blacktubi
post Jul 28 2019, 11:33 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Jul 28 2019, 11:24 PM)
I am also trying to figure out, since my B618 auto updated and can't be used with digi, I have just applied for unifi (now available in my house area). Instead of wasting money buying a new router / wifi extender / mesh, thinking to try set up B618 either pppoe or use original unifi router and set up B618 as AP.
Was hoping somebody has experience using B618 as fibre router (pppoe). How's the performance vs stock unifi router.
B618 do not have VLAN tagging ability so it cannot dial into TM network.

The WiFi performance of B618 is weaker than TM current DIR-842 so using it as AP is pointless too.

Sell the B618 for around RM500, get a cheap TP-Link Archer A9 which is really good and you probably still got around RM200 to spare. wink.gif

You can sell the DIR-842 for RM50 too.
anwa
post Jul 29 2019, 12:03 AM

791 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 28 2019, 11:33 PM)

The WiFi performance of B618 is weaker than TM current DIR-842 so using it as AP is pointless too.

Sell the B618 for around RM500, get a cheap TP-Link Archer A9 which is really good and you probably still got around RM200 to spare. wink.gif

Thanks blacktubi for the advice!
I saw your tutorial on unifi pppoe setup etc. Will look into Archer A9. Is it powerful enough to cover a 3 storey house?

I got to research how to sell the B618 (celcom set, sim locked). I'm surprised people would still want to buy a locked unit.
syahpian
post Jul 29 2019, 03:24 AM

813 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Jul 29 2019, 12:03 AM)
I saw your tutorial on unifi pppoe setup etc. Will look into Archer A9. Is it powerful enough to cover a 3 storey house?

I got to research how to sell the B618 (celcom set, sim locked). I'm surprised people would still want to buy a locked unit.
because from what i hear, it can still use other sim that use celcom line like yoodo
bahusi P
post Jul 29 2019, 08:35 AM

Probation

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 28 2019, 11:33 PM)

Sorry out of knowledge question, and thank for clearing our path

What about the "WAN" port, can I just plug in ethernet from unifi/time/maxis fiber RJ45(on the wall) and get internet access and distribute it via the WiFi(no plan using phone/lan port) can right? as the datasheet of B618 stated

https://pictr.com/images/2019/07/29/5a8yKv.md.png
https://pictr.com/images/2019/07/29/5a8kxV.md.png

What is the change between B618 & DIR-842 or other premium router+modem? assuming fiber can get me 200-300Mbps
blacktubi
post Jul 29 2019, 09:03 AM

-
8,400 posts

For a 3 storey house, maybe you can consider a mesh WiFi system for the best WiFi coverage.

QUOTE(bahusi @ Jul 29 2019, 08:35 AM)
Sorry out of knowledge question, and thank for clearing our path
What about the "WAN" port, can I just plug in ethernet from unifi/time/maxis fiber RJ45(on the wall) and get internet access and distribute it via the WiFi(no plan using phone/lan port) can right? as the datasheet of B618 stated
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/07/29/5a8yKv.md.png' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/07/29/5a8yKv.md.png </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/07/29/5a8kxV.md.png' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/07/29/5a8kxV.md.png </a>
What is the change between B618 & DIR-842 or other premium router+modem? assuming fiber can get me 200-300Mbps
The thing with Unifi is it requires VLAN tagging which the B618 do not support.

The major difference between a good router and a cheap one is the Wireless range and performance.

A good router will get you better speed with good stability when you are further from the wireless router.
bahusi P
post Jul 29 2019, 09:37 AM

Probation

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 29 2019, 09:03 AM)
For a 3 storey house, maybe you can consider a mesh WiFi system for the best WiFi coverage.
The thing with Unifi is it requires VLAN tagging which the B618 do not support.

The major difference between a good router and a cheap one is the Wireless range and performance.

A good router will get you better speed with good stability when you are further from the wireless router.
Ohh so only unifi will be affected only lah.
Afaik if Unifi got coverage = Maxis got I'm going for maxis/time anyway So it will not be a problem with the VLan I guess?

but Yeah I notice everyone is recommending the Asus router brand even at "other country" forum, I guess they are top quality
blacktubi
post Jul 29 2019, 10:20 AM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(bahusi @ Jul 29 2019, 09:37 AM)
Ohh so only unifi will be affected only lah.
Afaik if Unifi got coverage = Maxis got  I'm going for maxis/time anyway So it will not be a problem with the VLan I guess?

but Yeah I notice everyone is recommending the Asus router brand even at "other country" forum, I guess they are top quality
Maxis requires VLAN as well.
confusecius
post Aug 1 2019, 01:28 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(syahpian @ Jul 29 2019, 03:24 AM)
because from what i hear, it can still use other sim that use celcom line like yoodo
izit confirm the locked celcom set can be use with yoodo? also xpax prepaid & xp50?
meaning.. not only celcom postpaid that bundled with it?
where u heard "ada orang cakap boleh pakai"? hmm.gif
if true, would like to buy locked one coz it's cheaper.. drool.gif
wanna convert to xpax in near future..
dark_axl21
post Aug 1 2019, 06:03 AM

TUKANG
660 posts

QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Jul 31 2019, 05:30 PM)
My house currently using Streamyx 4Mbps (RM140/month). Been asking and waiting for Unifi to be available but nothing. And last week Unifi call and promote this Unifi Air (1 Month Free Trail). RM79/Month and Unlimited.

