Celcom Home Fibre - 30Mbps @ RM80. Yay or Nay?, Anything on Celcom Home Fibre

failed.hashcheck
post Nov 8 2021, 07:07 PM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,094 posts

How to get ipv6 working? default setting on the router does not give me any address

One thing I immediately notice about this celcom fiber after I install today is that it has problem connecting to EA account server (accounts.ea.com) making it impossible to launch the origin client. But I hope it's just transient issue.
But I work around this by routing origin client connection via proxy. The actual game server itself (battlefield1) is fine, in fact better ping to JP server compared to unifi/digi fiber.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 10 2021, 02:38 PM
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 9 2021, 10:11 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(papyrous @ Nov 9 2021, 09:38 AM)
unfortunately Celcom doesnt offer IPv6.
2021 and still no ipv6?
Well thats awkward, when you consider Celcom is one of only 9 members of ipv6 comitee wg in Malaysia.
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 9 2021, 08:01 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(papyrous @ Nov 3 2021, 04:16 PM)
4 days. I called Celcom the day internet went down. the earliest appointment they could get me was 4 days later so your mileage may vary depending on where you're located.

I switched to Public IP as well, they need to send a technician as well to change your username from @celcomhome to @celcomfirstfibre.com.my
The techician part - did they really send guy all the way to home just to change the ppp username inside router?
Can i just do it myself? (I use my own router and have full access to everything )

Today I call 1111 to request public address, they said tech will visit in 5 days. She warned me to not restart or disconnect the router until then, otherwise I'll will lose connectivity until their technician come to reconfigure my router.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 9 2021, 08:07 PM
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 10 2021, 03:10 PM

2,094 posts

So, I asked them this morning if I can just DIY the credential change. She said I can't - as the change involves username and password as well [refer #137], and new login info is only relayed through their installer.

Damn. They really lived up to their Celcom 'Home' brand until have so much budget to send technician to home every single time just to key in some stuff.

QUOTE(joonh @ Nov 9 2021, 10:51 PM)
Same as bro @failed.hashcheck I can’t connect to ea server… so annoying
Its fixed now for me now. But I'm not so sure if its just due to cached data from my proxied session earlier.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 13 2021, 02:54 PM
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 13 2021, 11:40 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(joonh @ Nov 12 2021, 04:09 PM)
Updates..the technician failed to turn up on time. No call, nothing.

Called Celcom and asked if there's anything I can change myself.... actually it's just changing the domain from @celcomhome to @celcomfirstfibre.com.my. I haven't done so just being cautious if there are extra things the technician needs to be onsite...and waiting for him to call me.
My EA server is also working now. Feel like cancelling this public IP change order. but then already request, just be it lah.
Ok confirmed the change involves only username (change from @celcomhome to @celcomfirstfibre.com.my). Password still same, contrary to what cust service told me few days ago. There are nothing else you need to do.
Timing doesn't matter. If you can't connect using old @celcomhome anymore after your request is confirmed, means you are already transferred and ready to change to new username.

Tech took too long to arrive, I can't wait bcs I need to go out on time. So I ask him to just let me diy and I'll post the screenshot and pics proof of work later.
Now he dont have to waste fuel coming here for pointless job, and I get things done quick. win win.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 13 2021, 03:00 PM
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 15 2021, 11:10 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(xVentrusx @ Nov 15 2021, 10:05 PM)
guys just wanna ask if any of you experience delay issues playing certain  games outside SEA?

playing Dota 2/CSGO ping is fine but when i play FFXIV which is in Japan the ping i usually get around 113ms/130ms now 230-300ms.

Called Celcom CS and she said they cant do anything about it cuz its outside SEA. I try changing DNS and stuff still same. used VPN to a malaysia server then i can get stable ping at 140ms-150ms. makes me want to change to other ISP. A friend using Unifi easily gets 90-100ms ping..

i checked my latency to that server always has packet loss. 5s is 120ms ping then 5s 230+ms. Im using wired to my pc
Can't be routing issues. My ping to their game servers (124.150.157.0/24) is constantly within 88-99ms.

But I heard somewhere before that there are many complains about ffxiv connection being falsely flagged and throttled as p2p by many ISPs for some reason (which the vpn masked). You may want to look around that.
changing dns won't do anything because it relates to different scope of networking.
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 16 2021, 12:09 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(xVentrusx @ Nov 15 2021, 11:37 PM)
do you have any suggestion that i should take? this just happened 2 weeks ago. before this all is good playing ffxiv+dota 2 and watching youtube at the same time no issue. Im from sabah btw and i think its not using the TM infrastructure? since it uses separate boxes i see. not sure if that relates or anything because im not well verse in this

i use a software called pingplotter and i could see that the graph of my ping is like a wave and its consistent. low ping for a couple of seconds then high ping and so on. i dont know if its ISP side or my side that is wrong. called CS but cannot help me also..
have you tried ping to actual jp ffxiv servers?

