Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

ckdenion
post Mar 20 2019, 10:35 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(vl319 @ Mar 20 2019, 10:05 PM)
Need advise to buy medical, CI ILP. Currently 37yo. Non smoker. Looking for higher annual limit and unlimited lifetime limit, 250r&b, cover until 90yo, premium is sustainable until older age.

Any good package to intro?
so your main criteria will be
1. medical that gives high annual limit, lifetime unlimited, make sure this coverage can run until 90 years old.
2. for CI, you may state a figure, say you want this CI payout to cover how long recuperation period? (3 years, 5 years or x years?)
3. based on Point 2. also, how much you need for basic expenses per month currently.

with this 3 then its easier for us to show you sth. smile.gif
imahappyklown
post Mar 21 2019, 10:17 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Mar 20 2019, 09:37 AM)
Ah sorry mixed up on the market value & agreed value.

Yes if you're going with agreed value then on a claim, you get to entitle 100%, however if based on the market value, it would be pro-rated due to depreciation.

As for whether to go agreed or market value, it's based on your budget, if you can afford it, go for agreed value.
1. Should you be concern about the new agent ? that depends if you need an agent to service you when it comes to claim, or would he just call you to sell you more insurance and don't really bother much. On whether an agent is doing a good job is very subjective to different individual. Depends on your luck.

As for claims, since you're dealing with the company directly and not with the agent, the agents are just there to assist you. Of course, you may lose out on getting proper insurance advise.

2. Best to declare and get it examined by the panel doctor

3. Well you can take your time to talk 1 by 1 until you feel like it.
QUOTE(Holocene @ Mar 20 2019, 09:20 PM)
The appointment letter should have stated the agent's contact number. Give him a call/text to arrange a meet up.

Disclose the condition. Better to get a rejection upfront then when you need the insurance the most.

There are agents out there that are sales oriented and there are the ones that are service oriented. Depends on your luck who you run into really.

As for the IC and 2 months premium, I suppose he tried to "Assume close". But do note that if you are making an application, they will need your IC and it is industry standard to collect 2 months premium during application.

Best,
Jiansheng
QUOTE(ckdenion @ Mar 20 2019, 09:54 PM)
difficulty in claims - it is also better to know in case you can't reach your agent, what need to be done. of course best is, contact the appointed agent so that you know who the agent is. at least you know the newly appointed agent is reachable.

for your child lymph node case - i myself have lymph node around the neck area (from left to right). in this case, upon insurance application, you have to declare but since nothing is done, insurance company might exclude certain illness. unless surgery is done to remove lymph node and with medical test on the node that it is no major issue, then it will be fine. my case is lymph node is removed and it is just a bacteria infection, so there is no exclusion for my medical card. so for your case, best to declare upon application and see what is the underwriting result from the company.
Hey guys.

Thank you very much for the replies, appreciate it so much. I've been stressing out on this for weeks and I get that the consensus is always to be upfront about the condition. I think I can rest easy now and just wait out the underwriter's report.

Thanks again. Cheers.

lifebalance
post Mar 21 2019, 10:57 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(vl319 @ Mar 20 2019, 10:05 PM)
Need advise to buy medical, CI ILP. Currently 37yo. Non smoker. Looking for higher annual limit and unlimited lifetime limit, 250r&b, cover until 90yo, premium is sustainable until older age.

Any good package to intro?
If you want a more comprehensive idea about your insurance coverage.

Probably you can share
1. What’s your monthly income and expenses at the moment
2. What’s your existing insurance coverages
3. What loans outstanding amount you have at the moment
4. What’s your current estimated budget willing to spend for insurance.
TSroystevenung
post Mar 21 2019, 12:34 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 20 2019, 10:15 PM)
macam hilang liao owh
Lurking mode
sharp56
post Mar 22 2019, 02:36 PM

332 posts

My car just got knocked from behind by a motorcyclist. As a result I lost my NCB by claiming repairs. My car is about 15 years old and an insurable value of RM25,000 and my insurance renewal is just around the corner.

I used to insure 1st party. Can I change to 3rd party insurance to save cost as I no longer have NCB. After 5 years I switch back to 1st party when I have a good driving track record. Can this be done?

lifebalance
post Mar 22 2019, 03:04 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(sharp56 @ Mar 22 2019, 02:36 PM)
My car just got knocked from behind by a motorcyclist. As a result I lost my NCB by claiming repairs. My car is about 15 years old and an insurable value of RM25,000 and my insurance renewal is just around the corner.

