PPSMI: Think of future of Malay community, says Mahathir

SUSraynman
post Feb 6 2020, 11:46 AM, updated 6y ago

4,333 posts

PUTRAJAYA: Dr Mahathir Mohamad today defended his decision for Science and Maths to be taught in English, saying he was keeping the future development of the Malay community in mind.

The prime minister said that English was used widely in various industries and it would be difficult for those in such fields, who did not have a good grasp of the language, to understand instructions.

Those who had a poor command of English, he said, found it difficult to get jobs.

International scientific conferences are conducted in English and if Malaysian scientists are not fluent in English, they would not be able to understand these discussions.

“I am a Malay. I love the community and the Malay language. But we need to consider the advancement of the community.

“If we care for the community, we must emphasise on their success more than focusing on the mother tongue.

“We need to think this through,” Mahathir, who is also acting education minister, said at an event here today.

On Jan 31, Mahathir said the teaching of Science and Maths in English (PPSMI) is the way to go for Malaysia to obtain greater skills.

PPSMI was introduced in Year One in primary schools and Form One in secondary schools in 2003. However, it was abolished in 2013.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...-says-mahathir/
SUSM4A1
post Feb 6 2020, 11:47 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

The prime minister said that English was used widely in various industries and it would be difficult for those in such fields, who did not have a good grasp of the language, to understand instructions.

Those who had a poor command of English, he said, found it difficult to get jobs.

u want good command of english , then improve english mastery, syllabus and time spend on english subject la
SUSBluePants
post Feb 6 2020, 11:49 AM

20 posts

I cannot understand that lembu who changed it back to BM in 2013. What's his reasoning??

LamboSama
post Feb 6 2020, 11:50 AM

769 posts

Should make mandarin compulsory also then. Oh wai...
United Rulez
post Feb 6 2020, 11:52 AM

668 posts

Incoming plotek: "Kenape BM tak boleh? Cuba kita tengok macam Jepun"...
pretty23
post Feb 6 2020, 11:53 AM

1,791 posts

so he admit Malay language is outdated and hard to achieve wawasan ?

How about jawi? since malay language less competitive now.
Here to buy
post Feb 6 2020, 11:54 AM

1,379 posts

QUOTE(United Rulez @ Feb 6 2020, 12:52 PM)
Job requirement:
1. Fluent in Mandarin
bereev

257 posts

u see Korean, Japan,, Indonesian and even Thailand , they dun learn English in school but has better economy than us , better pay attention on Race and Religion first
SUSM4A1

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(BluePants @ Feb 6 2020, 11:49 AM)
I cannot understand that lembu who changed it back to BM in 2013. What's his reasoning??
PETALING JAYA: Penasihat Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim sekali lagi menggesa kerajaan memansuhkan dasar Pengajaran dan Pembelajaran Sains dan Matematik dalam Bahasa Inggeris (PPSMI).

"Kita sekali lagi ulangi desakan ini. Kita tuntut Timbalan Perdana Menteri (Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, jangan lengah-lengahkan lagi dan laksanakan segera dasar pendidikan kebangsaan dengan mengembalikan Bahasa Melayu sebagai Bahasa Kebangsaan dan mendaulatkannya sebagai bahasa rasmi dalam sistem pendidikan kita.

"Kita minta mereka (kerajaan BN) kembali mengajar mata pelajaran Sains dan Matematik di sekolah kebangsaan dalam Bahasa Melayu," katanya pada sidang media selepas mempengerusikan mesyuarat Majlis Pimpinan Tertinggi parti itu hari ini.
SUSBluePants
post Feb 6 2020, 11:56 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 11:54 AM)
PETALING JAYA: Penasihat Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim sekali lagi menggesa kerajaan memansuhkan dasar Pengajaran dan Pembelajaran Sains dan Matematik dalam Bahasa Inggeris (PPSMI).

"Kita sekali lagi ulangi desakan ini. Kita tuntut Timbalan Perdana Menteri (Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, jangan lengah-lengahkan lagi dan laksanakan segera dasar pendidikan kebangsaan dengan mengembalikan Bahasa Melayu sebagai Bahasa Kebangsaan dan mendaulatkannya sebagai bahasa rasmi dalam sistem pendidikan kita.

"Kita minta mereka (kerajaan BN) kembali mengajar mata pelajaran Sains dan Matematik di sekolah kebangsaan dalam Bahasa Melayu," katanya pada sidang media selepas mempengerusikan mesyuarat Majlis Pimpinan Tertinggi parti itu hari ini.
Right... BN changed it because an ex con requested to.

khusyairi
post Feb 6 2020, 11:56 AM

147 posts

Bcoz Pakatan Rakyat during that time against teach in english.
Memperkasakan BM thing.
So BN follow.

This post has been edited by khusyairi: Feb 6 2020, 11:57 AM
cassian948
post Feb 6 2020, 11:57 AM

931 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 11:47 AM)

u want good command of english , then improve english mastery, syllabus and time spend on english subject la
Normal English don't teach you Mathematical and Scientific name of terms.
SUSM4A1
post Feb 6 2020, 11:57 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(BluePants @ Feb 6 2020, 11:56 AM)
Right... BN changed it because an ex con requested to.
and that ur ex con now that used to against now support....and soon become ur PM8

hopefully
Phoenix_KL
post Feb 6 2020, 11:58 AM

156 posts

they want jawi. whistling.gif
SUSM4A1
post Feb 6 2020, 11:58 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Feb 6 2020, 11:57 AM)
if basic also fail

what is the point of learning it for math n science?

what is the objective of PPSMI?
to improve math science or english mastery??
jibpek
post Feb 6 2020, 12:00 PM

708 posts

Cannot be, according to /k SK's England is top notch
khusyairi
post Feb 6 2020, 12:00 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 11:57 AM)
and that ur ex con now that used to against now support....and soon become ur PM8

hopefully
PM8 hope still blur... Most likely PM7 until next GE.

https://www.thestar.com.my/opinion/columnis...-on-the-horizon
kangkayu
post Feb 6 2020, 12:01 PM

129 posts

tech bk on AI published in 2018.
some dun faham english.
dbp do translation, costing RM200k
bm version out in 2020 but content obsoletely lapuk.
SUSraynman
post Feb 6 2020, 12:01 PM

4,333 posts

What God wants, God gets. smile.gif
funnyTONE
post Feb 6 2020, 12:02 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

By the end of the PPSMI program, Malaysia fell by almost half in the rends in Internationnal Mathematics and Science Study (TIMMS).
Turns out, learning math and science in english don't automatically make you better at it.

"Heyy, my kids can memorize and recite Eminem by heart.
I bet she can do English debate very well"
Songlap

42 posts

the macai is strong in this thread cool2.gif
cassian948

931 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 11:58 AM)
if basic also fail

Can you name the 3 variables used in making a Hypothesis?

Which one is coming to your mind when thinking for the answer? To write the variable in English or Malay?
funnyTONE
post Feb 6 2020, 12:03 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

if basic also fail

Tun M is a visionary, he can only see the jump from A to Z, but he didn't bother to know about the alphabets in between.
Crovoseas
post Feb 6 2020, 12:04 PM

353 posts

got the teacherS capable teach in Engkerish?
keyibukeyi

150 posts

bangsa lain lain ingrishh good good okay jerrr
SUSM4A1

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:02 PM)
Can you name the 3 variables used in making a Hypothesis?

Which one is coming to your mind when thinking for the answer? To write the variable in English or Malay?
i said , we should improve english mastery 1st.... BY increasing english subject teaching timing

once student mastery that

then only we go for PPSMI
arcadicus
post Feb 6 2020, 12:05 PM

213 posts

just wait n see... later anwar become pm8 in may all thi will be uturn...

kek

This post has been edited by arcadicus: Feb 6 2020, 12:05 PM
cassian948
post Feb 6 2020, 12:07 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:04 PM)
i said , we should improve english mastery 1st.... BY increasing english subject teaching timing

once student mastery that

then only we go for PPSMI
But why can't it be done concurrently? The similarity of vocabulary used in PPSMI can help in English lesson progress and vice versa.
iGamer
post Feb 6 2020, 12:07 PM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 11:47 AM)

Science terminology will not be taught in normal English class.
khusyairi
post Feb 6 2020, 12:08 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Feb 6 2020, 12:02 PM)
By the end of the PPSMI program, Malaysia fell by almost half in the rends in Internationnal Mathematics and Science Study (TIMMS).
Turns out, learning math and science in english don't automatically make you better at it.

Maybe it fell not bcoz language. Study in BM back also still cant be (among) world best.
Many other factors like student quality, syllabus etc..
SUSM4A1
post Feb 6 2020, 12:08 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:07 PM)
But why can't it be done concurrently? The similarity of vocabulary used in PPSMI can help in English lesson progress and vice versa.
did u hear any minister talk about improving english subject timing ? NOPE

Jedi
post Feb 6 2020, 12:10 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

No need good English. Plotek kan ada
emburrar

14 posts

QUOTE(Here to buy @ Feb 6 2020, 11:54 AM)
Job requirement:
1. Fluent in Mandarin
lel
SUSM4A1

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Feb 6 2020, 12:07 PM)
what is the point understand Science terminology but english fail laugh.gif

is like i give u a japanese kanji book of science and math...nah learn it. laugh.gif
end of the day will ur japanese language get better? NOPE
cassian948
post Feb 6 2020, 12:11 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:08 PM)
Aren't things like this are expected? The Whitepaper should cover all this.
emburrar
post Feb 6 2020, 12:11 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(arcadicus @ Feb 6 2020, 12:05 PM)
just wait n see... later anwar become pm8 in may all thi will be uturn...

kek
lol
anwar pm in waiting
thanos no give chance to him always waiting je anwar
SUSraynman
post Feb 6 2020, 12:12 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(Here to buy @ Feb 6 2020, 11:54 AM)
Job requirement:
1. Fluent in Mandarin

SUSM4A1
post Feb 6 2020, 12:13 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:11 PM)
Aren't things like this are expected? The Whitepaper should cover all this.
expected laugh.gif
should laugh.gif

only u mention it so far

No one talk about it or mention it laugh.gif
arcadicus
post Feb 6 2020, 12:15 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:10 PM)
what is the point understand Science terminology but english fail  laugh.gif
is like i give u a japanese kanji book of science and math...nah learn it. laugh.gif
this👍
SUSandylyc
post Feb 6 2020, 12:15 PM

27 posts

No future as tongkat and protek still exist.
DarkNite
post Feb 6 2020, 12:16 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Cos sked compete with his kids that grad from International university?
BS8110
post Feb 6 2020, 12:17 PM

128 posts

Personally, English or BM doesn't matter.

