Jordy
post May 13 2009, 12:28 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(ks3114 @ May 12 2009, 07:45 PM)
No income distribution was declared for the quarter under review but provision was made to distribute
95% of the income before tax (unaudited) for the quarter ended 31 March 2009 to be distributed by end
of August 2009
as described under Section B12, Income Distribution.

+

A provision was made to distribute RM7,126,543 as income distribution for 1st Quarter ended 31 March
2009. This translates into approximately 2.90 sen per unit for the quarter under review and includes a
non-taxable portion of approximately 0.49 sen per unit (representing 16.90% of the gross distribution)
deriving mainly from utilisation of capital allowances. Provision for income distribution for the quarter
under review is 35.51% higher than corresponding period last year (2.14 sen per unit).
So, yea no dividend this quarter. They're only paying the dividend in August which is 2.9sen + income from Q2 ended June. Probably this explains why there wasn't any transaction today. But definately huge improvement in performance.
Btw Cherroy, if you look at UOA's Q1 report, their Borrowings increased by RM8mil. Why is that? They didnt mention anything about using RM8mil.  hmm.gif
Oh my, sorry for the mistake tongue.gif I didn't read the whole report. But according to normal practices, prices of stocks would increase should there be increase in profit. Guess the case is different with REITs smile.gif

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 12 2009, 09:16 PM)
This counter very hard to trade one, liquidity is severe low, less than 1000 shareholders (including major shareholders), just a reminder, just in case you are interested.
Cherroy, even if the liquidity is low, I think it should not deter people from investing in REITs because we will be expecting sustainable income through REITs. So normally when we buy REIT counters, we would not think of selling them UNLESS the company becomes insolvent.

This is just my two cents though, but I believe different people would have different perspectives. But I think your perspective on REITs should be similar to mine, so why worry about liquidity issues here? smile.gif
cherroy
post May 13 2009, 12:44 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ May 13 2009, 12:28 AM)
This is just my two cents though, but I believe different people would have different perspectives. But I think your perspective on REITs should be similar to mine, so why worry about liquidity issues here? smile.gif
Yes, I don't care much about liquidity as long as company able to pay handsome dividend or distribution. In fact a lot of my stocks are/were low liquidity one aka seldom trade much. tongue.gif

Just as a reminder, just in case people hope for price appreciation side smile.gif
Jordy
post May 13 2009, 01:03 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 13 2009, 12:44 AM)
Yes, I don't care much about liquidity as long as company able to pay handsome dividend or distribution. In fact a lot of my stocks are/were low liquidity one aka seldom trade much.  tongue.gif

Just as a reminder, just in case people hope for price appreciation side  smile.gif
Lol, true. Sometimes it is quite tempting to sell the REIT counters. I did once on AXREIT, bought at 1.18 and sold at 1.36, later bought back at 1.28 until now. I kept reminding myself not to sell it even when the price hit 1.50 because now I am on accumulation phase. My aim is to accumulate as much as possible since the price is still low. Now the stubborn AXREIT is not going below 1.40 tongue.gif, so I might be looking to diversify into either UOAREIT or AMFIRST.

I see UOAREIT as more of a gem because of their expertise from their Australian counterpart. Not really so into AMFIRST because of their investment in Summit. It is a place which I don't really like to visit (except for climbing gym tongue.gif)
ks3114
post May 13 2009, 09:46 AM

90 posts

PKNS eyes REIT buy

It is learnt that the state property arm is eyeing a listed REIT with total assets valued at more than RM600 million.

General manager Othman Omar said PKNS was negotiating to buy a controlling stake. He declined to name the REIT.

woo, looks like 1 of the reits gonna fly. They've alrdy given clue, so whoever guesses it right might make some $$.
asambuffett
post May 13 2009, 12:36 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(ks3114 @ May 13 2009, 09:46 AM)
PKNS eyes REIT buy

It is learnt that the state property arm is eyeing a listed REIT with total assets valued at more than RM600 million.

