54 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Working In Silverlake., Share your exp here please.

mosfet83
post Jan 23 2010, 08:15 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(reginabally @ Jan 23 2010, 06:16 PM)
Yeah! Totally agree. I always search from the internet for solution when I encounter problems. So if internet is blocked, who should we refer to if we have coding problems? Our senior or team leader??

Wonder if I can bring my own laptop with broadband services...

Yes, the internet is blocked at head office. But if you based at project site, there's a way to bypass the security. So surfing and IMing is possible.

Vinci777
post Jan 23 2010, 10:47 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

QUOTE(BIN @ Jan 23 2010, 05:57 PM)
i am wondering how do  programmers here  solve your code problems if internet is blocked since we can do our research on internet if there are any problems...got tons of solutions out there from internet...... shakehead.gif
Our software solutions is not something u can get from internet. It can tell u RPG codes but not how the system works. So, they give u RPG training and expect u to know them after the training. There are senior who will guide u there. I believe u will chat and surf web more than looking for solution if u get the opportunity to on9. Dats wat i do when i got the chance. LOL.

Anyhow, im able to IM and Gtalk and check Gmail only. Other blocked. T.T
reginabally
post Jan 24 2010, 05:29 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Jan 23 2010, 10:47 PM)
I believe u will chat and surf web more than looking for solution if u get the opportunity to on9. Dats wat i do when i got the chance. LOL.

Haha! It's true. Sometimes I tend to spend time on useless stuff (e.g. Mafia War @ Facebook) even my intention to get online is to do research...

kyawzaw
post Jan 28 2010, 10:06 PM

36 posts

I just wanna sum up about the salary information for people got posted overseas. After reading through this thread, if a person got posted overseas, pay rate is RM90 daily (not Dubai, Japan). Let's assume 30 working days (oversea) that means RM2,700 rite? Let's say the salary is RM2,000. that means if someone got posted overseas normally he/she would earn in the range of 4K (in the above case it's gonna be RM 4,700)? Just wanna have a clear picture on it.
mosfet83
post Jan 29 2010, 12:48 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(kyawzaw @ Jan 28 2010, 10:06 PM)
I just wanna sum up about the salary information for people got posted overseas.  After reading through this thread, if a person got posted overseas, pay rate is RM90 daily (not Dubai, Japan). Let's assume 30 working days (oversea) that means RM2,700 rite? Let's say the salary is RM2,000.  that means if someone got posted overseas normally he/she would earn in the range of 4K (in the above case it's gonna be RM 4,700)? Just wanna have a clear picture on it.
Yes, best case scenario is you spend whole month (30 days) at oversea.
So if your per diem claim is RM90 daily then comes to RM2700 per month.
Then you can claim for telephone call and transportation as well where applicable and airport taxi.
Not to mention Air Asia meal allowance during flight even you didn't buy anything.
Certain countries like Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have extra allowance called Hardship allowance which give extra RM30 or RM50 per day as addition to your per diem.
kyawzaw
post Jan 29 2010, 01:11 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(mosfet83 @ Jan 29 2010, 12:48 AM)
Yes, best case scenario is you spend whole month (30 days) at oversea.
So if your per diem claim is RM90 daily then comes to RM2700 per month.
Then you can claim for telephone call and transportation as well where applicable and airport taxi.
Not to mention Air Asia meal allowance during flight even you didn't buy anything.
Certain countries like Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have extra allowance called Hardship allowance which give extra RM30 or RM50 per day as addition to your per diem.
Thanks. It helps me to get a clear picture. It sounds pretty cool ofcuz if a person is willing to work overseas. Accommodation and transportation is also provided when work in overseas rite ? Wow that seems like a go-go. Just one last question, per diem claim means whether we are working or not we can claim it as long as we are assigned to any overseas project and abroad rite ? I mean let's say if i dun work on Sunday, but still i can claim per diem for that day ? My apology if I been sounding noob. I'm a fresh grad and not very familiar with all those kind of stuff.

This post has been edited by kyawzaw: Jan 29 2010, 01:12 AM
mosfet83
post Jan 29 2010, 10:02 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(kyawzaw @ Jan 29 2010, 01:11 AM)
Thanks. It helps me to get a clear picture.  It sounds pretty cool ofcuz if a person is willing to work overseas.  Accommodation and transportation is also provided when work in overseas rite ? Wow that seems like a go-go.  Just one last question, per diem claim means whether we are working or not we can claim it as long as we are assigned to any overseas project and abroad rite ? I mean let's say if i dun work on Sunday, but still i can claim per diem for that day ? My apology if I been sounding noob.  I'm a fresh grad and not very familiar with all those kind of stuff.
Yer, you can claim per diem on weekends as well whether you're working or not on that day.
But you cannot claim per diem if you apply for annual leave while in oversea.
Accomodation is provided but transport I'm not sure.
Certain country they provide van and driver, others you may have to find your own transport.
This is why Silverlake is a good stepping stone, especially if you're assigned to RPG team.
My collegue just resign after 18 months with Silverlake, and got offer double the salary somewhere else.