Most important part is updating the syllabus to reflect the current need and consistency in implementing policy.

The problem with our politician is flip-flopping in policy and keep changing things around. Sekejap itu, sekejap ini, sekejap gabung Higher Education Ministry with Education Ministry, sekejap split again to Education Ministry and Higher Education Ministry. Those things used up resources, time and money to do.

Study and discuss properly with interested parties then implement. Stick with it with improvement along the way.
letitsnow
post Feb 6 2020, 12:18 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Feb 6 2020, 12:07 PM)
if you bother about science term in English, then dual language programme (DLP) is already addressed that. they still could learn in mother tongue with awareness of terminologies in English.

Still, back then i dont have DLP either, bcoz it's not that hard to figure it out, or open the dictionary (today just google, even better!), to look for an English term. I personally think if a person have a hard time with malay to english terminology, STEM is not his/er path.
EatFriesEggs
post Feb 6 2020, 12:19 PM

91 posts

Whatever la, keep DLP open at least... Last time PPSMI jalan for like 10 years liao, then suddenly putar balik...

But no doubt, the comprehension of English of some professionals these days really worries... You say one thing, they act as though they understand, but they interpret it as other things...

This post has been edited by EatFriesEggs: Feb 6 2020, 12:21 PM
SUSAscMenhe
post Feb 6 2020, 12:23 PM

Totally agree

Please shut down detractors and implement it
nasi lemak 20 sen
post Feb 6 2020, 12:27 PM

My take on PPSMI.

This PPSMI will fail. Will last as long as atuk in charge.

This is a huge political prize to be scored for BN, PAS. Even PH themselves when atuk retired.

There are 2 groups, progressive and conservative in fight now.

Progressive wants English, liberal etc. Think Zaid Ibrahim kind of people.

Conservative group of course no need explanation. Think Katak Ibrahim type of people.

The only solution to improve English is to introduce SRJE and SMJE which stand for "Sekolah Rendah Jenis English" and Sekolah Menengah Jenis English".

Conservative group won't go to SRJE or SMJE.

Meanwhile progressive group (READ: Malay) will have option in English school. The non-Malay too have option to join English school.

30 years later, we can smoke Singapore 9 street far away.
SUSBora Prisoner
post Feb 6 2020, 12:29 PM

532 posts

Malaysians that go to school from Std 1 to Form 5 will have taken at least 11 years of English lessons.

How is it that their english is still bad?

Drian
post Feb 6 2020, 12:30 PM

4,999 posts

if basic also fail

If basic already fail , then there's no point considering them. What's the point of considering people who fail english.
If they're lazy and don't want to learn then too bad.

This is to improve people who are below average to average and average to above average. If fail too bad.

funnyTONE
post Feb 6 2020, 12:31 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Feb 6 2020, 12:08 PM)
Maybe it fell not bcoz language. Study in BM back also still cant be (among) world best.
Many other factors like student quality, syllabus etc..
Its not talking about the top ranks, which we're far behind in the first place.
Its talking about the degradation of the existing ranking which proves the program doesn't reflect on the expected results.
LamboSama
post Feb 6 2020, 12:31 PM

769 posts

if basic also fail

He never consulted and see why it failed in the first place.

Inb4 teaching kids that flour is pronounced as flah. laugh.gif
LamboSama
post Feb 6 2020, 12:32 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Feb 6 2020, 12:29 PM)
Malaysians that go to school from Std 1 to Form 5 will have taken at least 11 years of English lessons.

Same applies to math. laugh.gif
SUSM4A1
post Feb 6 2020, 12:34 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

cause our syllabus sucks

SUSahter
post Feb 6 2020, 12:35 PM

266 posts

Tak abis abis Malay & Islam dilemma
ikankering
post Feb 6 2020, 12:35 PM

42 posts

ok ok. i agree.
letitsnow
post Feb 6 2020, 12:38 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(nasi lemak 20 sen @ Feb 6 2020, 12:27 PM)
My take on PPSMI.

This PPSMI will fail. Will last as long as atuk in charge.

This is a huge political prize to be scored for BN, PAS. Even PH themselves when atuk retired.

There are 2 groups, progressive and conservative in fight now.

Progressive wants English, liberal etc. Think Zaid Ibrahim kind of people.

Conservative group of course no need explanation. Think Katak Ibrahim type of people.

The only solution to improve English is to introduce SRJE and SMJE which stand for "Sekolah Rendah Jenis English" and Sekolah Menengah Jenis English".

Conservative group won't go to SRJE or SMJE.

Meanwhile progressive group (READ: Malay) will have option in English school. The non-Malay too have option to join English school.

30 years later, we can smoke Singapore 9 street far away.
which political side doesn't really matter when you can see right now, i mean right now how great the english proficiency of our PPSMI fresh graduates. isn't there a study posted yesterday about 60% grads unemployed after a year in industry? So?

Some people still believe in PPSMI myth? lol

This post has been edited by letitsnow: Feb 6 2020, 12:40 PM
Chaud
post Feb 6 2020, 12:41 PM

1,119 posts

you want it in BM no problem...but what technology advancement you can offer to the world? nothing
ikankering
post Feb 6 2020, 12:42 PM

42 posts

i like mahathir. i do.
taiping...

1,056 posts

reduce number of agama hours. increase english hours
khusyairi

147 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Feb 6 2020, 12:31 PM)
Its not talking about the top ranks, which we're far behind in the first place.
Its talking about the degradation of the existing ranking which proves the program doesn't reflect on the expected results.
The point is degradation exist even after, change back BI to BM.
Suppose it's not a problem bcoz there is dual language option in text book or exam paper.
Malaysian English also not that bad, we are better than most asian. Normally, science & match teach in simple english.
Maybe english is not a problem afterall; most or grandparent/ parent also study in english in early day of Malaysia or British time...

There are a lot of factors for degradation, not bcoz language...
Maybe our syllabus suck. International standard maybe different, higher or use more simpler math formula.
By the time they test it, no matter in BM or BI, our student cant score well.

This post has been edited by khusyairi: Feb 6 2020, 12:45 PM
nasi lemak 20 sen
post Feb 6 2020, 12:45 PM

Most cannot follow the class since standard 1. And teacher only communicate with those who already know English. Those speak English at home ones.

I am surprised you didn't know this.
+3kk!
post Feb 6 2020, 12:45 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:08 PM)
Actually its been discussed and planned for English to be more important in our education system

It's just that it's not a news worthy topic to bitch about
SUSM4A1
post Feb 6 2020, 12:46 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 6 2020, 12:45 PM)
Actually its been discussed and planned for English to be more important in our education system

It's just that it's not a news worthy topic to bitch about
no news...how do rakyat know?
toughguy
post Feb 6 2020, 12:47 PM

105 posts

If you want our graduate perform averagely during working life, continue to teach in BM.
If you want our graduate can compete with the smartest, support PPSMI. The best knowledge in this world are written in English.
SUSraynman
post Feb 6 2020, 12:47 PM

4,333 posts

I would like to see how they teach this differential geometry subject in BM.

"A criterion for density of the isoperiodic leaves in rank 1 affine invariant suborbifolds"
msacras
post Feb 6 2020, 12:48 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(United Rulez @ Feb 6 2020, 11:52 AM)
Jepenis population is >120M, easily 3-4x of us.

Time for Malaysians to piap and make more babies.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 6 2020, 12:48 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

votes.
bekuz demokrasi....

+3kk!
post Feb 6 2020, 12:51 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:46 PM)
Got, there's quire a fair bit of info on it

Just rakyat don't read
nasi lemak 20 sen
post Feb 6 2020, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(letitsnow @ Feb 6 2020, 12:38 PM)
which political side doesn't really matter when you can see right now, i mean right now how great the english proficiency of our PPSMI fresh graduates. isn't there a study posted yesterday about 60% grads unemployed after a year in industry? So?

Some people still believe in PPSMI myth? lol
There is the need to improve English for progressive Malay.

But for conservative Malay, there is no need to improve English. Understand these 2 sentences first.

Now this.

Sekolah Kebangsaan is conservative Malay home-turf. You introduce more English stuff in their home-turf guarantee will fail one.

Solution is to create a new space for progressive Malay, the new English school. So, this is a win-win solution.
SUSM4A1
post Feb 6 2020, 12:56 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Feb 6 2020, 11:57 AM)
so what if the student master the math science in english but cant even construct a proper english email laugh.gif

that is why i said , what is the objective of PPSMI? improve science math or english?
ze2
post Feb 6 2020, 12:56 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(nasi lemak 20 sen @ Feb 6 2020, 12:51 PM)

But for conservative Malay, there is no need to improve English. Understand these 2 sentences first.
Now this.

Sekolah Kebangsaan is conservative Malay home-turf. You introduce more English stuff in their home-turf guarantee will fail one.

Solution is to create a new space for progressive Malay, the new English school. So, this is a win-win solution.
Nanti bising ditindas dan maruah jatuh.
SUSM4A1
post Feb 6 2020, 01:01 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Feb 6 2020, 12:47 PM)
I would like to see how they teach this differential geometry subject in BM.

