55 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Helmet Discussion, Everything about helmet..

TSbasilisk
post Sep 8 2023, 12:26 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(MrWrath @ Sep 8 2023, 11:32 AM)
for guys with big size head I've been burned may times. Helmet size double XXL and measurement as per size chart but when worn it is small and not fit. Even from the same manufacturer size can differ.

They usually give excuse that shell is the same size only the thickness of the padding determine the sizes which sucks. But recently I bought MHR and it fits like a glove, legitimately roomy and did not pressed on my ears. I am now MHR for life.
mhr which model n wht size? i wana go try...
MrWrath
post Sep 8 2023, 12:33 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 8 2023, 12:26 PM)
mhr which model n wht size?  i wana go try...
MHR OF622 XXL about RM220
007SMH
post Sep 8 2023, 02:24 PM

49 posts

Btw is GSB helmets good/decent ? Specifically GSB S-361.
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 8 2023, 07:32 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 8 2023, 10:53 AM)
How do you guys wash your helmet? and what did you use to clean it?
You mean the linings/paddings ?

Remove and hand wash it with mild clothes detergent .

However my helmet no smell because I always wear headscarf.
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 8 2023, 07:35 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 8 2023, 11:45 AM)
Which is why must always go test a helmet at the shop n never buy online....unless ur buying the same helmet for a 2nd time.

Roomy? Didnt press ears? U sure u got the fitment right? A helmet is supposed to be snug...not roomy.
Yeah.
Wearable items never buy online. That includes the gloves as well.
Unless you are buying the same model.

mADmAN
post Sep 8 2023, 08:29 PM

10,530 posts

inner padding i remove and dump it into a laundry bag/net and dump it in the washing machine n drier along with my other laundry at coin laundrys... specifically laundrybar coz thats where i go the most.

the rest of the helmet, if im in the mood to do it, i just spray with water in my toilet using the shower head n soap it down with shampoo usually both the exterior and interior....leave to dry indoors for a few days (straps need time to dry). once dry i take a damp cloth to wipe the visors to remove any water stains and wipe dry.

QUOTE(007SMH @ Sep 8 2023, 02:24 PM)
Btw is GSB helmets good/decent ? Specifically GSB S-361.
seen this helmet around... looks nice... but dunno quality....quick check on youtube i can see emergency release pads....

but i wont consider this specific model.. doesnt looks like it has the inner sunvisor which to me is a must in my helmets.
paskal
post Sep 8 2023, 10:31 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

All the helmet inner and padding I wash in coin laundry. Together with my gloves, balaclava and jacket.
Didn't even use a laundry bag. Never damage anything yet.

But I never dried them in a dryer. I always air dry under the sun.
The helmet exterior I use soapy water and a towel. The visor I use glass cleaner most of the time, sometime visor cleaner. But I find that glass cleaner cleans better so...

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 8 2023, 08:29 PM)
inner padding i remove and dump it into a laundry bag/net and dump it in the washing machine n drier along with my other laundry at coin laundrys... specifically laundrybar coz thats where i go the most.

the rest of the helmet, if im in the mood to do it, i just spray with water in my toilet using the shower head n soap it down with shampoo usually both the exterior and interior....leave to dry indoors for a few days (straps need time to dry). once dry i take a damp cloth to wipe the visors to remove any water stains and wipe dry.
Thanks to you I also now wash everything in coin laundry.
Makes my life a lot easier. All my stuffs now clean and wangi all the time.

thumbup.gif
tehoice
post Sep 11 2023, 09:51 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 8 2023, 07:32 PM)
You mean the linings/paddings ?

Remove and hand wash it with mild clothes detergent .

However my helmet no smell because I always wear headscarf.
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 8 2023, 08:29 PM)

seen this helmet around... looks nice... but dunno quality....quick check on youtube i can see emergency release pads....

but i wont consider this specific model.. doesnt looks like it has the inner sunvisor which to me is a must in my helmets.
QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 8 2023, 10:31 PM)
All the helmet inner and padding I wash in coin laundry. Together with my gloves, balaclava and jacket.
Didn't even use a laundry bag. Never damage anything yet.

But I never dried them in a dryer. I always air dry under the sun.
The helmet exterior I use soapy water and a towel. The visor I use glass cleaner most of the time, sometime visor cleaner. But I find that glass cleaner cleans better so...
Thanks to you I also now wash everything in coin laundry.
Makes my life a lot easier. All my stuffs now clean and wangi all the time.

thumbup.gif
I see, thanks guys for the idea. I only bought those foam spray, directly spray on it and wipe it clean then let it dry, but the result is not really satisfactory. I shall remove the inner padding to wash it separately. Need to check if those inner paddings can be removed to wash or not. i think the school/academy helmet (Xdot) may not be removable to wash though.

lsm1991
post Sep 11 2023, 10:18 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 11 2023, 09:51 AM)
I see, thanks guys for the idea. I only bought those foam spray, directly spray on it and wipe it clean then let it dry, but the result is not really satisfactory. I shall remove the inner padding to wash it separately. Need to check if those inner paddings can be removed to wash or not. i think the school/academy helmet (Xdot) may not be removable to wash though.
ah u must be a metro student i assume? no its not removable
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 11 2023, 10:31 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 11 2023, 09:51 AM)
Though foam spray is a cleaner , but not enough. It's more masking the odour.

tehoice
post Sep 11 2023, 10:55 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Sep 11 2023, 10:18 AM)
ah u must be a metro student i assume? no its not removable
yes, i went together with a cool dude who has the exact same initial as you too tongue.gif
nvm la, just try to clean as much as i can, otherwise gonna discard it if the smell is unbearable.

