13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

fruitie
post Aug 10 2019, 05:21 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

It has been more than 4 years since I dropped by this thread, I'm here again because I will have a trip to Japan this November. laugh.gif This round will be two weeks spread across Kansai and Kyushu. I don't have plan yet where to go in Kyushu as I have not been there but at least I know I will travel to Kyushu from Osaka and going back to Kyoto from Kyushu. By looking at this situation, I feel it's wiser for me to use Shinkansen to travel Kansai-Kyushu-Kansai? In that case, Nationwide JR Pass will be good right?

I will be in Kyushu for 7 days and I read from online blogs, to travel within Kyushu can depend on JR lines? In that case, I will take up 7 days pass and in Kansai, I will just probably buy something like Kansai Travel Pass which I have bought before.

Sorry, I haven't been researching on this Japan trip because I was busy earlier with my Europe trip. tongue.gif So pardon me. So far I have booked accommodations in Kansai but not Kyushu yet and I will be in Japan during peak - Autumn in November. Good luck to us. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Aug 11 2019, 12:09 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 10 2019, 11:56 PM)
JR control Kyushu 80% of Rail network
5% Fukuoka Subway (Private)
5% Kumamoto tram (Private)
5% Nagasaki tram (Private)
5% Kagoshima tram (Private)

JR Sanyo-San-in Northern Kyushu 7 Day Pass are Ultimate choice for you.
22,000 Yen
Oh, I don't need the nationwide pass? I will be crossing region right? From Osaka and back to Kyoto, no need to buy the pass covers whole Japan?
fruitie
post Aug 11 2019, 12:40 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 11 2019, 12:35 PM)
Yeah, Googled and found it. Thanks for the suggestion! This pass that's it, at least can save 7k Yen.
fruitie
post Aug 12 2019, 12:00 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Aug 12 2019, 09:20 AM)
will you be taking the hello kitty shinkansen? not sure if that service is still running or not
Yeah, most likely I will. I Googled and it has schedule until September only, will see if it will be updated later.

Since this is my first time to Kyushu and based on RC's suggestion to buy JR Sanyo-San-in Northern Kyushu 7 Day Pass, so looks like I will cover only Northern area this round, does this schedule make any sense? We actually dislike dragging luggage around and changing hotel every 1-2 days once, need your advice and comment as we need to book our accommodation. Willing to let go some places but major ones like Fukuoka, Nagasaki and Beppu should be included?

Day 1: Osaka - Fukuoka
Day 2: Fukuoka - Nagasaki
Day 3: Nagasaki
Day 4: Nagasaki - Kumamoto - Mt. Aso (can skip this if we can't figure out the transportation as no intention to drive in Japan) - Beppu
Day 5: Beppu and Yufuin for Onsen.
Day 6: Beppu - Kitakyushu - Fukuoka
Day 7: Fukuoka - Kyoto

In addition to the above schedule advice, can somebody help me with these questions?
1) Can we travel straight from Nagasaki to Kumamoto using this JR Pass? Or no matter what I will need to go back to Hakata and travel from Hakata?

2) Can I travel back to Kyoto (Station) from Fukuoka using this JR pass? Or it has to be Osaka? Or cannot travel back to Kansai at all?

Thanks. notworthy.gif
fruitie
post Aug 12 2019, 06:11 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 12 2019, 03:58 PM)
i also have plan for northern Kyushu next year spring.
my plan somehow similar, tho not yet finalize.

it would go something like this,
Day 1: reach Fukuoka (evening)
Day 2: Fukuoka
Day 3: Nagasaki
Day 4: Nagasaki
Day 5: either return Fukuoka, then day trip to Kumamoto or Ferry to Kumamoto, luggage drop at locker, then retire the night at Fukuoka
Day 6: daytrip Oita, Beppu/Yufuin
Day 7: daytrip Kitakyushu
Day 8~final day: Fukuoka

Day 3-7 will be using JR 5days Kyushu Northern Pass.

Day 1-2, staying Fukuoka,
Day 3-4, Nagasaki
Day 5~, Fukuoka

so for ur question,
1) There is ferry from Nagasaki to Kumamoto, duration around 30min, costs around 1.1k yen.
2) Yes, but need transfer at Osaka or Okayama ( according to this https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e4802.html?aFROM=2158_2161 )
Thanks for sharing yours, it gives me some idea. So am I right to say you will only stay at Fukuoka and Nagasaki? The reason why I think of putting two nights in Beppu is for onsen only.

1) Appreciate it. Apparently there's a train that runs from Nagasaki to Kumamoto via Tosu https://www.tripadvisor.com.my/ShowTopic-g2...ure_Kyushu.html, then I can utilize the JR pass.

2) For the JR pass I'm getting covers Nozomi I think: https://www.westjr.co.jp/global/en/ticket/ssnk/ and based on your link it goes directly to Kyoto Station. If any transfer is also fine with us.
fruitie
post Aug 13 2019, 12:05 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 12 2019, 10:44 PM)
same reason as u, dun like dragging luggage around. n also i like my trip to be flexible, if day 5 Kumamoto is raining, i can swap it with Beppu/Kitakyuhsu
Ryokan seem nice but sked not in our budget.

1) i haven't compare the route, hence just remind myself there is ferry there.
2) wow, i din know tat JR passes cover Nozomi. most JR passes dun cover Nozomi.
We try to be as flexible as possible this time, hence we will have two weeks this round to cover Kansai and Northern Kyushu. Hopefully no rushing as both of us just want to spend time together and walking slowly to enjoy the view. We are not living in the same country, one year only meet once or twice. cry.gif

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 12 2019, 11:27 PM)
Last time I used Kansai WIDE Area Pass also can ride Nozomi Shinkansen up to between Okayama and Osaka. I guess any pass above 7k or 9k will cover it, including the 22k pass discussed above.
icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeah, I'm surprised to see it covers Nozomi. laugh.gif

Anyway, if I want to book Shinkansen rides with JR Pass, I can only do it in the JR centre right? Looks like gotta spend some time there when we are in Osaka. Prefer to reserve seats and hope to get seats in Hello Kitty Shinkansen. Is there any way I can book Shinkansen rides online? Last time when I travelled from Tokyo to Osaka, I just bought the ticket separately in Shinjuku as I didn't buy any JR Pass that time. tongue.gif
fruitie
post Aug 13 2019, 10:03 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 13 2019, 09:03 AM)
tat pass seem ok for reserved seat. n yea, u can do it on JR centre.
1st time i went to claim my JR pass, i do it while reserving my shinkansen seat with it together.
u can claim ur JR pass n reserved ur seat early even if the day u claim ur JR pass is not active on the day u claim it. as long as ur shinkansen travel is within ur JR pass active duration.
QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Aug 13 2019, 09:27 AM)
I may be wrong but don't think can book Shinkansen rides online unless you you're buying a full priced ticket on JR East 1 month before travelling.
Important to enjoy your quality time together then if only meet once/twice a year, no rushing.
Some luxury ryokan stays would be nice  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Chaud @ Aug 13 2019, 09:52 AM)
i forgot but i reserve before with JR pass. when you got the JR pass, you can reserve the seat on the spot or reserve the seat online.

if you reserve online then you will have to bring along your credit/debit used for the reservation for verification purpose. then when you collect your pass, at the same time collect your reserved seat ticket. You won't get charge for reservation unless you ffk on the actual time laugh.gif
Alright, I will do it when I collect my pass later. biggrin.gif That's easier then.

Will purchase my pass from Taobao and it is much cheaper than elsewhere, almost 3300 yen cheaper for my case. The only thing is this seller has to send a hard copy exchange document to an address and luckily the person going to travel with me is from China. tongue.gif You guys can use this as reference if you want to buy any JR Pass. smile.gif
fruitie
post Aug 13 2019, 11:33 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 13 2019, 11:20 AM)
Japan welcoming Olympic 2020. JR Rail Pass system also been upgraded.
Now you no needed claim passes from JR Central Office. You can printed it out from Machine (Light Blue Color) (24Hrs)
Select Language to English (Skip this part if you know Japanese)
Just need key in Exchange Order Number + Activation Date. Then Scan your Passport to confirm is you.
Done.
I still prefer old way because I can chit chat with the girls  biggrin.gif
Awesome! I hope this machine is everywhere but since I'm looking to book Shinkansen, I will still need to drop by their office. hmm.gif
fruitie
post Aug 13 2019, 04:02 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(dealer.merchant @ Aug 13 2019, 03:08 PM)
Thanks. is express pass recommended? will be on a Friday if i were to do USJ.
Yes, Friday is going to be crazy. I will get mine too even I will go on a Wednesday and considered low peak.
Not going to waste much time to queue.
fruitie
post Aug 13 2019, 04:38 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

Any recommended ryokan in Kyushu? I also don't know how to allocate budget, let's say 15k to 30k? Hmm. 2 pax a bit too extreme right for the budget? Then one pax.. I tried to Google and I'm so lost. laugh.gif

Need our own private space. laugh.gif Either 2D1N or 3D2N (again depending on the budget lol).
fruitie
post Aug 13 2019, 04:50 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Aug 13 2019, 04:42 PM)
15k ringgit per pax? that price go europe better sweat.gif

onsen average per night should be around RM600++
15k yen la per night. Europe never mind, I just came back from Europe. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Aug 13 2019, 06:52 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

OK, got one so-called Ryokan in Yufu, surprisingly quite cheap for only RM 600 per night for two pax. Probably due to the not so strategic location but it provides pick up from JR Yufuin. So, it is fine with us.

