[DIY] S&P 500 Index w/ 0.07% Annual Fee, Buy the best companies in the world

jas029
post May 15 2020, 11:39 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 6 2020, 09:32 AM)
I will never use Etoro. My options will always be interactive broker or trading212.
with trading 212, are u investing in real stock or etf?

and if so, does the underlying asset u're holding is under ur own name or certain nominees?
Ramjade
post May 16 2020, 12:28 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(jas029 @ May 15 2020, 11:39 PM)
with trading 212, are u investing in real stock or etf?

and if so, does the underlying asset u're holding is under ur own name or certain nominees?
You can choose stock or etf. Up to you.

Of course custodian. You can forget about under own name unless you open a local brokerage in that country (fly there, open account/email and see if they accept you)
Ramjade
post May 16 2020, 12:32 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Soya0883 @ May 15 2020, 11:58 PM)
hi all sifus here, what is the best way to buy us stocks? tq in advance
Kindly read first page of this thread
jas029
post May 16 2020, 08:54 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 16 2020, 12:28 AM)
You can choose stock or etf. Up to you.

Of course custodian. You can forget about under own name unless you open a local brokerage in that country (fly there, open account/email and see if they accept you)
understood..

so far do u face any problem under their custodian/nominee? i mean, assuming u hold stocks or etf, does receiving of dividend smooth? do u face any problem when the stock conduct rights issue or share split? and all these corporate exercises are being charged a fee?
encikbuta
post May 16 2020, 09:52 AM

275 posts

so i've been invested into StashAway for a year now and thinking of making the switch to picking/choosing ETFs on my own to save on management fees. Currently, StashAway is charging 0.8% p.a. management fee since i'm holding less than RM50k in their account.

i've been glancing thru this thread and there really isn't a clear cut answer on which broker is most suited for my purpose so maybe I could ask your help to clue me in? Basically looking for a StashAway 'replacement' with lower fees and allows me to conduct DCA of RM500/month to purchase USA-based ETFs. Plan to hold long term and not intending to day trade.

I see so many fees in these alternative brokers like inactivity fees, withdrawal fees, min deposits, etc that i'm confused.

heck, maybe just sticking to StashAway is the way to go for sum1 like me? maybe taking everything into account, 0.8% p.a. fee charged by StashAway isn't that high at all?
brokenbomb
post May 16 2020, 10:02 AM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(encikbuta @ May 16 2020, 09:52 AM)
so i've been invested into StashAway for a year now and thinking of making the switch to picking/choosing ETFs on my own to save on management fees. Currently, StashAway is charging 0.8% p.a. management fee since i'm holding less than RM50k in their account.

i've been glancing thru this thread and there really isn't a clear cut answer on which broker is most suited for my purpose so maybe I could ask your help to clue me in? Basically looking for a StashAway 'replacement' with lower fees and allows me to conduct DCA of RM500/month to purchase USA-based ETFs. Plan to hold long term and not intending to day trade.

I see so many fees in these alternative brokers like inactivity fees, withdrawal fees, min deposits, etc that i'm confused.

heck, maybe just sticking to StashAway is the way to go for sum1 like me? maybe taking everything into account, 0.8% p.a. fee charged by StashAway isn't that high at all?
Haha been into your situation before.

But after reading this

“Because of brokerage charge (see the charge above), Alex suggest keep rm18k then hoot, like that you get maximum saving. If not, every transaction 4 euro painful oh, unless you don't mind with that. “

Adui stick to SA la. Haha.
nguminhuang P
post May 16 2020, 11:13 AM

Probation
37 posts

4 euro =RM 18 , that is my 6 months stashaway fee, that why i still stick to SA.

tadashi987
post May 16 2020, 12:18 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(nguminhuang @ May 16 2020, 11:13 AM)
4 euro =RM 18 , that is my 6 months stashaway fee, that why i still stick to SA.
I DCA quarterly, one quarter a cup of Starbucks for me, I think it is ok hehe
SUSMNet
post May 16 2020, 04:15 PM

11,954 posts

u can try etoro no fee per trade
https://www.etoro.com/trading/market-hours-.../?category=etfs

eToro fees – General information
eToro does not charge a deposit or clearing fees.

eToro charges a flat $5 fee on all withdrawals. The minimum withdrawal amount is $30.