"A criterion for density of the isoperiodic leaves in rank 1 affine invariant suborbifolds"
i would like to see how the student with poor english understand that laugh.gif
SUSMondello
post Feb 6 2020, 01:04 PM

74 posts

60yrs of tongkat and still fail

Chnage english BM mandarin arab spanish tamil watever u name...it will be the same for the next 60 yrs LOL
Zaryl
post Feb 6 2020, 01:04 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

English is not a measure of intelligence, rather a measure of communication only
nasi lemak 20 sen
post Feb 6 2020, 01:12 PM

QUOTE(ze2 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:56 PM)
Nanti bising ditindas dan maruah jatuh.
No lah. If PH govt is reformist and got balls to introduce English school, these maruah plotek group won't enroll one. They will stick to SK, SMK.
smallbug
post Feb 6 2020, 01:15 PM

874 posts

Luckily it's not PPSMMandarin.,, ?

aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 01:15 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

English is a Germanic language formed by a fusion of Old English and Norse. If you want to talk about religion or science or law or medicine you must use Latinate words (from French or Latin) and a smattering of Greek. English is basically a skinny barely functional body of Germanic (bones, basic organs and muscles) with a huge overgrowth and brain of Latin and Greek words, more than trebling it in size. Sort of like a massive genius head crab perched on a hillbilly.
SUSrollingti19
post Feb 6 2020, 01:17 PM

if all melei learn mandarin in next 20years then cine has no use already. most job will hire melei, cine will become poorer. brows.gif
funnyTONE
post Feb 6 2020, 01:23 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Some people lived in malaysia their whole lives but couldn't speak BM.
How I wonder. confused.gif

QUOTE(Drian @ Feb 6 2020, 12:30 PM)
If basic already fail , then there's no point considering them. What's the point of considering people who fail english.
If they're lazy and don't want to learn then too bad.
This is to improve people who are below average to average and average to above average. If fail too bad.
This sort of mentality is what leads to education gap between rural and city students. Being the government, you have to look after its people from all walks of life, taking into consideration the advantages and disadvantages different community possess and then give them the fairest amount of opportunity for all.
aliesterfiend

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:56 PM)
so what if the student master the math science in english but cant even construct a proper english email laugh.gif

that is why i said , what is  the objective of PPSMI? improve science math or english?
If they know that alot of the mathematical and scientific terms are actually Arabic in origin mesti depa tak mau PSSMI punya, takut keliru nanti belajaq terma Arab.
pg84

289 posts

Why don't all in English not just science n math. It's better, else the kids will hv headached switching between languages..... Imagine u gather with ur friends. Need to speak malay to Ali, mandarin to ahkow n then tamil to muthu.... Better all speak english
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 01:24 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Feb 6 2020, 01:04 PM)
English is not a measure of intelligence, rather a measure of communication only
Well, in the thread context... it will be a tool to acquire knowledge.
nasi lemak 20 sen
post Feb 6 2020, 01:26 PM

QUOTE(pg84 @ Feb 6 2020, 01:23 PM)
Why don't all in English not just science n math. It's better, else the kids will hv headached switching between languages..... Imagine u gather with ur friends. Need to speak malay to Ali, mandarin to ahkow n then tamil to muthu.... Better all speak english
don't asking for moon lah. 1 size fits all not going to happen.

Multi-school system for each group of people is the solution.
taiping...
post Feb 6 2020, 01:28 PM

1,056 posts

Support!
jenniferjen
post Feb 6 2020, 01:28 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:46 PM)
Apa guna rakyat bodo know? Kuat complaint je hari hari.
Do good complaint, do bad complaint, do right complaint, do wrong complaint.
MKCL
post Feb 6 2020, 01:30 PM

333 posts

impossible, sure got people shout "Eh, ini UK ke atau Malaysia ?" or "这根本就是针对华人,慕羊犬高兴咯"
hotdayum
post Feb 6 2020, 01:35 PM

195 posts

Diu no learn Engrand also mani Malaysia pipu hair turn blonde, eyes turn blue and show boobies halfway like angmoh. No mid learn lah.
swks26
post Feb 6 2020, 01:36 PM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

i is going prebet school. ali muthu ahkow all speak england to each other. syiok 1msia group
SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 6 2020, 01:41 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

Now this.

summed up the problem with this country in one post.
nanti i kasi you PM8 post thumbup.gif
MADReaLJL
post Feb 6 2020, 01:44 PM

4,050 posts

We have malay language for social conversation 🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️
letitsnow
post Feb 6 2020, 01:46 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 01:24 PM)
Well, in the thread context... it will be a tool to acquire knowledge.
High school science and math is pretty basic, which we have extensive reading materials that written in mother tongue for decades. For those who pursuing in STEM, which our higher education institutions use English as medium shouldn't be a problem to our undergrads to acquire other advance science and math knowledge beyond varsities.

People don't understand, we already have PPSMI in universities in all our STEM programmes since forever. So your premise doesn't hold.

This post has been edited by letitsnow: Feb 6 2020, 01:47 PM
Drian
post Feb 6 2020, 01:58 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Feb 6 2020, 01:23 PM)
Some people lived in malaysia their whole lives but couldn't speak BM.
How I wonder.  confused.gif
This sort of mentality is what leads to education gap between rural and city students. Being the government, you have to look after its people from all walks of life, taking into consideration the advantages and disadvantages different community possess and then give them the fairest amount of opportunity for all.
So what is your suggestion?

ticke
post Feb 6 2020, 02:01 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

the gap will be widened for sure...poor will remain poor
Drian
post Feb 6 2020, 02:01 PM

4,999 posts

Now this.

Then the conservative Malay gets jealous and dengki of the school, then protest again saying maruah tercabar la, mengagungkan bahasa barat la.
Then what happen next.

duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 02:13 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(letitsnow @ Feb 6 2020, 01:46 PM)
High school science and math is pretty basic, which we have extensive reading materials that written in mother tongue for decades. For those who pursuing in STEM, which our higher education institutions use English as medium shouldn't be a problem to our undergrads to acquire other advance science and math knowledge beyond varsities.

People don't understand, we already have PPSMI in universities in all our STEM programmes since forever. So your premise doesn't hold.
There would be a case how many can successfully adapt from BM to English without falling too far behind.

Also, there would be a question of the quality of our own material, speed to update vs. what is available out there. Cloistered environment is not very good for learning something so universal...

make English an option, and see how many will opt for it. then compare the performance level between the 2 group.

This post has been edited by duHwaN: Feb 6 2020, 02:28 PM
metaled
post Feb 6 2020, 02:15 PM

273 posts

Job requirement:
1. Fluent in written and spoken Mandarin
nasi lemak 20 sen
post Feb 6 2020, 02:15 PM

QUOTE(Drian @ Feb 6 2020, 02:01 PM)
Then the conservative Malay gets jealous and dengki of the school, then protest again saying maruah tercabar la, mengagungkan bahasa barat la.
Then what happen next.
Good reply.

First, you have to think. Why they jealous of English school ?

1) Students from English school have got good job, better pay than SMK school.

But this jealousy only will last 1 generation. Later these people will send their sons and daughters to English school.
Spear2
post Feb 6 2020, 02:26 PM

19,494 posts

QUOTE(letitsnow @ Feb 6 2020, 01:46 PM)

Is a problem because they have not been familiarized with the language when they were in high school.
notadupe999
post Feb 6 2020, 02:27 PM

193 posts

I sokong penggunaan bahasa penjajah!

lagista
post Feb 6 2020, 02:33 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 6 2020, 01:15 PM)
English is a Germanic language formed by a fusion of Old English and Norse. If you want to talk about religion or science or law or medicine you must use Latinate words (from French or Latin) and a smattering of Greek. English is basically a skinny barely functional body of Germanic (bones, basic organs and muscles) with a huge overgrowth and brain of Latin and Greek words, more than trebling it in size. Sort of like a massive genius head crab perched on a hillbilly.
Brunei no problem at all using English in teaching Math, Science subjects...

Brunei > All
aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 02:34 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

Why not all speak Bahasa?
aliesterfiend

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(lagista @ Feb 6 2020, 02:33 PM)
Brunei no problem at all using English in teaching Math, Science subjects...

Brunei > All
So migrate to Brunei.
lagista

25 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Feb 6 2020, 01:58 PM)
So what is your suggestion?
Use Math to teach English
unknown warrior
post Feb 6 2020, 02:35 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

English is the way to go. smile.gif
Phoenix_KL
post Feb 6 2020, 02:36 PM

156 posts

UMNO, Pas bantah pelaksanaan semula PPSMI
https://www.sinarharian.com.my/article/6834...an-semula-PPSMI
aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 02:38 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(lagista @ Feb 6 2020, 02:34 PM)
Use Math to teach English
Teach algenra, algorithm, cipher, average, azimuth, cube, nadir, zenith and degree in Arabic since those words came from Arabic.
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 02:40 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 6 2020, 02:34 PM)
because they all will still need to learn to speak english to be successful on a larger platform?
lagista
post Feb 6 2020, 02:41 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(United Rulez @ Feb 6 2020, 11:52 AM)
budaya jepun yg rajin berusaha, jujur, amanah, tepati masa ada ikut ?
Spear2
post Feb 6 2020, 02:42 PM

19,494 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 6 2020, 02:38 PM)
Teach algenra, algorithm, cipher, average, azimuth, cube, nadir, zenith and degree in Arabic since those words came from Arabic.
That would happen if we were still in the 10th/11th century, but since then math has progressed to more than these Arabic words and concepts.
aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 02:42 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 02:40 PM)
because they all will still need to learn to speak english to be successful on a larger platform?
So Ali, Ahkaw and Muthu must only speak in English?
claudio_rolna
post Feb 6 2020, 02:43 PM

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 11:54 AM)

Pergh ni baru U-Turn ni hahahahahahahaha
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 02:44 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 6 2020, 02:42 PM)
So Ali, Ahkaw and Muthu must only speak in English?
Not saying that.

From an efficiency point of view, learning english would be the most efficient in terms of effort to gain.

BM is an indulgence, some may not be able to afford (learning capacity)
king99
post Feb 6 2020, 02:46 PM

1,188 posts

Now this.