Next up, hotel in Fukuoka, Nagasaki and Beppu. Instead of just three hotels, now become four. laugh.gif

If you guys have any suggestion, please feel free to share. I haven't researched much on Kyushu yet, thought of booking places to stay first and plot our visitation points later. tongue.gif
fruitie
post Aug 14 2019, 09:21 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Aug 14 2019, 09:18 AM)
yea RM600 is normal (for 2) laugh.gif

after the trip, do review your stay at the ryokan rclxms.gif
I think it's not real ryokan, one of the authentic ones costs RM 2k/night (the one we wanted tongue.gif), the rest cheaper around 1k per night is fine with us but shared bathroom which I don't like. So chose this instead, has private bathroom and onsen.
fruitie
post Aug 14 2019, 09:44 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Aug 14 2019, 09:36 AM)
Hope I will not give up visiting Japan again.
I kinda regret to issued ticket for 12 days. maybe 7 days is enough if Tokyo alone. is 12 days in tokyo kinda boring?
For me 12 days for Tokyo is a lot, my last trip few years ago I split 12 days for Tokyo + Kansai.
This round will be Kansai + Kyushu for 14 days.

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 14 2019, 09:39 AM)
RM600 ryokan with private onsen? thats cheap.
Maybe I need to rephrase, not the natural onsen, just hot tub I think but at least it's ours and not sharing with anyone. But the onsen outside is very near to hotel, so can drop by if we want.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Aug 14 2019, 09:44 AM
fruitie
post Aug 14 2019, 10:32 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Aug 14 2019, 10:07 AM)
why do you keep going to kansai? not boring? I regret not Book to osaka instead. look like kansai is more lively than Tokyo. is JR pass the shortest 7 days? look at klook the price already 1k. 1/3 of my budget. actually if combine with my waifu our budget are 6k. for 12 days do you recommend me to explore only Tokyo or extend to kansai? if got JR pass all are free or must pay another transport fees to the attraction places?
Why still Kansai this round? Because my travel partner wants to spend autumn in Kyoto specifically. laugh.gif
Last trip I didn't take any JR Pass because I didn't need it, I only used Pasmo and Kansai Thru Pass as these cities are more accessible without JR lines (that's my opinion). Transportation is expensive in Japan, so really need to plan well.

JR only covers transportation (JR line and certain Shinkansen). My last trip I landed in Tokyo and flew out from Osaka. In between, I travelled with Shinkansen to Osaka. Honestly, your budget is not really a lot for 2 persons (excluding your baby). I spent around 3.5k in my last trip and I had free accommodation courtesy of my friends in Tokyo and Kobe (for my entire Kansai trip I travelled in out Kobe daily lol). One thing I didn't skim on my spending that time and went all out.

This round just accommodation (I haven't booked Fukuoka, Nagasaki and Beppu yet) we have spent almost RM 4k but we are going during Autumn peak. We haven't included JR pass yet for Kyushu and USJ with express ticket. I dare not think of the final amount. laugh.gif Good thing is we have pre-paid big amounts before we actually arrive in Japan, so when we are in Japan, we will only spend on food and city transportation.

For this trip, we have allocated RM 10k each. I don't think we will spend that much and hoping we won't. laugh.gif
I just came back from Europe about two weeks ago and spent a lot too for a fortnight trip. I may tag along to another Europe trip again end of the year so I think I have burst a lot of budgets this year. laugh.gif What I was trying to say is it doesn't matter whether it's Tokyo or Osaka, the spending is still a lot. You will need to increase your budget especially you have a young baby with you, so you will need a comfortable place for your family. If you are just travelling with your spouse, then can simply sleep in capsule hotels or hostel.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Aug 14 2019, 10:39 AM
fruitie
post Aug 14 2019, 11:09 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 14 2019, 11:02 AM)
Last time go 14days tokyo + kansai, kansai is very fun, tokyo is kinda bored me. regret putting 5 days only at kansai. ended up went to unplanned Nikko day trip from tokyo.
Last year autumn foliage go kansai, 13 Days. feel not enough but Osaka is kinda bored me out even tho we used it as travelling hub to Himeji n Kobe. Kyoto is fun tho.
oh. still ok, got private bath area. i dun mind ryokan without private bath. as long got onsen biggrin.gif
Yeah, Tokyo is too city for me but I guess I spent enough for the trip.
We won't spend a lot of time in Osaka basically just for us to touch down and put a night before going to Nara day trip and USJ on the next day. After that will travel to Kyushu, after Kyushu will be in Kyoto for 5 days and final day in Osaka because we will be travelling out from KIX.

I think it has onsen inside the hotel, just not private, gotta share with other customers. Let me read through again. I'm OK without onsen but not my travel partner. laugh.gif sweat.gif
However, I'm not OK with shared bathroom.
fruitie
post Aug 14 2019, 01:35 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(maxomeara @ Aug 14 2019, 01:29 PM)
Thanks for the info. I was hoping can find some in Family Marts / Lawson  biggrin.gif  I guess will be much easier buying them at the airport then.

Anyway how confusing is the Tokyo Metro system actually? I've been to some cities with extensive metro lines in Europe but from what I've read, nothing compares to how complicated the railway system in Tokyo is.  bangwall.gif
I can say Tokyo metro lines are far more complicated than the ones I had in Europe.
But if you see the routes correctly (download one high resolution copy in your phone), it is manageable.
fruitie
post Aug 15 2019, 01:39 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Aug 14 2019, 06:00 PM)
Just found cheap hotel in Osaka. Hotel diamond.
1 room for 2 people 2800 yen only ma.
Everyone's expectation/preference is different when it comes to spending.
I personally won't choose this Diamond Hotel, but that's just me. So choose whichever you are happy with and enjoy it.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 14 2019, 06:54 PM)
Just go Tokyo more often like me. You will memories it too.
laugh.gif The world is big, there are other places to visit. tongue.gif
After visiting Japan for the first time in 4 years ago, I really thought I won't be returning to Japan in these 10 years as I have a list of places to travel to. I love going to new places, countries. However, this time being asked to join, I gladly accepted because we hardly meet each other.
fruitie
post Aug 15 2019, 09:02 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(issac96 @ Aug 15 2019, 08:51 AM)
Hi guys I'll be travelling to Japan this Saturday and I'm currently looking at the Sim Card/ WiFi rental deals, I couldn't find a good one. They are expensive XD. Anymore recommendations that I could take a look at? Thanks in adv
Saturday? I think a bit too late now. I'm not a fan of MiFi rental due to battery and coverage if travel in a bunch. If the person holding that thing and walks away, everyone will have no Internet.

Since your time is a bit constraint now, you can get SIM card from Hello1010 and drop by their office to collect. I pre-ordered my SIM card from Shopee at around RM 107 for 30GB/15 days.
fruitie
post Aug 15 2019, 10:17 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(faizfizy39 @ Aug 15 2019, 10:04 AM)
Hi fellow travelers,

I'll be flying directly to FUK from KUL at the end of September and staying for about 8 days with my wife. Planning to do Northern Kyushu trip. Honestly, I haven't prepare anything at all and just start researching about Kyushu earlier this week. I never been in Japan, in fact, this is my first time travelling out of the country tongue.gif

Seems like it's quite late to prepare the itinerary? blush.gif I hope it is not too late since the I believe it is not in a peak season right?

My plan is to do counter-clockwise loop with 7 days Northers Kyushu JR pass but haven't finalize my itinerary and where to sleep yet. Thinking of sleeping 1 night at different places but not sure how feasible is that in reality.

My route draft at the moment (after looking the attractions online):
Airport ➡ Yanagawa ➡ Saga ➡ Takeo (sleep) ➡ Arita ➡ Nagasaki (sleep) ➡ Unzen (sleep) ➡ Shimabara ➡ Kumumoto (sleep)  ➡ Amakusa Day Trip ➡ Aso (sleep) ➡ Yufu & Beppu (sleep) ➡ Fukuoka (sleep)

I haven't look in the transportation yet and probably will still add or remove few places after that.

I'm looking to have mix budget (backpackers) for some days and semi-luxury experience (honeymoon) for few days, can anyone recommend where to spend and where to budget (mainly in term of lodging)? And how much budget is reasonable?

I'm not inclining to opt for the full travel package since I want to feel the thrill to explore new places and maybe get myself lost a bit tongue.gif
Do you mind sharing the ryokan name?
My first time to Kyushu too. I really try to avoid sleeping in different hotels everyday because it is tired, we went through the pain in China last year, 8D7N and 7 hotels. laugh.gif
However, for this Kyushu trip, I managed to squeeze 4 hotels in 7 days, I wanted 3 but oh well. laugh.gif

This is the so-called ryokan, not really ryokan in my opinion: https://www.agoda.com/ryokan-yufusan/hotel/...p.html?cid=-218

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1540sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:48 PM