REIT, real estate investment...
moorish
May 9 2009, 04:17 PM
Phew, I read this thread from page one since this morning and just manage to complete. First I must really say thank you for everyone who chip in so much of useful information, this is really like an encyclopedia. And I can say REITS is really very attractive to invest in (for a scaredy kat like me), I think instead of buying another apartment I rather invest in reits, thanks pana for the tip.
Only thing I still dun fully understand is the lock down you guys mention.
moorish
May 9 2009, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 9 2009, 06:33 PM) thanks fellow seniors for the input. digesting digesting. morrish, together we learn.  This post has been edited by moorish: May 9 2009, 09:33 PM
moorish
May 12 2009, 01:37 PM
I ask about reits and from what I gather the divident is very low now at the range of 4 - 5% PA, is this true? Any reits owner can verify...thank you
moorish
May 12 2009, 02:52 PM
I duno which one, I was just asking about if its good to go into reits and this is what I was told, so how much was this 2 years dividend if you know?
moorish
May 12 2009, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ May 12 2009, 03:07 PM) For the last 2 years, most reit DPU (or dividend yield) was around 7-8%. Now mostly are at around 8-10% (price goes down so yield become higher) as market discounted for softer property prospect. thanks for confirming QUOTE(ks3114 @ May 12 2009, 03:44 PM) hehe, you probably heard from an owner of AHP2. It's div is crappy + its now suspended awaiting liquidation. could be hor he seem to be aginst me going into reits.
moorish
May 13 2009, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(mo_meng @ May 12 2009, 06:02 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « moorish, almost all the reits counter can gv at least 8% div .. you can see from the link i gv u just now as you can see some even can gv more than 10% based on current price if you can get it cheaper or when it dips, than higher div yield you can get e.g. when axreit below 1.00, you can act get around 15% div WOW alot right BUT boat gone liao QUOTE(Jordy @ May 12 2009, 06:58 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Hardly REITs will be giving out 4% - 5% dividend because they are leasing out prime properties. Even layman like us can gain higher income if we were to just buy an apartment to rent it out. Furthermore these REITs will have to distribute at least 90% of their income in order for them to escape from being taxed. Therefore, if they were to distribute 5%, their income would only be 5.6% PA. Perhaps your friend bought it when the counter peaked. Even so, he would be receiving at least 6% net dividend. Better find out from him which counter he bought to make a better judgment. From my experience, a person would never discourage someone from buying REITs, unless: - he is an agent for unit trust/insurance/MLM/investment scams - he is an aggressive person who only believes in getting quick profits Sorry if my assumption is wrong. I never meant to degrade your friend, just voicing out my view  Pana, Yes, it seems that they are paying higher this year at 2.9sen. But it's weird that there's no transaction today   thanks guys
moorish
Jun 15 2009, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(Neo18 @ Jun 15 2009, 12:32 PM) today bought another 30000 unit of ATRIUM Now i got a total of 244,000 unit of ATRIUM, by calculation base on their asset value of RM80 million.. I have 0.25% shareholding in this company!!! wow, this is the biggest shareholding i ever have in any company!!! I wanna follow also  I think better take out money from sukuk, mine telling me whats your buy TP ? Neo, sorry again noob question, say today I buy 10 LOTs, RM6450 atrium, reits site says yield is 10%, does it mean I get RM645 total by next year assuming the market remains like this? This post has been edited by moorish: Jun 15 2009, 01:15 PM
moorish
Jun 15 2009, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(Neo18 @ Jun 15 2009, 01:23 PM) - you get back RM645 minus 10% withholding tax= RM580.50 - however, that is base on Q1 result of 1.6 cent distritibution - I expect Q2 to remain the same, 1.6 cents - I foresee Q3 and Q4 to pay 2.2 cents per unit. Therefore, you might get higher dividend in Q3 2009 and beyond + potential capital appreciation because atrium is trading at 38% from NAV eh like this much better than sukuk, name also teruk...ok thanks neo, I'll que 20LOTs later or shall I que 10 LOTS and wait if drop then take another 10?
moorish
Jun 15 2009, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(Neo18 @ Jun 15 2009, 01:29 PM) i cannot c ATRIUM going down below 0.64 cents. You can try your luck at 0.64.. but if can get @ 0.65 for all.. ok thanks for the info, I'm super noob at this, i see you pick atrium sure good one
moorish
Jun 16 2009, 08:41 AM
QUOTE(Jordy @ Jun 16 2009, 12:45 AM) moorish, Please, please for goodness sake, KNOW what you are buying instead of just merely following. I know a few veteran members and I have been repeating this over and over again. I'm trying to learn, dig out some data from many blog about local reits and seem all are quite competitive. I'm not familiar with the industry, some I know are more on office, some on shopping and atrium I did study has 4 ware house their client mainly DHL as it took up 2 warehouse. And what attract me is they've full occupancy no empty warehouse and best part is the price has not jump yet. Anyway now I'm stuck with DIALOG which I bought yesterday  , lets see how things goes this week.
moorish
Jun 17 2009, 08:16 AM
QUOTE(Jordy @ Jun 16 2009, 09:53 PM) What I am trying to say is that don't just look at the "covers", look at the details. Do some simple calculations and analysis to see if the buildings are yielding reasonable income. In the case of ATRIUM, it has advantage and disadvantage. It could either have 100% occupancy, or 0% occupancy because its warehouses only house 1 tenant most of the time (except for one of its warehouses if I am not mistaken). Such a small drop, doesn't excite me  I will only start accumulating again if the price EVER goes back down to 1.38 (which I think not anytime soon). QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Jun 17 2009, 07:52 AM) Yup thats is one of my major concern.... either 0% or 100%...  unlike shopping mall you can have a lot of tenants..... thats y i sell off all my atrium....but for my opinion since atrium only hold 4 properties so its quite easy for them to renew their tenants and maintain their tenants.....so it is very unlikely for them to lose their tenants... but the risk is still there and i cannot afford to bet for that......  thats y i cabut first wait for a more suitable time to enter reits again......still think that axreit is the best among the reits... ok thanks for the tips, anyway I plan to go in a few counter, maybe choose 2 or 3 reits counter, not big investment but just spreading out.