26 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Hobbies Model Trains (HO, N, O, G scale...), Discuss and share here

TS3AAA
post Jan 20 2006, 10:25 PM, updated 5y ago

72 posts

Just wondering if any forumer here are in to model trains.

Below is a simple incomplete model that I've built about years ago. It is HO scale train.

The grass is made out of bits of wood (pencil sharpener left over) taken from pencil sharpener.
The house was made out of cereal box, designed using a real house plan.
Almost everything is self made.

If anyone have model set of there own, please feel free to share pics here.

This post has been edited by 3AAA: May 14 2011, 12:04 AM
carpathia
post Mar 16 2006, 01:20 AM

2,619 posts

Where did you get the train and rail set from ? how much? intend to start my collectionb soon
amirsubhi
post Mar 16 2006, 02:41 AM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

arh ..another expensive hobby i interested..die lar like diz
TS3AAA
post Mar 16 2006, 06:54 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 16 2006, 01:20 AM)
Where did you get the train and rail set from ? how much? intend to start my collectionb soon
I bought the train from Canada. Some of the rails I ordered from US (when I'm in Malaysia).

I did saw train shops somewhere around KL before, few years ago, but I forgot where.
shockk
post Mar 16 2006, 07:02 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,882 posts

w00t. this is cool.
what's the cost to get a proper set?
TS3AAA
post Mar 16 2006, 07:32 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Mar 16 2006, 07:02 PM)
w00t. this is cool.
what's the cost to get a proper set?
Roughly, around RM300 is enough to get a decent train set that comes with everything to run. Of course, there may be cheaper sets and sets that are really expensive.
Can try browsing to get a better idea.
carpathia
post Mar 16 2006, 09:50 PM

2,619 posts

im just wondering those from jusco/parkson of those tomy range is ok enough ? i used to have those train that actuallly produces steam when i was REAL younng...
TS3AAA
post Mar 16 2006, 11:17 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 16 2006, 09:50 PM)
im just wondering those from jusco/parkson of those tomy range is ok enough ? i used to have those train that actuallly produces steam when i was REAL younng...
I think those are the battery powered type. There rails are completely made of plastic. I don't think those type are suitable for modelling.

The kind of train that I have is powered by the household electricity (doesn't use any batteries).
These kind of trains are available in diferent scale. For example, Z Scale, HO Scale, N Scale and S Scale. Mine is HO scale, which is commonly used.
oe_kintaro
post Mar 17 2006, 10:13 AM

2,222 posts

If you are a train fan and happen to be visiting Japan, you *have* to go to Akihabara. There are some specialist shops here selling some really cool train related kits. A trip to the nearby JR Transportation Museum is also well worth your time. Aside from static displays of real life trains and other hardware, there are hands-on train simulators , and a realistic/ultra detailed model train showcase depicting a typical day on the railway tracks in a part of Tokyo. They even put small video cams in some of the trains, and as they travel along their tracks, it's very realistic and almost as if you can see through the eyes of the train driver.
VincC454
post Mar 17 2006, 03:18 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

i been trying to search for a shop that selling all these train set locally..till now still cant find one..most of the shop you can see last few years dapao already now..last time midvalley also got..now change to animetech already
shockk
post Mar 19 2006, 12:21 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,882 posts

QUOTE(3AAA @ Mar 16 2006, 07:32 PM)
Roughly, around RM300 is enough to get a decent train set that comes with everything to run. Of course, there may be cheaper sets and sets that are really expensive.
Can try browsing to get a better idea.
Hmm. RM300 is decent.
Any shops have these kind of things? Better if they have live demo. rclxm9.gif
andriel
post Mar 19 2006, 12:30 PM

Justin Jibber
623 posts

Rm300, how long ago was that??
TS3AAA
post Mar 19 2006, 02:59 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(andriel @ Mar 19 2006, 12:30 PM)
Rm300, how long ago was that??
I was talking about now.
smartech
post Mar 21 2006, 03:40 PM

4 year ago when I visit sydney, I have see the price for Hornby Euro Star Set...complete with coach, adaptor, n the track's...the price around AUS$500 n above.. it's about RM1,332.63 (today currency exchange 3.30pm)...

this unit is Limited Item i think..in Malaysia I have see only 1 unit at KLCC..dunno whether still have or not...