Later will sure be targeted by certain people one.

"Schools which prioritized English in Math and Science s causing disunity among Malaysian should be closed".

"Companies are racist when using math and scientific term in English where "our people" can't master".

aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 02:46 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Spear2 @ Feb 6 2020, 02:42 PM)
That would happen if we were still in the 10th/11th century, but since then math has progressed to more than these Arabic words and concepts.
I was mentioning about the term. Maths, like music are a language of its own. You can teach them in any other languages. 1+1 is equally correct whether you teach them either as satu campur satu or one plus one.

You can teach maths and science in whatever language pupils eaiser to get a grasp with and understand while teaching English at the same time as secondary language. By the time in university, it doesnt matter to learn anything else, not just math and science in English.
aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 02:49 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 02:44 PM)
Not saying that.

From an efficiency point of view, learning english would be the most efficient in terms of effort to gain.

BM is an indulgence, some may not be able to afford (learning capacity)
I only speak English (mostly) at work. Life is not just about work. I dont speak English at kedai nasi campur Ali, workshop Ahkaw or kedai runcit Muthu.
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 02:51 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 6 2020, 02:49 PM)
I only speak English (mostly) at work. Life is not just about work. I dont speak English at kedai nasi campur Ali, workshop Ahkaw or kedai runcit Muthu.
well because we indulged and picked BM to be the compulsory language

limited resources demand efficient use of what is available.

This post has been edited by duHwaN: Feb 6 2020, 02:52 PM
Spear2
post Feb 6 2020, 03:04 PM

19,494 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 6 2020, 02:46 PM)
I was mentioning about the term. Maths, like music are a language of its own. You can teach them in any other languages. 1+1 is equally correct whether you teach them either as satu campur satu or one plus one.

You can teach maths and science in whatever language pupils eaiser to get a grasp with and understand while teaching English at the same time as secondary language. By the time in university, it doesnt matter to learn anything else, not just math and science in English.
At primary school level more yes for math than science, it is about the symbols, logical operation, and basic understanding, but as you progress into high school you learn fundamental concept and definition. These words are defined in English more than they were in BM. This is very important because concepts and definitions are basic structures which you used in higher learning. It is expected that you are not troubled by the jargon and precise definition, but only the knowledge and learning thru reasoning and argument. If you are troubled, then your learning will be reduced.

How do you introduce these math and science definitions/concepts in an English class then?
quadcube
post Feb 6 2020, 03:07 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Feb 6 2020, 11:54 AM)
u see Korean, Japan,, Indonesian and even Thailand , they dun learn English in school but has better economy than us , better pay attention on  Race and Religion first
Ya right, Japan have 9 years of English classes in their national edu. Problem is they memorize to score the exam instead of understanding them.
reed90
post Feb 6 2020, 03:10 PM

Road to the End
1,552 posts

QUOTE(Spear2 @ Feb 6 2020, 03:04 PM)
At primary school level more yes for math than science, it is about the symbols, logical operation, and basic understanding, but as you progress into high school you learn fundamental concept and definition. These words are defined in English more than they were in BM. This is very important because concepts and definitions are basic structures which you used in higher learning. It is expected that you are not troubled by the jargon and precise definition, but only the knowledge and learning thru reasoning and argument. If you are troubled, then your learning will be reduced.

How do you introduce these math and science definitions/concepts in an English class then?
I have to agree on this.

What a nightmare to see all the definitions in BM and need to be translated into English especially in higher education.

PPSMI is good, leave it be.
aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 03:11 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 02:51 PM)
well because we indulged and picked BM to be the compulsory language

limited resources demand efficient use of what is available.
What limited?
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 03:11 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Feb 6 2020, 03:07 PM)
Ya right, Japan have 9 years of English classes in their national edu. Problem is they memorize to score the exam instead of understanding them.
if we have the work rate(culture) of japan, no speaking engrand oso no problem
SUSraynman
post Feb 6 2020, 03:12 PM

4,333 posts

PUTRAJAYA, Feb 6 — Putrajaya welcomes any differing opinion regarding the decision to teach Science and Mathematics in English (PPSMI) as the Cabinet weighs in on the issue, acting education minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said today.

The prime minister also said a committee has been set up to review the issue, citing strong public opinions on both sides of the matter.

“Public is welcome to give its opinions; they can write to the government. Media can write long articles condemning it. We are used to having people disagreeing with us.

“Parents and Teachers’ Associations as well as students too can write to us, we have no restrictions,” Dr Mahathir said in a press conference after a special address to Ministry of Education staff here.
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 03:12 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 6 2020, 03:11 PM)
What limited?
learning capacity... time.

not everyone can be multilingual comfortably.
aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 03:14 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 03:12 PM)
learning capacity... time.

not everyone can be multilingual comfortably.
No lah. Schools now teaches 2+1 languages already.
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 03:15 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 6 2020, 03:14 PM)
No lah. Schools now teaches 2+1 languages already.
and are the students mastering all of them?

teaching is one thing... the result is another
Spear2
post Feb 6 2020, 03:19 PM

19,494 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Feb 6 2020, 03:07 PM)
bereev so there are many factors to economic success, not just the language. Of course if Malaysians are as industrious, hard working and innovative as the Koreans or Japanese, then Malaysians can be as successful too. Are we?
gundamsp01
post Feb 6 2020, 03:26 PM

gunpla procrastinator
902 posts

japan is a country which heavy on innovation and production, they produce goods and tech that are wanted by the rest of the world and countries want to learn the knowledge from them.

They are fine to stick with their own language, people will learn their language to get their knowledge or work with them.

What Msia can give to the world? So far, Msia only famous for its multi lingual society, if you lose this as well, what Msia can give to the world which the world demands for it?

Forgot to mention, due to Japanese's inability to be globalized, their economy always stuck in a deflation stage, you can take a look their bank is charging interest and how atm works there.
jamilselamat
post Feb 6 2020, 03:27 PM

145 posts

As a kid, I agreed with PPSMI.

What I learned as I get older and start working though, is that it is a BAD POLICY.

Why? Because it makes things more difficult for kids to understand Science and Mathematics. It increases the hurdle to comprehension and discriminates against the linguistically static kids who otherwise could have understood and memorize things. Basically, cutting off more Malays from medicine and tech.

What I learned as an adult is that, if you are exceptional in your field, people will accomodate to you no matter what language you speak.

Let there be more good doctors who understand mostly Malay instead of just a handful who are either only good at the language but not the actual subject matter, or are so good that they run away to work overseas instead of here.
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 03:27 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Feb 6 2020, 03:26 PM)
japan is a country which heavy on innovation and production, they produce goods and tech that are wanted by the rest of the world and countries want to learn the knowledge from them.

They are fine to stick with their own language, people will learn their language to get their knowledge or work with them.

What Msia can give to the world? So far, Msia only famous for its multi lingual society, if you lose this as well, what Msia can give to the world which the world demands for it?

Forgot to mention, due to Japanese's inability to be globalized, their economy always stuck in a deflation stage, you can take a look their bank is charging interest and how atm works there.
malaysia had an early edge over our neighbours because of our better than usual standard english in this region. speaking in terms of attracting fdi... not so applicable nowadays
aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 03:29 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 03:15 PM)
and are the students mastering all of them?

teaching is one thing... the result is another
Some are. Many are.
blanket84
post Feb 6 2020, 03:30 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:56 PM)

that is why i said , what is  the objective of PPSMI? improve science math or english?
The objective of PPSMI is to ease the transition of science stream kids from secondary school to university program. At the same time to enable the kids to read more science and maths resources in the internet, in reference book and from documentary.

There aren’t much science & maths reference books in BM beyond what are being taught in the syllabus. Even on the internet, you can’t find much resources like science journals and articles in BM. Heck even “malaysian standards” documents are all in English.

For kids who are into science, having limited resources to refers are something that is frustrating. When i was a kid i was having a hard time understanding the science term in my encyclopedia because the science term are unfamiliar in english, and my parents were science illiterate. My parents bought me a simplified encyclopedia with images instead to help me understand the content (and still in english).

This post has been edited by blanket84: Feb 6 2020, 03:31 PM
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 03:32 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 03:27 PM)

What I learned as I get older and start working though, is that it is a BAD POLICY.

Why? Because it makes things more difficult for kids to understand Science and Mathematics. It increases the hurdle to comprehension and discriminates against the linguistically static kids who otherwise could have understood and memorize things. Basically, cutting off more Malays from medicine and tech.

What I learned as an adult is that, if you are exceptional in your field, people will accomodate to you no matter what language you speak.

Let there be more good doctors who understand mostly Malay instead of just a handful who are either only good at the language but not the actual subject matter, or are so good that they run away to work overseas instead of here.
basically lower the hurdle (standard), so more can pass through...

we can probably keep the BM option, but if they cannot grasp it in English early.. likelihood they are not going to be very good in what they are going to do. Of course, there will be exceptions...
SUSNew Klang
post Feb 6 2020, 03:33 PM

4,998 posts

English is Bahasa Penjajah

We are Merdeka country, we need to learn in Bahasa Malaysia

#doneprotect

jamilselamat
post Feb 6 2020, 03:35 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 03:30 PM)
The objective of PPSMI is to ease the transition of science stream kids from secondary school to university program. At the same time to enable the kids to read more science and maths resources in the internet, in reference book and from documentary.

There aren’t much science & maths reference books in BM beyond what are being taught in the syllabus. Even on the internet, you can’t find much resources like science journals and articles in BM. Heck even “malaysian standards” documents are all in English.

For kids who are into science, having limited resources to refers are something that is frustrating. When i was a kid i was having a hard time understanding the science term in my encyclopedia because the science term are unfamiliar in english, and my parents were science illiterate. My parents bought me a simplified encyclopedia with images instead to help me understand the content (and still in english).
The lack of reference and translated works is because the Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka(DBP) only sit on their asses all day not doing their job on anything thats not art.