I used to insure 1st party. Can I change to 3rd party insurance to save cost as I no longer have NCB. After 5 years I switch back to 1st party when I have a good driving track record. Can this be done?
laugh.gif no idea whether can or not, wait for some sifu to answer you.
scriptkiddie44
post Mar 22 2019, 09:53 PM

146 posts

Hi, all expert here.
I have a question regarding my insurance coverage and premium.

I'm 24 y/o this year, and I'm having a plan with GE with following coverage:

Sum assured for life + CI: RM500,000
Medical: RM150 (900k + 90k Annual limit / unlimited whole life)

Is it enough coverage for me? I'm approached by Allianz agent, and after the agent reviewing the policy, he tell me not enough coverage for medical, where he usually quote RM250 for his customers.
Previously my Sum assured was only 100k, and the first time he approached me, he claiming 100k is not enough. Hence, I upgraded my sum to 500k. Now he's claiming that my Medical (only RM150) is not enough.

So is my coverage enough? I'm paying RM250 per month for my premium. Is it cheap?
lifebalance
post Mar 22 2019, 09:55 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(scriptkiddie44 @ Mar 22 2019, 09:53 PM)
Hi, all expert here.

Is it enough coverage for me? I'm approached by Allianz agent, and after the agent reviewing the policy, he tell me not enough coverage for medical, where he usually quote RM250 for his customers.
Previously my Sum assured was only 100k, and the first time he approached me, he claiming 100k is not enough. Hence, I upgraded my sum to 500k. Now he's claiming that my Medical (only RM150) is not enough.

So is my coverage enough? I'm paying RM250 per month for my premium. Is it cheap?
for what you're paying right now with the benefit you're getting. It's very good already.

Don't listen to that Allianz agent, trying to upsell you all the way. Not the agent that I would engage myself.
scriptkiddie44
post Mar 22 2019, 10:08 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Mar 22 2019, 09:55 PM)
for what you're paying right now with the benefit you're getting. It's very good already.

Don't listen to that Allianz agent, trying to upsell you all the way. Not the agent that I would engage myself.
Thanks for your reply and glad to hear that.
One more question. With the same premium and same plan, my friend is only having 50k sum assured. How come the coverage different so much? It's x10 in different. I've compare everything in my policy with my friend, everything else is the same except the sum assured. Is there any chance where my friend can get a better coverage (at least 200k or 300k sum assured) without increasing the premium?
Both me and my friend are same age and I bought the policy 1 year earlier than my friend. This sound like a scam to me. Sorry if I offended anyone, but anyone care to explain how come there is huge difference in coverage?
Both me and my friend are not smoker / drinker and all healthy. Only different is I am a male and she is a female. Does that make a huge difference?
lifebalance
post Mar 22 2019, 10:11 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(scriptkiddie44 @ Mar 22 2019, 10:08 PM)
Thanks for your reply and glad to hear that.
One more question. With the same premium and same plan, my friend is only having 50k sum assured. How come the coverage different so much? It's x10 in different. I've compare everything in my policy with my friend, everything else is the same except the sum assured. Is there any chance where my friend can get a better coverage (at least 200k or 300k sum assured) without increasing the premium?
Both me and my friend are same age and I bought the policy 1 year earlier than my friend. This sound like a scam to me. Sorry if I offended anyone, but anyone care to explain how come there is huge difference in coverage?
Both me and my friend are not smoker / drinker and all healthy. Only different is I am a male and she is a female. Does that make a huge difference?
that's because that agent didn't utilize much of the premium to buy more into a higher coverage, which means there is some extra slack set aside within the policy which goes to the saving portion.

You can ask the agent to increase the coverage within the same policy if it's an investment link policy. There shouldn't be any increase in premium unless the agent trying to upsell you also haha.

#Honestinsuranceagent
scriptkiddie44
post Mar 22 2019, 10:15 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Mar 22 2019, 10:11 PM)
that's because that agent didn't utilize much of the premium to buy more into a higher coverage, which means there is some extra slack set aside within the policy which goes to the saving portion.

You can ask the agent to increase the coverage within the same policy if it's an investment link policy. There shouldn't be any increase in premium unless the agent trying to upsell you also haha.

