Intel Pentium Dual Core E2140/E2160/E2180 Thread, Discussion & Compilation

PGV3910
post Oct 30 2007, 12:00 PM

1,885 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Oct 30 2007, 10:55 AM)
guys, wanna ask whats the correct temperature reading source for e2140?

Idle:
Coretemp & TAT = 50~
bios = 33~

Load:
Coretemp & TAT = 61~

but when i touch the heatsink and heatpipes, its only warm. previously been using the current heatsink on my AMD64.

so which reading is correct? bios is -15 from the coretemp reading. the tjunction from coretemp is 100C. is the e2140's tjunction 85 or 100?

my specs:
e2140
thermalright ultra90 + panaflo 92mm@2000rpm
gigabyte p35 ds3l
12cm blowing out
12cm psu fan blowing out
8cm blowing in
centurion 5 casing
mine idle 32 load 45..
even o/c idle is same but load reach 60. sweat.gif
Are_keem
post Oct 30 2007, 12:17 PM

I'm riders, not rempit
2,123 posts

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Oct 30 2007, 08:46 AM)
400fsb.actually the previous owner can get it.i'll can't mention his name shakehead.gif
or my e2140 is the baddest batch?maybe hmm.gif
can help me on this?im a noob ler icon_question.gif
mine revision CO wif latest bios 15
this the details on averest

hurmm..
try to adjust your RAM on the slot,
some mobo is weird, dual channel on slot 1-2 and 3-4,
and most mobo is 1-3 and 2-4.

QUOTE(plankton @ Oct 30 2007, 10:55 AM)
guys, wanna ask whats the correct temperature reading source for e2140?

Idle:
Coretemp & TAT = 50~
bios = 33~

Load:
Coretemp & TAT = 61~

but when i touch the heatsink and heatpipes, its only warm. previously been using the current heatsink on my AMD64.

so which reading is correct? bios is -15 from the coretemp reading. the tjunction from coretemp is 100C. is the e2140's tjunction 85 or 100?

my specs:
e2140
thermalright ultra90 + panaflo 92mm@2000rpm
gigabyte p35 ds3l
12cm blowing out
12cm psu fan blowing out
8cm blowing in
centurion 5 casing
heatpipis feels warm? try to reapply the thermal paste..
mine 2.8GHz full load @ 38c on TT Big Typhoon VX.
plankton
post Oct 30 2007, 01:33 PM

*Place Custom Member Title Here*
809 posts

the heatpipes are only slightly warm.. put my finger on the heatpipes at the base of the heatsink, closest to the cpu. dun think its even 50C..

@PGV3910 : u measured using coretemp?

so coretemp is correct at reading the temperatures? and the tjunction is 100C and not 85C ? sweat.gif
PGV3910
post Oct 30 2007, 07:58 PM

1,885 posts

QUOTE(Are_keem @ Oct 30 2007, 12:17 PM)
hurmm..
try to adjust your RAM on the slot,
some mobo is weird, dual channel on slot 1-2 and 3-4,
and most mobo is 1-3 and 2-4.
heatpipis feels warm? try to reapply the thermal paste..
mine 2.8GHz full load @ 38c on TT Big Typhoon VX.
but in bios detect it as dual channel shymetric ..ai ya..penin edy,
which one is trust able?software or bios?
allenultra
post Oct 31 2007, 12:31 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Oct 30 2007, 01:33 PM)
the heatpipes are only slightly warm.. put my finger on the heatpipes at the base of the heatsink, closest to the cpu. dun think its even 50C..

@PGV3910 : u measured using coretemp?

so coretemp is correct at reading the temperatures? and the tjunction is 100C and not 85C ? sweat.gif
CPU temp is the temperature measured by the sensor at the motherboard, which is below the CPU die.
As heat transferred along from the CPU die (is that what we call die? or core?) to IHS > Heatsink Base > Heatpipe > Fins > Air
When the heat reached heatpipe, temperature is way lower than the CPU temp unless u have hsf with HDT, maybe the difference won't be that big.
Thus, what u feel on the heatpipe should be way lower than the CPU temp.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

This post has been edited by allenultra: Oct 31 2007, 11:23 AM
baok
post Oct 31 2007, 04:14 AM

737 posts

PGV.. ask the previous owner if he use clockgen to oc the board.. my previous xperience (mase board nih baru kuar ler smile.gif ) if oc thru bios, the highest fsb i can get is 350fsb (damn stable) time tuh bios lame.. then terus jual.. tongue.gif

if he use clockgen then it is possible to clock beyond 400fsb smile.gif dont forget to ask which clock generator setup he used.. wink.gif

oh ye... add vcore maa.. dont afraid smile.gif
plankton
post Oct 31 2007, 10:34 AM