The Japanese has very hardworking translation agencies who converted countless books on countless subjects. You wont find a Malay version of The Divine Comedy, but you can find them in Japanese: thats how diverse they are.

The DBP should step up their game.
jamilselamat
post Feb 6 2020, 03:37 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 03:32 PM)

we can probably keep the BM option, but if they cannot grasp it in English early.. likelihood they are not going to be very good in what they are going to do. Of course, there will be exceptions...
DO NOT confuse the 'standard of language' with 'standard of subject'. Those two are very different things.

You want an English proficient doctor who can only work at clinics, or a Malay only researcher who found the cure to cancer?
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 03:38 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 03:35 PM)
The lack of reference and translated works is because the Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka(DBP) only sit on their asses all day not doing their job on anything thats not art.

The Japanese has very hardworking translation agencies who converted countless books on countless subjects. You wont find a Malay version of The Divine Comedy, but you can find them in Japanese: thats how diverse they are.

i won't trust art trained DBP staff to translate science materials. probably going to find a lot of "interesting" translation....
duHwaN

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 03:37 PM)
DO NOT confuse the 'standard of language' with 'standard of subject'. Those two are very different things.

You want an English proficient doctor who can only work at clinics, or a Malay only researcher who found the cure to cancer?
Your latter would be the exception I mentioned earlier

This post has been edited by duHwaN: Feb 6 2020, 03:39 PM
gundamsp01

gunpla procrastinator
902 posts

medicine and tech are in english when you taking it in university, what makes you think that people who are poor in english can miraculous cope up with the syllabus taught in uni?
Spear2
post Feb 6 2020, 03:40 PM

19,494 posts

If you are aiming to maintain the status quo, then yes, no need to trouble yourself with learning beyond the shores.

If you are aiming to be a progressive nation, a leader among many, then you need to run. To run you need to copy others because it is the fastest way to progress quickly, therefore you need to learn their language. If you continue to be innovative and hard working, then you start to develop science and tech no one has yet, you get to coin words in BM and publish them in BM journals, then people of other nations learn your language.
ikankering
post Feb 6 2020, 03:42 PM

42 posts

so malaysian need learn English.
Jag23sys
post Feb 6 2020, 03:43 PM

18 posts

2020 then decide this ah?

Wow.
blanket84
post Feb 6 2020, 03:44 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 03:35 PM)

Whoever the fault falls on, the govt have to do something. And for me PPSMI is a right step forward. If they do optional PPSMI, i would gladly enroll my kids to PPSMI classes.

As for now, only limited school offers DLP which is the mini version of PPSMI and some school prioritize kids with poor command of english, and surprisingly most parents of those kids gladly accept the offer to put their kids in DLP, unlike the response against PPSMI in the internet :sweat.
jamilselamat
post Feb 6 2020, 03:47 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Feb 6 2020, 03:38 PM)
medicine and tech are in english when you taking it in university, what makes you think that people who are poor in english can miraculous cope up with the syllabus taught in uni?
When someone is 'smart' in one thing, it doesnt mean he can be good in any other things. The real world doesnt work that way.

Instead of letting a kid research on the same narrow scope of subject and make him so damn good at it, why increase his burden by making him learn these crazy grammatical rules and nuances he wont be using 90% of the time after he graduates?

As for language used in universities, that is also another mistake caused by DBP's incompetence.
gundamsp01
post Feb 6 2020, 03:50 PM

gunpla procrastinator
902 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 03:47 PM)
When someone is 'smart' in one thing, it doesnt mean he can be good in any other things. The real world doesnt work that way.

Instead of letting a kid research on the same narrow scope of subject and make him so damn good at it, why increase his burden by making him learn these crazy grammatical rules and nuances he wont be using 90% of the time after he graduates?

As for language used in universities, that is also another mistake caused by DBP's incompetence.
why would you say so? What language you speak in your working environment, if you in glc or gov agency, then i have no comment
in my corporate world, i have rejected so many who cant speak english, and reject promotion to those who can't speak english in a board meeting
jamilselamat
post Feb 6 2020, 03:51 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(Spear2 @ Feb 6 2020, 03:40 PM)
If you are aiming to maintain the status quo, then yes, no need to trouble yourself with learning beyond the shores.

If you are aiming to be a progressive nation, a leader among many, then you need to run. To run you need to copy others because it is the fastest way to progress quickly, therefore you need to learn their language. If you continue to be innovative and hard working, then you start to develop science and tech no one has yet, you get to coin words in BM and publish them in BM journals, then people of other nations learn your language.
Have you heard of medical tourism?

There are certain countries in this world which doesnt have English as main language, but because they are good enough, and the Americans and British charged too expensively, have many people going there for medical procedures instead.

People like you look too far over the fence that you forgot the mess on the ground right where you're stepping on, or even a gold mine for that matter.

This post has been edited by jamilselamat: Feb 6 2020, 03:51 PM
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 03:52 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Feb 6 2020, 03:50 PM)
why would you say so? What language you speak in your working environment, if you in glc or gov agency, then i have no comment
in my corporate world, i have rejected so many who cant speak english, and reject promotion to those who can't speak english in a board meeting
he is probably referring to advanced grammar, which would not be necessary in science subjects in this case.
jamilselamat
post Feb 6 2020, 03:53 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Feb 6 2020, 03:50 PM)
You pencil pushing execs keep maintaining your arrogance while the people at the bottom getting the ACTUAL WORK done with the help of the locals is the reason why I hate the executive side of any business. You people dont live in the real world.
Strike
post Feb 6 2020, 03:54 PM

51 posts

turn uturn turn uturn
gundamsp01
post Feb 6 2020, 03:54 PM

gunpla procrastinator
902 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 03:52 PM)
he is probably referring to advanced grammar, which would not be necessary in science subjects in this case.
as someone who was a grad from the initial introduction of PPSMI, you are right about grammar and bombastic noun are not a focus in science subjects, to be frank.
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 03:55 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 03:51 PM)

There are certain countries in this world which doesnt have English as main language, but because they are good enough, and the Americans and British charged too expensively, have many people going there for medical procedures instead.

People like you look too far over the fence that you forgot the mess on the ground right where you're stepping on, or even a gold mine for that matter.
you do realize that scenario is a compromise... not a first choice, don't ya.

and these competent non western doctors are probably more of an exception than a norm among their (immediate) peers.

This post has been edited by duHwaN: Feb 6 2020, 03:59 PM
gundamsp01
post Feb 6 2020, 03:56 PM

gunpla procrastinator
902 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 03:53 PM)
You pencil pushing execs keep maintaining your arrogance while the people at the bottom getting the ACTUAL WORK done with the help of the locals is the reason why I hate the executive side of any business. You people dont live in the real world.
lol laugh.gif
really funny ya laugh.gif
jamilselamat
post Feb 6 2020, 04:00 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Feb 6 2020, 03:56 PM)
lol  laugh.gif
really funny ya  laugh.gif
I have no stake in this, but you know deep down that what i said is true.

So keep laughing and keep taichi-ing while you're at it like you lot always do in the office.
zack9999
post Feb 6 2020, 04:00 PM

290 posts

Maths and Science terms are mostly originated from Latin. We should teach these subjects in Latin.
What if China catches up in few years? Learn the terms in Mandarin? What we should do is to improve the teaching of English in English. Introduce Communication skill as subject in school.

gundamsp01
post Feb 6 2020, 04:01 PM

gunpla procrastinator
902 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 04:00 PM)
I have no stake in this, but you know deep down that what i said is true.

So keep laughing and keep taichi-ing while you're at it like you lot always do in the office.
haha, nope laugh.gif
in fact, most of the departments had been shifted to another country with cheaper labor and higher command of english, so, it is fine laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gundamsp01: Feb 6 2020, 04:03 PM
Spear2
post Feb 6 2020, 04:01 PM

19,494 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 03:51 PM)

I don''t see how the points you raised above are relevant. It seems you are saying even an uneducated person can get rich, why need to learn English ...
unknown warrior
post Feb 6 2020, 04:04 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 03:32 PM)

definitely not good for Malaysia.

duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 04:05 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Feb 6 2020, 04:00 PM)
Maths and Science terms are mostly originated from Latin. We should teach these subjects in Latin.
What if China catches up in few years? Learn the terms in Mandarin? What we should do is to improve the teaching of English in English. Introduce Communication skill as subject in school.
we learn whatever language that has the highest concentration of knowledge (that would be English at the moment)

I kinda remember from tamadun islam class, that the golden age of islam came after a time muslim scholars learnt greek and tap extensively into their knowldge
jamilselamat
post Feb 6 2020, 04:06 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Feb 6 2020, 04:01 PM)
haha, nope laugh.gif
in fact, most of the departments had been shifted to another country with cheaper labor  laugh.gif
Dont pretend as if this isnt the only reason. If it is still cheaper here, brass would have made you keep all operations here anyway.

This post has been edited by jamilselamat: Feb 6 2020, 04:06 PM
gestapo
post Feb 6 2020, 04:07 PM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

why not teach in rojak english malay..

day to day also use mah..

win win
gundamsp01
post Feb 6 2020, 04:08 PM

gunpla procrastinator
902 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 04:06 PM)
Dont pretend as if this isnt the only reason. If it is still cheaper here, brass would have made you keep all operations here anyway.
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
letitsnow
post Feb 6 2020, 04:13 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Spear2 @ Feb 6 2020, 03:04 PM)

Bruh, EST (English in Science and Tech) subject last time already addressed this particular problem. doh.gif

You talk like this subject never exist in higher secondary school. lol. which means pre-PPSMI there's no problem whatsoever.

like i said, PPSMI is redundant when we already have EST. It's borderline discriminatory to student who a bit obtuse on language but excellent in science in school when you carry science in non-mother tongue. within 11 years should give them ample time to improve English and have chance to pursue in STEM later.