Look fine from here in Klang.

CODE
Pinging 124.150.157.157 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 124.150.157.157: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=48
Reply from 124.150.157.157: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=48

Ping statistics for 124.150.157.157:
   Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
   Minimum = 88ms, Maximum = 89ms, Average = 88ms

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 16 2021, 12:16 AM
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 19 2021, 12:18 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(zilch28 @ Nov 18 2021, 11:35 PM)
Signed for the 300MB package, the sales dude said there are extra ports in my area so no need to do the transfer transfer thing with unifi.

They just pulled a new cable, which is pretty good since my unifi fibre cable is old.

I am planning to get a better router since the provided AX1500 is just absolutely horrible in terms of configurability (maybe its a custom firmware). Anyone can recommend a good one?
configurability as in what?
you just need to login as admin (not customer) for full access.
username: admin
password: c3lc0msuper

beyond that you need something that can install openwrt or Asus router (preferably one that supported by merlin)
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 27 2021, 10:42 AM

2,094 posts

Anyone experiencing trouble accessing IPs located in Western US?
Apparently there is something happened to Hurricane Electric (HE) route somewhere in HK for past few days. I can't access few of my servers in LV and LA. Hell, even HE website is inaccessible currently.

Buyvm has been kind enough to temporarily force route to celcom via Cogent on my request. But I still can't access other sites that routed though HE.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 27 2021, 10:49 AM
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 27 2021, 03:25 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(heLL_bOy @ Nov 27 2021, 01:35 PM)
isit route over HE (HKG) port-channel4 ? if yes, then is normal.. this route has issue been past few months.
idk been experiencing problem only since 2 days ago.
but yeah the traceroute stop at HK BBIX

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 27 2021, 03:49 PM
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 27 2021, 05:22 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(heLL_bOy @ Nov 27 2021, 04:31 PM)
so far no news over HE(HKG) over BBIX. only port-channel4 having problem so far.

route stop at HK BBIX isit null-route?

as far i know celcom and buyvm both doesn't using HK BBIX.

only celcom have 10g over SG BBIX.
can't say for sure but then again this affects number of other US-west sites that are connected via HE, like he.net itself.

tracert to buyvm LA before reroute:

CODE
 1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  RT-AC67U-9CF8 [192.168.1.1]
 2     4 ms     1 ms     1 ms  183.171.195.225
 3     5 ms     2 ms     2 ms  10.55.49.57
 4     5 ms     2 ms     2 ms  10.55.50.26
 5     5 ms     1 ms     1 ms  183.171.206.46
 6     6 ms     3 ms     3 ms  183.171.206.41
 7     6 ms     4 ms     3 ms  10.151.83.142
 8     *        7 ms     4 ms  203.82.73.190
 9     *        *        5 ms  203.82.73.189
10     9 ms     6 ms     6 ms  203.82.83.48
11    38 ms    38 ms    38 ms  103.203.158.51
12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
13     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Tracert from buyvm to celcom
CODE
1  205.185.112.1 (205.185.112.1)  1.584 ms  0.524 ms  1.529 ms
2  172.18.0.29 (172.18.0.29)  1.742 ms  1.004 ms  1.308 ms
3  100ge0-70.core3.lax2.he.net (184.104.193.177)  18.459 ms  8.141 ms  18.412 ms
4  100ge10-1.core1.hkg1.he.net (184.105.64.126)  145.295 ms  145.222 ms  145.345 ms
5  port-channel1.core2.hkg1.he.net (184.104.197.90)  170.408 ms  170.706 ms  170.697 ms
6  * * *
7  * * *

reported to celom but I bet they would rather just wait the upstream to fix itself than crapping the entire network for alternative rote just for an isolated complain yawn.gif .

failed.hashcheck
post Nov 28 2021, 12:59 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(heLL_bOy @ Nov 27 2021, 05:53 PM)
should be celcom problem... how can celcom route over HK BBIX(103.203.158.51) without connecting HE transit before dropping traffic over HK BBIX.
yeah at this point im thinking the same. Gonna make more noise if it doesn't fix by next Tuesday.
On a side note, ipv6 it works fine, using HE route. But due to some unresolved situation I can't properly use ipv6 inside my LAN yet.

