55 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Helmet Discussion, Everything about helmet..

jaycee1
post Sep 27 2023, 08:40 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Sep 27 2023, 07:58 PM)
wah, howcome the rpha series is so hefty? just got the chance to test the i90 and c91 dua dua around 1450g.

very torn between the 2. honestly aside from the i90 being quieter, i honestly dont really feel that they are very diferent.
Blame it on 22.06. they just made the helmets larger with thicker EPS. Especially on the sides of the head. Looks like slim helmets are the thing of the past.

I don't think the i90 is 1450g. More like 1600. The i90 also comes with included pinlock. 1100rm is pretty resonable. Tested it also. Felt pretty ok. The RPHA 91 is a lot more padded, better built and comfortable though, obviously given the higher price.
Patent
post Sep 27 2023, 09:07 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

hjc i90 size M is around 1700g
you start feeling the weight when you are moving your head around or after long riding session
lsm1991
post Sep 27 2023, 10:42 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Sep 27 2023, 09:07 PM)
hjc i90 size M is around 1700g
you start feeling the weight when you are moving your head around or after long riding session
oh god.. u guys are right.. sorry i think i was thinking of the c71's weight. Also tried that but honestly the wearing glasses its just a chore wearing the fullface helmets

still really wana try the caberg but even lsh doesnt have the sizes i need for testing
Nightstalker1993
post Sep 28 2023, 12:48 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 27 2023, 01:42 PM)
Cool.... but Holy hell. 1900g for XL. Add a coms system and its way over 2kg.

I guess wait for the full carbon version. Going to be bleedingly expensive though. Still not too hot on the stupid HJC coms that no one uses.

Its normal for people needing to size up for HJC. I'm lucky because I'm between S and M size, so M just fits just perfect. Usually it's either too tight or too loose for S and M. The new 91 has a dedicated M sized shell so it's perfect for me.

From pictures, it seems the new 91 and 71 shell is a little wider than before. Maybe rounder shape.
It says 1900g with optional equipment, not too sure what exactly are the optional equipments. I thought the comms is optional equipment so it is 1850g without the comms?

Guess I'll be buying an XL when I get the HJC then. Hopefully it won't be too late into 2024 when the 91 carbon is launched here. Can't wait for the reviews to come out.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 27 2023, 05:50 PM)
Went to test out the RPHA 71 and 91 as they just got the stock in.

Verdict.
Good
Comfortable, increased padding comfort, better ventilation, sunvisor that drops down much lower now. M size now gets its own dedicated shell.

Cons
Weight. Both the 71 and 91 is significantly heavier and the helmet is a lot bigger and wider/fatter compared to the old 70/90. I think they just made the helmet bigger on the sides for increased protection for 22.06 which is par for course as many other helmets gained weight for 22.06.

They changed the visor lock to side (left) from the centre lock. I very much preferred the old centre lock. The new latch is a bit fiddly with gloved hands. I usually stop at light in gear and in clutch, so not being able to use my right hand to open the visor is a PITA. The coms allocation is a complete waste of space and weight and makes mounting a 3rd party com all that much more difficult.

The 71 is 100g heavier than my old 70, don't think it is something you will notice... But feels a lot bigger in profile dispite it having its own shell where the old 70 size M shares the same shell as L.. In terms of fitment, I'm between S and M in most helmets but the M size fits me perfectly.

As for the weight of the 91 (1750 for M). Its heavy in hand but quite balanced on the head, but only longer term use will get to know what sort of neck fatigue the extra weight will bring.

Price. Both the 71/91 is coming at the same price point of the old models at 2k/2.2k for solid colours but they indicated the price might go up soon after this intro batch is sold out.
Usually when coming to a stop at a traffic light, I will enter neutral before reaching the light and use either hand to open up my chin bar and rarely do I open the visor.

For the comms, no choice as every manufacturer is doing it. But you'll still be able to jerry rig an external comms no problem, just the placement of the main unit need some experimenting.

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Sep 27 2023, 07:58 PM)
wah, howcome the rpha series is so hefty? just got the chance to test the i90 and c91 dua dua around 1450g.

very torn between the 2. honestly aside from the i90 being quieter, i honestly dont really feel that they are very diferent.
I think pretty much all helmets with the new ece 22.06 had became fatter and heavier

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Sep 27 2023, 10:42 PM)
oh god.. u guys are right.. sorry i think i was thinking of the c71's weight. Also tried that but honestly the wearing glasses its just a chore wearing the fullface helmets

still really wana try the caberg but even lsh doesnt have the sizes i need for testing
Did you try the sportmodular? Super lightweight but damn it chokes me to death.
007SMH
post Sep 28 2023, 05:29 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Sep 11 2023, 02:46 PM)
aish, this is u ke....  belum tukar helmet lel, now got time liao, got to find a place to try hjc helmets
Just bought another HJC helmet (first helmet C70) , This time C10 from GoBike PJ for my wife. Sound insulation way better than my C70 and much more comfortable too.

lsm1991
post Sep 29 2023, 01:32 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Sep 28 2023, 12:48 AM)
It says 1900g with optional equipment, not too sure what exactly are the optional equipments. I thought the comms is optional equipment so it is 1850g without the comms?

Guess I'll be buying an XL when I get the HJC then. Hopefully it won't be too late into 2024 when the 91 carbon is launched here. Can't wait for the reviews to come out.
Usually when coming to a stop at a traffic light, I will enter neutral before reaching the light and use either hand to open up my chin bar and rarely do I open the visor.

