249 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more.

therain01
post Jan 16 2019, 05:01 PM

256 posts

I just double check my amoron battery it is amaron Pro. Saw a seller offering amaron Pro battery warranty from 18 months to 24 months.

Just wondering if anyone know is there anyway to get the battery warranty if I lost the proof of purchase? I saw a white sticker with some sort of serial number on top of the battery. Not sure if that can be used to trace the purchasing date.
wkc5657
post Jan 16 2019, 05:18 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Jan 16 2019, 05:01 PM)
I just double check my amoron battery it is amaron Pro. Saw a seller offering amaron Pro battery warranty from 18 months to 24 months.

Just wondering if anyone know is there anyway to get the battery warranty if I lost the proof of purchase? I saw a white sticker with some sort of serial number on top of the battery. Not sure if that can be used to trace the purchasing date.
Proof of purchase (usually means invoice/receipt) is pretty much a must for any warranty claims, unless the seller out of goodwill willing to take in.

TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 16 2019, 05:21 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Jan 16 2019, 05:01 PM)

You must enquire from the seller as to how is it possible for the same seller to have 2 different warranty periods on the same battery model ? How do they keep track of which is which ?

If it's via your credit card 💳, check against the statement surely something like a name as a proof of purchase will turn up.

If it's via cash 💰, then just get back to the seller whom you got your Amaron from. The seller would have some information on the serial number right since it was through him ?

The Amaron that I wanted to clean, was an Amaron Pro and there was no date on that unit too, which I find was strange. Century batteries are immediately dated via engraving on the unit the moment payment is made.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jan 16 2019, 05:23 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 17 2019, 09:36 PM

3,520 posts

Middle Picture : Could see the gunk that's collected at the bottom over the years.

Bottom Picture : Areas surrounding the last 2 caps on the right looks like it's coated with grime, not sure if you could see it clearly from this angle but it's registering a surface discharge of 6.34 volts when tested.

Will be interesting to see how long will this battery hold out under such conditions.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jan 17 2019, 09:44 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 20 2019, 04:48 PM

3,520 posts

MONITORING BATTERY'S HEALTH ONLINE

How many of you guys are using CTEK Battery Sense application to monitor the state of health for your batteries and would you recommend or not recommend this product ?

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jan 20 2019, 07:34 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 20 2019, 07:24 PM

3,520 posts

HOW LUCRATIVE IS THE BATTERY BUSINESS ?

Reading in between the lines, it is that bloody lucrative indeed and I believe it's a numbers game too.

It's so lucrative indeed until a reseller is willing to produce an in-house brand instead ! Talk about going downstream.

It's so lucrative indeed until it's spawned a market for 2nd hand batteries by itself !!! Now that's amazing cause it just shows how important education is and with a "lifespan of a year" who know what else in store ???

But the last has to be this which I haven't cracked yet, how is it possible that an exceptionally established brand is giving a warranty of only a year ??? Just blows my mind thinking of how to solve this riddle.
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 22 2019, 08:53 AM

3,520 posts

Now that I think back about how did I managed to squeeze out 4 years from battery is has to be these few conditions were met.

1. Constantly recharged : Being in my work horse, literally meant it was frequently in a high state of charge as it's being driven. Anyway that's what most intellegent charges aims to replicate.

2. The most prominent difference between this success and all previous failures was the methods of ventilation used in an effort to keep heat away from the battery over prolonged periods.

Although it's written that less than 30% of batteries ever makes it the 4 year mark, (I don't know how the writer derived to that figure) but I do hope that it was these 2 major factors that did for me. Am replicating the same techniques again and if it scores another 4 year mark or more, then surely it has to be constant high state of charge & non exposure to prolonged heat source.
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 22 2019, 08:55 AM

3,520 posts

Here's something I think you guys might find useful.

TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 24 2019, 10:40 AM

3,520 posts

ACID GUARD for Low Maintenance Battery

I've been searching high & low for this Acid Guard for so long and finally I've found it and grabbed a few straight away. Only a handful of these are left that's unsold.

LEFT : Original unit.
RIGHT : Sides had been removed to fit on top of a smaller battery.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jan 24 2019, 10:48 AM
Duckies
post Jan 24 2019, 10:51 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

Sigh the battery used in Mazda's car macam barely can last 1 year
MeToo
post Jan 24 2019, 10:54 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jan 7 2019, 09:00 PM)
FOMOCO

MF battery from Ford.
my FOMOCO ori from ford didnt even last 2 yrs.
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 24 2019, 10:55 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jan 24 2019, 10:51 AM)
Sigh the battery used in Mazda's car macam barely can last 1 year
What battery brand is that ?
Is your battery stock which came when you received your new ride ? Or has the battery been replaced before ?