Actually I don't really care as long my connection to BuyVM servers fixed which already is. But hey I paid for the whole internet so I'm gonna use the whole internet ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 28 2021, 09:08 AM
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 29 2021, 11:21 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(papyrous @ Nov 29 2021, 11:01 AM)
those who switched the public IP, do you realize your allocated IP pool is very small?
eg restart connection few times and it’s cycled between 3-4 IPs only
yeah. my ip is always rotates within 183.171.x.0/24

which is super classy lol thumbup.gif . almost like static ip. I would just whitelist this single small subnet on my servers and have a lot of peace.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 29 2021, 11:24 AM
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 30 2021, 12:19 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 30 2021, 12:12 PM)
How easy it is to get public IP? Need to beg and whatnot? I won't prefer this way. I already bought my own router - Asus TUF-AX3000, so I supposed I can configure myself. I need public IP for my Switch gaming.
Very straightforward. No question asked. Just call 1111 and tell them you want to request for public ip.

They will insist to send technician home. But you can just diy and let the tech know its all good when he make visit call. And send him some requested screenshot and pics maybe.
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 30 2021, 02:49 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 30 2021, 01:25 PM)
Thanks! Is it difficult to DIY? Any settings to be made?

Which plan are you having now? Is it stable for you?
It's not difficult at all. You literally just need to change your username from xxx@celcomhome to xxx@celcomfirstfibre.com.my, but only after your request confirmed and your account moved to new username on their side (I think this happen within few minutes after request. Just check if you can't dial using old username means you are ready to use new one). It's almost an insult that they are sending technician to all the way just to do this for you.

After some time you use this isp it will become clear that their entire support framework and policy is built around assuming all their fiber customers are old traditionalist, tech illiterate individuals laugh.gif .

Currently using 300mbps. Always getting excess speed all the time. But this certainly depends on your area

Ping to SG usually around 13ms. Not as good as TM ~8ms but at least it's very consistent and never had ping spike. However, I'm getting better ping to JP (specifically i3d servers) compared to TM. Not sure about other game servers though.

Overall internet experience is ok, except for some painful routing issues since few days ago, involving few sites located in west coast US that are being routed via HE. The most spectacular one is he.net and its subdomains. Reported but still no update now.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Nov 30 2021, 03:11 PM
failed.hashcheck
post Nov 30 2021, 04:30 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 30 2021, 03:46 PM)
Request confirmed = will I receive any notification? Or I have to try with the new username and see if it works? laugh.gif Yes, it is an insult, I cannot imagine the awkwardness... sweat.gif

I'm just afraid of tech support, honestly and it is going to be disaster. laugh.gif

OK good to know. How much are you paying for 300Mbps? Is it RM 140 (as per their website)? Or they will offer some sorts of loyalty program like UniFi? laugh.gif
Request confirmed is just as in the support staff acknowledge your request. They will warn you not to turn off/disconnect your router after that call until the technician come to change your username few days later bcs the old username wont be able to dial anymore . So I suspect the account is transferred immideately after call. No notification since the username changed are supposed to be done by technician. So if you can't be bothered to wait and want diy, you need to try yourself.

Last time I dont really understand the process so I wait few days until the tech contact me, and confirmed that I just need to change ppp username.

Im paying rm140. Afaik there are no targeted promotions for celcom except some small one time rebate if you deal via some agent.
failed.hashcheck
post Jan 12 2022, 06:12 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(chiwawa10 @ Jan 11 2022, 04:01 PM)
Mind to share your experience on their network.
Im having hard time finding Celcom fiber review when I deciding isp to use last time.
Been using for 3 months now, I will do some review, to help anyone researching options for their next ISP. Things change from time to time. Be sure to take note of my post date.
Package I use is 300mb, RM140 not include tax. Router I use is my own Asus RT-AC67U.
This review does not represent the entire scene. It only covers my personal experience, usage, and issues encountered as well opinions.

Contract
This is the best thing about Celcom.
- RM500 flat termination fee.
- 2 years contract, you can upgrade or downgrade within contract period without forced renewal (aka no reset). Downgrade however is charged RM50 per request.

Service quality
- Router provided currently is TP-Link AX10. Not the best, but as a stock router provided free it's one of the best compared to other ISP.
- Upgrade/downgrade speed via phone call. No extra steps. New speed will reflect within 24 hours (need to disconnect and reconnect router).
- Online billing need to go through shitty customer portal interface. Set auto billing to save you from having to use that cancer portal every months.