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 11 2023, 10:31 AM)
Though foam spray is a cleaner , but not enough.  It's more masking the odour.
yup, maybe need multiple wash/spray to clean, once is not enough and yeah, it sort of masking the odour only with some artificial lemon smell etc. so it is still best to use detergent to soak it a bit and clean it, more effective that way.
TSbasilisk
post Sep 11 2023, 11:12 AM

30 posts

non removable padding still can wash mar,
scrub it with lots of dish washing liquid to remove those oil, do it few times, rinse, till no more black water lol.
dunk in baldi to rinse, the helmet need some time to totally dry.
tehoice
post Sep 11 2023, 11:36 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 11 2023, 11:12 AM)
non removable padding still can wash mar,
scrub it with lots of dish washing liquid to remove those oil, do it few times, rinse, till no more black water lol.
dunk in baldi to rinse, the helmet need some time to totally dry.
will try this also, let's see if i can restore it.
mADmAN
post Sep 11 2023, 12:00 PM

10,530 posts

if possible, spend the money on a removable padding helmet... its so worth it when it comes to cleaning. (the new Givi M35.0 is sexy af)

non removables will take multiple days to dry... and u have to put it proper side up so the water can drip out of the helmet.. instead of upside down where the water will pool right smack in the middle and take longer to dry...which is more time needed for the helmet to stink up again....

also dont put the helmet in the sun. the heat from our sun is more than enough to melt some glues thats on the helmet thats holding some parts together.

dont ask me how i know hahahaha
Patent
post Sep 11 2023, 12:32 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 11 2023, 12:00 PM)
if possible, spend the money on a removable padding helmet... its so worth it when it comes to cleaning. (the new Givi M35.0 is sexy af)

non removables will take multiple days to dry... and u have to put it proper side up so the water can drip out of the helmet.. instead of upside down where the water will pool right smack in the middle and take longer to dry...which is more time needed for the helmet to stink up again....

also dont put the helmet in the sun. the heat from our sun is more than enough to melt some glues thats on the helmet thats holding some parts together.

dont ask me how i know hahahaha
givi m35.0 padding is more comfortable than my hjc i90 laugh.gif
really showed me that I shouldn't look down on cheaper helmet
jaycee1
post Sep 11 2023, 01:31 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

...if anything, just get a helmet with removable pads. You can find pretty decent open faces around 300ish.

Seriously... Its not easy to upkeep a helmet with non removable pads. It will be out of service for a few days each time it gets wet. Furthermore, it stinks and I don't want a dirty helmet sitting on my face.

For me, I just throw the pads in the washer on its own (don't wash with other clothes which might catch and snag). Just use mild detergent and no softener. Then air-dry indoors with a fan blowing on it. Dries in 1-2 days. Sometimes I will also throw in my gloves in the same wash cycle.

But in most cases, you can just hand wash them.

I have a dryer, but I still usually just air-dry the pads and gloves.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Sep 11 2023, 01:33 PM
ajaibman
post Sep 11 2023, 01:35 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Sep 11 2023, 12:32 PM)
givi m35.0 padding is more comfortable than my hjc i90  laugh.gif
Yes don't underestimate Givi, their open face model is very aerodynamic... tested with S1000XR running at 200kmph while wearing a Givi M30.2 Presto .. (bad example, please do not follow.. ride ATGATT)

alexei
post Sep 11 2023, 01:38 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Sep 11 2023, 01:35 PM)
Yes don't underestimate Givi, their open face model is very aerodynamic... tested with S1000XR running at 200kmph while wearing a Givi M30.2 Presto .. (bad example, please do not follow..  ride ATGATT)
that speed is nothing on that bike
BlackBananaV6
post Sep 11 2023, 02:45 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Sep 11 2023, 01:32 PM)
givi m35.0 padding is more comfortable than my hjc i90  laugh.gif
The Givi m35.0 is "First jet-type helmet with new ECE R22.06 approval in Malaysia"

Linkhere

Now on 9.9 sale for less than RM260
lsm1991
post Sep 11 2023, 02:46 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 11 2023, 10:55 AM)
yes, i went together with a cool dude who has the exact same initial as you too  tongue.gif
nvm la, just try to clean as much as i can, otherwise gonna discard it if the smell is unbearable.
yup, maybe need multiple wash/spray to clean, once is not enough and yeah, it sort of masking the odour only with some artificial lemon smell etc. so it is still best to use detergent to soak it a bit and clean it, more effective that way.
aish, this is u ke.... belum tukar helmet lel, now got time liao, got to find a place to try hjc helmets

55 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:49 AM