blacktubi
post Jul 28 2019, 11:33 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Jul 28 2019, 11:24 PM)
I am also trying to figure out, since my B618 auto updated and can't be used with digi, I have just applied for unifi (now available in my house area). Instead of wasting money buying a new router / wifi extender / mesh, thinking to try set up B618 either pppoe or use original unifi router and set up B618 as AP.
Was hoping somebody has experience using B618 as fibre router (pppoe). How's the performance vs stock unifi router.
B618 do not have VLAN tagging ability so it cannot dial into TM network.

The WiFi performance of B618 is weaker than TM current DIR-842 so using it as AP is pointless too.

Sell the B618 for around RM500, get a cheap TP-Link Archer A9 which is really good and you probably still got around RM200 to spare. wink.gif

You can sell the DIR-842 for RM50 too.
blacktubi
post Jul 29 2019, 09:03 AM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Jul 29 2019, 12:03 AM)
Thanks blacktubi for the advice!
I saw your tutorial on unifi pppoe setup etc. Will look into Archer A9. Is it powerful enough to cover a 3 storey house?

I got to research how to sell the B618 (celcom set, sim locked). I'm surprised people would still want to buy a locked unit.
For a 3 storey house, maybe you can consider a mesh WiFi system for the best WiFi coverage.

QUOTE(bahusi @ Jul 29 2019, 08:35 AM)
Sorry out of knowledge question, and thank for clearing our path
What about the "WAN" port, can I just plug in ethernet from unifi/time/maxis fiber RJ45(on the wall) and get internet access and distribute it via the WiFi(no plan using phone/lan port) can right? as the datasheet of B618 stated
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/07/29/5a8yKv.md.png' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/07/29/5a8yKv.md.png </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/07/29/5a8kxV.md.png' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/07/29/5a8kxV.md.png </a>
What is the change between B618 & DIR-842 or other premium router+modem? assuming fiber can get me 200-300Mbps
The thing with Unifi is it requires VLAN tagging which the B618 do not support.

The major difference between a good router and a cheap one is the Wireless range and performance.

A good router will get you better speed with good stability when you are further from the wireless router.
blacktubi
post Jul 29 2019, 10:20 AM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(bahusi @ Jul 29 2019, 09:37 AM)
Ohh so only unifi will be affected only lah.
Afaik if Unifi got coverage = Maxis got  I'm going for maxis/time anyway So it will not be a problem with the VLan I guess?

but Yeah I notice everyone is recommending the Asus router brand even at "other country" forum, I guess they are top quality
Maxis requires VLAN as well.

0.0130sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:31 AM