This post has been edited by letitsnow: Feb 6 2020, 04:18 PM
Spear2
post Feb 6 2020, 04:16 PM

19,494 posts

QUOTE(letitsnow @ Feb 6 2020, 04:13 PM)
Bruh, EST (English in Science and Tech) subject last time already addressed this particular problem.  doh.gif

You talk like this subject never exist in higher secondary school. lol. which means pre-PPSMI there's no problem whatsoever.
Are you saying my reply here to an earlier post is not appropriate?
homerthewhopper
post Feb 6 2020, 04:33 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Feb 6 2020, 12:02 PM)

No point arguing in k

Give facts also don't care as long as the move is "progressive"
zack9999
post Feb 6 2020, 04:35 PM

290 posts

Syed Saddick lompat pagar tinggalkan emak is a proof of PPSMI success!
Spear2
post Feb 6 2020, 04:36 PM

19,494 posts

like i said, PPSMI is redundant when we already have EST. It's borderline discriminatory to student who a bit obtuse on language but excellent in science in school when you carry science in non-mother tongue. within 11 years should give them ample time to improve English and have chance to pursue in STEM later.
So since have EST and you think it is sufficient because there is an 11 years of opportunity leaning which you are sure it is good enuf?
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 04:39 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(homerthewhopper @ Feb 6 2020, 04:33 PM)
No point arguing in k

Give facts also don't care as long as the move is "progressive"
well was it due to english... or was it due to our tendencies to lower standards when things gets a bit difficult?
blanket84
post Feb 6 2020, 04:45 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 03:52 PM)
You are right. My friend once bluntly told our english teachers “engineers don’t need good english” laugh.gif

He was right, your english as engineer doesn’t have to be correct. But you need to know the correct term in english. You need to know the difference between stress and pressure when both are measured in Pascal, you need to know the difference between speed and velocity when both are measured in m/s & etc2. Switching science term from school to university are time consuming and most of the times, confusing.
PATAR
post Feb 6 2020, 04:50 PM

197 posts

Why only math and science? Why not history, PE and islamic studies also in English then? Only need malay for studying malay language.

Seriously, of course you learn math and science better if it is taught in the language you are most familiar with. I don't think any other country has one language as medium of instruction, and another language for math and science.
letitsnow
post Feb 6 2020, 04:50 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Spear2 @ Feb 6 2020, 04:36 PM)
So since have EST and you think it is sufficient because there is an 11 years of opportunity leaning which you are sure it is good enuf?
yes. if we talking about familiarize students with (a) comprehension, and (b) explaining certain mechanism eloquently in English; which I think its what most people is struggling about, EST should solve that problem.

And then the problem about not learning science jargon in English is trivial issue in my opinion. I mean, how hard can it be to figure out that jisim is mass and nyahpecutan is deceleration, does anyone have any harder example?

If wanna improve English, then improve the way we teach English, not by meddling with other subjects.

This post has been edited by letitsnow: Feb 6 2020, 04:52 PM
bumpo
post Feb 6 2020, 05:01 PM

632 posts

i'm out of touch. is english subject still considered not mandatory where if you fail it, you dont auto fail your whole spm like bahasa? hmm.gif
bukankhadam
post Feb 6 2020, 05:10 PM

19 posts

Lucky ayam not stupid in engrish..my time got dual language wan, i prefer engrish since science in BM is chibai.
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 05:13 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(bumpo @ Feb 6 2020, 05:01 PM)
i'm out of touch. is english subject still considered not mandatory where if you fail it, you dont auto fail your whole spm like bahasa? hmm.gif
our standard of english... never studied for it, even for spm still gets an A
carloz28
post Feb 6 2020, 05:14 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

Dinosaurs will continue to live in the past

One word....BODOH
SUSMicozole
post Feb 6 2020, 05:15 PM

142 posts

meanwhile Namewee wrote an article about him being a malaysian 1st..and Malaysian chinese 2nd..

but of course we all hate Namewee...
bukankhadam
post Feb 6 2020, 05:16 PM

19 posts

Bruh, EST (English in Science and Tech) subject last time already addressed this particular problem.  doh.gif

HAKPTUIH.
EST should never exist in the 1st place.
During my time, english teachers teaching science dat they barely know.
Serius EST worst sampah useless subject ever.
WallMaker
post Feb 6 2020, 05:19 PM

98 posts

may I know why come from pakistan also can count as malay?
duHwaN
post Feb 6 2020, 05:21 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(WallMaker @ Feb 6 2020, 05:19 PM)
may I know why come from pakistan also can count as malay?
Constitution wording allows anyone to masuk Melayu
Jasonist
post Feb 6 2020, 05:22 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

jamilselamat
post Feb 6 2020, 05:27 PM

145 posts

I kept thinking about this on my way back from(redacted government agency name), but...

I cant think of any other reason why would there be so much opposition to maintaining Malay language for all subjects, except

1. Many non Bumiputeras looking down on Malay language and loathe the thought of being required to be proficient at it for professional reasons, ie. Racism

2. Those from rich bangsawan families who speaks mainly English even at home, also loathing the thought of being forced to learn what is essentially 'bahasa paria' to them. "Eeeee... drop standard I nanti tau".

Maybe I need to stop skipping Zoloft for when I need to think more rationally in a conversation instead of letting my emotions run wild and making assumptions, but so far no one has ever tried to successfully prove me wrong about this.

This post has been edited by jamilselamat: Feb 6 2020, 05:28 PM
kitongti
post Feb 6 2020, 05:34 PM

26 posts

thumbsup.gif

WallMaker
post Feb 6 2020, 05:35 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Feb 6 2020, 12:12 PM)

its lipsync
blanket84
post Feb 6 2020, 05:45 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(letitsnow @ Feb 6 2020, 04:50 PM)
yes. if we talking about familiarize students with (a) comprehension, and (b) explaining certain mechanism eloquently in English; which I think its what most people is struggling about, EST should solve that problem.

And then the problem about not learning science jargon in English is trivial issue in my opinion. I mean, how hard can it be to figure out that jisim is mass and nyahpecutan is deceleration, does anyone have any harder example?

If wanna improve English, then improve the way we teach English, not by meddling with other subjects.
Of course it sounds simple when you’re giving two example. But when there are thousands of science term in English, it isn’t simple anymore.

Keseimbangan terma, legap, bebuli, pelakuran, peleburan, pengewapan, pemejaluwapan, perolakan, sinaran, haba pendam tetap (permanent bury heat? laugh.gif), muatan pendam haba, malar, bendalir, tolok, pembiasan, pemantulan, perambatan, cembung, cekung, satah, berserenjang, sudut genting, logamaya.

I just went through two chapters of form 4 fizik and i already found so much term that you don’t use in conversational english nor in conversational BM and you might have hard time to translate and re-memorize.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Feb 6 2020, 05:45 PM
Spear2
post Feb 6 2020, 06:07 PM

19,494 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 05:27 PM)
I kept thinking about this on my way back from(redacted government agency name), but...

I cant think of any other reason why would there be so much opposition to maintaining Malay language for all subjects, except

1. Many non Bumiputeras looking down on Malay language and loathe the thought of being required to be proficient at it for professional reasons, ie. Racism

2. Those from rich bangsawan families who speaks mainly English even at home, also loathing the thought of being forced to learn what is essentially 'bahasa paria' to them. "Eeeee... drop standard I nanti tau".

Maybe I need to stop skipping Zoloft for when I need to think more rationally in a conversation instead of letting my emotions run wild and making assumptions, but so far no one has ever tried to successfully prove me wrong about this.
I agree, most non-Bumi/bangsawan look down on the language but not because of racism. Not because it is a Malay language per se, but because it is associated with undesirable characteristics about the language. In the past many overseas Chinese looked down on the Chinese language which thot to be regressive, sick and ideologically evil, decided to send their children to national or English school because English at the time was thot to be la creme dela creme window into the modern world.
letitsnow
post Feb 6 2020, 06:36 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 05:45 PM)
Of course it sounds simple when you’re giving two example. But when there are thousands of science term in English, it isn’t simple anymore.

Keseimbangan terma, legap, bebuli, pelakuran, peleburan, pengewapan, pemejaluwapan, perolakan, sinaran, haba pendam tetap (permanent bury heat? laugh.gif), muatan pendam haba, malar, bendalir, tolok, pembiasan, pemantulan, perambatan, cembung, cekung, satah, berserenjang, sudut genting, logamaya.

I just went through two chapters of form 4 fizik and i already found so much term that you don’t use in conversational english nor in conversational BM and you might have hard time to translate and re-memorize.
Believe it or not, I could give English equivalent for each term you mentioned. But of course that would defeat the purpose since I'm already know in the first place. But in student shoes, what they can do is open up dictionary, or ask around, or keep reading more materials to a point they reach epiphany; like how they usually do when learning English on other non-science related stuff.

That learning process is so similar with non-science related to a point might just improve their way of learning English than making another whole new programme to address that petty issue.
blanket84
post Feb 6 2020, 06:48 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(letitsnow @ Feb 6 2020, 06:36 PM)
Believe it or not, I could give English equivalent for each term you mentioned. But of course that would defeat the purpose since I'm already know in the first place. But in student shoes, what they can do is open up dictionary, or ask around, or keep reading more materials to a point they reach epiphany; like how they usually do when learning English on other non-science related stuff.

That learning process is so similar with non-science related to a point might just improve their way of learning English than making another whole new programme to address that petty issue.
Well most non science subjects use word that are commonly used in conversational english. So to translate them isn’t that hard.

Like you said, since you already go through the transition phase and learned the subject in depth, it is easy for you to translate all the words that i listed. But for kids in school who’s trying to read references in english or to watch documentary in english, they will be having hard time to understand what is being explained.

To be honest, if the notes i read just now didn’t come with diagrams, it would take some time for me to find equivalent words in english for the BM words i listed above.

But i am an engineer, so equivalent words to be substituted alone would be enough for me to understand, but for students, the might have to reread the whole chapter to understand, not to mention the time to memorize the new terms.
gundamsp01
post Feb 6 2020, 06:50 PM

gunpla procrastinator
902 posts

yes, it will。 true story
私はそうやって、難しい日本語を勉強しました。
aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 06:56 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 06:48 PM)
Well most non science subjects use word that are commonly used in conversational english. So to translate them isn’t that hard.

