2.3GHz 8-Core [ 82 ] ** [60.74%]
Total Votes: 135
Guests cannot vote 

codenamew
post Jun 6 2020, 12:02 PM

601 posts

Want to get some advise, does anyone know where can I get the Apple Care + ? I just place order on Lazada for the 16inch US import set.

And can we claim As accidental damage if claim from Malaysia Apple Switch Store?
myjunk
post Jun 7 2020, 07:38 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Jun 6 2020, 12:02 PM)
Want to get some advise, does anyone know where can I get the Apple Care + ? I just place order on Lazada for the 16inch US import set.

And can we claim As accidental damage if claim from Malaysia Apple Switch Store?
I got mine direct from the shop selling it. superdeal.it at shopee
myjunk
post Jun 7 2020, 07:43 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(INGfusion @ May 23 2020, 10:50 PM)
bought my MacBook Pro 2019 from this seller as well, no issue so far. adapter pin the only difference, if they have stock want to clear will offer you MacBook with AppleCare+ with superb price
Up for this seller. I used shopee

QUOTE(INGfusion @ May 24 2020, 01:48 AM)
laptop don't have lol, they will contact you thru WhatsApp if they have stock to clear, that time they offer me top up RM400 for a MacBook Pro come with AppleCare+  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif , only the warranty date not same as the date you activating your unit.
same experience. but I paid 700. the warranty date start is like 1-2 weeks before my purchase date.

What was yours? I'm thinking maybe yours is like 1 month activated already? Maybe that's why yours is at 400.

INGfusion
post Jun 7 2020, 12:56 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,540 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jun 7 2020, 07:43 AM)
Up for this seller. I used shopee
same experience. but I paid 700. the warranty date start is like 1-2 weeks before my purchase date.

What was yours? I'm thinking maybe yours is like 1 month activated already? Maybe that's why yours is at 400.
Ya correct, but I don’t mind hahaha because of the price
dikae
post Jun 7 2020, 02:33 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Sansab @ Jun 4 2020, 06:13 PM)
I'd rather go for the 2019 version than the upcoming 2020. For good reasons, the update for 2020 version is not worth waiting as mini-led is still the same LCD panel, not even an OLED. And that's probably the only update that is "major".

And having the first version (2019) is like owning a historical piece since it's the debut product while owning a 2020, 2021 is like meh considering it will be the same albeit specs bump. In fact even if the 2020 was already available, I would still buy the 2019 version for that exact reason of owning an exclusive debut product while still maintaining the same design. Which is why I sold my iPhone XS a couple months ago and bought a used iPhone X instead, yep no joke.
Totally unique perspective, which I doubt many would follow your point of view biggrin.gif most would want to get the best bang out of their buck, and don’t bother about the exclusive debut product since you are paying the same and getting more/better specs..

I’d wait for the 2020 if you’re not in a rush getting one, but if you need one immediately then just pull the trigger already
dikae
post Jun 7 2020, 04:27 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

Was told that the base model 6 core i7 is faster than the 8 core i9 in basic stuffs that don’t utilize all 8 cores (was also told that most things besides editing are considered basic stuffs)..is that true?

This post has been edited by dikae: Jun 7 2020, 04:28 PM
TSwestlife
post Jun 7 2020, 09:55 PM

14,313 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jun 7 2020, 04:27 PM)
Was told that the base model 6 core i7 is faster than the 8 core i9 in basic stuffs that don’t utilize all 8 cores (was also told that most things besides editing are considered basic stuffs)..is that true?
if u dun run VMs or dun do graphic or video editing, then it makes no difference.

the i7 6-core is much much more than suffficient for any daily tasks.
dun forget the fact, when it compares to 13-inch macbook air or pro, this is a power beast.
TSwestlife
post Jun 7 2020, 10:04 PM

14,313 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jun 7 2020, 02:33 PM)
Totally unique perspective, which I doubt many would follow your point of view biggrin.gif most would want to get the best bang out of their buck, and don’t bother about  the exclusive debut product since you are paying the same and getting more/better specs..

I’d wait for the 2020 if you’re not in a rush getting one, but if you need one immediately then just pull the trigger already
technically it is the same actually.

for example, an iphone 11 Pro costs RM 4,899.
the usable life span is 5 years min for an iPhone.

rm4899/5 = rm979.80 per year.

if you are buying a brand new iPhone 11 Pro now at rm500 and the reason is that you do not need the best techs for going for iphone 12 Pro.
actually u are not making any savings unless you buy at a price that is even way cheaper than rm979.80 now.

although you may save the one year of cost, u dun get the latest looking phone/latest techs. so when you performing the daily tasks etc, you do not get the same response time as the latest model. so it is still the same still actually. cannot really considered as saving.

dikae
post Jun 7 2020, 11:00 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 7 2020, 09:55 PM)
if u dun run VMs or dun do graphic or video editing, then it makes no difference.

the i7 6-core is much much more than suffficient for any daily tasks.
dun forget the fact, when it compares to 13-inch macbook air or pro, this is a power beast.
So is the i7 6core “faster” than the i9 8 core in basic tasks? Or just the same?

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 7 2020, 10:04 PM)
technically it is the same actually.

for example, an iphone 11 Pro costs RM 4,899.
the usable life span is 5 years min for an iPhone.

rm4899/5 = rm979.80 per year.

if you are buying a brand new iPhone 11 Pro now at rm500 and the reason is that you do not need the best techs for going for iphone 12 Pro.
actually u are not making any savings unless you buy at a price that is even way cheaper than rm979.80 now.

although you may save the one year of cost, u dun get the latest looking phone/latest techs. so when you performing the daily tasks etc, you do not get the same response time as the latest model. so it is still the same still actually. cannot really considered as saving.
I think paying almost the same for an existing model or a newer model at the same price still boils down to the urgency whether do we really “need” it now or we can wait...as it’s getting nearer by day to the rumoured 2020 16”, I think if u have something to use meanwhile then it’s no harm waiting for another month or 2, I mean who doesn’t want something new/better if you are still going to pay the same amount..just like if iPhone 12 pro is going to launch in Oct, who would buy the 11 pro in aug/sep(for the same price) unless they really need a phone urgently..

This post has been edited by dikae: Jun 7 2020, 11:01 PM
codenamew
post Jun 7 2020, 11:05 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jun 7 2020, 07:38 AM)
I got mine direct from the shop selling it. superdeal.it at shopee
I did contact her but unfortunately she is unable to get it for me because the promo is not longer available. Perhaps I need to refer my friend in SGP to buy it for me. Can right
TSwestlife
post Jun 7 2020, 11:25 PM

14,313 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jun 7 2020, 11:00 PM)
So is the i7 6core “faster” than the i9 8 core in basic tasks? Or just the same?
I think paying almost the same for an existing model or a newer model at the same price still boils down to the urgency whether do we really “need” it now or we can wait...as it’s getting nearer by day to the rumoured 2020 16”, I think if u have something to use meanwhile then it’s no harm waiting for another month or 2, I mean who doesn’t want something new/better if you are still going to pay the same amount..just like if iPhone 12 pro is going to launch in Oct, who would buy the 11 pro in aug/sep(for the same price) unless they really need a phone urgently..
i think ur claim of the i7 faster than i9 based on the fact that the i7 has a higher base clock rate and can turbo boost higher.
yes, this can be true for basic tasks that utilise single core.

if one needs the thing urgently, and has no choice but to pay the 'current' price, of course no need to debate.
same like if you need urgent service, you pay more than the normal rate.
however, the 'urgent' extra paid will be translated to the 'sad' fee one paid when the new one is released in just few months time.
myjunk
post Jun 8 2020, 10:44 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Jun 7 2020, 11:05 PM)
I did contact her but unfortunately she is unable to get it for me because the promo is not longer available. Perhaps I need to refer my friend in SGP to buy it for me. Can right
promo not available? Meaning what? You're talking about AppleCare or about getting the Mac from them?

AFAIK, they don't advertise the one w/ AppleCare, just so happens that when I contact them, they told me the ONLY stock they have was the one w/ AppleCare and that's exactly what I wanted. So it's bonus for me.

ur friend in SGP.. buy what ah? Mac there cheaper meh? I think worst than Msia pricing wise no?
myjunk
post Jun 8 2020, 10:54 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 7 2020, 11:25 PM)
i think ur claim of the i7 faster than i9 based on the fact that the i7 has a higher base clock rate and can turbo boost higher.
yes, this can be true for basic tasks that utilise single core.

if one needs the thing urgently, and has no choice but to pay the 'current' price, of course no need to debate.
same like if you need urgent service, you pay more than the normal rate.
however, the 'urgent' extra paid will be translated to the 'sad' fee one paid when the new one is released in just few months time.

