PPSMI: Think of future of Malay community, says Mahathir
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 01:15 PM
English is a Germanic language formed by a fusion of Old English and Norse. If you want to talk about religion or science or law or medicine you must use Latinate words (from French or Latin) and a smattering of Greek. English is basically a skinny barely functional body of Germanic (bones, basic organs and muscles) with a huge overgrowth and brain of Latin and Greek words, more than trebling it in size. Sort of like a massive genius head crab perched on a hillbilly.
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:56 PM) so what if the student master the math science in english but cant even construct a proper english email that is why i said , what is the objective of PPSMI? improve science math or english? If they know that alot of the mathematical and scientific terms are actually Arabic in origin mesti depa tak mau PSSMI punya, takut keliru nanti belajaq terma Arab.
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(pg84 @ Feb 6 2020, 01:23 PM) Why don't all in English not just science n math. It's better, else the kids will hv headached switching between languages..... Imagine u gather with ur friends. Need to speak malay to Ali, mandarin to ahkow n then tamil to muthu.... Better all speak english Why not all speak Bahasa?
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(lagista @ Feb 6 2020, 02:33 PM) Brunei no problem at all using English in teaching Math, Science subjects... Brunei > All So migrate to Brunei.
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(lagista @ Feb 6 2020, 02:34 PM) Use Math to teach English Teach algenra, algorithm, cipher, average, azimuth, cube, nadir, zenith and degree in Arabic since those words came from Arabic.
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 02:40 PM) because they all will still need to learn to speak english to be successful on a larger platform? So Ali, Ahkaw and Muthu must only speak in English?
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(Spear2 @ Feb 6 2020, 02:42 PM) That would happen if we were still in the 10th/11th century, but since then math has progressed to more than these Arabic words and concepts. I was mentioning about the term. Maths, like music are a language of its own. You can teach them in any other languages. 1+1 is equally correct whether you teach them either as satu campur satu or one plus one. You can teach maths and science in whatever language pupils eaiser to get a grasp with and understand while teaching English at the same time as secondary language. By the time in university, it doesnt matter to learn anything else, not just math and science in English.
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 02:44 PM) Not saying that. From an efficiency point of view, learning english would be the most efficient in terms of effort to gain. BM is an indulgence, some may not be able to afford (learning capacity) I only speak English (mostly) at work. Life is not just about work. I dont speak English at kedai nasi campur Ali, workshop Ahkaw or kedai runcit Muthu.
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 02:51 PM) well because we indulged and picked BM to be the compulsory language limited resources demand efficient use of what is available. What limited?
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 03:12 PM) learning capacity... time. not everyone can be multilingual comfortably. No lah. Schools now teaches 2+1 languages already.
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(duHwaN @ Feb 6 2020, 03:15 PM) and are the students mastering all of them? teaching is one thing... the result is another Some are. Many are.
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 06:48 PM) Well most non science subjects use word that are commonly used in conversational english. So to translate them isn’t that hard. Like you said, since you already go through the transition phase and learned the subject in depth, it is easy for you to translate all the words that i listed. But for kids in school who’s trying to read references in english or to watch documentary in english, they will be having hard time to understand what is being explained. To be honest, if the notes i read just now didn’t come with diagrams, it would take some time for me to find equivalent words in english for the BM words i listed above. But i am an engineer, so equivalent words to be substituted alone would be enough for me to understand, but for students, the might have to reread the whole chapter to understand, not to mention the time to memorize the new terms. Why need to translate? Can just use the English term while learning still in Malay. In law, we dont translate all Latin terms. Just Malaynize the English terms just like the English anglicised the Arabic terms and the Arabs arabicised the Greek terms.
aliesterfiend
Feb 6 2020, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 07:03 PM) Well that is a good compromise if the government (and DBP) is willing to do. Stop translate all science terms and use english term instead for scientific terms especially words that are seldom used in conversational BM. Or in all teaching notes & and text books, make it compulsory to put english term next to the BM term, maybe in bracket and italic so that the students can learn both terms simultaneously. Yes, then can teach math and science purely in English for Form 4 and Form 5. The primary school is formative years. We usually discover what subject we like during these years. It's easier to find what we like if we can understand what's being tought in the first place. By F4 and F5, students should already have basic understanding of English.
aliesterfiend
Feb 7 2020, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(Spear2 @ Feb 7 2020, 08:55 AM) You are setting up a straw man of what Tun is thinking. All he wanted is for us to grasp and understand science and technology of modern world faster. Not becoming an Englishman. And looking at the current education and the dismal proficiency level of many graduates, one wonders if we will ever become the industrious and innovative Japanese. It got nothing to do with language. We are a nation of users, not inventors. Not enough local support for local inventors. It doesnt matter if somehow bybsone miracle learning Maths and Science in English makes our student understand modern world better because it will end up turning our students into bettet and faster user, not inventor.
aliesterfiend
Feb 7 2020, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(Spear2 @ Feb 7 2020, 10:22 AM) Before you become an up to date inventor you need to understand what is the current tech and science. You can also start from scratch but that will take you much longer. Of course, but what is happening is that we keep using what others invented. If there are few of us who try to invent something then kena kutuk and no support.
aliesterfiend
Feb 7 2020, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(Drian @ Feb 7 2020, 10:29 AM) Just look around. What are Malaysian invention that is used worldwide? Would Malaysia buy phones made in China/Japan or Malaysia? Would you buy foreign or local car?