Like you said, since you already go through the transition phase and learned the subject in depth, it is easy for you to translate all the words that i listed. But for kids in school who’s trying to read references in english or to watch documentary in english, they will be having hard time to understand what is being explained.

To be honest, if the notes i read just now didn’t come with diagrams, it would take some time for me to find equivalent words in english for the BM words i listed above.

But i am an engineer, so equivalent words to be substituted alone would be enough for me to understand, but for students, the might have to reread the whole chapter to understand, not to mention the time to memorize the new terms.
Why need to translate? Can just use the English term while learning still in Malay. In law, we dont translate all Latin terms. Just Malaynize the English terms just like the English anglicised the Arabic terms and the Arabs arabicised the Greek terms.
blanket84
post Feb 6 2020, 07:03 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 6 2020, 06:56 PM)
Why need to translate? Can just use the English term while learning still in Malay. In law, we dont translate all Latin terms. Just Malaynize the English terms just like the English anglicised the Arabic terms and the Arabs arabicised the Greek terms.
Well that is a good compromise if the government (and DBP) is willing to do. Stop translate all science terms and use english term instead for scientific terms especially words that are seldom used in conversational BM.

Or in all teaching notes & and text books, make it compulsory to put english term next to the BM term, maybe in bracket and italic so that the students can learn both terms simultaneously.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Feb 6 2020, 07:03 PM
letitsnow
post Feb 6 2020, 07:15 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 06:48 PM)

Nope, I'm still inclined its easy. Even today when we have Wikipedia and google translate. It's no longer as hard as those days, which still to me not a frustrating experience.

When you stumble upon certain jargon, you're found it in sentence, or with units, or with related math formula. Which should give a hint what the jargon is about no matter how rare the jargon is. hmmm... OKlah i understand, maybe its hard for you. But to me its not that hard to figure out, which i hope not hard for other student as well.

This post has been edited by letitsnow: Feb 6 2020, 07:17 PM
aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 07:16 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 07:03 PM)
Well that is a good compromise if the government (and DBP) is willing to do. Stop translate all science terms and use english term instead for scientific terms especially words that are seldom used in conversational BM.

Or in all teaching notes & and text books, make it compulsory to put english term next to the BM term, maybe in bracket and italic so that the students can learn both terms simultaneously.
Yes, then can teach math and science purely in English for Form 4 and Form 5.

The primary school is formative years. We usually discover what subject we like during these years. It's easier to find what we like if we can understand what's being tought in the first place.

By F4 and F5, students should already have basic understanding of English.
Lim Wee Huat
post Feb 6 2020, 07:22 PM

262 posts

Not wrong.. Just that it is too late.
SUSjoe_star
post Feb 6 2020, 07:29 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Please keep in mind all parties of PR (PKR, DAP, PAS) fully support the move back to BM & mother tongue that time
blanket84
post Feb 6 2020, 07:35 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(letitsnow @ Feb 6 2020, 07:15 PM)
Nope, I'm still inclined its easy. Even today when we have Wikipedia and google translate. It's no longer as hard as those days, which still to me not a frustrating experience.

When you stumble upon certain jargon, you're found it in sentence, or with units, or with related math formula. Which should give a hint what the jargon is about no matter how rare the jargon is. hmmm... OKlah i understand, maybe its hard for you. But to me its not that hard to figure out, which i hope not hard for other student as well.
It isn’t hard for me now, but it was hard for me last time with my english encyclopedia. Like you said nowadays there is wikipedia and google translate, which i don’t have the luxury of during my time.

And to “hint” is easy, but hinting isn’t enough for me, I would always want to confirm what i “hinted”. And that would need rereading.

What you hope and the reality is different. I got A2 in 1119 and band 7 in ielts, but i still struggled in the beginning of my A-level with BM to english transition in maths & physics subjects. I believe the number of students with worse english command than me is more than the better ones (like you), hence i fully support PPSMI.
ramboramsey
post Feb 6 2020, 07:41 PM

it is because the internet. without the internet you dont relly need english to be good in sc and stem. with the internet event the chinese need to be good in english japanese and korean too. The thais take a separate extra class to learn english now, same goes to the vietnamese as well. the indons will revise their education syllabus in the very near future and trust me, they will add more english related subject to improve their oveall proficiency
MADReaLJL
post Feb 6 2020, 07:46 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(nasi lemak 20 sen @ Feb 6 2020, 12:45 PM)
Most cannot follow the class since standard 1. And teacher only communicate with those who already know English. Those speak English at home ones.
I am surprised you didn't know this.
Agree.
MADReaLJL
post Feb 6 2020, 07:51 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 05:45 PM)

For me it's easier on English.

U want to learn in malay also can. But it'll go nowhere. Can't compare to the Japanese. They have very high work ethic. Us? Cukup lah, ok lah, esok lah and we'll stuck on the same page till forever.
tictac88
post Feb 6 2020, 08:06 PM

191 posts

actually i agree with Dr M. all other ASEAN countries are trying to improve their English skills, if Malaysia still want to deny such need and refuse to try improving such skills, some days in the future you might find existing foreign companies are leaving as they find other neighbouring countries are simply better suit their needs.

ikankering
post Feb 6 2020, 08:07 PM

42 posts

only mahathir care about us.
ZerOne01
post Feb 6 2020, 08:14 PM

124 posts

Panjangnya gaduh lel
ihm11
post Feb 6 2020, 08:21 PM

62 posts

how does teaching a subject in engrand make sum1 gud in engrand when he doesn't have a gud grounding to begin with?

if i dun understand polish, u can teach me every subject under the sun in polish and i still wont know shit
ZerOne01
post Feb 6 2020, 08:22 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ihm11 @ Feb 6 2020, 08:21 PM)
how does teaching a subject in engrand make sum1 gud in engrand when he doesn't have a gud grounding to begin with?

if i dun understand polish, u can teach me every subject under the sun in polish and i still wont know shit
hakimix
post Feb 6 2020, 08:24 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 05:27 PM)

reason why people got such prejudice when some try to practice their English

straight kena cop fake/poyo Malay

sure if you speak leweh I,you I,you like that it's understandable people don't like it

but when it's bahasa baku mixed with some English technical terminologies also considered wrong lel

thinking it's rojak or sumthin
Farkmylife
post Feb 6 2020, 08:25 PM

31 posts

Certain people are so insecure, good things also, continue to trapped in their own world and forget about globalization so my descendants have less competition
and85rew
post Feb 6 2020, 08:41 PM

Red Devil
877 posts

ok la go with jawi lol
letitsnow
post Feb 6 2020, 09:08 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(hakimix @ Feb 6 2020, 08:24 PM)
reason why people got such prejudice when some try to practice their English

straight kena cop fake/poyo Malay

sure if you speak leweh I,you I,you like that it's understandable people don't like it

but when it's bahasa baku mixed with some English technical terminologies also considered wrong lel

thinking it's rojak or sumthin
Manada. Either you bullshitting or you mixed with the wrong people. When I was in U, some of us tried to speak English between course-mates. At worst, we just mocked in a fun way but nothing destructive. because we know good command in English would be easy for us onwards.

If you talking about extremists in FB who mocked people not writing in Malay, well extremists exists in all part of community. Some chinese-educated minded people also mocked their so-called 'banana' counterparts, which is a form of pejorative word in nature.

This post has been edited by letitsnow: Feb 6 2020, 09:08 PM
letitsnow
post Feb 6 2020, 09:15 PM

24 posts

Believe it or not, most problems with our fresh graduates being unemployed linguistic-wise has nothing to do with lack of understanding English in STEM, it's just poor English in general.

Mahathir basically solving a non-issue, or barking up the wrong tree.

This post has been edited by letitsnow: Feb 6 2020, 09:16 PM
pg84
post Feb 6 2020, 10:08 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 6 2020, 02:34 PM)
But Atuk say math n science in English.... Pity the kids, can they make up their mind?
Lyu
post Feb 6 2020, 10:11 PM

772 posts

Can't la
Later like last time

Exam Malay students were behind non Malay, making the gap too wide
Not fair they said

So they made it dual language last time
blanket84
post Feb 6 2020, 10:16 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(Lyu @ Feb 6 2020, 10:11 PM)
Can't la
Later like last time

Exam Malay students were behind non Malay, making the gap too wide
Not fair they said

So they made it dual language last time
Well this one is definitely a syok sendiri myth laugh.gif
jamilselamat
post Feb 6 2020, 10:27 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(pg84 @ Feb 6 2020, 10:08 PM)
But Atuk say math n science in English.... Pity the kids, can they make up their mind?
The mistake with Tun's thinking is that Math and Science HAVE to be taught in English for those kids to be useful in society. He's WRONG.

What he should have done back when he was Education Minister in 1974 is to make sure that DBP didnt slack off. He thought that such subjects has to be in English because he grew up with it(his grandpa taught English), but that was why he wasnt really qualified to chart the course for the Malays: ultimately, he himself was born in a rather affluent family, close to the bangsawans, so he has this warped view about the people living down here.

He thought that the only way for the Malays to succeed was to BECOME Englishmen. Thats just impossible. The Japanese succeeded because they take all that knowledge from the West and used them to mainly improve their own livelihood with that knowledge, not as a way for career advancement so they can migrate overseas(though to be fair, they managed to think locally first because they were never under occupation for long, and they blocked off foreigners for decades).

LamboSama
post Feb 6 2020, 11:23 PM

769 posts

BN and their RnR card.

Oh wai...
funnyTONE
post Feb 6 2020, 11:30 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(letitsnow @ Feb 6 2020, 07:15 PM)

I like this mentality.
This is what makes a good student. Being passionate about a certain subject will let you overcome challenges be it in language translation or solving problems in math. There's so many ways to look and search for answers, you only need to make an effort.

