82 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Banking Privilege$aver by Standard Chartered, up to 4.75%, Seems like so few people talk about it

chewman
post Feb 4 2020, 05:18 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 3 2020, 08:45 PM)
Fuhh, guess the return will be worsened alot.
To counter this: 1k credit card spending onto ewallets, and withdraw back to bank.
I only know Boost able to withdraw with 5% admin charges. and bigpay withdraw is RM6. Any other ewallets allow withdraw ?

ProxMatoR
post Feb 4 2020, 10:50 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(chewman @ Feb 4 2020, 05:18 PM)
I only know Boost able to withdraw with 5% admin charges. and bigpay withdraw is RM6. Any other ewallets allow withdraw ?
boost charges UPTO RM2
chewman
post Feb 4 2020, 10:58 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ Feb 4 2020, 10:50 PM)
boost charges UPTO RM2
Thanks ! cause i though it was no capped at 2%!

I also found out BP is cheaper at MR0.50

David_Yang
post Feb 4 2020, 11:27 PM

775 posts

QUOTE(ThorWP @ Feb 4 2020, 12:29 PM)
great info! for the UT investment, is it the sales charge is the only cost to it? or is there other charges like mgmt fee, etc?
Usually they do. But some based on money market and bonds maybe not.
Sumofwhich
post Feb 5 2020, 06:25 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel03 @ Feb 3 2020, 10:58 PM)
When did you signed up at the booth?
last Friday. Agent told me submitted and will take 2 weeks lol.
I told her I needed to transfer my funds hoping she will help speed up the process, but prolly nope =.=

This post has been edited by Sumofwhich: Feb 5 2020, 06:25 AM
chowyeen
post Feb 5 2020, 12:52 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(ThorWP @ Feb 4 2020, 11:29 AM)
great info! for the UT investment, is it the sales charge is the only cost to it? or is there other charges like mgmt fee, etc?
Hi all sifu,

Just now I went to the SC branch the so called investment manager told me that the sales charge is 2.5% for all funds, regardless it’s bond fund or not. Can anyone please confirm this? I thought the sales charge is 1% then I can consider to invest in UT.

Thank you
ProxMatoR
post Feb 5 2020, 01:49 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Jan 29 2020, 09:38 PM)
Dropped by Taipan Subang branch to enquire about their ever mysterious 2% invest/insure option:
i. Insurance/savings plan
It's a 60 month/5 year plan partnering with Prudential, you get to pick from select Eastspring funds to allocate money into. About 20 of them all together including local equity, global equity, local bond and janky global high yield bond. I stopped the banker there before he got all excited about a savings plan with India and China funds.

ii. UT
RM1000 a month @ 2.5% sales fee. No lock in period can stop/start anytime. Sales fee can be reduced to 1.5% for whole tenure if lumpsum RM5,000 the first month and subsequently RM1,000 monthly.

From the top of my head (I was shown the funds from screen) - funds houses Aberdeen, AmInvest, Eastspring, Principal, Franklin, Templeton, RHB. Notably missing are Areca, Kenanga and United. All in about 190 funds, with some of them wholesale which require qualification of HNWI based on RM3mil AUM or 300k annual income.

Based on my calculation (hope it's right) with RM20,000 average balance in account, you'll be earning back the sales fee 4th month onwards if RM5000 initial lumpsum was done to lower the sales fee to 1.5%.

[attachmentid=10415261]
*Invest interest 2% per month derived from simple calculation 20000*0.02/12
QUOTE(chowyeen @ Feb 5 2020, 12:52 PM)
Hi all sifu,

Just now I went to the SC branch the so called investment manager told me that the sales charge is 2.5% for all funds, regardless it’s bond fund or not. Can anyone please confirm this? I thought the sales charge is 1% then I can consider to invest in UT.

Thank you
Sumofwhich
post Feb 5 2020, 04:07 PM

1,274 posts

Received sms of account being opened, not bad Friday signed up with agent, following Weds account opened
smartfreak
post Feb 6 2020, 02:15 AM

1,509 posts

QUOTE(chewman @ Feb 4 2020, 05:18 PM)
Boost charge 2% processing fee up to max rm2.
https://support.myboost.com.my/hc/en-us/art...obile_site=true
BigPay/Boost/shopeePay

This post has been edited by smartfreak: Feb 6 2020, 02:17 AM
christie_ang
post Feb 6 2020, 05:09 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(smartfreak @ Feb 6 2020, 02:15 AM)
Boost charge 2% processing fee up to max rm2.
https://support.myboost.com.my/hc/en-us/art...obile_site=true
BigPay/Boost/shopeePay
umobile gopayz...0 charge. cap 1.5k daily.

smartfreak
post Feb 6 2020, 08:36 PM

1,509 posts

QUOTE(christie_ang @ Feb 6 2020, 05:09 PM)
umobile gopayz...0 charge. cap 1.5k daily.
But gopayz can't be top up using credit card.
smartfreak
post Feb 7 2020, 02:09 PM

1,509 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 2 2020, 10:26 PM)
Does anyone have both conventional and islamic version of the privilege saver?

