55 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Helmet Discussion, Everything about helmet..

jaycee1
post Dec 28 2023, 10:35 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Dec 27 2023, 04:32 PM)
ouhh nope... i asked the guy how long can i use them for... he said safely 3 years will be no issue for the older one..
Hehe...the older rpha 10, 11 and 70 helmets some have manufacturing dates way back to 2017. HJC Malaysia unfortunately also brought in a bunch of helmets just before COVID and these remain unsold.

NKS/HJC Malaysia is very stubborn in terms of dropping pricing for the older stock..but now has no choice since the newer 22.06 helmets are out.

My rhpa 70 is a 2017 bought in 2021 ..so it's been on storage for 4 years before I bought it. The vinyl liner trims all deteriorated but was replaced under warranty. The EPS and comfort liner was still good...so whatever defect is just cosmetic. Paid 1500 for it though (500 off retail price back then....so can't complain), it's still a very good helmet though..and for 1500 ...can't really get a better helmet for that price.

I still see them selling rapha 70s for 1500 now....even after the 71 has been released selling for 2k.
Nightstalker1993
post Dec 28 2023, 11:51 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 28 2023, 11:16 AM)
Good thing my next helmet targeting for HJC already. Those with Shoei fast fast go get fitted wo.

Still waiting for my HJC RPHA 91 Carbon tk be brought in. Roughly 100g lighter only vs the non carbon but should be almost 1k more expensive. Worth it? hmm.gif
lsm1991
post Dec 29 2023, 10:50 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 28 2023, 10:35 PM)
Hehe...the older rpha 10, 11 and 70 helmets some have manufacturing dates way back to 2017. HJC Malaysia unfortunately also brought in a bunch of helmets just before COVID and these remain unsold.

NKS/HJC Malaysia is very stubborn in terms of dropping pricing for the older stock..but now has no choice since the newer 22.06 helmets are out.

My rhpa 70 is a 2017 bought in 2021 ..so it's been on storage for 4 years before I bought it. The vinyl liner trims all deteriorated but was replaced under warranty. The EPS and comfort liner was still good...so whatever defect is just cosmetic. Paid 1500 for it though (500 off retail price back then....so can't complain), it's still a very good helmet though..and for 1500 ...can't really get a better helmet for that price.

I still see them selling rapha 70s for 1500 now....even after the 71 has been released selling for 2k.
rpha 10 was about 400, rpha 70 under 500, rpha 11 1k+but all in limited stock and limited sizes. its was all old stock, without the pinlock/spare visors, no warranty, but according to them all are warehouse stored stock and will be safe, ust that the paint and the fabric is peeling. oklah so cheap can pakai 2-3 years also cannot complain.
alexei
post Dec 29 2023, 04:12 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

helmets are buy and use items

those in storage after they were used, will deteriorate faster than those getting used more often
those in storage brand new, usually have liner surface peeling at the bottom
lsm1991
post Dec 29 2023, 05:51 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Dec 29 2023, 04:12 PM)
helmets are buy and use items

those in storage after they were used, will deteriorate faster than those getting used more often
those in storage brand new, usually have liner surface peeling at the bottom
yep stored units, the liner surface macam cracking. also saw that they use a matte coating and one of them was going abit sticky.

they still have the tags/booklets on them
jaycee1
post Dec 29 2023, 07:32 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Hmmm ...500 for a rpha 70? Buy for spare parts also can.

Just the ori visor, internal sunvisor and visor mechanism alone cost more than 500.

mADmAN
post Dec 29 2023, 09:18 PM

10,530 posts

Damn....why rpha90s carbon not on the sale list?
lsm1991
post Dec 29 2023, 11:19 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 29 2023, 09:18 PM)
Damn....why rpha90s carbon not on the sale list?
those with actual carbon finishing... i think only the rpha 11

rpha 90 i think fairly recent kan, old stock clearance. i went back thinking of getting an fg70 just as a spare to toss about. visor hits my glasses, so its a no go
lsm1991
post Dec 29 2023, 11:21 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 29 2023, 07:32 PM)
Hmmm ...500 for a rpha 70? Buy for spare parts also can.