try this link for Hornby brand http://www.hornby.com/pages/home.aspx

Terimaaa kasiiihhhh

This post has been edited by smartech: Mar 21 2006, 03:44 PM
TS3AAA
post Mar 21 2006, 11:47 PM

72 posts

Here's a website that we can visit to have an idea of the pricing in the US:
http://www.discounttrainsonline.com/Electr...S_HO_433_1.html

or

http://www.towerhobbies.com/listings/cat-cat-u.html

I also fund a website that has a Malaysia address of a shop:
http://www.trainsntoys.com.my/outlets.htm

This post has been edited by 3AAA: Mar 22 2006, 01:12 AM
judge-the
post Mar 21 2006, 11:57 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

there used to be a shop in 1u just in front of jusco side entrance. somewhere near pizza hut but already tapao lah.

i am interested too but hard to find a shop in kl lah. rm300 is ok smile.gif
bro 3AAA maybe you can post here for a beginner which model we should buy ah... and also the brand which one?

thankz.
TS3AAA
post Mar 22 2006, 01:10 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Mar 21 2006, 11:57 PM)
there used to be a shop in 1u just in front of jusco side entrance. somewhere near pizza hut but already tapao lah.

i am interested too but hard to find a shop in kl lah. rm300 is ok smile.gif
bro 3AAA maybe you can post here for a beginner which model we should buy ah... and also the brand which one?

thankz.
I can't tell which brand is better to buy because I've never seen most of it running before.

I can comment about the brand train that I have. My first train set was Tyco (which I think is no longer producing trains). Don't know how much it was bought for because my dad bought it. The second set that I have is Bachmann (As the one running in the picture). I bought this set for about RM500 after converting it to MYR. This model is nice, have no problem, but I like the Tyco one better because it uses a rare type of motor which is very silent. The tyco one is also more reallistic.

As mention earlier, the scale train that I have is HO scale (1/87 ratio), which I think is a nice scale to have (not too big and not too small). N scale ratio is 1/160 and the G scale ratio is about 1/23.

As for the train tracks, I have 3 different type. One is made out of brass, the other is made out of steel, and the third type is made out of Nickel Silver. The best choice to get is Nickel Silver, because so far, the Nickel Silver track that I have never got rusted, and it is much easier to clean comparing with the other type of tracks that I have.

There many brand to choose from, such as Life-Like, Model Power, Norscot. To me, I think any brand is about the same within the same price range.

judge-the
post Mar 22 2006, 08:13 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(3AAA @ Mar 22 2006, 01:10 AM)
I can't tell which brand is better to buy because I've never seen most of it running before.

I can comment about the brand train that I have. My first train set was Tyco (which I think is no longer producing trains). Don't know how much it was bought for because my dad bought it. The second set that I have is Bachmann (As the one running in the picture). I bought this set for about RM500 after converting it to MYR. This model is nice, have no problem, but I like the Tyco one better because it uses a rare type of motor which is very silent. The tyco one is also more reallistic.

As mention earlier, the scale train that I have is HO scale (1/87 ratio), which I think is a nice scale to have (not too big and not too small). N scale ratio is 1/160 and the G scale ratio is about 1/23.

As for the train tracks, I have 3 different type. One is made out of brass, the other is made out of steel, and the third type is made out of Nickel Silver. The best choice to get is Nickel Silver, because so far, the Nickel Silver track that I have never got rusted, and it is much easier to clean comparing with the other type of tracks that I have.

There many brand to choose from, such as Life-Like, Model Power, Norscot. To me, I think any brand is about the same within the same price range.
maybe this is a stupid question lah... here's the scenarion, if we buy brand ABC train sets can we use brand XYZ tracks with the earlier ABC train sets?
TS3AAA
post Mar 22 2006, 05:00 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Mar 22 2006, 08:13 AM)
maybe this is a stupid question lah... here's the scenarion, if we buy brand ABC train sets can we use brand XYZ tracks with the earlier ABC train sets?
Yes, just as long as it is the same scale track.
You can even join tracks that are made out of different material together.
judge-the
post Mar 24 2006, 08:34 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

so anyone know any shops around somewhere in kl? the one that given earlier is in subang...

26 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:55 AM