General manager Othman Omar said PKNS was negotiating to buy a controlling stake. He declined to name the REIT.

woo, looks like 1 of the reits gonna fly. They've alrdy given clue, so whoever guesses it right might make some $$.
I guess it must be Axreit...2nd choice is hektar due to the assets that they have and the portfolios that PKNS will inject in...

however, im not sure its a great news or not...

the present mgmt of both REITs has done a good job already, if PKNS wants a controlling stakes, then, it means they will somehow will disturb the effectiveness of the present mgmt in the future someways.

I vote present status quo.
moorish
post May 13 2009, 01:34 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ May 12 2009, 06:02 PM)
QUOTE(Jordy @ May 12 2009, 06:58 PM)

thanks guys
ks3114
post May 13 2009, 05:15 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(asambuffett @ May 13 2009, 12:36 PM)
I guess it must be Axreit...2nd choice is hektar due to the assets that they have and the portfolios that PKNS will inject in...

however, im not sure its a great news or not...

the present mgmt of both REITs has done a good job already, if PKNS wants a controlling stakes, then, it means they will somehow will disturb the effectiveness of the present mgmt in the future someways.

I vote present status quo.
Yea, agree. Thats the bad side of it I guess. But on the bright side, let's hope they offer a good price for the stakes, around NAV price maybe drool.gif
ts1
post May 13 2009, 07:52 PM

3,784 posts

could be axreit since proposing restricted offer right
Jordy
post May 14 2009, 09:04 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

I have shortlisted the few probable targets for PKNS:

AXREIT
HEKTAR
QCAPITA
ALAQAR
BSDREIT

Take your pick tongue.gif
Malefic
post May 14 2009, 09:54 PM

242 posts

I would NOT invest in any REIT controlled by PKNS or any state-linked agency. Besides, too many of PKNS' assets are in Shah Alam ... not my favoured property location.

I hope PKNS will buy one of the less popular REITs and stay away from my favourites like Axreit, QCapita and Hektar vmad.gif

ts1
post May 14 2009, 09:58 PM

3,784 posts

even they've invested, just a shareholder would not have enuf stake to wrestle it over from present mgmt
Malefic
post May 14 2009, 10:04 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(ts1 @ May 14 2009, 09:58 PM)
even they've invested, just a shareholder would not have enuf stake to wrestle it over from present mgmt
PKNS is looking to buy a controlling stake-lah. They will then dump some of their properties into the REIT.

hocklai8
post May 14 2009, 10:07 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(Malefic @ May 14 2009, 09:54 PM)
I would NOT invest in any REIT controlled by PKNS or any state-linked agency. Besides, too many of PKNS' assets are in Shah Alam ... not my favoured property location.

I hope PKNS will buy one of the less popular REITs and stay away from my favourites like Axreit, QCapita and Hektar  vmad.gif
I do share the same sentiment... I don't think the yield of PKNS assets will boost the REIT that it will inject into. I fear it would bring more negativity than positivitity. In my opinion, I feel PKNS is just dumping their assets into the REIT to cash out since most of it are quite run-down. Just my 2 cents smile.gif
asambuffett
post May 15 2009, 02:09 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ May 14 2009, 09:04 PM)
I have shortlisted the few probable targets for PKNS:

AXREIT
HEKTAR
QCAPITA
ALAQAR
BSDREIT

Take your pick tongue.gif
PKNS injecting Malls and some buildings.

Al Aqar is only hospitals..so maybe can strike out

Bsdreit is only plantation..maybe can strike it out too.. wink.gif

maybe can strike hektar too...cause Hektar is only into Malls.... hmm.gif

Qcapita has 800m of assets ( not in the range of 600m) & their largest unitholder is HSBC 30% & quill about 23%...dun think HSBC & quill will let someone else take control that easily.

I think , Most probably its Axreit , cause their assets about 600m and they are quite diversified in their properties ( so, mall can be absorbed) + EPF is the 2nd largest unit holder...baiduri only have about 18%(largest unitholder)..

