82 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Banking Privilege$aver by Standard Chartered, up to 4.75%, Seems like so few people talk about it

Leroi2x
post Jan 17 2020, 07:25 AM

701 posts

QUOTE(cococonutseller @ Jan 16 2020, 11:10 PM)
They gave me a Liverpool debit card.. dont they have others? Im not a fan lahhh
2 option
1 is liverpool
Other just a green card
I think Liverpool looks nicer
cococonutseller
post Jan 17 2020, 05:10 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Leroi2x @ Jan 17 2020, 07:25 AM)
2 option
1 is liverpool
Other just a green card
I think Liverpool looks nicer
I see.. just an update...

Need to bank in RM1500 to entitled for free meps withdrawal
Leroi2x
post Jan 17 2020, 05:52 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(cococonutseller @ Jan 17 2020, 05:10 PM)
I see.. just an update...

Need to bank in RM1500 to entitled for free meps withdrawal
If u got bank in 3k fresh fund for the bonus interest , should be meet this 1.5k also
brutus
post Jan 21 2020, 11:38 AM

1,743 posts

Knew this would come but not expected it to come this early. Effective 1st Feb, SCB is revising its terms for Invest/Insure to 6,000 monthly for the extra 2% bonus interest (still capped at 100,000). The RM 1,000 invest/insure still entitle you the extra 2% but capped at first 20,000 savings only.
TSEurobeater
post Jan 22 2020, 05:30 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

BNM just annouced a rate cut. Don't know if it will cause SCB to start dropping rates, but be prepared lol
roarus
post Jan 29 2020, 09:38 PM

1,042 posts

Dropped by Taipan Subang branch to enquire about their ever mysterious 2% invest/insure option:
i. Insurance/savings plan
It's a 60 month/5 year plan partnering with Prudential, you get to pick from select Eastspring funds to allocate money into. About 20 of them all together including local equity, global equity, local bond and janky global high yield bond. I stopped the banker there before he got all excited about a savings plan with India and China funds.

ii. UT
RM1000 a month @ 2.5% sales fee. No lock in period can stop/start anytime. Sales fee can be reduced to 1.5% for whole tenure if lumpsum RM5,000 the first month and subsequently RM1,000 monthly.

From the top of my head (I was shown the funds from screen) - funds houses Aberdeen, AmInvest, Eastspring, Principal, Franklin, Templeton, RHB. Notably missing are Areca, Kenanga and United. All in about 190 funds, with some of them wholesale which require qualification of HNWI based on RM3mil AUM or 300k annual income.

Based on my calculation (hope it's right) with RM20,000 average balance in account, you'll be earning back the sales fee 4th month onwards if RM5000 initial lumpsum was done to lower the sales fee to 1.5%.

*Invest interest 2% per month derived from simple calculation 20000*0.02/12

Update: 1.5% sales fee is a promo and not eligible to get 2% interest for invest portion

This post has been edited by roarus: Feb 18 2020, 07:12 PM
loserguy
post Jan 30 2020, 04:10 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Jan 29 2020, 09:38 PM)
Dropped by Taipan Subang branch to enquire about their ever mysterious 2% invest/insure option:
It's a 60 month/5 year plan partnering with Prudential, you get to pick from select Eastspring funds to allocate money into. About 20 of them all together including local equity, global equity, local bond and janky global high yield bond. I stopped the banker there before he got all excited about a savings plan with India and China funds.

ii. UT
RM1000 a month @ 2.5% sales fee. No lock in period can stop/start anytime. Sales fee can be reduced to 1.5% for whole tenure if lumpsum RM5,000 the first month and subsequently RM1,000 monthly.

From the top of my head (I was shown the funds from screen) - funds houses Aberdeen, AmInvest, Eastspring, Principal, Franklin, Templeton, RHB. Notably missing are Areca, Kenanga and United. All in about 190 funds, with some of them wholesale which require qualification of HNWI based on RM3mil AUM or 300k annual income.

Based on my calculation (hope it's right) with RM20,000 average balance in account, you'll be earning back the sales fee 4th month onwards if RM5000 initial lumpsum was done to lower the sales fee to 1.5%.