#Honestinsuranceagent
I told my friend to tell her agent, but her agent keep emphasizing that the policy won't sustain for long and the agent quoted my friend an upgraded policy, RM270++ with 300k sum assured. Feel like the agent is just trying to upsell as what you mentioned.

lifebalance
post Mar 22 2019, 10:19 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(scriptkiddie44 @ Mar 22 2019, 10:15 PM)
I told my friend to tell her agent, but her agent keep emphasizing that the policy won't sustain for long and the agent quoted my friend an upgraded policy, RM270++ with 300k sum assured. Feel like the agent is just trying to upsell as what you mentioned.
well you can always get the agent to quote until what is maximum for 250/mth and see if it's reasonable for for your friend to upgrade it.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Mar 22 2019, 10:19 PM
scriptkiddie44
post Mar 22 2019, 10:24 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Mar 22 2019, 10:19 PM)
well you can always get the agent to quote until what is maximum for 250/mth and see if it's reasonable for for your friend to upgrade it.
Thanks so much for the info!
BTW another question, but more on personal financing instead of insurance.
What's the recommended portion of insurance premium to my salary?
E.g.: If I'm earning 2k per month, what's the recommended amount that I spend on my insurance premium? Like maybe 10%?

This post has been edited by scriptkiddie44: Mar 22 2019, 10:25 PM
lifebalance
post Mar 22 2019, 10:25 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(scriptkiddie44 @ Mar 22 2019, 10:24 PM)
Thanks so much for the info!
BTW another question, but more on personal financing instead of insurance.
What's the recommended portion of insurance premium to my salary?
E.g.: I'm earning 2k per month, what's the recommended amount that I spend on my insurance premium? Like maybe 10%?
5 - 10% is normally the base line, but not restricted to these figure.

For 2k salary, I'd recommend somewhere 150 - 200 is fine. Unless you have other obligations then maybe it will differ.
Holocene
post Mar 23 2019, 09:46 AM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(scriptkiddie44 @ Mar 22 2019, 09:53 PM)
Hi, all expert here.

If you're paying RM250/month and getting

- Life/TPD/CI: RM500k

- R&B150
- - Annual limit: RM990k
- - Lifetime limit: No limit

It is amazing value, but whether it's the right coverage for you is an entirely different discussion.

Best,
Jiansheng

alexkos
post Mar 23 2019, 04:59 PM

2,275 posts

may i know what's this? am i gg?

kevinkit
post Mar 26 2019, 09:38 AM

71 posts

HI Sifus. I am very new to insurance. I have a policy (medical card + some riders) from HLA which was 10 years ago. I am paying about 2.5K annual premium. I noticed the annual limit 75K and lifietime limit 300K is very little by today's standard , and will be even lesser in 10 years time.

My Age now 44 , non smoker, work in office.

I was quoted 4200 annual premium from GE consist of :
Medical card (90K annual limit, unlimited lifetime, )
Death or TPD 20K till age 99
Money matter (Estimate policy value at year 20 75K)

is this quote OK? or if there are any options that I could just top up abit to the same provider HLA to have a higher lifetime limit. and FYI i have lost contact of the agent so could not consult.

lifebalance
post Mar 26 2019, 09:40 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kevinkit @ Mar 26 2019, 09:38 AM)
HI Sifus. I am very new to insurance. I have a policy (medical card + some riders) from HLA which was 10 years ago. I am paying about 2.5K annual premium. I noticed the annual limit 75K and lifietime limit 300K is very little by today's standard , and will be even lesser in 10 years time.

My Age now 44 , non smoker, work in office.

I was quoted 4200 annual premium from GE  consist of :
Medical card (90K annual limit, unlimited lifetime, )
Death or TPD 20K till age 99
Money matter (Estimate policy value at year 20 75K)
is this quote OK? or if there are any options that I could just top up abit to the same provider HLA to have a higher lifetime limit. and FYI i have lost contact of the agent so could not consult.
Looks pretty standard for someone at your age.

You can always contact HLA to find out who is your servicing agent and they will give you the person in charge of your policy
aspartame
post Mar 26 2019, 11:32 AM

3,165 posts

1. For naming of insurance beneficiaries - if a person nominate wife name only but both perished in accident...and assuming they include the kid/kids names in their will (but the kids are not named as beneficiaries in the policy) - what will happen?

2. If a person name 3 beneficiaries in the policy and he and one of the beneficiary perished together, do the remaining 2 beneficiaries get the whole payout???
kevinkit
post Mar 26 2019, 01:13 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Mar 26 2019, 09:40 AM)
Looks pretty standard for someone at your age.

You can always contact HLA to find out who is your servicing agent and they will give you the person in charge of your policy
Thanks for the input

126 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:59 AM