tennyson612
post Jan 31 2010, 11:14 AM

87 posts

does anyone know what did "exceptional claim" mean in Silverlake ?
Vinci777
post Jan 31 2010, 06:51 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

Accommodation overseas provided by Silverlake is always very good. U live in good apartments condos whenever ur being assigned no matter its Japan, Singapore, Indonesia or Thailand. Accommodation is the thing u dont have to worry about biggrin.gif

No idea about exceptional claims. My guess its some special claims dat need management approval.
reginabally
post Feb 1 2010, 03:37 PM

37 posts

Hurray! Today's my first day working at SSSB. Guess what? I only got to my own place around 3pm...

My superior is on leave, then the person who's in charge of my workstation also on leave...I don't have any username and password to login into my workstation, so my whole day here would be sitting and surfing the net using my own laptop...
mosfet83
post Feb 1 2010, 04:54 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(reginabally @ Feb 1 2010, 03:37 PM)
Hurray! Today's my first day working at SSSB. Guess what? I only got to my own place around 3pm...

My superior is on leave, then the person who's in charge of my workstation also on leave...I don't have any username and password to login into my workstation, so my whole day here would be sitting and surfing the net using my own laptop...
that reminds me of my first working day
it was 1st of feb two years ago
and i only spent the morning for briefing and can go home after lunch
all banks in KL were close tongue.gif
Vinci777
post Feb 1 2010, 10:05 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

Because Thaipusam falls on Sat. Local based Silverlakers can replace the ph leave on either Friday or Monday. Most ppl took Monday so its no surprise ur superior did the same tongue.gif

Anyway, welcome and i hope u enjor ur stay tongue.gif tongue.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Vinci777: Feb 1 2010, 10:06 PM
SUSsylar111
post Feb 1 2010, 11:46 PM

2,547 posts

Well there is a danger of doing other things when internet is accessible but then, it is impossible to be independant without internet. I mean how are you going to trouble shoot certain java script errors if you dun have internet accessible. Of coz you can get books but still they are not enough. There is a danger of someone surfing the net accessibly but then if thaat person finishes his/her job then who cares. What are the qualities you look for when you hire a technical person. 1 of the qualities that i look for is that the person is able to troubleshoot issues by him/herself. If say you disable the internet and encourage people to seek their seniors everytime an issue comes out how are they going to learn to be independant? A good supervisor will ensure that a his suboridate will know the pain if he/she does not perform the task on time. I think internet is a must in every IT company and it is the responsibility of the supervisor as well as the subordinate to ensure that the task is being done on time.
reginabally
post Feb 3 2010, 06:10 PM

37 posts

Vinci777: May I know which team/project/department are you in? I'm under DSP java.
Joey-kun
post Feb 6 2010, 10:33 AM

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

is your head Elaine Tan and Syaz? tongue.gif:P:P
reginabally
post Feb 6 2010, 06:35 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Feb 6 2010, 10:33 AM)
is your head Elaine Tan and Syaz? tongue.gif:P:P
Haha!How do you know? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by reginabally: Feb 6 2010, 06:41 PM
Vinci777
post Feb 6 2010, 07:21 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

Syaz... we call him the Malay God (no racist but we call him dat becos not many malays in Silverlake).

Regina: I'm in CreditCard team. Good luck finding me. LOL
Joey-kun
post Feb 6 2010, 07:42 PM

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Feb 6 2010, 07:21 PM)
Syaz... we call him the Malay God (no racist but we call him dat becos not many malays in Silverlake).

Regina: I'm in CreditCard team. Good luck finding me. LOL
who's ur head?

Syaz is god for another reason: legend has it he planted a xmas tree in AS400. any of u can anot? tongue.gif
Vinci777
post Feb 6 2010, 07:46 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Feb 6 2010, 07:42 PM)
who's ur head?

Syaz is god for another reason: legend has it he planted a xmas tree in AS400. any of u can anot? tongue.gif
Hehe. Credit Card dept is not dat big. Guess urself tongue.gif

What do u mean by the xmas tree? I only know heard dat he started as an office boy after spm and GPO noticed him and get him to R&D training with the Silverlake founders in the states.
hitman_jay
post Feb 6 2010, 07:52 PM

25 posts

Silverlake really susah to apply and get a job there~

54 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:36 AM