Any PRS funds available? Also, not sure if worth it to park RM12k per year in UT if there is a RM20k cap starting from February 2020.

roarus
post Jan 30 2020, 08:09 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jan 30 2020, 04:10 PM)
Any PRS funds available? Also, not sure if worth it to park RM12k per year in UT if there is a RM20k cap starting from February 2020.
No PRS - cumulatively you get back more than sales fee 4th month onwards assuming the 1.5% sales fee offer is good and the invest portion remains at 2%
touristking
post Jan 31 2020, 10:26 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Jan 29 2020, 02:38 PM)

ii. UT

Great info.

If you purchase RM1000 UT monthly, the extra 2% is only for money up to 50K. If you purchase RM3000 UT monthly, it goes up to 100K

roarus
post Jan 31 2020, 11:10 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Jan 31 2020, 10:26 AM)
Great info.

If you purchase RM1000 UT monthly, the extra 2% is only for money up to 50K. If you purchase RM3000 UT monthly, it goes up to 100K
The info I got was:
1k/mo = 20k cap
6k/mo = 100k cap
kart
post Jan 31 2020, 11:14 AM

1,600 posts

The website, https://www.sc.com/my/deposits/psa/, Privilage$aver savings account does not state the terms and conditions, as well as the required documents, for opening this savings account.

1) What is the minimum initial deposit, needed to open this saving account?

2) What is the minimum required account balance, that needs to be maintained every month, in order to avoid the monthly fall-below fee (if any)?

3) For the requirement of depositing min RM3000 per month into PrivilegeSavings Account to get 2.0% pa, can I use IBFT (instant transfer) to credit RM 3000 to this account, and then a few seconds later, transfer the money via IBFT to other bank?

As such, do I still get 2.0% pa of savings account interest as usual?

Thank you very much for your clarification. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kart: Jan 31 2020, 11:16 AM
AIYH
post Feb 2 2020, 10:26 PM

1,166 posts

Does anyone have both conventional and islamic version of the privilege saver?

For islamic account, does the conventional credit card spending qualified for the bonus interest for islamic account?
majorarmstrong
post Feb 2 2020, 10:27 PM

2,239 posts

reporting myself here since ocbc 360 no longer attractive
Gabriel03
post Feb 2 2020, 11:14 PM

664 posts

Is it possible to sign up for this account online? SCB branch is very far from my place (124 km).

I have already 2 credit card from SCB and thus an online account.

This post has been edited by Gabriel03: Feb 2 2020, 11:26 PM
Sumofwhich
post Feb 3 2020, 08:20 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel03 @ Feb 2 2020, 11:14 PM)
Is it possible to sign up for this account online? SCB branch is very far from my place (124 km).

I have already 2 credit card from SCB and thus an online account.
you can try but i couldn't find it in my online banking portal.
you can also register your interest online, select your preferred branch and prolly someone will approach you.
i went to mall and sign up with SCB agent booth at Queensbay, Penang

This post has been edited by Sumofwhich: Feb 3 2020, 08:20 AM
kenogl
post Feb 3 2020, 10:09 AM

31 posts

Hi, do you mean you sign up the deposit account via booth ?
Gabriel03
post Feb 3 2020, 02:58 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Feb 3 2020, 08:20 AM)
you can try but i couldn't find it in my online banking portal.
you can also register your interest online, select your preferred branch and prolly someone will approach you.
i went to mall and sign up with SCB agent booth at Queensbay, Penang
Did they give you a debit card on the spot?
bergstein
post Feb 3 2020, 03:54 PM

352 posts

Does reload bigpay via SC credit card count as 1k spending?
Thinking to change from ocbc360 but I try not to hit 1k spending on credit card.
digimon09
post Feb 3 2020, 03:57 PM

447 posts

Delete

This post has been edited by digimon09: Feb 3 2020, 03:59 PM
digimon09
post Feb 3 2020, 03:59 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel03 @ Feb 3 2020, 02:58 PM)
Did they give you a debit card on the spot?
Yup. I got the lfc design debit card

QUOTE(bergstein @ Feb 3 2020, 03:54 PM)
Does reload bigpay via SC credit card count as 1k spending?
Thinking to change from ocbc360 but I try not to hit 1k spending on credit card.
Yup.

82 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0245sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:58 PM