Working In Silverlake., Share your exp here please.

mosfet83
post Jan 24 2009, 10:04 PM

218 posts

gonna to start working at silverlake after cny
got offer for programmer position
any advice? smile.gif
mosfet83
post Jan 25 2009, 10:24 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(leecy85 @ Jan 25 2009, 01:25 AM)

Added on January 25, 2009, 1:31 am

Oh..You going to start work at silverlake after CNY.
Congrat wor.  rclxms.gif
Then you will be under which team?
thank you smile.gif
im not sure yet which team they didnt tell
probably .net and mssql since i have mcts cert in db admin
u work at silverlake also? which team? wink.gif

mosfet83
post Jan 28 2009, 07:50 PM

218 posts

quick question, do they send you to client site or oversea during probation period or it just for confirmed position only? biggrin.gif
and what is the working hour at HQ, I'm gonna start next week but still don't know blush.gif
my HR department contact holiday all week so cannot ask tongue.gif
mosfet83
post Jan 29 2009, 03:31 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(suaymakmak @ Jan 28 2009, 09:41 PM)
it depends whether they need ppl on site or not. some ppl got to travel right after they join. recently more and more ppl working off site at HQ.
working hour...haha...depends on project and how hardworking are u. some ppl leave at 5.30 sharp..some leave at 9 or 10 or even later.
i dun mind leave time, i have no other commitment so can stay until 10 tongue.gif
but what time go in? 9am? 830am? huhu ...
i really hope they post me somewhere in kl, quite far HQ from my house sad.gif
mosfet83
post Feb 19 2009, 12:44 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(redsuns86 @ Feb 18 2009, 11:44 PM)
silverlake confirmed with me today.. waiting for offer letter now.. hope i make the right choice.. pray for me guyz..hahaha:D
great .. welcome aboard smile.gif
so they offer you programmer position? you know which team yet?
mosfet83
post Feb 27 2009, 07:12 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(redsuns86 @ Feb 20 2009, 02:47 PM)
just 1 time interview and confirmed.. maybe luck?biggrin.gif

erm..they offered me as programmer..should be VB.net.. starting work on 16 of march...see u guyz soon..
me too wink.gif started working here on 2nd of feb
finished 4th week already biggrin.gif
mosfet83
post May 17 2009, 10:11 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(lobelia @ May 17 2009, 09:35 PM)
hi,

r u joining DWH? how come i din see got new staff in DWH? hmmm... superiors ar? actually depends on whether u can make urself suit into the environment or not. DWH more on analysis (of cuz need to do techincal in SQL). Lately DWH having few project running in local and oversea... coming in project will be in vietnam and labuan...

As wat the ex-silverlakes said... its good that u do the oversea project cuz can earn per diem. Silverlake is a very good place for learning. In fact... i learn alot in DWH...  smile.gif
if im not mistaken, im the latest member of DWH and that was from last february .. currently in project bank Islam
and you which project? smile.gif
and it is true that i also learns a lot in DWH, from technical aspect, and the best part is the banking system itself ...

mosfet83
post Jun 8 2009, 08:56 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(Souler @ Jun 6 2009, 07:32 AM)
bank Islam project?
at maju junction there?

means tat u assigned to there when ur first day go in silverlake?

when is de project ends?
yes bank Islam project at TH Perdana
my first day at KPMG for briefing
then they assigned me to OSK for 3 months starting 2nd day
i just been assigned to BIMB a month ago
if not mistaken BIMB project will end in December ..
mosfet83
post Jul 3 2009, 06:53 PM

218 posts

i'm not planning to stay long
no more than 2 years
but it depends la
who knows suddenly they change the policy *sigh*
mosfet83
post Sep 25 2009, 10:05 AM

218 posts

anybody from bangladesh or sri lanka project? want to know hows environment here? huhuh ...
mosfet83
post Sep 30 2009, 12:04 AM

218 posts

me? after 8 months and 2 local projects?
my friend went oversea on 3rd day :-S
mosfet83
post Oct 24 2009, 08:45 AM

218 posts

as a fresh grad, i would go for experience not money
experience that would allow you to get better offer somewhere else
even you base at local site, the experience you'll gain in banking and as400 is vast
mosfet83
post Oct 25 2009, 06:50 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(raigores @ Oct 25 2009, 06:43 PM)
U got the point also....
thats why I'm currently still staying there.  smile.gif

but how good is AS400's career/future. That one I'm not sure.

Added on October 25, 2009, 6:47 pm

owh ya...  sorry I missed out the OT after 9pm will get RM40. Hehe...
that one i'm not sure ... i'm not from as400 team tongue.gif
but most of the banks still using as400, only a few use unix as far as i know
so high chance the future is bright since migrating to other environment is not that easy
mosfet83
post Jan 23 2010, 08:15 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(reginabally @ Jan 23 2010, 06:16 PM)
Yeah! Totally agree. I always search from the internet for solution when I encounter problems. So if internet is blocked, who should we refer to if we have coding problems? Our senior or team leader??

Wonder if I can bring my own laptop with broadband services...