Duckies
post Jan 24 2019, 10:57 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 24 2019, 10:55 AM)
What battery brand is that ?
Is your battery stock which came when you received your new ride ? Or has the battery been replaced before ?
I am still using stock but I've seen many changes their battery at 1 year ish mark. Or at most 2 years only.

So I foresee I'll be changing mine anytime after a year.

I think the stock battery is Delco? I am planning to go for Varta or Amaron if it dies.

My old Myvi's Yokohoma battery lasted 5 years. Still have 80% health when I changed it due to aging reason.

This post has been edited by Duckies: Jan 24 2019, 11:04 AM
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 24 2019, 11:06 AM

3,520 posts

UPDATE : Battery brands that has lasted minimum of 4 years or more.

Battery Brand (Seal of Approval)
1. Varta (5 votes)
2. Century (4 votes)
3. Panasonic (1 vote: MF - Stock)

Instead of searching for testimonies only, I've decided that to further strengthen the above data, within my Catholic community and of close friends, i will start gathering real data i.e. their used battery to conduct further tests.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jan 24 2019, 11:07 AM
IamAHuman
post Jan 24 2019, 11:07 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 24 2019, 11:06 AM)
UPDATE : Battery brands that has lasted minimum of 4 years or more.

Battery Brand (Seal of Approval)
1. Varta (5 votes)
2. Century (4 votes)
3. Panasonic (1 vote: MF - Stock)

Instead of searching for testimonies only, I've decided that to further strengthen the above data, within my Catholic community and of close friends, i will start gathering real data i.e. their used battery to conduct further tests.
BMW original batt - 6 years but time to change already
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 24 2019, 11:24 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jan 24 2019, 10:57 AM)
I am still using stock but I've seen many changes their battery at 1 year ish mark. Or at most 2 years only.

So I foresee I'll be changing mine anytime after a year.

I think the stock battery is Delco? I am planning to go for Varta or Amaron if it dies.

My old Myvi's Yokohoma battery lasted 5 years. Still have 80% health when I changed it due to aging reason.
I respect your decision but if I were you, this is what I would do. I will still select the identical brand, Delco and see how that pans out before switching to another brand. Using the same brand in a row allows me to make comparisons.

Yes Yokohama was indeed a great brand with outstanding testimonies but this brand no longer exist as I was told. However driving around recently, I been seeing Yokohama in an all black casing with gold coloured sticker or something like that. Will try to take a picture of this brand or maybe it could be different spelling or something.

What a waste as I would love to collect your used Yokohama to do some research. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jan 24 2019, 11:25 AM
Duckies
post Jan 24 2019, 11:28 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 24 2019, 11:24 AM)
I respect your decision but if I were you, this is what I would do. I will still select the identical brand, Delco and see how that pans out before switching to another brand. Using the same brand in a row allows me to make comparisons.

Yes Yokohama was indeed a great brand with outstanding testimonies but this brand no longer exist as I was told. However driving around recently, I been seeing Yokohama in an all black casing with gold coloured sticker or something like that. Will try to take a picture of this brand or maybe it could be different spelling or something.

What a waste as I would love to collect your used Yokohama to do some research. sad.gif
Hahaha my old Myvi changed to Century or something. I think it just pass 1 year mark. I passed the car to my sister already.

Lol don't think I'll stick with Delco anymore. I'll let others to do the testing XD
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 24 2019, 09:24 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Jan 24 2019, 11:07 AM)
BMW original batt - 6 years but time to change already
Wait a minute, if I recall properly you did mentioned that you were getting a battery charger am I not right ? If you were getting the charger, didn't the charger prolong the battery lifespan ? What brand was your batttery ? What charger did you buy ?

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jan 24 2019, 09:25 PM
IamAHuman
post Jan 24 2019, 10:08 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 24 2019, 09:24 PM)
Wait a minute, if I recall properly you did mentioned that you were getting a battery charger am I not right ? If you were getting the charger, didn't the charger prolong the battery lifespan ? What brand was your batttery ? What charger did you buy ?
Charger have not arrived yet and my batt is a little weak. Will update once it arrives.
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 25 2019, 05:24 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Jan 24 2019, 10:08 PM)
Charger have not arrived yet and my batt is a little weak. Will update once it arrives.
Understand.

The timing may not be perfect but hey at least with the new battery & new charger, hopefully they will keep things running for a longer period of time. smile.gif

249 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:44 PM