198 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

r2t2
post Apr 25 2019, 05:25 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(look416 @ Apr 25 2019, 05:18 PM)
Its impossible for you to use wechat pay in Japan now. They only accepts china region wallet and even if you have china region wallet, you are required to do China IC Verfication in order to use it in overseas. Just use cash/cards. Want cashless, put a lot of money into IC Cards, IC cards nowadays is widely accepted by the stores.
I see, even if I can use WeChat Wallet (RMB) in China, I can't use it in Japan coz of identity verification. Too bad. sad.gif

IC cards ... ya, that's the easiest, but like I wrote, if lost the card, everything gone lor.
blancpain4470
post Apr 25 2019, 05:50 PM

1,063 posts

We will be having a family outing (8 including my mom) to Osaka/Kyoto. Since my mom is old we are going to try to get a local tour to cover the two cities. Any suggestion or help? Thanks
WhiteMaker
post Apr 25 2019, 11:28 PM

158 posts

Hi all,
Need someone to confirm.

My flight arrival to Haneda Airport is estimate 10.30pm on Monday. Heading to Asakusa accomodation straight.
So when I refer page 1 for info. It provide info from website as below:

"Many Keihin Kyuko trains go through Toei Subway Asakusa line. You need to change the train at Keikyu Kamata or Sengakuji. But you can change it at the same platform most of times.

Weekday : Haneda 23:39 -> (Keihin Kyuko Airport Express) -> 23:50 Keikyu Kamata 23:52 -> (Keihin Kyuko Rapid Limited Express) -> 00:23 Asakusa"

So basically if I can catch the train, I can take the Keikyu-Kuko Line at 11.39pm like below?

So if I miss the train, alternative is either take the limousine bus or stay at the airport for next departure? In that case wouldn't that be super rush to catch on the train? sweat.gif
sacwoc
post Apr 26 2019, 08:32 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(r2t2 @ Apr 25 2019, 05:25 PM)
I see, even if I can use WeChat Wallet (RMB) in China, I can't use it in Japan coz of identity verification. Too bad.  sad.gif

IC cards ... ya, that's the easiest, but like I wrote, if lost the card, everything gone lor.
If you travel in the cities, credit card is widely used. Even if you buy something that cost 100yen in Lawson you can pay by credit card. I think you can link your suica to your Apple/Android Phone. But I think its only for phones in Japan.
Omamori_gamaguchi P
post Apr 26 2019, 08:48 AM

Probation

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT207155

This is for how to link suica to Apple phone, only new iphone can be linked.
Veron83
post Apr 26 2019, 09:24 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(look416 @ Apr 25 2019, 05:18 PM)
Its impossible for you to use wechat pay in Japan now. They only accepts china region wallet and even if you have china region wallet, you are required to do China IC Verfication in order to use it in overseas. Just use cash/cards. Want cashless, put a lot of money into IC Cards, IC cards nowadays is widely accepted by the stores.
How about line pay?

I know that there are some other Japan mobile payment gateway like PayPay but the apps are only available in Japan region.

r2t2
post Apr 26 2019, 09:42 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Apr 26 2019, 08:32 AM)
If you travel in the cities, credit card is widely used. Even if you buy something that cost 100yen in Lawson you can pay by credit card. I think you can link your suica to your Apple/Android Phone. But I think its only for phones in Japan.
My credit card rate usually not so good ... but will try using BigPay next time.
Heheh, we're deviating a bit from the question that Veron83 asked ... any famous mobile payment apps used in Osaka, prefer cashless, security concern, etc.

QUOTE(Omamori_gamaguchi @ Apr 26 2019, 08:48 AM)
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT207155
This is for how to link suica to Apple phone, only new iphone can be linked.
Nice. iPhone 8 and above no need to be Japan purchased model. Apple Watch Series 3 also can.
I'm only using old iPhone tho sad.gif
But it's a total replacement, it said, "Your plastic Suica card will no longer be usable. Your 500 Yen Suica card deposit will be added to your Suica balance in Apple Pay." ... had to be like that, I guess, else hard to synchronize the balance in physical card and virtual card.

For latest iPhone / Apple Watch users, I think this is the current best compromise between security and convenience.
For me, I guess cash + IC card + credit cards still the way for now.
holdredial1234
post Apr 26 2019, 02:00 PM

29 posts

dear guys,

Anyone can confirm if we Malaysians require International Driver's License (IDP) to drive around in Japan nowadays ? Tried to search forum but no concrete answer.

Some say :

Yes - Because renting a car needs IDP.

No - Because our driver license already contain English words https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3353405/all

In the end, I'm still rclxub.gif
Omamori_gamaguchi P
post Apr 26 2019, 02:41 PM

Probation

QUOTE(holdredial1234 @ Apr 26 2019, 02:00 PM)
dear guys,

Anyone can confirm if we Malaysians require International Driver's License (IDP) to drive around in Japan nowadays ?  Tried to search forum but no concrete answer.

