Celcom Home Fibre - 30Mbps @ RM80. Yay or Nay?, Anything on Celcom Home Fibre

zilch28
post Oct 31 2021, 12:46 AM

444 posts

thinking of moving from unifi to celcom,

how is the ping, especially for games? and experience with torrents?
zilch28
post Nov 18 2021, 11:35 PM

444 posts

Signed for the 300MB package, the sales dude said there are extra ports in my area so no need to do the transfer transfer thing with unifi.

They just pulled a new cable, which is pretty good since my unifi fibre cable is old.

I am planning to get a better router since the provided AX1500 is just absolutely horrible in terms of configurability (maybe its a custom firmware). Anyone can recommend a good one?
zilch28
post Nov 19 2021, 12:25 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Nov 19 2021, 12:18 AM)
configurability as in what?
you just need to login as admin (not customer) for full access.
username: admin
password: c3lc0msuper

beyond that you need something that can install openwrt or Asus router (preferably one that supported by merlin)
oh this helps a lot, didn't know there was a admin login. i just need the regular functions of a router, which the customer account does not provide.
zilch28
post Nov 30 2021, 12:03 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Nov 29 2021, 09:57 PM)
If your process is the correct one, that means 2 visits: one to install, and another to give u a public IP?
it is, they insist on sending a technician to your house even tho all they would do is just change from @celcomhome to @celcomfirstfibre.com.my

after my installation, i made the request and then i changed it myself two days later when i was swapping out their router for my own mesh and after that i called and tell them to cancel the appointment coz i've already done it.
zilch28
post Dec 3 2021, 11:22 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 30 2021, 03:46 PM)

I'm just afraid of tech support, honestly and it is going to be disaster. laugh.gif

not to mention at this period of time, I cannot understand why they insist on sending a technician to our houses. isn't everyone working towards as minimal contact as possible? vmad.gif
zilch28
post Dec 4 2021, 11:09 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(papyrous @ Dec 4 2021, 10:18 AM)
then try as mentioned, the day they're supposed to come just switch the domain name yourself. when technician call you can tell them it's already done and send them screenshots as requested. if you mess it up and it doesnt work then no choice let them come and fix it for you.
yea i did that, just baffled by their decisions.
zilch28
post Jul 25 2024, 12:18 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jun 11 2024, 09:31 AM)
hi ,can i know how is the digi celcom fiber?
i  saw previous post 6/6 got few ppl kena slow internet access
Not sure if you have made the decision yet, but here's my experience.

I posted on this very same thread back in 2021, when I swapped to Celcom. Gotta say it was a mistake.

The line is generally fine until anything happens. Their customer service is really bad. Over the years there have been periods where the ping is unusually high even for Singapore servers, so gaming was a big problem (and for the past 2 weeks it's happening every day - mostly at night). Some sites are also really slow, all due to their bad routing. Complained to them and they gave me textbook troubleshooting steps and kept insisting that it was on my end even though I said the same is happening to other Celcom users I know.

So this week itself I finally had enough and I'll be swapping back to TM, and I've asked them to expedite the process so I don't have to deal with this crap anymore, and guess what? They sent me a message saying they'll send a technician over to "fix it". Not sure how they going to fix a problem on their end at my house rclxub.gif

There was also a time when my fibre was physically damaged outside my house took a few days to schedule an appointment and their technician was terrible, TM technician came at the appointed time, but celcom's technician was nowhere in sight. In the end, he came more than 1 hour later. The TM technician already left by then since they had other appointments. Had to reschedule it and that took another few days. ranting.gif

0.0314sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:22 AM