5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V40th Anniversary, Happy 40th!

TSnazrul90
post Jul 26 2019, 10:34 PM, updated 2y ago

302 posts

What is Gunpla?

Gundam Models refers to plastic and non-plastic model kits depicting the mechas, vehicles and characters of the fictional Mobile Suit Gundam universe. These kits have become popular among anime fans and model-lovers, especially in Japan and in other nearby Asian countries since 1980s. The popularity of Gundam models increased in the 1990s with North America and Europe being exposed to Gundam through television, video and manga. These Gundam Models may also be called Gunpla (ガンプラ Ganpura?), a portmanteau of "Gundam plastic model". "Gunpla" more commonly refers to the practice of building Gundam models, rather than the models themselves.
Scales and grades

Previous thread:

Related Links

Gunpla News

Other categories of model kits available in this forum

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Jul 26 2019, 10:53 PM
TSnazrul90
post Jul 27 2019, 12:29 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(bonez_xy @ Jul 27 2019, 11:22 AM)
yeah. waiting for new atok PG
Rumor stated new PG will be revealed this September.
TSnazrul90
post Jul 30 2019, 09:51 PM

302 posts

4,500 yen isn't bad price.
TSnazrul90
post Aug 31 2019, 07:16 PM

302 posts

Happy Independence Day

TSnazrul90
post Aug 31 2019, 07:16 PM

302 posts

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Aug 31 2019, 07:18 PM
TSnazrul90
post Nov 3 2019, 11:17 AM

302 posts

Gonna buy the RG Eva. The old Eva kit is shit. Torso keep separated from from whole body.
TSnazrul90
post Nov 7 2019, 12:57 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(gaiachronicler @ Nov 6 2019, 07:26 PM)
I've been seeing this a lot lately. Is it good?
need to buy the compressed air can though (as it can get used up)
For a marker/brush guy like me, might be worth a shot. but it's priced at 3000yen a can...  doh.gif

No, better get proper airbrush. This is fun but kinda aimed for learning younger kids under 15 since the Gundam Marker is less harmful than usual lacquer and enamel paints.

Lazada 11/11 upcoming sale has airbrush set as cheap as around Rm120.
TSnazrul90
post Jan 27 2020, 08:50 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Jan 27 2020, 07:20 AM)
went to Japan and had some free time to look at Gunpla scenes there and here are my observations

1) for new release Gundam eg: MG Barbatos, RG NU Gundam with Funnels and the G40 Gundam, you will have more luck finding one in Shopee compared to physical shops in Akihabara (Yodobashi, AmiAmi, Volks, Mandarake, Surugaya Specialty, Bicu Bicu Bic Camera, Softmap, Yamada Denki, etc.) so don't buy common release lah, difference RM10-30 better enjoy your holiday. Funny thing is I can only find MG Barbatos at one random small shop that is not specialized in Hobby stuff somewhere in the middle of Asakusa. Didn't buy it because already bought in Shopee

2) If you're going to Gundam Base no need to go to the common release, more expensive than Malaysia. Just buy the event item and limited item there only. price not bad for the BASE release

3) P-Bandai hunting, Mandarake and Surugaya is based on luck. If you can find one, you can lah. But you need to know that most people around the world will aim Akihabara and Nakano Broadway branch so most stuff there is jacked lol and rare stuff will kena sapu before you arrive. You can get better luck finding some stuff on Amazon JP and send to your airbnb/hotel. Managed to find the JR Train RX78 and the Ichiban Kuji RX78 at Shibuya Mandarake instead

4) GodHands? kena sapu already at shops by mainland and angmoh tourist already. Want to hoard panel line marker and pen? also kena sapu already

so support your local sellers lah XD
Exactly what I feel to those people who went to Japan to get gunpla. Why bother get the regular release kits when they are easily available here? Even if the items more cheap, it is not recommended as you will carry the huge boxes back. Unless the retail kits are somewhat discontinued and rarely reissue. E.g. The 1990 HG RX-78-2 Gundam.

Get the special exclusive Gundam Base. Those are actually in good price in Gundam Base because they are jacked up if buy in Malaysia.

GodHand also easily get here. Its a matter you want to spend RM250 just for a hobby nipper or not. Instead get the similar design at more cheaper price. The Nanye nipper only cost about Rm40..

