Total Votes: 135
Guests cannot vote 

myjunk
post Jun 7 2020, 07:38 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Jun 6 2020, 12:02 PM)
Want to get some advise, does anyone know where can I get the Apple Care + ? I just place order on Lazada for the 16inch US import set.

And can we claim As accidental damage if claim from Malaysia Apple Switch Store?
I got mine direct from the shop selling it. superdeal.it at shopee
myjunk
post Jun 7 2020, 07:43 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(INGfusion @ May 23 2020, 10:50 PM)
bought my MacBook Pro 2019 from this seller as well, no issue so far. adapter pin the only difference, if they have stock want to clear will offer you MacBook with AppleCare+ with superb price
Up for this seller. I used shopee

QUOTE(INGfusion @ May 24 2020, 01:48 AM)
laptop don't have lol, they will contact you thru WhatsApp if they have stock to clear, that time they offer me top up RM400 for a MacBook Pro come with AppleCare+  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif , only the warranty date not same as the date you activating your unit.
same experience. but I paid 700. the warranty date start is like 1-2 weeks before my purchase date.

What was yours? I'm thinking maybe yours is like 1 month activated already? Maybe that's why yours is at 400.

myjunk
post Jun 8 2020, 10:44 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Jun 7 2020, 11:05 PM)
I did contact her but unfortunately she is unable to get it for me because the promo is not longer available. Perhaps I need to refer my friend in SGP to buy it for me. Can right
promo not available? Meaning what? You're talking about AppleCare or about getting the Mac from them?

AFAIK, they don't advertise the one w/ AppleCare, just so happens that when I contact them, they told me the ONLY stock they have was the one w/ AppleCare and that's exactly what I wanted. So it's bonus for me.

ur friend in SGP.. buy what ah? Mac there cheaper meh? I think worst than Msia pricing wise no?
myjunk
post Jun 8 2020, 10:54 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 7 2020, 11:25 PM)
i think ur claim of the i7 faster than i9 based on the fact that the i7 has a higher base clock rate and can turbo boost higher.
yes, this can be true for basic tasks that utilise single core.

if one needs the thing urgently, and has no choice but to pay the 'current' price, of course no need to debate.
same like if you need urgent service, you pay more than the normal rate.
however, the 'urgent' extra paid will be translated to the 'sad' fee one paid when the new one is released in just few months time.

I use this for the comparison. I still see the data that shows that the i9 is still faster. Also, I can't brain your statement that i7 has higher turbo boost. U sure?

i7 - 2.6(Base) - 4.5 (Boost)
i9 - 2.3(Base) - 4.8 (Boost)

The i9, at least based on the data from GeekBench still shows superiority over the i7. (V V V Little for the i9 over i7 on single core)

Finally, depending on if you're able to "find a good deal", the base i9 is a good buy.

https://shopee.com.my/Apple-16-MacBook-Pro-...9432.6607036573

This post has been edited by myjunk: Jun 8 2020, 10:55 AM
myjunk
post Jun 8 2020, 11:24 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Jun 8 2020, 11:18 AM)
No. I’m thinking to get my friend in SGP to buy the Apple care + for me. I’m not sure if that is doable. Or need US credit card. She said the package with Apple care + is no longer available. Only left MacBook Pro without Apple care +
ah.. too bad then. It's really a super good price. I got AppleCare for 1/2 the price of retail. Another guy got it for like 1/4 the retail price. (and we lost like between 2 weeks to 1 month of the 3 years warranty period)

For AppleCare, I think cannot. You need to SEND / SHOW the Mac to them possibly. That was my experience when I went to purchase AppleCare in Paradigm mall Mac shop. They had to call up and ask and send photos of the "state" of the machine. (maybe cos I was buying apple care at like the 11th month after I got the Mac)

Just ask for fren to ask the ppl at apple in spore loh.

myjunk
post Jun 8 2020, 05:44 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jun 8 2020, 04:51 PM)
A friend said that this seller is legit but has stinky attitude and kinda rude when reply etc..so I’m not sure if i wanna give them business, I’d rather pay the 1k+ from apple edu than buying from idiots.. (also MY set brows.gif although nothing differs besides the adapter pin)
Its your choice.

myjunk
post Jun 12 2020, 06:00 PM

3,446 posts

Bosses all...
what you guys use for USB C hub ah? Can send me some recommendations ah? (The one I bought (wrongly) is those that plug direct into the laptop. Regret liao cos can't fit when I'm using a Mac Casing.. 😭 )

Other question, any issues when connecting MBP to external monitor? I connect to my VERY old Dell U2410 and the fonts looks ugly and blurry. I'm not sure if this is due to the Mac (using the USB hub to HDMI) issue or something else.

I'm starting to think that it's the monitor. Too Old liao. (lifespan exceeded???) I plug in my 2006 year laptop using VGA also don't seem that nice. This monitor when I first bought it is very high end one leh...

TQ
myjunk
post Jun 12 2020, 06:01 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Jun 12 2020, 04:25 PM)
Red Apple attitude is much worse than Superdeal... try to ask some questions and he replied ' dont want to sell to you'
Could be they sien already deal w/ ppl who ask 1001 questions and yet no buy.
y so cheap?
got warranty ah?
can COD?
why can't like this?
y warranty less 2 weeks from when I buy from you?

myjunk
post Jun 12 2020, 06:44 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Jun 12 2020, 06:16 PM)
I'm using a UGreen Hub, inexpensive and quality product. I think its the monitor - try to get a USB C monitor to take advantage of your USB C / Thunderbolt port.
USB C monitor is V expensive leh...
I'm looking for 34in UltraWide curve and those w/ USB c are super expensive.

the UGREEN one you using, you're conneccting it to external monitor? u have a shopee link or something I can take a Look?

Thanks..

I need to go test a (newer) external monitor and see if it's my old monitor issue leh..
myjunk
post Jun 13 2020, 02:39 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Jun 12 2020, 08:44 PM)
Nope, I'm connecting my MBP to external monitor direct via USB C. I only use Hubs for USB A, but since my monitor has USB ports, I've been using it as a hub instead lol.

UGREEN HUB I'm using this model, but didn't get it from this shop la.
this is what I use. similar to the one you have. Bad choice for me as I bought a casing after I bought this and It doesn't work w/ the casing. (the prongs are too short w/ the casing)

https://shopee.com.my/Baseus-USB-C-HUB-to-H...7709.4534774697

That's y looking for some alternative w/ cable instead of straight plug in

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Jun 13 2020, 12:01 AM)
Im using Ugreen hub, but if you are using it often to connect to prejector or TV for presentation, you might want to think twice. The output support for Ugreen couldn't support some big high res TV and it will keep blinking / might not work. I have to change to the Apple original HDMI Adaptor. If you connect to monitor at home, i dont think there will be any problem though
I tried connecting the existing one I have to a 4K TV. it works. 3840x2160 resolution. Can also do extend desktop (and not only mirror). But I think it's default to 30Hz only. (I can't check or rather dunno how to check). Is it because of this that my mouse seems to be "lagging"???

myjunk
post Jun 15 2020, 09:04 AM

3,446 posts

AFAIK APC+ Is for accidental liquid damage and only applicable for like 2 times claim?

I’ve not regretted my APC Purchase. It has served me well.
myjunk
post Jun 16 2020, 11:47 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Jun 16 2020, 08:48 AM)
Honestly, I rather people get an eGPU with that money because the 5600M already draws 50w of power and if you are connected to a 4K monitor + work / gaming, that 96w of power supply is going to struggle, especially on Bootcamp where Microsoft doesn’t do a good job in managing the CPU unlike MacOS.
I found that when mine is charging and I put my phone to charge as well, it will take a LONG time to charge up and sometimes I also see that it's actually decreasing charge as I use it (while charging it from the Mac - which is connected to the AC)

the 96w Charger cannot tahan when it is charging the laptop leh.

Either that or my ciplak USBC to lightning cable is so ciplak.

0.0581sec    1.52    9 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:25 AM