For islamic account, does the conventional credit card spending qualified for the bonus interest for islamic account?
I also wondering the same thing. The SC staff told me only one account can enjoy the full benefits if you have both PSA and Super Salary-i account and the other can get base interest only. Do let me know if you guys found out this is not true.
kenogl
post Feb 7 2020, 03:12 PM

31 posts

3rd Feb around 5pm went to QB SC booth to register the Account.
7th Feb 10am, received sms stated that account is ready, also for the online access. Now waiting them to send debit card to me.
Grimtology P
post Feb 9 2020, 05:29 PM

Probation

QUOTE(smartfreak @ Feb 7 2020, 02:09 PM)
I also wondering the same thing. The SC staff told me only one account can enjoy the full benefits if you have both PSA and Super Salary-i account and the other can get base interest only. Do let me know if you guys found out this is not true.
T&C # 26 states that - In the event where the customer opened two (2) or more eligible Promotion Accounts, Bonus Rate will be to the first of such active Promotion Account opened with SCBheld by Eligible Accountholder.
It's consistent with what the SC staff have said.
smartfreak
post Feb 9 2020, 06:40 PM

1,509 posts

QUOTE(Grimtology @ Feb 9 2020, 05:29 PM)
T&C # 26 states that - In the event where the customer opened two (2) or more eligible Promotion Accounts, Bonus Rate will be to the first of such active Promotion Account opened with SCBheld by Eligible Accountholder.
It's consistent with what the SC staff have said.
Thanks for pointing this out. I just noticed this when I read back the T&C.
LostAndFound
post Feb 10 2020, 10:38 AM

6,265 posts

Dropped by Saadiq branch, informed they have no Privileage$aver, just got some different name with exactly the same thing. Will be trying it out =)
Gabriel03
post Feb 10 2020, 11:41 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Feb 10 2020, 10:38 AM)
Dropped by Saadiq branch, informed they have no Privileage$aver, just got some different name with exactly the same thing. Will be trying it out =)
Yup, the Islamic version of the Privilege Saver is Super Salary-i.

For a bank that has very few branches in Msia, they don't want to mix Islamic and conventional banking in the same branch unlike the other local banks like Maybank, CIMB, etc.

Last Friday, I went to KL Main Branch to open the account and they almost denied me because the address on my IC is not in KL. They wanted to me to go to the nearest branch located in the same state as my IC address.

The only reason that I managed to open an account is due to the fact that I have already a credit card (+ on9 banking) with them.

Applying credit card with this bank is a lot easier than opening a saving account. No wander some people tend to spend more than save.

This post has been edited by Gabriel03: Feb 10 2020, 11:42 AM
sewjin
post Feb 10 2020, 01:47 PM

47 posts

so here's my very simplified cons of Privilege$aver (versus Unit Trust):

(1) I would only keep very little liquid cash in my bank account, enough to keep me going for a few months. A bulk of my savings goes into my Unit Trust which although is riskier, would earn a much higher yield than 6% per anum if i keep for the long run.
(2) The sales charge of my unit trust investment is only 1.5%. investing with SC is 2.5%.
(3) I already have existing insurance & existing unit trust. doesn't make sense to get another set. this drops my potential Privilege returns by 2%. This strengthens point (1).
(4) I've used SC credit card before and had to cancel because the rewards and cashback pales in comparison to MBB cards. this drops my potential Privilege returns by another 1.5%. This strengthens point (1).
(5) One month FD rates in Malaysia is already at 2.7%. The basic Privilege savings is only at 2.5% (say i don't get the credit card and the investment/insurance).
(6) There is a life span on this offer up to 31st Jan 2021.

Anyway, i'm honestly open to rebuttals. I too am considering this Privilege$aver scheme because i like the idea of consolidating all my finances under just one bank. But there just isn't a good reason to do it with this Privilege$aver program.
digimon09
post Feb 10 2020, 02:54 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(sewjin @ Feb 10 2020, 01:47 PM)
so here's my very simplified cons of Privilege$aver (versus Unit Trust):

(1) I would only keep very little liquid cash in my bank account, enough to keep me going for a few months. A bulk of my savings goes into my Unit Trust which although is riskier, would earn a much higher yield than 6% per anum if i keep for the long run.
(2) The sales charge of my unit trust investment is only 1.5%. investing with SC is 2.5%.
(3) I already have existing insurance & existing unit trust. doesn't make sense to get another set. this drops my potential Privilege returns by 2%. This strengthens point (1).
(4) I've used SC credit card before and had to cancel because the rewards and cashback pales in comparison to MBB cards. this drops my potential Privilege returns by another 1.5%. This strengthens point (1).
(5) One month FD rates in Malaysia is already at 2.7%. The basic Privilege savings is only at 2.5% (say i don't get the credit card and the investment/insurance).
(6) There is a life span on this offer up to 31st Jan 2021.

Anyway, i'm honestly open to rebuttals. I too am considering this Privilege$aver scheme because i like the idea of consolidating all my finances under just one bank. But there just isn't a good reason to do it with this Privilege$aver program.
4% easy to achieve + monthly cashback can give you 110 max.
LostAndFound
post Feb 11 2020, 09:41 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(sewjin @ Feb 10 2020, 01:47 PM)
Actually SCB credit cards currently are among the easiest way to earn cashback. Don't just look at %. Liverpool FC gives you 5% if you spend 2k, AND accepts BigPay reloads, so you can guarantee RM50 (the cap) every month. Effective cashback 2.5%.

Can other CC give more than that, not for any and all spend. E.g. monthly insurance, TNB payment, government payment et. al.

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Feb 10 2020, 10:38 AM)
Just opened this yesterday. They call it 'super-salary', so it doesn't pay out interest but profit. I was assured that everything is the same (RM3k deposit for +2%, RM1k spend for +1.5%)

Funnily enough Saadiq branch doesn't do CC at all....

This post has been edited by LostAndFound: Feb 11 2020, 09:43 AM

82 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:00 AM