The speed so far very stable and satisfied

Someone finally got their B618.
Guess TM has been hoarding it for their Unifi Air rollout since last month.

syahpian
post Aug 1 2019, 06:45 AM

813 posts

QUOTE(confusecius @ Aug 1 2019, 01:28 AM)
izit confirm the locked celcom set can be use with yoodo? also xpax prepaid & xp50?
where u heard "ada orang cakap boleh pakai"?  hmm.gif
if true, would like to buy locked one coz it's cheaper..  drool.gif
alexchew_2020
post Aug 1 2019, 03:23 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

lock unit hardly sell for higher price ald for now..maybe u can get best around rm2xx if u could find a buyers.

QUOTE(confusecius @ Aug 1 2019, 01:28 AM)
where u heard "ada orang cakap boleh pakai"?  hmm.gif
if true, would like to buy locked one coz it's cheaper..  drool.gif
nope,
1. b618 telco lock set not support yoodo internet..
2. b618 telco lock set does't support xpax pass as well... the hr/daily pass cant be hotspot. to hotspot modem need to be...ahem..

avoid getting 22d at all cost la.. seem like those does;t update to latest v81 firmware also might affected of force update to latest firmware..scary.. sweat.gif
anwa
post Aug 2 2019, 12:14 AM

791 posts

Looks like keep the unit and hope one day celcom got unlimited data package.
confusecius
post Aug 2 2019, 02:53 AM

355 posts

yup..
looks like it's no go for rite now..
thanks for answering guys...
ckimsem
post Aug 2 2019, 09:02 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Aug 2 2019, 01:14 AM)
The unit might not be good by that time because of 5G.
saitong09
post Aug 2 2019, 10:54 PM

10,820 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Aug 2 2019, 09:02 AM)
5G coverage in Malaysia still long way to go
alexchew_2020
post Aug 3 2019, 02:00 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Aug 2 2019, 12:14 AM)
yes, but was hoping they could open their mind and make the main quota as 500gb/1tb after quota cap speed like digi la.... not bad ald ald.... 150gb main quota abit low. 1tb walla a bit over... who might just stream from utube/netflix only... ugh....
then promo wrote 1150GB quota.... lol...

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Aug 2 2019, 09:02 AM)
yes, but b618 might not be good anymore...

5G, for better performance it might required to pair with 8x8mimo modem. as frequency are not long distance laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSfadzly
post Aug 4 2019, 10:13 AM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Aug 3 2019, 02:00 PM)
yes, but was hoping they could open their mind and make the main quota as 500gb/1tb after quota cap speed like digi la.... not bad ald ald.... 150gb main quota abit low. 1tb walla a bit over... who might just stream from utube/netflix only... ugh....
then promo wrote 1150GB quota.... lol...
yes, but b618 might not be good anymore...

5G, for better performance it might required to pair with 8x8mimo modem. as frequency are not long distance  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
And people use vpn for netflix and not using the walla quota
Maxieos
post Aug 5 2019, 01:22 AM

3,756 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Aug 1 2019, 06:03 AM)
Someone finally got their B618.
Guess TM has been hoarding it for their Unifi Air rollout since last month.
what freq band unifi air running ? sure congested if the whole area applying it.

dark_axl21
post Aug 5 2019, 05:07 AM

TUKANG
660 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 5 2019, 01:22 AM)
what freq band unifi air running ? sure congested if the whole area applying it.
No idea. 2.3 GHz?

SUSCandy12
post Aug 5 2019, 10:23 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(duckmanV @ Aug 5 2019, 10:52 AM)
LOL don't think too much 5G is way way far ahead.

need to wait - infrastructure upgrade
a few years for them to be bug-fix, be mature
and wait till them coverage your location

by the time 5G really well spreaded your b618 probably 4-5years old already
Observing 5G network very closely, for the time being it's more suited towards backhaul than providing consumer access.

Just look at Terragraph in Penang, they are using it more to reach high rise buildings as backhaul connection then share the connection throughout the building using existing copper wired technologies such as Gigawire.

In USA, Webpass also provides similar solution to high rise apartments, but the end connection is using regular ethernet switches at every floor connecting to the receiver at the rooftop to distribute internet access.

My point is 5G deployments will be very costly to deploy. Vendors are heavily pushing this technology because it involves lucrative tenders which will amount to billions everywhere in the world. They're lobbying governments to buy into this idea because they would gain access into public funds from our taxes to waste on their utopia idea.

A highly connected world is a prison-like world. That day is not far away just like the idea of smartphones that we have today.

This entire 5G idea is a highly lucrative idea to grab public funds from countries. Indeed a very corrupted corporations behind it.

It's better we proceed with the fiberization plan because fibre technology is getting cheaper and saturated by the day. We have plenty of silica from the ground to make glass wires than to invest heavily in initial unproven wireless technology with billions.

We can do more with a mature and proven technology.

63 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:29 AM