Some say :

No - Because our driver license already contain English words https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3353405/all

In the end, I'm still  rclxub.gif
https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2022.html

better apply, pay RM150 a year and be safe than sorry, even Mario Cart also required IDP fyi. I am sure your flight ticket cost more than that.
deodorant
post Apr 26 2019, 03:31 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Anyone can confirm if we Malaysians require International Driver's License (IDP) to drive around in Japan nowadays ?  Tried to search forum but no concrete answer.
100% confirm plus chop you need IDP for Japan.
musteng
post Apr 26 2019, 05:07 PM

181 posts

dear guys,

Some say :

Confirm need IDP. Failed to show IDP = All The Best
musteng
post Apr 26 2019, 05:08 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 26 2019, 03:31 PM)
100% confirm plus chop you need IDP for Japan.
What is the Chop by the way?
deodorant
post Apr 26 2019, 05:20 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(musteng @ Apr 26 2019, 05:08 PM)
What is the Chop by the way?

Oops lol.

Confirm plus Chop Singlish Shortened from "confirm plus guarantee got chop" To mean that you are extremely sure of something (derives from National Service/Military situations where one needs to be absolutely sure about something; guarantee got chop denotes that the action and whatever subsequent paperwork, if any, will be approved). Basically "officially sanctioned."

johnseamus
post Apr 27 2019, 12:30 AM

831 posts

hey guys, any recommended SIM card or data plan for osaka?

can i get it at the airport? What would be my best option to namba station at night ? taking airasia flight so reaching osaka near to 10 pm
WhiteMaker
post Apr 27 2019, 11:05 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Apr 27 2019, 12:30 AM)

can i get it at the airport? What would be my best option to namba station at night ? taking airasia flight so reaching osaka near to 10 pm
https://umobile.jp/lp/prepaid_eng/

Airport got. But must pay with credit card.
kucingfight
post Apr 27 2019, 03:57 PM

5,784 posts

dear guys,

Some say :

yes, you need it. they checked it during my rentals in hokkaido and nagoya
BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 28 2019, 04:06 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,147 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Apr 12 2019, 03:09 PM)
Ok let's say I want to add Arima Onsen, which part of my itinerary below can be changed to allow for that?

Day 01: Arrive into Osaka (17th Nov) around 12pm from Okinawa. Purchase a HARUKA/ICOCA package and head off to Kyoto. Hotel for the next 5 nights will be Sotetsu Fresa Shijo-Karasuma. Any suggestions on what to do after checking in for the rest of the day/night? Was thinking of taking a leisurely stroll around Southern Higashiyama.

Day 02: Ginkakuji - Honen-in - Philosopher's Path - Yojiya Cafe - Shinnyodo - Eikando - Nanzenji then free & easy for the rest of the day, maybe some shopping at night?

Day 03: Fushimi Inari - Tofukuji - Sanjusangendo - Kiyomizudera - Sannenzaka/Ninenzaka/Ishibei Koji - Kodaiji then free & easy for the rest of the day

Day 04: Visit the Arashiyama bamboo grove early morning then the plan is to do the route between Otagi Nebutsuji and Tenryuji, stopping at the various temples in between. Not sure which route to take yet, can do either directions. Finish off a long day at Fufu no yu before going back to hotel.

Day 05: Kinkakuji - Ryoanji - Ninnaji - Kitano Tenmangu - Nijo Castle then free & easy for the rest of the day

Day 06: Check out from hotel then visit Nishiki Market before heading off to Osaka around noon. Rest of the day free & easy at Osaka. Hotel for the next 5 nights will be The Bridge Hotel Shinsaibashi

Day 07: Full day at Osaka for shopping, eating and the castle maybe

Day 08: Day trip to Himeji Castle & the garden then stop by Kobe on the way back to Osaka, using Kansai Area Pass for this one I believe

Day 09: Day trip to Nara

Day 10: Day trip to Minoo Park

Day 11: Leave for Tokyo

Day 12: Free & easy in Tokyo

Day 13: Leave for KL
Quoted for reference. me 6 pax in coming october, stay 5 nights in Kyoto and 5 nights in Osaka.

anyone can recommend any data package for 6 pax for 10 days? no need call, cheaper better, accomodation already got free wifi.

btw, i booked acommodation from Agoda via Trivago.
the final price book directly from Agoda is more expensive than Agoda via Trivago.
Human Nature
post Apr 28 2019, 12:45 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

I am planning to go to nagoya oct or nov but the cheapest flight ticket I managed to find is above RM1000 with Airasia. Willing to go in other months if can get sub RM800 fare. Anyone has any info to share?

On a side note, anyone did the walking trail magome-tsumago in kiso valley?
WhiteMaker
post Apr 28 2019, 08:53 PM

158 posts

Does anyone has Nikko All Area Pass-Train Schedule for express train?
Search in google, can't find any.
I just need to know what time is the last train depart.

It seems that Nikko All Area Pass only available for local and express train. Limited express train still need to pay.

This post has been edited by WhiteMaker: Apr 28 2019, 08:54 PM
MR_alien
post Apr 29 2019, 08:23 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Apr 27 2019, 12:30 AM)

arriving at KIX at 9.30, u still can take the train to osaka(namba station)

198 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:21 AM