This post has been edited by asambuffett: May 15 2009, 02:22 AM
Jordy
post May 15 2009, 02:15 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Malefic @ May 14 2009, 10:04 PM)
PKNS is looking to buy a controlling stake-lah. They will then dump some of their properties into the REIT.
Buying controlling stake does not mean their management will change. They may be controlling the company, but the management could still be the same. I don't think their intention is to run the REIT company, but just to leave the company on auto-pilot while they earn without doing anything.

QUOTE(hocklai8 @ May 14 2009, 10:07 PM)
I do share the same sentiment... I don't think the yield of PKNS assets will boost the REIT that it will inject into. I fear it would bring more negativity than positivitity. In my opinion, I feel PKNS is just dumping their assets into the REIT to cash out since most of it are quite run-down. Just my 2 cents smile.gif
That could be one of the reasons smile.gif Any idea on how much are PKNS properties yielding?

QUOTE(asambuffett @ May 15 2009, 02:09 AM)
PKNS injecting Malls and some buildings.

Al Aqar is only hospitals..so maybe can strike out

Bsdreit is only plantation..maybe can strike it out too.. wink.gif
You could be right. So what's left now would be:

AXREIT
HEKTAR
QCAPITA

And could they be only eyeing REITs concentrating in Selangor? Since they are owned by Selangor state, they might be buying stakes into REITs with properties in Selangor. Just a thought smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jordy: May 15 2009, 02:19 AM
asambuffett
post May 15 2009, 02:26 AM

476 posts

Added on May 15, 2009, 2:28 am
QUOTE(Jordy @ May 15 2009, 02:15 AM)
You could be right. So what's left now would be:

AXREIT
HEKTAR
QCAPITA
maybe can strike hektar too...cause Hektar is only into Malls....

Qcapita has 800m of assets ( not in the range of 600m) & their largest unitholder is HSBC 30% & quill about 23%...dun think HSBC & quill will let someone else take control that easily.

I think , Most probably its Axreit , cause their assets about 600m and they are quite diversified in their properties ( so, mall can be absorbed) + EPF is the 2nd largest unit holder...baiduri only have about 13%(largest unitholder)..

This post has been edited by asambuffett: May 15 2009, 02:30 AM
whizzer
post May 15 2009, 03:55 AM

Money DOES grow on trees !!
943 posts

QUOTE(asambuffett @ May 15 2009, 02:26 AM)

I think , Most probably its Axreit , cause their assets about 600m and they are quite diversified in their properties ( so, mall can be absorbed) + EPF is the 2nd largest unit holder...baiduri only have about 13%(largest unitholder)..
Also it seems like AXREIT has bought PKNS properties in the past.
Jordy
post May 15 2009, 04:10 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(asambuffett @ May 15 2009, 02:26 AM)

In my humble opinion, AXREIT is the least probable target (at least the in the major shareholders' concern) because the four partners worked hard to build their empire. It is very unlikely that they will let go of their stake (especially in Lee Lao's case). Unlike HSBC, Baiduri has no other primary businesses, if they let go of their one and only primary business, they will be out of business tongue.gif PKNS can never gain the controlling stake (Baiduri + Lee Lao + Tew + Abas has a combined stake of 27.8% while EPF + Valuecap has a combined stake of only 13.5%).

In QCAPITA's case, even if HSBC lets go of their stake, they still can focus on their finance business. Real estate is not HSBC's primary business, they invested in QCAPITA only for profit. So if PKNS is able to pay at high premium, I believe HSBC would let go. I am not very familiar with Quill though, so I don't know if they would sell their stake.

"Selangor State Development Corp is said to be negotiating to buy a controlling stake in a listed REIT with total assets worth more than RM600 million"
As a reminder, they stated that the total assets are worth more than RM600 million, so it doesn't necessarily be within that RM600 million range. RM800 million is still more than RM600 million. So it is still right to say QCAPITA is in the running as well smile.gif
normanTE
post May 15 2009, 07:19 AM

259 posts

which have highest dividend, ?
in us kimco , simon property.
panasonic88
post May 15 2009, 09:16 AM

37,028 posts