Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

SWATwolf
post Oct 3 2007, 07:23 PM

431 posts

want to know... any recommendation on wad kind of paint (else than gundam markers) is suitable for gundam?

SWATwolf
post Oct 4 2007, 12:08 AM

431 posts

from here... all I see is mostly gundam markers,
the rest tamiya and mr.hobby are very little.
SWATwolf
post Oct 10 2007, 07:58 AM

431 posts

wanna know, how do u spray coating correctly? and what kind of coating is better for gundam?
SWATwolf
post Oct 14 2007, 01:13 AM

431 posts

oh dear... i think i bought the wrong spray....

top coat spray is out of stock... hence the shop intro me this mr.hobby: mr. super clear (semi gloss)

when i spray on my gundam... the color melt off. T_T now i have to repaint all over again.
SWATwolf
post Oct 14 2007, 10:36 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Oct 14 2007, 03:26 AM)
Ergh.. that sucks. Actually, the spray is not exactly wrong, I suspect its more to do with how u spray it on.

Its likely that u held the spray too close to the model. Those spray cans has got a pretty high velocity, as well as a high volume output, so u need to hold the can from at least 12 inches away. This' why I tend to regard those spray cans as rather wasteful, but well, if u dun have an airbrush, then no choice lar...
I see. 12 inch eh... tat kinda waste... sweat.gif but nvm, learned my lesson this time.
SWATwolf
post Oct 16 2007, 12:14 PM

431 posts

i think there some parts on MG still need to paint.
IMHO only la... tongue.gif
SWATwolf
post Oct 29 2007, 04:10 PM

431 posts

i always see when people tend to change from color A to color B,
their gundams are mostly covered in white.

are those work of Putty?
i see xl-shop sells 2 kinds of putty, one is toothpaste like, and another one look like icecream stick.
can anyone explain how this thing works?

wad does mr. cement do?

Many thanx.

This post has been edited by SWATwolf: Oct 29 2007, 04:11 PM
SWATwolf
post Oct 29 2007, 06:39 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Oct 29 2007, 05:00 PM)
Those are not putty but are primer! Putty usually for filling up gaps

Mr Cement is the glue tat used to combine 2 plastic together! It melts the plastic and then combine the 2 plastic together! I used it to close up gap between the plastic!
primer, where can i get those?
what about those people who modify their gundam with add parts and so on?
what material they use?

This post has been edited by SWATwolf: Oct 29 2007, 06:40 PM
SWATwolf
post Oct 29 2007, 07:50 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Oct 29 2007, 07:39 PM)
Primer i think u can get in those shop i mention back up there! For spray can comfirm Time Machine got!
The material they used are either remainings of their gundam kit or pla plate (can get at TM too)

By the way wat r u planing to do?
I wanted to try modding some gundam and repaint it with new color.
the thing is i dun have ab.

is it still possible for me to do so?
SWATwolf
post Oct 30 2007, 10:02 PM

431 posts

wanna ask, anyone here tried to import top coat or primer spray can from oversea to malaysia?

btw, compare to the bottle mr. surcafe and the spray can's one... which one is better?
SWATwolf
post Nov 3 2007, 01:08 AM

431 posts

guys... wanna ask.
the Gundam marker GM44 - Grey (from Gundam Seed marker set)
do outside shops sells in single marker instead of in sets?

and also any mr.hobby color is similar to GM44?
Need help and thanx!
SWATwolf
post Nov 4 2007, 09:38 PM

431 posts

anyone know which mr.hobby bottle paint is similar to GM44 (Grey Gundam Seed Marker)?

SWATwolf
post Nov 5 2007, 09:24 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(dante_cool @ Nov 5 2007, 04:43 AM)
hiya,

I got my EFB from HLJ.com. Pre-ordered mine like 2 mths ago, now is like totally out of stock.

Got it for around 10 K Yen, probaby around 94 AUD ( Approx RM 263 ).

Yup, inner colour is chrome silver. Still wondering if I should some assemble it first then paint it later.

Any advise people ??

dante_cool
i suggest u paint on the runner before assemble it. It would be easier.
SWATwolf
post Nov 6 2007, 02:14 PM

431 posts

do we really necessary need thinner for mixing with the mr.hobby paint bottle to brush on gundam?

This post has been edited by SWATwolf: Nov 6 2007, 02:53 PM
SWATwolf
post Nov 7 2007, 09:43 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 7 2007, 09:23 AM)
What's the difference between the effects of acrylics& lacquers? Which one better?
Yes, I would like to know what's the difference too. Thanx
SWATwolf
post Nov 15 2007, 01:07 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(cskeong @ Nov 14 2007, 11:38 AM)
a question about gundam marker. i'm thinking of using gundam markers to paint my collection of sd. i heard that they are not so good due to the paint looking somewhat like water color paints. any gundam marker users here care to share their experiences?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/412850/+525
SD painted with pure gundam markers

SWATwolf
post Nov 20 2007, 03:23 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(br0ther9630 @ Nov 19 2007, 09:17 PM)
SWATwolf: when you use your markers.. say using a blue color marker to color on a black color part, will the blue color show or would it blend into the color?

in your opinion is it worth forking out the money for gundam markers?
i guess it's ok and not expensive la.
well... for ur example, they will blend but u can avoid em by apply another layer.

Question from me.
Is there anyway to ship mr.hobby spray can to my place? T_T kuching no one sells and i cant afford AB. I know through ship can but HOW?
SWATwolf
post Nov 21 2007, 12:36 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Nov 20 2007, 03:56 PM)
ask anyone of ur frens from here and ship them to u???
use wad to shop through ship le?
later use plane, terletup XD
SWATwolf
post Feb 15 2008, 02:47 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(zefflodo @ Feb 14 2008, 07:02 PM)
guys i wanna ask......isit only factory can do gold/chrome coating....any manual painting method???? ......SD sanguo need coating badly sad.gif
dun need le... laugh.gif
just use silver as 1st layer
then use clear color to apply on the silver's top.

0.0472sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:33 PM