427 Pages « < 268 269 270 271 272 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

dwRK
post Mar 31 2022, 07:27 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Mar 31 2022, 05:57 PM)
Well, my Maybank Singapore bank approval is still pending.

Anyways, is it possible to just straight transfer from Wise to IBKR?

Anyone has a tutorial on how to do it, and any thing to take into consideration?
look for zeit's video... is also few pages back...

AthrunIJ
post Mar 31 2022, 07:50 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 31 2022, 07:27 PM)
look for zeit's video... is also few pages back...
O.o thanks
cucumber
post Mar 31 2022, 11:49 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Mar 31 2022, 05:57 PM)
Anyways, is it possible to just straight transfer from Wise to IBKR?

Anyone has a tutorial on how to do it, and any thing to take into consideration?
Sure many here are transferring using Wise, myself included. Ziet's YouTube channel got a step by step tutorial.

Pretty straightforward and simple really.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 1 2022, 12:02 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(cucumber @ Mar 31 2022, 11:49 PM)
Sure many here are transferring using Wise, myself included. Ziet's YouTube channel got a step by step tutorial.

Pretty straightforward and simple really.
Hmm, just need ti keep the receipt as proof should the need arise and basically time.

While waiting for the bank approval, might as well start investing.

Though the dividends will be kept in IBKR or straight bank in to your bank account?

Fingers cross. Deposited via wise and wait for it to be shown in IBKR.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 1 2022, 07:52 AM
kmmsa
post Apr 1 2022, 10:02 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 1 2022, 12:02 AM)
Hmm, just need ti keep the receipt as proof should the need arise and basically time.

While waiting for the bank approval, might as well start investing.

Though the dividends will be kept in IBKR or straight bank in to your bank account?

Fingers cross. Deposited via wise and wait for it to be shown in IBKR.

first deposit takes like a week (they receive but then hold it for 7 days). after that its super fast 1 day can reflect!

This post has been edited by kmmsa: Apr 1 2022, 10:03 AM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 1 2022, 10:21 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(kmmsa @ Apr 1 2022, 10:02 AM)
first deposit takes like a week (they receive but then hold it for 7 days). after that its super fast 1 day can reflect!
O, noted. Thanks for info

Probably hold off on blasting their cs. 😆🤣
dwRK
post Apr 1 2022, 11:55 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

hey TOS... update for you... wink.gif

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 28 2022, 08:37 AM)

SUSTOS
post Apr 1 2022, 12:44 PM

8,667 posts

FT 010422: https://drive.google.com/file/d/17JJSI0Piuz...iew?usp=sharing
SUSTOS
post Apr 1 2022, 12:46 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 1 2022, 11:55 AM)
hey TOS... update for you... wink.gif
Don't tell me this is 10 year UST yield laugh.gif
AthrunIJ
post Apr 1 2022, 06:38 PM

2,992 posts

O.o, quite fast for wise.

Already credited to IBKR.

Now to wait for bonus and EPF withdrawal to fund more.

😆

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 1 2022, 06:38 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 1 2022, 09:09 PM

24,379 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 1 2022, 06:38 PM)
O.o, quite fast for wise.

Already credited to IBKR.

Now to wait for bonus and EPF withdrawal to fund more.

😆
Thanks for the reminder about EPF.
dwRK
post Apr 2 2022, 12:33 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 30 2022, 06:48 PM)
dwRK

https://www.reuters.com/business/finance/us...019-2022-03-29/

Does the yield curve inversion tell you anything from "TA" point of view?
this yt just pop up... i dun follow him... but this topic may interest you...

Ramjade
post Apr 2 2022, 12:41 PM

24,379 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 2 2022, 12:33 PM)

He's one of the good sifu. Heard form some admins in my telegram group.
He's super long term, buy and never sell. He avoid stuff like Tesla and stick to blue chip like apple. Microsoft. Nvidia, Adobe, Google.

