Travel Yogjakarta / jogja, Solo & Semarang, borobudor, Prambanan & Dieng

stimix
post Dec 11 2013, 10:30 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 11 2013, 12:22 AM)
But u guys went somewhere else equally far right? For example from jogja to dieng, what transport u use?

2 hours....imagine taking taxi from KL to port dickson hmm.gif , dun think it's possible. Hopefully can book local tour from hotel.
Dieng Platieu is far. Very far. just like traveling from KL to CH for sure haha. It took me almost 3.5hr to reach the 2st spot in Dieng. Transport? Just get those from the hotel or surrounding area but all those are via agents and thus, there surely mark-up the price. I got mine for rp450K to Dieng. Any good way is to book direct. You can try google for "Mobil sewa Jogja"and just call them via skype & etc...Cheaper this way, No agency fee
Blue07
post Dec 11 2013, 11:36 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 10 2013, 04:01 PM)
1) Taxi willing to take me from Jogja to Gunung Kidul area? It's around 2 hours away I think.

2) In Gunung Kidul area, I'm interested to go to Pindul cave, sri gethuk waterfall and pantai indrayanti. Are they within walking distance?

Based on map of these places on the Yogyes site, they don't look like walking distance. I'm also interested to go to the Gunung Kidul area - either Sri Gethuk + Rancang Kencono or Gua Jomblang + Luweng Grubug. If you find a good rate for a driver to to go Gunung Kidul please let me know.

If you can ride a motorcycle, this blog post might interest you as it has pretty precise directions how to get to Sri Gethuk. Unfortunately, I can't ride one sad.gif

http://tastetalks.com/2013/08/07/gunung-kidul-bleberan/

This post has been edited by Blue07: Dec 11 2013, 11:37 AM
danielcmugen
post Dec 11 2013, 12:48 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 11 2013, 10:30 AM)
Dieng Platieu is far. Very far. just like traveling from KL to CH for sure haha. It took me almost 3.5hr to reach the 2st spot in Dieng. Transport? Just get those from the hotel or surrounding area but all those are via agents and thus, there surely mark-up the price. I got mine for rp450K to Dieng. Any good way is to book direct. You can try google for "Mobil sewa Jogja"and just call them via skype & etc...Cheaper this way, No agency fee
Thx a lot smile.gif

QUOTE(Blue07 @ Dec 11 2013, 11:36 AM)
Based on map of these places on the Yogyes site, they don't look like walking distance. I'm also interested to go to the Gunung Kidul area - either Sri Gethuk + Rancang Kencono or Gua Jomblang + Luweng Grubug. If you find a good rate for a driver to to go Gunung Kidul please let me know.

If you can ride a motorcycle, this blog post might interest you as it has pretty precise directions how to get to Sri Gethuk. Unfortunately, I can't ride one  sad.gif

http://tastetalks.com/2013/08/07/gunung-kidul-bleberan/
I dunno what rate is considered good. I find this website very useful http://www.yogyes.com/en/yogyakarta-car-re...car-driver-fuel , u click on the price list got many different tour packages.
littleprawn
post Dec 11 2013, 10:49 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 11 2013, 12:48 PM)
Thx a lot smile.gif
I dunno what rate is considered good. I find this website very useful http://www.yogyes.com/en/yogyakarta-car-re...car-driver-fuel , u click on the price list got many different tour packages.
do u want me to intro my previous driver to u?
maybe u can sent ur iti n ask him quote~
katejing
post Dec 11 2013, 11:50 PM

208 posts

I have left some IDR..who are interested to exchange let me know ya.. smile.gif
Blue07
post Dec 12 2013, 09:19 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 11 2013, 12:48 PM)
Thx a lot smile.gif
Thanks. I sent messages to three of them requesting a quotation via that site but so far none have replied. I guess have to call ...

