170yen/trip. you need to travel 10 trips in a day to justify buying that pass. I max out at 1100+yen/day when I tour around those places you mentioned.
michaelchang
Mar 10 2023, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Mar 9 2023, 09:37 PM) Hi all, thinking to repeat trip to Osaka this year or maybe next year. Previously was fliying using airasia x and its kinda affordable. But since after covid, even airasia x flight is sky rocket. Just wondering if let say I landing at Nagoya and ride train/buses to Kyoto/Osaka, it is make sense? Example AAX > KIX ( around 1.7-2k random date )(not all inclusive) SIA > SG > NGO (1.9-2k) ( all inclusive ) random date Both flight are return flight During peak season and tickets to Osaka sky rocketed, that's what I do. I fly to Nagoya and take shinkansen to Kyoto for holiday. It's further than Osaka-Kyoto but it's cheaper this way (during that time) and I get to try the fastest Nozomi train and on the way back, I stay one night in Nagoya to try famous eel rice set and look around Nagoya city
Duckies
Mar 10 2023, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(michaelchang @ Mar 10 2023, 08:33 AM) Tokyo trains n subway not expensive, approx 150-170yen/trip. you need to travel 10 trips in a day to justify buying that pass. I max out at 1100+yen/day when I tour around those places you mentioned. Ah I see! Thanks for sharing. I don't think I will travel like 10 trips a day. In that case I guess I will just use Suica.
tZZ
Mar 10 2023, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(@Adele @ Mar 4 2023, 07:52 PM) hi everyone, I am trying to buy train ticket of jr east tokyo to kawaguchiko but whenever i go to payment, it says card not verified. OR verify already I ask to send OTP i never received it. I try so many times can anyone advise me how to purchase the tickets pls thanks It's the website issue. I've tried multiple local visa/master ie maybank, hsbc...etc; it won't work. Ends up with Tac is not sent or error message displayed. I think it's the way our local 3DS is setup. Tried with oversea issued cards sg/thai and it went through.
iXora.ix
Mar 10 2023, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(deseldag @ Mar 9 2023, 09:48 PM) Well, return bus ticket from Nagoya -> Osaka/Kyoto costs RM150+ and for Shinkansen RM300+ You decide if it's worth the add on. Yes, I already calculate the bus/train train and somehow its match with AAX price direct flight. Well will take account on this thanks QUOTE(michaelchang @ Mar 10 2023, 08:37 AM) During peak season and tickets to Osaka sky rocketed, that's what I do. I fly to Nagoya and take shinkansen to Kyoto for holiday. It's further than Osaka-Kyoto but it's cheaper this way (during that time) and I get to try the fastest Nozomi train and on the way back, I stay one night in Nagoya to try famous eel rice set and look around Nagoya city Okay I not alone thinking about this. Coz previously only land at haneda or kansai airport. just wanna try others airport and possibility to explore other part of japan. thanks
chaukeng
Mar 10 2023, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(zero5177 @ Mar 9 2023, 05:45 PM) What is the better place to stay in Tokyo? Would you consider Shinjuku or Shibuya? Recommend you to stay at this hotel, ours inn hankyu, shinagawa. If this is going to be your first visit to tokyo. - affordable price - room is consider big by tokyo standard - extremely near to subway station. Opposite station actually. - shopping mall downstairs. Anything you need is there. - easy to reach from haneda - easy access to tourist spots -
zero5177
Mar 10 2023, 11:19 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(deseldag @ Mar 9 2023, 06:15 PM) For hotels, no, Ueno accomodation is not cheap because it is a hot spot. But still a little cheaper than Shinjuku or Shibuya. If you want cheap you have to go further away from Tokyo city center. Yes, it is very convenient as it is connected to many train lines. And there's lots of food and shopping nearby, especially Ameyokocho Shopping Street. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(chaukeng @ Mar 10 2023, 11:12 PM) Recommend you to stay at this hotel, ours inn hankyu, shinagawa. If this is going to be your first visit to tokyo. - affordable price - room is consider big by tokyo standard - extremely near to subway station. Opposite station actually. - shopping mall downstairs. Anything you need is there. - easy to reach from haneda - easy access to tourist spots - Thanks for the suggestions, yes it is going to be my first to Tokyo in mid May.. not finalized yet
chaukeng
Mar 10 2023, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(zero5177 @ Mar 10 2023, 11:19 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thanks for the suggestions, yes it is going to be my first to Tokyo in mid May.. not finalized yet Some other suggestions. Almost all the usual tourist attractions in Tokyo are easily accessible by train. So you dont have to purposely find hotels that are close to these areas. More importantly is to find one close to train station, preferably within 400m. You can easily find lift and eacalators in every tokyo train station so carrying luggage is not a problem as well. Something u have to take note if you are going to other places like kyoto
wyen
Mar 12 2023, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(michaelchang @ Mar 10 2023, 08:37 AM) During peak season and tickets to Osaka sky rocketed, that's what I do. I fly to Nagoya and take shinkansen to Kyoto for holiday. It's further than Osaka-Kyoto but it's cheaper this way (during that time) and I get to try the fastest Nozomi train and on the way back, I stay one night in Nagoya to try famous eel rice set and look around Nagoya city Can share the location for eel rice set in nagoya? Thanks