But one issue he got never ending cash as his students keep giving him money so he can always buy the dip. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 2 2022, 12:41 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 2 2022, 01:04 PM

2,992 posts

Just want to confirm. As I am planning to buy VUAA and I checked the opening time of LSE is 8am GMT

So Malaysia time is 1600 GMT+8 right?
SUSTOS
post Apr 2 2022, 01:23 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 2 2022, 12:33 PM)

Ah piranha profits. My SG friends also send me stuffs from this organization.
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 2 2022, 01:25 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 2 2022, 01:04 PM)
Just want to confirm. As I am planning to buy VUAA and I checked the opening time of LSE is 8am GMT
Yes, but the first hour of market open is generally volatile and I personally avoid it, and while VUAA is an Ireland domiciled fund traded on LSE, all it's underlying asset is actually US, so I'd personally recommend you to put your order out after ~11pm Malaysia time, where VUAA will have better tracked price.

Feel free to correct me if I am mistaken.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Apr 2 2022, 01:25 PM
SUSTOS
post Apr 2 2022, 01:27 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 2 2022, 01:04 PM)
Europe just adjusted their summer time not long ago. Switzerland, France, UK etc. all changed their clocks 1 hour earlier. So, the market should open at 3pm Malaysia time for Swiss, LSE, Euronext Paris, Deutsche Borse etc.

AthrunIJ You can refer to this too: https://www.tradinghours.com/markets/lse/hours

This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 2 2022, 02:25 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 2 2022, 01:44 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Apr 2 2022, 01:25 PM)
Yes, but the first hour of market open is generally volatile and I personally avoid it, and while VUAA is an Ireland domiciled fund traded on LSE, all it's underlying asset is actually US, so I'd personally recommend you to put your order out after ~11pm Malaysia time, where VUAA will have better tracked price.

Feel free to correct me if I am mistaken.
Err, if you don't mind explaining the after 11pm Malaysian time thingy?

I am new to this international stock buying thingy. 😅
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 2 2022, 02:10 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 2 2022, 01:44 PM)
Err, if you don't mind explaining the after 11pm Malaysian time thingy?

I am new to this international stock buying thingy. 😅
Okay so, I am going to use some likely wrong words here and poorly explain it, so the resident stock sifus may want to correct me:

You are buying an ETF, which is a basket of stocks. So it has two values, a Market Value (The value of the ticker, the price you buy and sell it) and Net Asset Value, which is the sum of all the stock value under the ETF.

Market Value is determined by the traders but mostly market markers (they provide liquidity to anchor the price close to NAV) while the underlying stocks value is determined by traders who trade them. Hence inevitably, there will be difference in these values, we call them Premium and Discounts (e.g. SP500 all share prices total up for 500 for example, but the ETF currently is trading at 480, so you got a $20 discount if you bought it at that time)
Now, market maker try to keep these value as close as possible, to minimize what we call tracking errors.

Further reading: https://www.vanguardmexico.com/en/learn/exp...-discounts-work

So, when you buy VUAA when US market is not open, you are exposed to tracking error - the price you are paying, may not accurately reflect the real value of the underlying stocks. This could be good, could be bad, could mean nothing. It's just something to keep in mind.

You can see the tracking error by checking the fund's page NAV information, and overall tracking error reported in the fund's annual report usually.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Apr 2 2022, 02:20 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 2 2022, 02:23 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Apr 2 2022, 02:10 PM)
Okay so, I am going to use some likely wrong words here and poorly explain it, so the resident stock sifus may want to correct me:

You are buying an ETF, which is a basket of stocks. So it has two values, a Market Value (The value of the ticker, the price you buy and sell it) and Net Asset Value, which is the sum of all the stock value under the ETF.

Market Value is determined by the traders but mostly market markers (they provide liquidity to anchor the price close to NAV) while the underlying stocks value is determined by traders who trade them. Hence inevitably, there will be difference in these values, we call them Premium and Discounts (e.g. SP500 all share prices total up for 500 for example, but the ETF currently is trading at 480, so you got a $20 discount if you bought it at that time)
Now, market maker try to keep these value as close as possible, to minimize what we call tracking errors.

Further reading: https://www.vanguardmexico.com/en/learn/exp...-discounts-work

So, when you buy VUAA when US market is not open, you are exposed to tracking error - the price you are paying, may not accurately reflect the real value of the underlying stocks. This could be good, could be bad, could mean nothing. It's just something to keep in mind.

You can see the tracking error by checking the fund's page NAV information, and overall tracking error reported in the fund's annual report usually.
Wew, nice. I actually understood it from your explanation.

I got some reading to do.

Thanks!!! 👍

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 2 2022, 02:30 PM

427 Pages « < 268 269 270 271 272 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:15 PM