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Dec 11 2013, 10:49 PM)
Hi! I'd appreciate it if you could let me have your previous driver's contact. Definitely prefer to go with someone recommended rather than picking one out of the blue.

danielcmugen
post Dec 12 2013, 12:53 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 11 2013, 10:30 AM)
QUOTE(littleprawn @ Dec 11 2013, 10:49 PM)
If book from hotel will be more expensive by how much? My dad prefer to book from hotel.
stimix
post Dec 12 2013, 12:59 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 12 2013, 12:53 PM)
If book from hotel will be more expensive by how much? My dad prefer to book from hotel.
~ rp100 to 150K extra from the yogYes website. I also reluctant to book online or call them b4 going and regreted bcos all those drivers in Jogja controlled by the agents. and for sure agents want $$ smile.gif
Xccess
post Dec 12 2013, 09:37 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,771 posts

News stated Indonesia have receive Christmas bombing threat. Best to stay away from places where foreign tourist congregate for Christmas/New Year's eve countdown.

http://newsinfo.inquirer.net/545285/indone...r-attack-threat

littleprawn
post Dec 12 2013, 10:14 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 12 2013, 12:59 PM)
~ rp100 to 150K extra from the yogYes website. I also reluctant to book online or call them b4 going and regreted bcos all those drivers in Jogja controlled by the agents. and for sure agents want $$Ā  smile.gif
the driver charged taxes also if not mistaken~ hmm.gif

QUOTE(Blue07 @ Dec 12 2013, 09:19 AM)
Thanks. I sent messages to three of them requesting a quotation via that site but so far none have replied. I guess have to call ...
Hi! I'd appreciate it if you could let me have your previous driver's contact. Definitely prefer to go with someone recommended rather than picking one out of the blue.
i pm u the driver email dy~

This post has been edited by littleprawn: Dec 12 2013, 10:22 PM
Blue07
post Dec 12 2013, 10:46 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Dec 12 2013, 10:14 PM)
the driver charged taxes also if not mistaken~  hmm.gif
i pm u the driver email dy~
Thank you! smile.gif
nxtpg
post Dec 16 2013, 10:10 PM

601 posts

OMG my flight to YOG is next month and i have yet to plan anything or read any info about this place sad.gif

hopefully i got time to plan...

will good reasonable hotel be still available...?

btw i did not add luggage for air asia... is hand carry 7kg enuff? or is there some good stuff to buy back from there?

This post has been edited by nxtpg: Dec 16 2013, 10:14 PM
littleprawn
post Dec 21 2013, 08:05 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Dec 16 2013, 10:10 PM)
OMG my flight to YOG is next month and i have yet to plan anything or read any info about this place sad.gif

hopefully i got time to plan...

will good reasonable hotel be still available...?

btw i did not add luggage for air asia... is hand carry 7kg enuff?  or is there some good stuff to buy back from there?
a month to plan is sufficient enough bro no worries~

just go through this forum im sure u get info where u planning to visit~

the places to go is quite standard~

souvenirs mostly keychain, clothes, statue, food, etc

here's what i bought there last time~

nxtpg
post Dec 21 2013, 08:43 PM

601 posts

thanks littleprawn.

i have only booked my room for one night at Manohara hotel on arrival day.
However i am wondering why the agoda booking forms says 1 bedroom apartment king bed?
isnt it a hotel?

Price is not cheap .. rm241.

Have yet to book for the remaining 5 nites. walk in should have rite? 20th feb...onwards

so i am planning to straight go to the hotel on arrival ..touchdown at adi sucipto at 1.30pm

or better have a tour started on not to waste the day?

i cant seem to locate any recommended driver/tour agents... any reco?

looks like not much things to buy so my hand carry luggage is enuff....

This post has been edited by nxtpg: Dec 21 2013, 08:44 PM
danielcmugen
post Dec 22 2013, 06:23 PM

5,538 posts

Just came back from jogja, I enjoyed the Borobudur sunrise tour, Gunung Merapi jeep ride and Dieng Plateau. The rest like the taman sari, sultan palace and all that....dint enjoy sweat.gif .

Later will post up some pictures and give a detailed explanation on all the places that I went.
danielcmugen
post Dec 23 2013, 09:48 PM

5,538 posts

Day 1

Arrived at airport in late afternoon, a small and crowded airport. Bali airport is much better. But our tour guide said that a new and bigger airport will be built soon.

Then we met with our tour guide and the first place we went to was Kasongan Village, a nice quiet village. The whole place is about ceramics production, mostly to export out. But u can buy from there too, for home deco or something.