I use this for the comparison. I still see the data that shows that the i9 is still faster. Also, I can't brain your statement that i7 has higher turbo boost. U sure?

i7 - 2.6(Base) - 4.5 (Boost)
i9 - 2.3(Base) - 4.8 (Boost)

The i9, at least based on the data from GeekBench still shows superiority over the i7. (V V V Little for the i9 over i7 on single core)

Finally, depending on if you're able to "find a good deal", the base i9 is a good buy.

https://shopee.com.my/Apple-16-MacBook-Pro-...9432.6607036573

This post has been edited by myjunk: Jun 8 2020, 10:55 AM
codenamew
post Jun 8 2020, 11:18 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jun 8 2020, 10:44 AM)
promo not available? Meaning what? You're talking about AppleCare or about getting the Mac from them?

AFAIK, they don't advertise the one w/ AppleCare, just so happens that when I contact them, they told me the ONLY stock they have was the one w/ AppleCare and that's exactly what I wanted. So it's bonus for me.

ur friend in SGP.. buy what ah? Mac there cheaper meh? I think worst than Msia pricing wise no?
No. I’m thinking to get my friend in SGP to buy the Apple care + for me. I’m not sure if that is doable. Or need US credit card. She said the package with Apple care + is no longer available. Only left MacBook Pro without Apple care +
myjunk
post Jun 8 2020, 11:24 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Jun 8 2020, 11:18 AM)
No. I’m thinking to get my friend in SGP to buy the Apple care + for me. I’m not sure if that is doable. Or need US credit card. She said the package with Apple care + is no longer available. Only left MacBook Pro without Apple care +
ah.. too bad then. It's really a super good price. I got AppleCare for 1/2 the price of retail. Another guy got it for like 1/4 the retail price. (and we lost like between 2 weeks to 1 month of the 3 years warranty period)

For AppleCare, I think cannot. You need to SEND / SHOW the Mac to them possibly. That was my experience when I went to purchase AppleCare in Paradigm mall Mac shop. They had to call up and ask and send photos of the "state" of the machine. (maybe cos I was buying apple care at like the 11th month after I got the Mac)

Just ask for fren to ask the ppl at apple in spore loh.

dikae
post Jun 8 2020, 04:51 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jun 8 2020, 10:54 AM)

I use this for the comparison. I still see the data that shows that the i9 is still faster. Also, I can't brain your statement that i7 has higher turbo boost. U sure?

i7 - 2.6(Base) - 4.5 (Boost)
i9 - 2.3(Base) - 4.8 (Boost)

The i9, at least based on the data from GeekBench still shows superiority over the i7. (V V V Little for the i9 over i7 on single core)

Finally, depending on if you're able to "find a good deal", the base i9 is a good buy.

https://shopee.com.my/Apple-16-MacBook-Pro-...9432.6607036573
A friend said that this seller is legit but has stinky attitude and kinda rude when reply etc..so I’m not sure if i wanna give them business, I’d rather pay the 1k+ from apple edu than buying from idiots.. (also MY set brows.gif although nothing differs besides the adapter pin)

This post has been edited by dikae: Jun 8 2020, 04:52 PM
myjunk
post Jun 8 2020, 05:44 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jun 8 2020, 04:51 PM)
A friend said that this seller is legit but has stinky attitude and kinda rude when reply etc..so I’m not sure if i wanna give them business, I’d rather pay the 1k+ from apple edu than buying from idiots.. (also MY set brows.gif although nothing differs besides the adapter pin)
Its your choice.

andrewtho
post Jun 8 2020, 09:46 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jun 8 2020, 04:51 PM)
Yup, the seller has bad attitude and poor customer service.

Otherwise, can consider this guy Red Apple IT. Better customer service - price fluctuates based on stock / supplier.
dikae
post Jun 8 2020, 10:06 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Jun 8 2020, 09:46 PM)
Yup, the seller has bad attitude and poor customer service.

Otherwise, can consider this guy Red Apple IT. Better customer service - price fluctuates based on stock / supplier.
Cool, price higher than the other guy but at least there’s an alternative, I might just buy from red apple IT then..thanks for sharing thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by dikae: Jun 8 2020, 10:06 PM
dikae
post Jun 8 2020, 10:13 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

anyone know where can I get tempered glass for 16” around klang valley? Not from online coz I have butter fingers with stuffs like these, so I need the shop to install for me as well..

26 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0574sec    0.96    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:45 PM