Support
Support is mixed bag. For fiber customer, your support is on separate framework from mobile.
You will be limited to phone and counter support (boomer's heaven). No email, no whatsapp, no live chat, no ticket whatsoever. 50 cent charge to speak to customer service person via 1111 support line.
On the positive side, you are served by a separate team of high quality phone support. Request to speak with CS in person will be connected almost immediately most of time and the guy answering is competent.

Second tier support that dealing with customer network problem is not very pro.
One time I had network problem - my connection to LA via HE get blackholed in HK for god knows why.
Contacted phone support, the issue was delegated to internal network guy. He insisted to send technician to home to check on my router although I explained many times this is upstream problem beyond his scope, and there is nothing he can do. He needs to forward it to higher tier routing/bgp guy. But no. He still insists on investigating it himself for 2 weeks, asking me to check if the connection is fixed from time to time, and asking unrelated questions where he suspected the problem might be caused by my previous public IP switch. But ofc nothing gets fixed lah. One day he finally gave up and forwarded the issue to routing/bgp guy. Couple of tracert and mtr later, the problem fixed the next day doh.gif .
Ignoring that issue with actual problem, the entire support process itself was outstanding. The person in charge would call me from time to time to report the progress. After the problem was solved, the CS that initially filed my issue called again to confirm everything is solved and asking my permission to finally close the case.

From what I see, the entire customer service is built around assuming all the customers have exceptionally low tech literacy by default.
Their stock routers login is assigned as limited users (full admin login is available but not given by installer). They will send technician to home for smallest task like changing PPP username or inspecting router configuration issues.
Its good for majority of users. But for tech savvy people this gets annoying quick.

Network quality
- Private IP by default, Public IP available for all plan on request (for now). Just call CS and tell them you want public IP. No drama. No question asked. But they insist on sending technician home to set up a new router configuration.
- For public IP, you are always assigned in a fixed /24 pool, which is so classy brows.gif
- No IPv6. But not quite. Technically you are still assigned /64 address in wan interface, but the implementation is currently broken, and the prefix is not delegated to LAN so it's basically not usable. If you use Asus router or any router that supports 6in4 tunnel, you can use good 'ol HE's tunnelbroker to get ipv6 and the performance is surprisingly good nowadays.
- Celcom is using different routing than TM. Not good or bad thing, that's just how ISP work lah.
- One notable case is, Celcom is using different undersea cable than TM and not directly affected by current cable fault in HK currently affecting Unifi, and to some extent Digi/Time/Maxis.
- Ping to SG is typically around 13ms, worse than TM's 10ms.
- Celcom generally has better connectivity to European and East Asian datacenters.
- Jitters are minimal. I rarely experience any ping spikes when playing games (mostly bf1 and PoE) during peak hours.

Speedtest (12/1/2022):
- Server selection based on services/dc that I use the most, or major ISP in biggest cities.
- Test made fom my location in Klang, using speedtest-cli 3 times, with median speed result selected.

Local ISP

OVH (major datacenter) - Singapore, Sydney

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Jan 12 2022, 06:19 PM
failed.hashcheck
post Jan 12 2022, 06:12 AM

2,094 posts

i3D (Ubisoft and EA games) - Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan, Sydney

US - LA (Clouvider), Dallas (Dedipath), NY (Spectrum)

EU - Netherlands (Clouvider), Germany (Deutsche Telekom), France (Orange)

iperf (YABS)

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Jan 12 2022, 07:08 AM
failed.hashcheck
post Jan 13 2022, 02:41 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(papyrous @ Jan 12 2022, 05:50 PM)
regarding your speedtest, idk how my 30mbps only gets ~28.6mbps but your 300mbps plan gets 320+
Depends on area, I think.
My neighbor just registered Celcom 30mb few weeks ago and getting 33+ mb.
Before I upgrade to 300mb, I use 100mb. Got (abnormal) symmetric 110mb both download and upload.

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Jan 12 2022, 07:19 PM)
Perhaps he testing via LAN cable
Internal networking medium doesn't really matter.
I can still get the same result, but slightly higher ping when connected to wifi ac at reasonable distance (650mb link).

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Jan 13 2022, 03:28 AM
failed.hashcheck
post Jan 13 2022, 03:27 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Jan 13 2022, 02:53 AM)
Sialkom 100mb fiber plan is asymmetrical?
supposedly no but idk what caused it to happen.

It goes on like that until the day I upgraded to 300mbps then it returned to advertised nominal 50mbps.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Jan 13 2022, 03:31 AM

0.0469sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:09 PM