Sometimes u can walk through the back lanes and end up in somewhere like this
Got river and got chicken running around, very peaceful kampung feel smile.gif

Next, our tour guide brought us to a bird market which isn't in our itenary. I dunno why he bring us there.
They sell not only birds, got every other kind of animals including dogs, cats, snakes, fish... rclxub.gif

After that we go makan in sekar kedathon restaurant (I think) which is already included in the tour package. High class place, but the food tastes very ordinary in my opinion. Normal vege, keropok, curry chicken....

After makan we proceed to Manohara hotel in Borobudur. No pix but compared to litteprawn's pix back in 2011, I think they refurbished the room. Now got LCD tv stick on the wall and bathroom also nicer laugh.gif .

End of day 1, to be continued.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Dec 23 2013, 09:51 PM
danielcmugen
post Dec 24 2013, 04:39 PM

5,538 posts

Day 2

Woke up at 5:30 a.m. Malaysian time to join the Borobudur temple sunrise tour rclxm9.gif
Candi Borobudur (retouched) by Daniel Chuah, on Flickr

Can see some great stuff from the top

After breakfast in hotel, we went to Pawon temple. Just a small temple, the area surrounding it got some souveneir shops

After that the tour guide brought us to visit a local village man. The man showed us the traditional way to collect water and gave us some fruits to eat.

Our next destination is Keraton. It's a buddhist temple I think, got some gardens surrounding it. But the compound isn't very big.

Next is taman sari, this place reminds me of Melaka St.Paul church. Except for the swimming pool tongue.gif .

After that we went to another palace, can see the old items that the old sultan used. But it was hot, crowded and stuffy.

After lunch at Pendopo Ndalem, our last stop is Batik Home Industry.

For the remaining nights we stayed at Melia Purosani hotel.

End of day 2. To be continued...
littleprawn
post Dec 25 2013, 06:11 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Dec 21 2013, 08:43 PM)
thanks littleprawn.

i have only booked my room for one night at Manohara hotel on arrival day.
However i am wondering why the agoda booking forms says 1 bedroom apartment king bed?
isnt it a hotel?

Price is not cheap .. rm241.

Have yet to book for the remaining 5 nites. walk in should have rite? 20th feb...onwards

so i am planning to straight go to the hotel on arrival ..touchdown at adi sucipto at 1.30pm

or better haveĀ  a tour started on not to waste the day?

i cant seem to locate any recommended driver/tour agents... any reco?

looks like not much things to buy so my hand carry luggage is enuff....
manohara hotel is not cheap coz guest have unlimited access to Borobudur haha~
if u wan to visit Borobudur maybe u can straight go there after touchdown~
remaining night i supposed u can book if walk in unless its peak period~
theres onli 1 shopping mall there if not mistaken~
i pm u my previous driver contact~
hope it helps~

This post has been edited by littleprawn: Dec 25 2013, 06:15 PM
littleprawn
post Dec 25 2013, 06:15 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 23 2013, 09:48 PM)
Day 1

Arrived at airport in late afternoon, a small and crowded airport. Bali airport is much better. But our tour guide said that a new and bigger airport will be built soon.

Then we met with our tour guide and the first place we went to was Kasongan Village, a nice quiet village. The whole place is about ceramics production, mostly to export out. But u can buy from there too, for home deco or something.

After makan we proceed to Manohara hotel in Borobudur. No pix but compared to litteprawn's pix back in 2011, I think they refurbished the room. Now got LCD tv stick on the wall and bathroom also nicer laugh.gif .

End of day 1, to be continued.
wah, already upgrade to lcd tv n nicer bathroom~ laugh.gif
maybe will go again if have the chance~
i didnt manage to visit the top level of Borobudur so sad~
close for renovation~
danielcmugen
post Dec 25 2013, 06:20 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Dec 25 2013, 06:11 PM)
manohara hotel is not cheap coz guest have unlimited access to Borobudur haha~
if u wan to visit Borobudur maybe u can straight go there after touchdown~
remaining night i supposed u can book if walk in unless its peak period~
theres onli 1 shopping mall there if not mistaken~
i pm u my previous driver contact~
hope it helps~
Next to Melia Hotel there's another mall, can't rmb the name. Not exactly on Malioboro street, need to walk further a bit.

42 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0418sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:59 AM