Just the ori visor, internal sunvisor and visor mechanism alone cost more than 500.
less... like 410 or so... i wanted that till i tested the old rpha10... so light
mADmAN
post Dec 30 2023, 02:03 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Dec 29 2023, 11:19 PM)
those with actual carbon finishing... i think only the rpha 11

rpha 90 i think fairly recent kan, old stock clearance. i went back thinking of getting an fg70 just as a spare to toss about. visor hits my glasses, so its a no go
Rpha90 quite old edi...the 90s was the replacement for the 90...n i already have the 90...mau 90s carbon
Nightstalker1993
post Dec 30 2023, 11:29 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 30 2023, 02:03 AM)
Rpha90 quite old edi...the 90s was the replacement for the 90...n i already have the 90...mau 90s carbon
RPHA 91 Carbon terus la. Join me 🤣
mADmAN
post Dec 31 2023, 12:57 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Dec 30 2023, 11:29 PM)
Tamau.... 91 carbon is even heavier than my 90 non carbon sad.gif

Also waiting to see what AGV does with the sportmodular for the 22.06.
jaycee1
post Dec 31 2023, 03:32 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Dec 30 2023, 11:29 PM)
I had high hopes for the 91 given its one of the quietest helmet ever made..... Now it doesn't make sense. It's heavy and also a very round and wide helmet, making it look very bobble headed on small framed me...even on the M size that I wear.

the carbon, when it gets here will be close rto 3k ish... Since the regular non carbon is already 2400. That's a hefty premium over the regular 91 and within the price range of the AGVs...

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Dec 31 2023, 03:32 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Jan 1 2024, 09:55 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 31 2023, 12:57 PM)
Tamau.... 91 carbon is even heavier than my 90 non carbon sad.gif

Also waiting to see what AGV does with the sportmodular for the 22.06.
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 31 2023, 03:32 PM)
I had high hopes for the 91 given its one of the quietest helmet ever made..... Now it doesn't make sense. It's heavy and also a very round and wide helmet, making it look very bobble headed on small framed me...even on the M size that I wear.

the carbon, when it gets here will be close rto 3k ish... Since the regular non carbon is already 2400. That's a hefty premium over the regular 91 and within the price range of the AGVs...
Well you can blame 22.06 for that. Every helmet onwards is gonna get heavier and bigger but supposedly safer. Rpha 91 in size M is 1740g on Champion helmet's scale and the new rpha 91 carbon of the same size is 1599g, a reduction of 140g. Shoei neotec 3 is at 1715g. Though I wish there is more weight saving, but I guess it's decent enough. Can't expect another Sportmodular weight helmet after ece 22.06 now.

Anyway, champion helmets had reviewed the 91 carbon. Looks like noise increase by 1db but still one of the quietest helmets around.

Patent
post Jan 22 2024, 05:15 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

x-lite clearance sale

TSbasilisk
post Jan 22 2024, 10:48 PM

30 posts

xlite history liao...
Patent
post Jan 23 2024, 02:49 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 22 2024, 10:48 PM)
xlite history liao...
doesn't matter leh.. still top of the line carbon helmet
jaycee1
post Jan 27 2024, 08:45 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

Interestingly, I just mounted an identical cheap 50rm Bluetooth on my cheap backup Zeus 613 helmet that I was also using on my Rpha 70.

As it turns out. I can't really hear it on the Zeus even at max volume past 80kmh

Just goes to show what a difference between a quiet helmet and a loud one makes. So when people complain they can't hear Thier coms, instead of buying a really expensive com and maxing out the volume (which can't be good for your ears as well). Maybe spend a little more on a quiet helmet. Your ears will thank you for it.

Not stopping anyone from spending big money on a cardo, but if you are dealing with a loud helmet, you won't benefit from a good com anyway.

Food for thought.

Ps. Maybe I should upgrade my Rpha 70 to the new 71 or 91 carbon and get an even quieter helmet

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jan 27 2024, 08:47 AM
SUSskyblu3
post Feb 4 2024, 07:53 AM

157 posts

Harvey riders especially.
See this. I apply this to open face helmet as well.
No face protection.

Cyclone1
post Feb 9 2024, 01:05 PM

408 posts

I'm looking for a modular helmet under RM2k. Is LS2 a good brand? What other brand and model is recommended? Any good shop in penang to recommend?

55 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:42 AM