RegentCid
Mar 12 2023, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(wyen @ Mar 12 2023, 10:16 AM) Can share the location for eel rice set in nagoya? Thanks My personnel favorite Nagoya version of Eel rice are Horaiken 蓬莱軒. On splurge side but delicious. 4300 - 5000 Yen per set meal 3 minute walk from Nagoya Metro Purple Meijo Line , Atsuta Jingu Nishi Station 熱田神宮伝馬町 This post has been edited by RegentCid: Mar 12 2023, 12:27 PM
michaelchang
Mar 12 2023, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(wyen @ Mar 12 2023, 11:16 AM) Can share the location for eel rice set in nagoya? Thanks I usually go to the one near Nagoya Station. post their FB below. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hitsumabushi...67574336588079/They are located at ESCA underground shopping. This post has been edited by michaelchang: Mar 12 2023, 12:34 PM
kenji1903
Mar 12 2023, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(michaelchang @ Mar 12 2023, 12:32 PM) I usually go to the one near Nagoya Station. post their FB below. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hitsumabushi...67574336588079/They are located at ESCA underground shopping. taikor, is it Inou Hitsumabushi ESCA within Nagoya station? have you happen to try Maruya alos located within the station? will be passing through on my way to Osaka so thought of tapao and eat on the train
michaelchang
Mar 12 2023, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 12 2023, 06:48 PM) taikor, is it Inou Hitsumabushi ESCA within Nagoya station? have you happen to try Maruya alos located within the station? will be passing through on my way to Osaka so thought of tapao and eat on the train  It's not Inou. It's Bincho, they have a few in Nagoya. The one I went is walking distance from Nagoya Station and it's underground called ESCA underground shopping Google map will guide you to the stairs leading down to ESCA underground shopping but will not point you to the exact shop. need to walk around and find base on picture in google map
kenji1903
Mar 12 2023, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(michaelchang @ Mar 12 2023, 09:47 PM) It's not Inou. It's Bincho, they have a few in Nagoya. The one I went is walking distance from Nagoya Station and it's underground called ESCA underground shopping Google map will guide you to the stairs leading down to ESCA underground shopping but will not point you to the exact shop. need to walk around and find base on picture in google map ah ok, i think i found bincho, they look like they are in the same ESCA building but at different ends, thanks bro
RegentCid
Mar 12 2023, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(michaelchang @ Mar 12 2023, 08:47 PM) It's not Inou. It's Bincho, they have a few in Nagoya. The one I went is walking distance from Nagoya Station and it's underground called ESCA underground shopping Google map will guide you to the stairs leading down to ESCA underground shopping but will not point you to the exact shop. need to walk around and find base on picture in google map QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 12 2023, 09:04 PM) ah ok, i think i found bincho, they look like they are in the same ESCA building but at different ends, thanks bro Either Hitsumabushi Bincho or Maruya, both also taste average as my standard. 1st timer, maybe......but for old timer, I won't recommended.
kenji1903
Mar 13 2023, 08:18 AM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 12 2023, 11:37 PM) Either Hitsumabushi Bincho or Maruya, both also taste average as my standard. 1st timer, maybe......but for old timer, I won't recommended. Dumb question, How different is the eel rice in Nagoya vs other cities? Because I’m just passing by Nagoya, might not have the luxury of time to put bags in the locker and go to another station just to buy a snack😅
RegentCid
Mar 13 2023, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 13 2023, 07:18 AM) Dumb question, How different is the eel rice in Nagoya vs other cities? Because I’m just passing by Nagoya, might not have the luxury of time to put bags in the locker and go to another station just to buy a snack😅 Nagoya people like thick miso paste. Everthing in Nagoya sauce will be very strong & thick which really over coverd the original taste. Plus Nagoya eel eating way called Hitsumabushi style. https://hitsumabushi.co.jp/en/hitsumabushi/Nagoya people like it, some people like it, but not me. Plus I already been whole Japan, I tasted so many thing, so many restraurant. I know where can get even more tastier eel. This post has been edited by RegentCid: Mar 13 2023, 08:56 AM
michaelchang
Mar 13 2023, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 13 2023, 08:18 AM) Dumb question, How different is the eel rice in Nagoya vs other cities? Because I’m just passing by Nagoya, might not have the luxury of time to put bags in the locker and go to another station just to buy a snack😅 Nagoya eel are slightly different from other place. The outer layer are slightly crispy and the inner part soft. The taste are more smoky. It's an acquired taste like durian. Some like MSK while some like red prawn. In life, try everything and see what you like best. I traveled at least 5x/year to Japan (due to work) for the past 30 years and will never hesitate to try everything that are local favorite.