*Place Custom Member Title Here*
809 posts

so the coretemp readings are the correct ones? happy.gif
kucingfight
post Oct 31 2007, 11:01 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Oct 31 2007, 10:34 AM)
so the coretemp readings are the correct ones? happy.gif
use core temp 0.94. Tjunction is 85C. if your using 0.95, minus 15C off..u'll get the same temp as 0.94

Added on October 31, 2007, 11:08 am
QUOTE(allenultra @ Oct 31 2007, 12:31 AM)
CPU temp is the temperature measured by the sensor at the motherboard, which is below the CPU die.
As heat transferred along from the CPU die (is that what we call die? or core?) to IHS > Heatsink Base > Heatpipe > Fins > Air
When the heat reached heatpipe, temperature is way slower than the CPU temp unless u have hsf with HDT, maybe the difference won't be that big.
Thus, what u feel on the heatpipe should be way lower than the CPU temp.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
yeah , words from a mechy engineer biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Oct 31 2007, 11:08 AM
SlayerXT
post Oct 31 2007, 09:31 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Any formula to calculate core temperature? tongue.gif Anyway it make sense if the different is around ~10C...
PGV3910
post Nov 1 2007, 02:07 AM

1,885 posts

QUOTE(baok @ Oct 31 2007, 04:14 AM)
PGV.. ask the previous owner if he use clockgen to oc the board.. my previous xperience (mase board nih baru kuar ler smile.gif ) if oc thru bios, the highest fsb i can get is 350fsb (damn stable) time tuh bios lame.. then terus jual.. tongue.gif

if he use clockgen then it is possible to clock beyond 400fsb smile.gif dont forget to ask which clock generator setup he used.. wink.gif

oh ye... add vcore maa.. dont afraid smile.gif
clockgen?i don't have any idea what is it lor wink.gif
ok,i'll try to ask previous owner how he can manage to get 400fsb nod.gif
thanks a lot bro baok thumbup.gif
eaststyler
post Nov 2 2007, 07:27 PM

67 posts

sneaking best oc matx mobo to pair with e2140. any suggestions sweat.gif
benison
post Nov 3 2007, 01:56 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jul 20 2007, 09:18 AM)
Ok, i Hope this is not a duplication of another E2160 thread. The purpose of this thread is to create a Database & Discuss what ever that are related to P2D. Hope you guys can attach a screeny to proof your case. Please do not submit multiple entries, choose your preferred sreeny and post it here.

* Make this thread Clean and do not Spam, it doesn't make this thread helpful *

Also, please follow the following format

1. CPU speed [ Possible FPO batch Included ]
2. Voltage @ Bios and Load voltage
3. Motherboard
4. HSF
List of Users:

1. kucingfight - E2140 [SLA3H] @ 3.0ghz , LoadVolt = 1.32v, BiosVolt =1.375v, Gigabyte P35-S3L, TT BigTyphoon
2. superpc -E2160 [SLA3H] @ 3.0ghz , LoadVolt =1.39v ,Biosvolt =1.45v, Gigabyte P965-S3, TT Beetle

Added on July 20, 2007, 9:23 am[ Screeny Later ]

I'm using Gigabyte P35-S3L , currently it's the cheapest P35 board out there. It's a stripped down version of P35-S3, pressumely 'L' stands for Lite, which the RAID function has been removed and a smaller NB heatsink is employed. The NB is hot to touch, i was suprised myself as i thought it would only be warm. [ As to other reviews of P35 has indicated]

Currently I'm @ 3.0ghz as i'm finding it's the sweet spot. No way it boots @ 3.2ghz. Probably due to the fsb wall which is around 380-400 for the E21X0 series
YOur rams use is it normal value 667 or.. 800 mhz. With the stock cooler or with typhoon. smile.gif Gonna give it a try
Snyy
post Nov 3 2007, 01:58 AM

Alyssa
595 posts

hi guys, regarding the core temp. I core temp 0.95.4. it shown me my core temp was 33 while my easy tune5 shown me my core temp is 24. which one is correct? or just -15 degree from what the current temp 0.95.4 shown?
benison
post Nov 3 2007, 08:40 PM

66 posts

Guys, what do you think of this board. GA-G33M-S2 for e2140 overclock. Running 24x7. Which rams to get to 3.0ghz. value ram 667, will it do.