To me, I aim to have students with inquisitive nature and a positive attitude.
C-Fu
post Feb 7 2020, 02:21 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Feb 6 2020, 11:53 AM)
so he admit Malay language is outdated and hard to achieve wawasan ?

How about jawi? since malay language less competitive now.
tell me you're not that shallow minded
nasi lemak 20 sen
post Feb 7 2020, 04:19 AM

QUOTE(robingor86 @ Feb 7 2020, 04:16 AM)
The world doesn’t revolve on gua musang sakais

sadly forever in their sweet dreams
To solve this, we need separate schools for different needs.
nasi lemak 20 sen
post Feb 7 2020, 04:26 AM

QUOTE(robingor86 @ Feb 7 2020, 04:22 AM)
Yeah etc rempit academy for those who want to venture into racing
Or goyang kaki academy, how to live w a stick
No need so dramatic.

Keep SK and SMK as of now. Don't push PPSMI into SMK or SK.

Meanwhile introduce new English school.

Everyone happy.
jVIPERs2
post Feb 7 2020, 05:36 AM

LY.N Enthusiast
1,675 posts

Here we go again with the BM is lingua franca bullsh*t again...

Tun must accept the hard truth that majority of meleis don’t want advancement...they juz want to satisfy their sexual needs and keep getting tongkat from gov because they are entitled ‘earth prince’...

Those who have the desire for advancement in life will find a way and make use of the plentiful avenues already made available to them.

Don’t keep bringing the horse to water, to a point spend billions to surround the horse with water when the horse is not thirsty nor hot or dirty.

dickybird
post Feb 7 2020, 06:24 AM

2,093 posts

Geng plotek says
Jawi is the answer.
doh.gif
dickybird
post Feb 7 2020, 06:28 AM

2,093 posts

English is a language and you need to practice it to get good at speaking it and reading it.
I suppose if you had to use it for Science and Maths then you would have more practice time with it than you otherwise would have because kids in SK wouldn't normally speak English in a rural area or non Bangsar suburban area.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 7 2020, 06:35 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Feb 7 2020, 06:28 AM)
English is a language and you need to practice it to get good at speaking it and reading it.
I suppose if you had to use it for Science and Maths then you would have more practice time with it than you otherwise would have because kids in SK wouldn't normally speak English in a rural area or non Bangsar suburban area.
English is one problem.
there's still the impression by tempurung pipu that everyone that's white must speak english.......
these people must have never cheong russian girl......... owai
pallmall
post Feb 7 2020, 06:38 AM

34 posts

Never knew jawi is a language.
Setupiak
dickybird
post Feb 7 2020, 07:39 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Feb 7 2020, 06:35 AM)
English is one problem.
there's still the impression by tempurung pipu that everyone that's white must speak english.......
these people must have never cheong russian girl......... owai
They belip only the om besar should speak England and cheong Russian girls.
Spear2
post Feb 7 2020, 08:55 AM

19,494 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 10:27 PM)
The mistake with Tun's thinking is that Math and Science HAVE to be taught in English for those kids to be useful in society. He's WRONG.

What he should have done back when he was Education Minister in 1974 is to make sure that DBP didnt slack off. He thought that such subjects has to be in English because he grew up with it(his grandpa taught English), but that was why he wasnt really qualified to chart the course for the Malays: ultimately, he himself was born in a rather affluent family, close to the bangsawans, so he has this warped view about the people living down here.

He thought that the only way for the Malays to succeed was to BECOME Englishmen. Thats just impossible. The Japanese succeeded because they take all that knowledge from the West and used them to mainly improve their own livelihood with that knowledge, not as a way for career advancement so they can migrate overseas(though to be fair, they managed to think locally first because they were never under occupation for long, and they blocked off foreigners for decades).
You are setting up a straw man of what Tun is thinking. All he wanted is for us to grasp and understand science and technology of modern world faster. Not becoming an Englishman. And looking at the current education and the dismal proficiency level of many graduates, one wonders if we will ever become the industrious and innovative Japanese.
aliesterfiend
post Feb 7 2020, 09:02 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Spear2 @ Feb 7 2020, 08:55 AM)
You are setting up a straw man of what Tun is thinking. All he wanted is for us to grasp and understand science and technology of modern world faster. Not becoming an Englishman. And looking at the current education and the dismal proficiency level of many graduates, one wonders if we will ever become the industrious and innovative Japanese.
It got nothing to do with language. We are a nation of users, not inventors. Not enough local support for local inventors. It doesnt matter if somehow bybsone miracle learning Maths and Science in English makes our student understand modern world better because it will end up turning our students into bettet and faster user, not inventor.
lagista
post Feb 7 2020, 09:22 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Feb 6 2020, 11:30 PM)
I like this mentality.
This is what makes a good student. Being passionate about a certain subject will let you overcome challenges be it in language translation or solving problems in math. There's so many ways to look and search for answers, you only need to make an effort.

To me, I aim to have students with inquisitive nature and a positive attitude.
since the plotekkk still strong against PPSMI, then the only solution is to let schools implement it by choice (not all) n parents can choose to send their kids either to PPSMI or non-PPSMI school

u kenot drag others stay mundur just because of the fear of rural students lack of interest in english

it is unfair to the rest of silent majority students/parents that wanna move forward away from the nonsense

so let it be 2 type of schools: PPSMI school or non-PPSMI school (decided by parents/school/PPD of the area)

as demand grew, more schools opted to have PPSMI n slowly even the rural folks will realised they were left behind

dont worry about the gap risks, most important the country majority can move forward with PPSMI but not stucked with anti-PPSMI since both have given options to exist

oh btw, Brunei so happy with PPSMI and no plotekk whatsover

icon_rolleyes.gif
funnyTONE
post Feb 7 2020, 09:39 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(lagista @ Feb 7 2020, 09:22 AM)
since the plotekkk still strong against PPSMI, then the only solution is to let schools implement it by choice (not all) n parents can choose to send their kids either to PPSMI or non-PPSMI school

u kenot drag others stay mundur just because of the fear of rural students lack of interest in english

it is unfair to the rest of silent majority students/parents that wanna move forward away from the nonsense

so let it be 2 type of schools: PPSMI school or non-PPSMI school (decided by parents/school/PPD of the area)

as demand grew, more schools opted to have PPSMI n slowly even the rural folks will realised they were left behind

dont worry about the gap risks, most important the country majority can move forward with PPSMI but not stucked with anti-PPSMI since both have given options to exist

oh btw, Brunei so happy with PPSMI and no plotekk whatsover

icon_rolleyes.gif

yes, I would totally agree.
Choices and options.
Not selective or preferential treatment.
As a nation, you need to consider all group of people, respective of the minorities and the majority.

DLP is actually a good program that showcases this. Parents are given the choice to enroll their children without being forced. I disagree having to create 2 separate schools, but instead introduce the program to all schools.

lagista
post Feb 7 2020, 09:48 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Feb 7 2020, 09:39 AM)
yes, I would totally agree.
Choices and options.
Not selective or preferential treatment.
As a nation, you need to consider all group of people, respective of the minorities and the majority.

DLP is actually a good program that showcases this. Parents are given the choice to enroll their children without being forced. I disagree having to create 2 separate schools, but instead introduce the program to all schools.
2 separate schools is better idea

at entrance put huge billboard "PPSMI school" n "Non-PPSMI school"

so from far everyday u always think what future ur kids gonna have

<insert smiling Brunei students>
jamilselamat
post Feb 7 2020, 09:51 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(lagista @ Feb 7 2020, 09:22 AM)
It is unfair to the rest of silent majority[Citation needed] students/parents that wanna move forward away from the nonsense

FTFY

This post has been edited by jamilselamat: Feb 7 2020, 09:51 AM
zacky chan
post Feb 7 2020, 09:54 AM

QUOTE(pallmall @ Feb 7 2020, 06:38 AM)
Never knew jawi is a language.
Setupiak
jawi is a language la...its an arabic language /s tongue.gif
lagista
post Feb 7 2020, 09:55 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 7 2020, 09:51 AM)
FTFY
Brunei no problem with its own PPSMI, learn from their attitude

btw Dasar Pandang Ke Timur also since Brunei at east direction too
Spear2
post Feb 7 2020, 10:22 AM

19,494 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 7 2020, 09:02 AM)
It got nothing to do with language. We are a nation of users, not inventors. Not enough local support for local inventors. It doesnt matter if somehow bybsone miracle learning Maths and Science in English makes our student understand modern world better because it will end up turning our students into bettet and faster user, not inventor.
Before you become an up to date inventor you need to understand what is the current tech and science. You can also start from scratch but that will take you much longer.
aliesterfiend
post Feb 7 2020, 10:24 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Spear2 @ Feb 7 2020, 10:22 AM)
Before you become an up to date inventor you need to understand what is the current tech and science. You can also start from scratch but that will take you much longer.
Of course, but what is happening is that we keep using what others invented. If there are few of us who try to invent something then kena kutuk and no support.
Drian
post Feb 7 2020, 10:29 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 7 2020, 10:24 AM)
Of course, but what is happening is that we keep using what others invented. If there are few of us who try to invent something then kena kutuk and no support.
If there are few of us who try to invent something then kena kutuk and no support.

Examples?

SUSM4A1
post Feb 7 2020, 10:30 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

well said
aliesterfiend
post Feb 7 2020, 10:31 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Feb 7 2020, 10:29 AM)
Examples?
Just look around. What are Malaysian invention that is used worldwide?

Would Malaysia buy phones made in China/Japan or Malaysia?

Would you buy foreign or local car?
Drian
post Feb 7 2020, 10:37 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 7 2020, 10:31 AM)
Just look around. What are Malaysian invention that is used worldwide?

Would Malaysia buy phones made in China/Japan or Malaysia?

Would you buy foreign or local car?
But those are not inventions. Those are manufactured products.

Also Malaysia's reputation is caused by the malaysian manufacturers tidak apa attitude as well .

good eg:- proton in the 90s /80s.

Manufacturers cannot blame consumers if they gave the bad reputation themselves.

0.0556sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:22 AM