Banking Privilege$aver by Standard Chartered, up to 4.75%, Seems like so few people talk about it

ProxMatoR
post Feb 4 2020, 11:52 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Feb 4 2020, 11:11 AM)
not sure why got 2 threads - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4439367/

but yes - the RM3k can be used. I use it to settle my credit card bills
1 general on all high yield....
this is particular to SCB one
ProxMatoR
post Feb 4 2020, 10:50 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(chewman @ Feb 4 2020, 05:18 PM)
I only know Boost able to withdraw with 5% admin charges. and bigpay withdraw is RM6. Any other ewallets allow withdraw ?
boost charges UPTO RM2
ProxMatoR
post Feb 5 2020, 01:49 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Jan 29 2020, 09:38 PM)
Dropped by Taipan Subang branch to enquire about their ever mysterious 2% invest/insure option:
i. Insurance/savings plan
It's a 60 month/5 year plan partnering with Prudential, you get to pick from select Eastspring funds to allocate money into. About 20 of them all together including local equity, global equity, local bond and janky global high yield bond. I stopped the banker there before he got all excited about a savings plan with India and China funds.

ii. UT
RM1000 a month @ 2.5% sales fee. No lock in period can stop/start anytime. Sales fee can be reduced to 1.5% for whole tenure if lumpsum RM5,000 the first month and subsequently RM1,000 monthly.

From the top of my head (I was shown the funds from screen) - funds houses Aberdeen, AmInvest, Eastspring, Principal, Franklin, Templeton, RHB. Notably missing are Areca, Kenanga and United. All in about 190 funds, with some of them wholesale which require qualification of HNWI based on RM3mil AUM or 300k annual income.

Based on my calculation (hope it's right) with RM20,000 average balance in account, you'll be earning back the sales fee 4th month onwards if RM5000 initial lumpsum was done to lower the sales fee to 1.5%.

[attachmentid=10415261]
*Invest interest 2% per month derived from simple calculation 20000*0.02/12
QUOTE(chowyeen @ Feb 5 2020, 12:52 PM)
Hi all sifu,

Just now I went to the SC branch the so called investment manager told me that the sales charge is 2.5% for all funds, regardless it’s bond fund or not. Can anyone please confirm this? I thought the sales charge is 1% then I can consider to invest in UT.

Thank you
ProxMatoR
post Feb 18 2020, 12:11 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(gold_mine99 @ Feb 18 2020, 12:00 PM)
Did anyone know how long will it take for open the PSA?
will they drag u 1 hour to sell you other saving product?
really no time to go branch this month sad.gif
if you going to be priority banking customer, you gonna get it quick. lol.gif

ProxMatoR
post Feb 18 2020, 12:21 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(Orchid beauty @ Feb 18 2020, 12:19 PM)
The unit trust requirement , how to fulfil? What if unit trust give shitty return. Isn't it drag down the percentage
search: unit trust
ProxMatoR
post Feb 19 2020, 10:03 PM

1,516 posts

1.5 month for free RM50, and still earn 4%, sounds like free money
ProxMatoR
post Mar 9 2020, 08:56 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(paogeh @ Mar 9 2020, 06:09 PM)
to get the 2% + 2% ....
i need to :
1. spend RM1000  credit card
2. fresh fund of RM3500 monthly.

need to go to branch to open ?
or can do ONLINE ?
planning to transfer from OCBC-360 , current = 3.6% .
officially 3.4%p.a. already.
ProxMatoR
post Mar 20 2020, 12:45 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 20 2020, 12:42 PM)
I am thinking of switching from OCBC 360 to this privilege savers if the diff in interest is still 3.4% vs 4%. OCBC has already reduced twice but not SCB?
we never know when will they reduce.

btw, you must own a credit card, I guess that's 1 of their strategy to boost their cardmember numbers too icon_idea.gif
ProxMatoR
post Apr 5 2020, 09:58 PM

1,516 posts

- deleted -

This post has been edited by ProxMatoR: Apr 5 2020, 10:43 PM
ProxMatoR
post Jun 3 2020, 12:33 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(jefftan4888 @ Jun 2 2020, 11:43 PM)
So the best practice is always to deposit 3k on the first day of the month to maximize the interest. Am I right?
no.

bonus interest is based on MAB, monthly average balance. once you are valid for this bonus, you will get for whole month, not from the day you qualified.

read the T&C on their mechanism. clearly explained

0.0529sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:29 AM