Any help appreciated.
bryanyeo87
post Nov 3 2007, 08:52 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(Snyy @ Nov 3 2007, 01:58 AM)
hi guys, regarding the core temp. I core temp 0.95.4. it shown me my core temp was 33 while my easy tune5 shown me my core temp is 24. which one is correct?  or just -15 degree from what the current temp 0.95.4 shown?
Core temp shows the hottest part of the core (basically on top of it la), whereas easy tune 5 shows the middle of the core and the temp will always be lower

QUOTE(benison @ Nov 3 2007, 08:40 PM)
Guys, what do you think of this board. GA-G33M-S2 for e2140 overclock. Running 24x7.  Which rams to get to 3.0ghz. value ram 667, will it do.

Any help appreciated.
G33 is shit for ocing due to the integrated gfx, at least compared to full fledged p35 boards la tongue.gif
benison
post Nov 3 2007, 08:59 PM

66 posts

Any matx board for ocing. oc at a decent speed.

I bought a GA-945GCM-S2L with e2140, I know the board is not the right choice to OC, but it really did not matter to me, wanted a matx and a little OC would do for me. But I am having some problem overclocking it at all.

Here is the Bios setup.

O.C. FSB1333 core.2 CPU [AUTO]
CPU Host Frequency(Mhz) 100
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) [AUTO]
Memory Frequency (Mhz) 667
Dimm OverVoltage Control [Normal]
FSB OverVoltage Control [Normal]
CPU OverVoltage Control [Normal]
Normal CPU vCore 1.32500V

Seems fuzzy to me. The default showing 200 x8 multiplier = 1600 gigahertz, I have 1gb 667 ddr2 ram, so i can set anywhere from 200 - 330 x multiplier 8. But when I try to change th CPU host frequency to anything higher, it just will not boot.

Kinda noob here.. help appreciated.

This post has been edited by benison: Nov 3 2007, 10:01 PM
bryanyeo87
post Nov 4 2007, 01:32 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

At the bios menu press ctrl +F1 to bring up a special menu
Set the ram timings to your rated ram speed

change PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) [AUTO] to 100

CPU OverVoltage Control [Normal] <== Set to 1.325v

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

O.C. FSB1333 core.2 CPU [AUTO] <=== can u tell me what options are there under this menu?
Dimm OverVoltage Control [Normal] <=== can u tell me what options are there under this menu?
FSB OverVoltage Control [Normal] <=== can u tell me what options are there under this menu?

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Nov 4 2007, 01:32 AM
benison
post Nov 4 2007, 03:41 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Nov 4 2007, 01:32 AM)
At the bios menu press ctrl +F1 to bring up a special menu
Set the ram timings to your rated ram speed

change PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) [AUTO] to 100

CPU OverVoltage Control [Normal] <== Set to 1.325v

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
O.C. FSB1333 core.2 CPU [AUTO] <=== can u tell me what options are there under this menu?
Dimm OverVoltage Control [Normal] <=== can u tell me what options are there under this menu?
FSB OverVoltage Control [Normal] <=== can u tell me what options are there under this menu?
O.C. FSB1333 core.2 CPU [AUTO] <=== Disabled, Enabled, Auto
Dimm OverVoltage Control [Normal] <=== Normal, +0.1v, +0.2v, +0.3v, +0.4v
FSB OverVoltage Control [Normal] <=== Normal, +0.1v, +0.2v, +0.3v

Just wanted to get a 2.6ghz and I am happy, currently without OC the cpu temp is about 31C
bryanyeo87
post Nov 4 2007, 04:12 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(benison @ Nov 4 2007, 03:41 AM)
O.C. FSB1333 core.2 CPU [AUTO] <=== Disabled, Enabled, Auto
Dimm OverVoltage Control [Normal] <=== Normal, +0.1v, +0.2v, +0.3v, +0.4v
FSB OverVoltage Control [Normal] <=== Normal, +0.1v, +0.2v, +0.3v

Just wanted to get a 2.6ghz and I am happy, currently without OC the cpu temp is about 31C
O.C. FSB1333 core.2 CPU [AUTO] <=== Try setting to Disabled

That 31C is idle right?
benison
post Nov 4 2007, 04:54 AM

66 posts

yeah.. definately idle.. kekekeke. did not strain it. By the way I'm using built in vga.

Followed some of your example. and I did it.. I underclocked. smile.gif

I wonder why. I;ve set he timings to 4-4-4-12, 5-5-5-15 also no diff, actually what does the timing do.

This post has been edited by benison: Nov 4 2007, 05:17 AM

138 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:29 PM