TSnazrul90
post Jan 28 2020, 05:32 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Jan 28 2020, 11:28 AM)
i have yet to come across any shop that carries Nanye nipper...where did you get yours
Many shop should have them. Want save the hassle, just buy one from Shopee.

https://shopee.com.my/-Free-Pouch-NANYE-IPL...8960.1537043354

Been using this one for 3 years. Very good nipper. Only the bad side you don't get the nipper stopper like God Hand.

------

Or better get this one.
Got stopper knob just like GodHand.
https://shopee.com.my/Gunpla-Tools-Nippers-...9236.2758714041

----------------

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Jan 28 2020, 11:03 AM)
Sometimes you carry the huge boxes back might still be cheaper than shipping them to Malaysia using EMS hahaha
Basically the HLJ and Amiami discounted prices without need to pay shipping fee. Still better aim for rare and exclusive release gunpla first before the cheap retail release gunpla.

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Jan 28 2020, 05:37 PM
TSnazrul90
post Feb 21 2020, 01:31 PM

302 posts

New RX78-2 PG!!

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Feb 21 2020, 01:32 PM
TSnazrul90
post Apr 15 2020, 09:19 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Apr 15 2020, 05:29 PM)
yeah, but the spinal joints get really loose over time. also the rubber elbow joint thing will break inside.

really looking forward to the new RG. that thing is drool.gif
Mine dont have any problem with rubber arm. Except the shit torso keep detaching from main body. Loose and unstable.
TSnazrul90
post Apr 18 2020, 10:10 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Apr 18 2020, 01:43 PM)
anyone here used the gundam marker airbrush before? isit worth buying? dun feel lik investing in the complete airbrush kit wit big air compressor. or any small size kit to recommend which is not too pricey?
Price is affordable but you need to count the long run efficiency. Gundam Marker is not cheap. Compared with hobby paint with 10ml/15ml bottle, they can last longer than one Gundam Marker.
TSnazrul90
post Apr 19 2020, 01:38 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Apr 19 2020, 12:55 PM)
hmm...any mini compressor kit to recommend?
cant get the standard size compressor, gf gonna kill me  sad.gif
https://shopee.com.my/ABEST-PRO-Airbrush-Ki...4600.2459018212

lowest now around RM100++
but I warn you these type isnt durable.
And low air pressure around 15 psi only.

the better one
https://shopee.com.my/M-M-Ready-Stock-Profe...6092.5123947492
TSnazrul90
post May 22 2020, 12:56 PM

302 posts

Sharing my latest build

TSnazrul90
post May 31 2020, 06:33 PM

302 posts

TSnazrul90
post Jun 8 2020, 09:23 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Kyouzumi @ Jun 8 2020, 07:54 PM)
Hi All,
I'm quite new to gunpla. Just picked up this hobby since Corona Lockdown started.
Looking for a Ver Ka as my next kit. Can I have some suggestions if y'all don't mind?

I don't mind if it is more complex or time consuming. Just would like one kit that does not have parts falling off when playing with it.
Or is that a wrong mindset to have, please don't hold back. Let me know!

Thank you thank you thumbup.gif
If you dont mind waiting, then go for upcoming release the MG Wing Zero EW Ver Ka. Release in November/December.
TSnazrul90
post Jun 30 2020, 06:22 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Jun 29 2020, 11:30 AM)
bumping in case some wants to let go.
This is not a proper suggestion in this thread but you can try buy 3rd party conversion kit. It got new updated waist included. The Takumi Studio MG Sinanju.
TSnazrul90
post Jun 30 2020, 06:04 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Marcion @ Jun 30 2020, 10:16 AM)
I did buy 3rd party 3r metal inner frame for my bandai freedom gundam. Make it feel like metal build. Is just too bad bandai don't want to sales inner metal frame for plastic kit instead they sales with metal build, DX or fix with expensive price. I did buy the bandai fix.. Wing zero snow white.. Just wait for received it because it already released and some Japanese Korea got review already.
Metal frame is expensive to produce at a massive number like plastic model. You will also pay high for it. The High Resolution Model line is already do similar to that.

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Jun 30 2020, 06:06 PM
TSnazrul90
post Jul 2 2020, 09:35 AM

302 posts

MG EX Unicorn is disappointing.
Main selling point is the LED gimmick. The surface detail is still at typical MG(not 3.0/Nu ver Ka level)

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Jul 2 2020, 11:04 AM
TSnazrul90
post Jul 18 2020, 03:05 AM

302 posts

7k yen vs 60k yen
Hahahahah master of trolling

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled