Celcom Home Fibre - 30Mbps @ RM80. Yay or Nay?, Anything on Celcom Home Fibre

failed.hashcheck
post Nov 28 2021, 12:59 AM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,096 posts

QUOTE(heLL_bOy @ Nov 27 2021, 05:53 PM)
should be celcom problem... how can celcom route over HK BBIX(103.203.158.51) without connecting HE transit before dropping traffic over HK BBIX.
yeah at this point im thinking the same. Gonna make more noise if it doesn't fix by next Tuesday.
On a side note, ipv6 it works fine, using HE route. But due to some unresolved situation I can't properly use ipv6 inside my LAN yet.

Actually I don't really care as long my connection to BuyVM servers fixed which already is. But hey I paid for the whole internet so I'm gonna use the whole internet ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 28 2021, 09:08 AM
papyrous
post Nov 29 2021, 11:01 AM

214 posts

those who switched the public IP, do you realize your allocated IP pool is very small?
eg restart connection few times and it’s cycled between 3-4 IPs only
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 29 2021, 11:21 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(papyrous @ Nov 29 2021, 11:01 AM)
those who switched the public IP, do you realize your allocated IP pool is very small?
eg restart connection few times and it’s cycled between 3-4 IPs only
yeah. my ip is always rotates within 183.171.x.0/24

which is super classy lol thumbup.gif . almost like static ip. I would just whitelist this single small subnet on my servers and have a lot of peace.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 29 2021, 11:24 AM
andyng38
post Nov 29 2021, 05:14 PM

2,402 posts

Went to blue cube and had a chat with the salesperson. The area I intend to install runs on TM infra. Asked about public IP addy for cctv. He said "u runding dgn installer lah", and that doesn't inspire a lot of confidence.
papyrous
post Nov 29 2021, 09:33 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Nov 29 2021, 05:14 PM)
Went to blue cube and had a chat with the salesperson. The area I intend to install runs on TM infra. Asked about public IP addy for cctv. He said "u runding dgn installer lah", and that doesn't inspire a lot of confidence.
don't think it works just by runding dengan installer. my understanding of the process is that after you install they say ~24 hours later when your account appears in the system then you call to request it. after that just wait for them to come
andyng38
post Nov 29 2021, 09:57 PM

2,402 posts

QUOTE(papyrous @ Nov 29 2021, 09:33 PM)
don't think it works just by runding dengan installer. my understanding of the process is that after you install they say ~24 hours later when your account appears in the system then you call to request it. after that just wait for them to come
If your process is the correct one, that means 2 visits: one to install, and another to give u a public IP?
zilch28
post Nov 30 2021, 12:03 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Nov 29 2021, 09:57 PM)
If your process is the correct one, that means 2 visits: one to install, and another to give u a public IP?
it is, they insist on sending a technician to your house even tho all they would do is just change from @celcomhome to @celcomfirstfibre.com.my

after my installation, i made the request and then i changed it myself two days later when i was swapping out their router for my own mesh and after that i called and tell them to cancel the appointment coz i've already done it.
andyng38
post Nov 30 2021, 06:18 AM

2,402 posts

QUOTE(zilch28 @ Nov 30 2021, 12:03 AM)
it is, they insist on sending a technician to your house even tho all they would do is just change from @celcomhome to @celcomfirstfibre.com.my

after my installation, i made the request and then i changed it myself two days later when i was swapping out their router for my own mesh and after that i called and tell them to cancel the appointment coz i've already done it.
Good grief. That's really a wasteful and inconvenient protocol. Thanks for the info. Today's the last day for their 20mbps offer. No typo. Twenty mbps. I'm in no hurry to get the other house hooked up, and may just wait to see what other offers pop up in December. Got a choice of 4 providers in that taman.
magicang
post Nov 30 2021, 11:28 AM

57 posts

I just switch to Celcom Fibre from Unifi, but i found connectivity issue after switch

Before that i can use my Nike App and Radio Streaming App (MeListen), after switch, the app cannot work at all.
Try reset the modem also can't work sad.gif

Any advice ? Or i switch back to Unifi, but celcom has two years contract after sign up sad.gif
fruitie
post Nov 30 2021, 12:12 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

How easy it is to get public IP? Need to beg and whatnot? I won't prefer this way. I already bought my own router - Asus TUF-AX3000, so I supposed I can configure myself. I need public IP for my Switch gaming.
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 30 2021, 12:19 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 30 2021, 12:12 PM)
How easy it is to get public IP? Need to beg and whatnot? I won't prefer this way. I already bought my own router - Asus TUF-AX3000, so I supposed I can configure myself. I need public IP for my Switch gaming.
Very straightforward. No question asked. Just call 1111 and tell them you want to request for public ip.

They will insist to send technician home. But you can just diy and let the tech know its all good when he make visit call. And send him some requested screenshot and pics maybe.
fruitie
post Nov 30 2021, 01:25 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Nov 30 2021, 12:19 PM)
Very straightforward. No question asked. Just call 1111 and tell them you want to request for public ip.

They will insist to send technician home. But you can just diy and let the tech know its all good when he make visit call. And send him some requested screenshot and pics maybe.
Thanks! Is it difficult to DIY? Any settings to be made?

Which plan are you having now? Is it stable for you?
papyrous
post Nov 30 2021, 02:16 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 30 2021, 01:25 PM)

just login to your router to change from username@celcomhome to username@celcomfirstfibre.com.my

This post has been edited by papyrous: Nov 30 2021, 02:16 PM
fruitie
post Nov 30 2021, 02:17 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(papyrous @ Nov 30 2021, 02:16 PM)
just login to your router to change from username@celcomhome to username@celcomfirstfibre.com.my
OK, this is simple. laugh.gif I guess still need Celcom's backend confirmation right? I don't think it works by just changing username? They should have done something in background to effect the changes after I change username?
papyrous
post Nov 30 2021, 02:17 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(magicang @ Nov 30 2021, 11:28 AM)
I just switch to Celcom Fibre from Unifi, but i found connectivity issue after switch

Before that i can use my Nike App and Radio Streaming App (MeListen), after switch, the app cannot work at all.
Try reset the modem also can't work  sad.gif

Any advice ? Or i switch back to Unifi, but celcom has two years contract after sign up  sad.gif
can check if Unifi still offers the winback 2.0 program.
they will give you rm500 rebate to offset contract termination
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 30 2021, 02:49 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 30 2021, 01:25 PM)

It's not difficult at all. You literally just need to change your username from xxx@celcomhome to xxx@celcomfirstfibre.com.my, but only after your request confirmed and your account moved to new username on their side (I think this happen within few minutes after request. Just check if you can't dial using old username means you are ready to use new one). It's almost an insult that they are sending technician to all the way just to do this for you.

After some time you use this isp it will become clear that their entire support framework and policy is built around assuming all their fiber customers are old traditionalist, tech illiterate individuals laugh.gif .

Currently using 300mbps. Always getting excess speed all the time. But this certainly depends on your area

Ping to SG usually around 13ms. Not as good as TM ~8ms but at least it's very consistent and never had ping spike. However, I'm getting better ping to JP (specifically i3d servers) compared to TM. Not sure about other game servers though.

Overall internet experience is ok, except for some painful routing issues since few days ago, involving few sites located in west coast US that are being routed via HE. The most spectacular one is he.net and its subdomains. Reported but still no update now.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 30 2021, 03:11 PM
Left4Dead2
post Nov 30 2021, 03:21 PM

1,103 posts

Switch from Unifi 30mbps to Celcom 30mbps for cheaper price and new router

Speedtest is below 30mbps with abit higher ping compare with Unifi exactly 30mbps and ~5 ping. I thought using same line and Unifi BTU will be no different, i was wrong hmm.gif

Though with new router & 5G wifi everything seems smoother loading
fruitie
post Nov 30 2021, 03:46 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Nov 30 2021, 02:49 PM)
It's not difficult at all. You literally just need to change your username from xxx@celcomhome to xxx@celcomfirstfibre.com.my, but only after your request confirmed and your account moved to new username on their side (I think this happen within few minutes after request. Just check if you can't dial using old username means you are ready to use new one). It's almost an insult that they are sending technician to all the way just to do this for you.

After some time you use this isp it will become clear that their entire support framework and policy is built around assuming all their fiber customers are old traditionalist, tech illiterate individuals  laugh.gif .

Currently using 300mbps. Always getting excess speed all the time. But this certainly depends on your area

Ping to SG usually around 13ms. Not as good as TM ~8ms but at least it's very consistent and never had ping spike. However, I'm getting better ping to JP (specifically i3d servers) compared to TM. Not sure about other game servers though.

Overall internet experience is ok, except for some painful routing issues since few days ago, involving few sites located in west coast US that are being routed via HE. The most spectacular one is he.net and its subdomains. Reported but still no update now.
Request confirmed = will I receive any notification? Or I have to try with the new username and see if it works? laugh.gif Yes, it is an insult, I cannot imagine the awkwardness... sweat.gif

I'm just afraid of tech support, honestly and it is going to be disaster. laugh.gif

OK good to know. How much are you paying for 300Mbps? Is it RM 140 (as per their website)? Or they will offer some sorts of loyalty program like UniFi? laugh.gif
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 30 2021, 04:30 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 30 2021, 03:46 PM)
Request confirmed = will I receive any notification? Or I have to try with the new username and see if it works? laugh.gif Yes, it is an insult, I cannot imagine the awkwardness... sweat.gif

I'm just afraid of tech support, honestly and it is going to be disaster. laugh.gif

OK good to know. How much are you paying for 300Mbps? Is it RM 140 (as per their website)? Or they will offer some sorts of loyalty program like UniFi? laugh.gif
Request confirmed is just as in the support staff acknowledge your request. They will warn you not to turn off/disconnect your router after that call until the technician come to change your username few days later bcs the old username wont be able to dial anymore . So I suspect the account is transferred immideately after call. No notification since the username changed are supposed to be done by technician. So if you can't be bothered to wait and want diy, you need to try yourself.

Last time I dont really understand the process so I wait few days until the tech contact me, and confirmed that I just need to change ppp username.

Im paying rm140. Afaik there are no targeted promotions for celcom except some small one time rebate if you deal via some agent.
zilch28
post Dec 3 2021, 11:22 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 30 2021, 03:46 PM)

not to mention at this period of time, I cannot understand why they insist on sending a technician to our houses. isn't everyone working towards as minimal contact as possible? vmad.gif

25 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.1163sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:56 AM