For the comms, no choice as every manufacturer is doing it. But you'll still be able to jerry rig an external comms no problem, just the placement of the main unit need some experimenting.
I think pretty much all helmets with the new ece 22.06 had became fatter and heavier
Did you try the sportmodular? Super lightweight but damn it chokes me to death.
modulars only tried the i90 and c91... forgot to try the c10 after realizing the modulars was so easy to deal with.
ajaibman
post Sep 29 2023, 09:32 AM

233 posts

Been using HJC I90 for a year, sound insulation good, glasses fitting a bit less because is rounded starts from your ear to the back skull, so beware if you want to put on your glasses with I90.

Aero is good, naked bike with minimal wind protection wont make your head shake.

The weight yes is a downside, long distance trip you will feel the burden on your neck and shoulder.
mADmAN
post Sep 29 2023, 04:46 PM

10,530 posts

since we are still on the topic of modulars.... whats a good cheap modular?

need something that has..
- SIRIM or ECE cert to be street legal
- good comfort of course
- inner sun visor
- micrometric strap

better to have but not necessary
- flat black solid colour (a bit of red accents here n there is fine)
- has black face shield to purchase
- speaker pockets is a bonus but not necessary.

n by cheap i mean CHEAP..like around RM3-400 cheap...abit more oso can consider....local or even uncommon brands oso can consider. wanna buy for my GF who rarely rides with me... not even once a month.... so dun wanna spend so much on something rarely worn

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 29 2023, 04:48 PM
jaycee1
post Sep 29 2023, 06:56 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 29 2023, 04:46 PM)

- good comfort of course
- inner sun visor
- micrometric strap

n by cheap i mean CHEAP..like around RM3-400 cheap...abit more oso can consider....local or even uncommon brands oso can consider. wanna buy for my GF who rarely rides with me... not even once a month.... so dun wanna spend so much on something rarely worn
Yikes.

Its already bad enough for being a cheap helmet, but even more so a cheap modular which is more complicated and expensive to produce.

I'd just stick with a budget full face.

Even the mildly passable MT atom is now 500-600ish. Still ok for a cheap modular if your gf can fit an Xs or s size. M is very bobblehead. I think KYT has a modular for around 450-500.
Patent
post Sep 29 2023, 07:22 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

- good comfort of course
- inner sun visor
- micrometric strap

just give her givi m35.0.. since she rarely rides she might hate full face helmet also. laugh.gif
can cover the face with balaclava to avoid bugs flying into her face

but for flipup I think zeus 3050 fit your budget
mADmAN
post Sep 29 2023, 11:43 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 29 2023, 06:56 PM)
Yikes.

Its already bad enough for being a cheap helmet, but even more so a cheap modular which is more complicated and expensive to produce.

I'd just stick with a budget full face.

Even the mildly passable MT atom is now 500-600ish. Still ok for a cheap modular if your gf can fit an Xs or s size. M is very bobblehead. I think KYT has a modular for around 450-500.
Whats a good budget full face that has what i need? Kyt? Hjc? Or what other brands r there?

QUOTE(Patent @ Sep 29 2023, 07:22 PM)
just give her givi m35.0.. since she rarely rides she might hate full face helmet also.  laugh.gif
can cover the face with balaclava to avoid bugs flying into her face

but for flipup I think zeus 3050 fit your budget
Thanks...will check out the zeus... Shes never tried open face coz my size M helmets r too big for her....my son's full face is the only one that fits her well n properly... size S

Cheap full face pulak?

She's actually ok with full face coz thats what she wears now when riding with me...my son's full face helmet...just that i think she would appreciate a modular more when we r out riding.

Nightstalker1993
post Sep 30 2023, 12:16 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

- good comfort of course
- inner sun visor
- micrometric strap

Last time when I was researching for a budget modular helmet, was really considering the Caberg Duke. On shopee looks like now alot trying to clear stock. On Sharp the helmet has 5 star safety rating, the neotec 2 only had 4 stars.

Anyway, another option for lightweight modular is the LS2 advant x carbon but the reviews seems somewhat mixed.
TSbasilisk
post Oct 27 2023, 11:04 AM

30 posts

recently i'd come across an article saying nolan is going to discontinue the x-lite brand.
cant find the article anymore..

alexei
post Oct 27 2023, 02:12 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 27 2023, 11:04 AM)
recently i'd come across an article saying nolan is going to discontinue the x-lite brand.
cant find the article anymore..

Nolan launched the X-804RS Ultra Carbon without the X-lite branding, I take that as a sign
genesiscopy
post Oct 29 2023, 12:04 PM

37 posts

Which shop starts selling the AGV Tourmodular or Sportsmodular? Need to start planning for next few years if i am still riding.
jaycee1
post Oct 29 2023, 12:56 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(genesiscopy @ Oct 29 2023, 12:04 PM)
Which shop starts selling the AGV Tourmodular or Sportsmodular? Need to start planning for next few years if i am still riding.
LSH @Solaris Mt. Kiara
lsm1991
post Dec 27 2023, 03:28 PM

309 posts

theres a sale at NKS this few days, theres quite a few (if i understand correctly, non display but old stock) hjc offerings.

just got a unit myself. diferent discounts per piece, but if u take 2, its pretty cheap. saw the Rpha 10, 10+, 11, 70.
TSbasilisk
post Dec 27 2023, 03:31 PM

30 posts

got check the manufacturing date?
lsm1991
post Dec 27 2023, 04:32 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 27 2023, 03:31 PM)
got check the manufacturing date?
ouhh nope... i asked the guy how long can i use them for... he said safely 3 years will be no issue for the older one..
TSbasilisk
post Dec 28 2023, 11:16 AM

30 posts

55 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:39 PM