Long (BUY), non-leveraged stock and ETF positions are not executed as CFDs and do not incur commission (they incur conversion and withdrawal fees).
thesnake
post May 16 2020, 04:19 PM

613 posts

i was like you as well, have the same dilemma. however, after reading this thread, it dosent fit my DCA aspiration, as you need to lump sum rm18k to invest.. to me, i fee this is too mush hassle to manage and i feel the 0.8% fees from SA seems worth the hassle. therefore will stick to SA for now.
xcxa23
post May 16 2020, 05:33 PM

2,649 posts

After I found out, min recommended DCA 18k otherwise each DCA charge euro 4. I give up.

The most I can cough up for DCA per month is 3k.
Or I can wait 6 month then only DCA but cost of opportunity, Big drop or big bull might happen.

I invest with sa due to their high exposure in the US. Now they reduce it almost by half..
Aduh..
TSalexkos
post May 16 2020, 06:36 PM

2,275 posts

No Choi la cute fund go hoot tradestation 7k cukup
encikbuta
post May 17 2020, 07:24 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 16 2020, 04:15 PM)

eToro charges a flat $5 fee on all withdrawals. The minimum withdrawal amount is $30.

Long (BUY), non-leveraged stock and ETF positions are not executed as CFDs and do not incur commission (they incur conversion and withdrawal fees).
Oh cool. Do you have first hand experience investing in ETF using e-Toro? Is it REALLY zero commission and they trade actual stocks (instead of CFD)?

Coz I've been reading that we need to write to e-Toro to change our account to non-CFD. Something like switching to UK account. Then once again, min deposit applies.
zenquix
post May 17 2020, 11:27 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 16 2020, 04:15 PM)

yeah.. interested to hear from MNet. I read so many bad reviews that I am thinking twice.

QUOTE(encikbuta @ May 17 2020, 07:24 AM)
Oh cool. Do you have first hand experience investing in ETF using e-Toro? Is it REALLY zero commission and they trade actual stocks (instead of CFD)?

Coz I've been reading that we need to write to e-Toro to change our account to non-CFD. Something like switching to UK account. Then once again, min deposit applies.
I read that you need to transfer to Europe (UK) account instead of Australia (for Malaysia) and change leverage to x1.
Syncing
post May 17 2020, 11:37 PM

150 posts

Bought my first RM 1k worth two weeks ago, although not in the S&P500 ETF.

Anyways, if you choose TradeStation as your broker, the fee per order is only 1.75 euro and not 4 euro. To be more specific, the minimum amount is 1.75 but to 'maximise' returns, 1.5k euro/ard RM7k would be the min amount.

1.75 euro vs 4 euro is relatively quite a big difference (50%+ cheaper), so I think that should help you stomach the fees for a smaller DCA amounts.

keenauto
post May 18 2020, 10:59 PM

13 posts

Is there any difference between these two?
roarus
post May 18 2020, 11:49 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(keenauto @ May 18 2020, 10:59 PM)

They track different indexes, but the top 10 is the same and both are highly correlated with each other. For the same expense ratio, I'd pick IUIT - it has bigger AUM and larger volume.
moosset
post May 19 2020, 10:34 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(keenauto @ May 18 2020, 10:59 PM)

QUOTE(roarus @ May 18 2020, 11:49 PM)
They track different indexes, but the top 10 is the same and both are highly correlated with each other. For the same expense ratio, I'd pick IUIT - it has bigger AUM and larger volume.
better to choose IUIT (USD) or QDVE (EUR)?

torn between usd vs eur.
roarus
post May 19 2020, 12:26 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ May 19 2020, 10:34 AM)
better to choose IUIT (USD) or QDVE (EUR)?

torn between usd vs eur.
The underlying fund is the same, just difference pricing currency/exchange. Buy in the currency that will cost you the least to fund in
e.g.
if Instarem, you can fund directly in EUR and not USD choose EUR
if SGD bank, you convert within broker SGD to EUR/USD no difference
catchmeifyoucan
post May 25 2020, 05:47 PM

70 posts

Quick question - Using tradestation do we need to download the program to purchase ETFs or can just buy direct on their page? Thanks sifus.

72 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:41 PM