Yes, the internet is blocked at head office. But if you based at project site, there's a way to bypass the security. So surfing and IMing is possible.

mosfet83
post Jan 29 2010, 12:48 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(kyawzaw @ Jan 28 2010, 10:06 PM)
I just wanna sum up about the salary information for people got posted overseas.  After reading through this thread, if a person got posted overseas, pay rate is RM90 daily (not Dubai, Japan). Let's assume 30 working days (oversea) that means RM2,700 rite? Let's say the salary is RM2,000.  that means if someone got posted overseas normally he/she would earn in the range of 4K (in the above case it's gonna be RM 4,700)? Just wanna have a clear picture on it.
Yes, best case scenario is you spend whole month (30 days) at oversea.
So if your per diem claim is RM90 daily then comes to RM2700 per month.
Then you can claim for telephone call and transportation as well where applicable and airport taxi.
Not to mention Air Asia meal allowance during flight even you didn't buy anything.
Certain countries like Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have extra allowance called Hardship allowance which give extra RM30 or RM50 per day as addition to your per diem.
mosfet83
post Jan 29 2010, 10:02 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(kyawzaw @ Jan 29 2010, 01:11 AM)
Thanks. It helps me to get a clear picture.  It sounds pretty cool ofcuz if a person is willing to work overseas.  Accommodation and transportation is also provided when work in overseas rite ? Wow that seems like a go-go.  Just one last question, per diem claim means whether we are working or not we can claim it as long as we are assigned to any overseas project and abroad rite ? I mean let's say if i dun work on Sunday, but still i can claim per diem for that day ? My apology if I been sounding noob.  I'm a fresh grad and not very familiar with all those kind of stuff.
Yer, you can claim per diem on weekends as well whether you're working or not on that day.
But you cannot claim per diem if you apply for annual leave while in oversea.
Accomodation is provided but transport I'm not sure.
Certain country they provide van and driver, others you may have to find your own transport.
This is why Silverlake is a good stepping stone, especially if you're assigned to RPG team.
My collegue just resign after 18 months with Silverlake, and got offer double the salary somewhere else.

mosfet83
post Feb 1 2010, 04:54 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(reginabally @ Feb 1 2010, 03:37 PM)
Hurray! Today's my first day working at SSSB. Guess what? I only got to my own place around 3pm...

My superior is on leave, then the person who's in charge of my workstation also on leave...I don't have any username and password to login into my workstation, so my whole day here would be sitting and surfing the net using my own laptop...
that reminds me of my first working day
it was 1st of feb two years ago
and i only spent the morning for briefing and can go home after lunch
all banks in KL were close tongue.gif
mosfet83
post Feb 10 2010, 11:04 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(cosmoboy @ Feb 10 2010, 10:39 AM)
Going to have an interview here. Trying my luck here. Anyway, can the salary enough to cover your expenses? Parking also need money izzit?, eat also need money. How much you people spend on parking monthly?

If stay far maybe need to pay car oil and toll~ If stay far need to find a room at nearby area. Life is very hard. hahaha.

I can only say one word. Haiz~~~~~
not sure about parking, i ride motorcycle and sometimes ride LRT. only if going to HQ then i drive. but the salary is enough to cover all your expenses. otherwise nobody works at silverlake lol.

mosfet83
post Mar 10 2010, 10:59 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(nszer @ Mar 8 2010, 02:10 PM)
Thanks and good luck to u too...
But what i can said to u is.. dont worry to much...just give them sometime to process the job application..
As i know, their HR staffs are quite efficient on recruiting staffs..

The HR called me within 6 hours after i having lunch, a movie session at One U after the Interview.
They asked me about my current basic salary, any other allowance, yearly bonus, company benefits and ohter for
drafting my application proposal. Of coz, this point still doen't mean that i already get the offer..
Just feel impressed on the speed they process my application.

Anyway,few things want to clarify with current silverlaker..
1) how many annual leave per year?
2) how is the OT claim? if i work in weekend or Public holiday?as previous post, Rm15 per hour for after 8pm, and Rm 40 
    after 9pm..so how about the OT in between 6pm to 8pm?
3) For new join silverlakers.. is that need to be bond for a year ? Any penalty for if quit or terminate during the bonding
    periods?
4) may i know anyone of u go to work from sri petaling? how is the traffic condition from LDP to One U? Anyone of u go to
    work by public transport such like train or bus?
5) I have 2 months terminate notice in current company, is that any issue cause i'm not qualified?

Added on March 9, 2010, 1:51 pmAny silverlaker can answer me?

Added on March 9, 2010, 1:53 pmAny silverlaker can answer me?
Hi there,

1. Basically you start with 15days per year. But for first year, it depends on which month you join. Let say if you join in February, you only entitled 14days of annual leave.
2. There's no OT claim but you can only claim for meal. And if working during weekend or public holiday, you can claim for meal and return mileage from your house to project site. If you go before 8pm, no meal claim.
3. There's no bond unless you go for RPG training. If you got bond, you need to pay one month salary to quit before bonding period.
4. LDP condition from Sri Petaling sucks especially when approach Sunway and WD bridge area. Near Tropicana area as well.
5. I believe that wouldn't be an issue.

Anyway good luck to you. I just tender my resignation to further study abroad. biggrin.gif
Maybe I'll rejoin Silverlake in the future if the offer is good.
mosfet83
post Mar 10 2010, 12:04 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(nszer @ Mar 10 2010, 11:15 AM)
Thanks mosfet83.. few question to u again..
1. can i know more about the meal allowance?
2. what is the paid for fresh graduate now?
3. anyone take bus from Kelana Jaya LRT station to One U ?

1. They give meal allowance if you work overtime. For normal working days, if you work until 8pm, you can claim RM15. If until 9pm than can claim RM40. During public holidays or weekend, if you work minimum 5 hours that you entitled for RM60 meal claim.
2. For fresh grad, I'm not quite sure how much they pay. But for last year, my friends got paid ranging from RM2.2K - 2.4K. And they all based at project site so got extra RM280 project site allowance.
3. I'm not sure about this, not a Kelana Jaya residence. Maybe someone else can answer?

0.0192sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:58 PM