Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

ckdenion
post Feb 20 2019, 10:06 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(dgg_123 @ Feb 20 2019, 08:39 PM)
just ask your parents, if they say no idea/not sure just declare 'no'.

This post has been edited by ckdenion: Feb 20 2019, 10:06 PM
shahrul09
post Feb 20 2019, 10:58 PM

1,330 posts

Anyone heard about Maybank Smart wealth? Got a banker promote to me, but got no time to listen. Now wonder about in, google abit cant find it (wrong name?)
Any web where I can read that in details.
MUM
post Feb 20 2019, 11:12 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(shahrul09 @ Feb 20 2019, 10:58 PM)
Anyone heard about Maybank Smart wealth? Got a banker promote to me, but got no time to listen. Now wonder about in, google abit cant find it (wrong name?)
this?

Smart Wealth, Etiqa’s life insurance solution for Maybank’s high net worth and affluent individuals, ......

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/content/adve...ransfer-vehicle

ckdenion
post Feb 20 2019, 11:21 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(shahrul09 @ Feb 20 2019, 10:58 PM)
basically it is a life insurance that gives you high amount of coverage starting from half a million.
shahrul09
post Feb 20 2019, 11:24 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 20 2019, 11:12 PM)
this?

Smart Wealth, Etiqa’s life insurance solution for Maybank’s high net worth and affluent individuals, ......

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/content/adve...ransfer-vehicle
Yeah read this, looking for the brochure type of thing, weird that not in any of maybank or etiqa web
shahrul09
post Feb 20 2019, 11:25 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Feb 20 2019, 11:21 PM)
basically it is a life insurance that gives you high amount of coverage starting from half a million.
Banker mention about investment linked things also, so I’m curious to know more.
Will go back and ask la if got time if no one here got details
lifebalance
post Feb 20 2019, 11:28 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(dgg_123 @ Feb 20 2019, 08:39 PM)
Need help of Sifus here,

Going to enroll my parents (not me) for medical insurance, however, noticed one thing on the health declaration:

Have any of your parents or sibling ever had or died from cancer including breast cancer, tuberculosis, diabetes, hypertension, stroke, kidney disease, heart disease, multiple sclerosis, mental illness or any other hereditary disease or any AIDS related condition?

To be honest, this is quite ridiculous as you know our parents generation have many siblings and since we doesnt really keep in touch, so its really normal that we don't know their health condition. Plus, given that my grandparents has already passed away quite a years ago (the latest one is 20yrs ago) and back then I was either too small or wasn't even born, I dont even know their cause of death - for example, my father was not even sure which disease that my grandfather had, liver or heart issues. Cant really blame them tough, they didnt even finish their Form 5.

So, sifu-sifus here, if I just tick NO for this declaration, is it ok? Would it even matter in the event of claim?

Dont tell me to ask my agent, I am buying directly from insurance company so I have no agent to serve me.

Thank you.
Just declare what is known to your knowledge. That is suffice enough.

QUOTE(shahrul09 @ Feb 20 2019, 11:25 PM)
Banker mention about investment linked things also, so I’m curious to know more.
Yeah just make sure you establish the purpose of you buying such plans for yourself before signing up
ckdenion
post Feb 20 2019, 11:43 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(shahrul09 @ Feb 20 2019, 11:25 PM)
yeap it is an investment linked life insurance then.
MUM
post Feb 20 2019, 11:45 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(shahrul09 @ Feb 20 2019, 11:24 PM)
Yeah read this, looking for the brochure type of thing, weird that not in any of maybank or etiqa web
found this brochure like thing....

Smart wealth flyer....
https://www.maybank2u.com.my/iwov-resources...ealth_flyer.pdf
shahrul09
post Feb 20 2019, 11:55 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 20 2019, 11:45 PM)
found this brochure like thing....

Smart wealth flyer....
https://www.maybank2u.com.my/iwov-resources...ealth_flyer.pdf
Thanks, but still clueless on what the heck it is. And where the “investment thing” the banker mention.
Will just ask the banker later on

This post has been edited by shahrul09: Feb 20 2019, 11:55 PM
ckdenion
post Feb 21 2019, 12:30 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 20 2019, 11:45 PM)
wow thanks for the flyer!

QUOTE(shahrul09 @ Feb 20 2019, 11:55 PM)
Thanks, but still clueless on what the heck it is. And where the “investment thing” the banker mention.
the flyer wont mention it is an investment link. dont subscribe to plan like this just because of the word "investment".
the example in the flyer is RM160k/year premium (payment term 5 years) for a 40 years old uncle. only thing not stated clearly is the amount reflected for retirement age is how many years old.
MGM
post Feb 21 2019, 04:47 AM

18,415 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Feb 20 2019, 11:16 AM)
I believe 10mil also insufficient. A 50mil should be well prepared.
What 10mil insufficient, how do u know? Like that might as well wait to die without treatment cos how many can afford that. What type of insurance can cover 50 million?
basSist
post Feb 21 2019, 09:03 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 21 2019, 04:47 AM)
What 10mil insufficient, how do u know? Like that might as well wait to die without treatment cos how many can afford that. What type of insurance can cover 50 million?
Bro, relax. laugh.gif

I was playing on a person's natural fear of mortality, serious illness. The higher the better for me to close ma.

#sarcarstic

This post has been edited by basSist: Feb 21 2019, 09:05 AM
enriquelee
post Feb 21 2019, 09:12 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

You are interested in what kind of product?
Maybe we can recommend other options for your.
lifebalance
post Feb 21 2019, 09:16 AM

10,162 posts

Seems to me that you don’t have any proper planning at the moment or a road map on where you want to head to when you mention no clue about such investment. I would suggest you meet a proper guru if you are serious about your own personal finances.

My 2 cents
shahrul09
post Feb 21 2019, 11:31 AM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 21 2019, 09:16 AM)
Seems to me that you don’t have any proper planning at the moment or a road map on where you want to head to when you mention no clue about such investment. I would suggest you meet a proper guru if you are serious about your own personal finances.

My 2 cents
Just to clarify, now I know it is a investment linked life insurance. “No clue on the investment linked things” means the details of which fund they gonna go for. There are lot funds etiqa go for such as -Premier Global Equity Fund, Dana Pendapatan Prima, Dana Equity Prima etc.
I need the deeper things. So I can at least check their Fund fact sheet.
Hence I asked here if anyone know better with the sales illustration etc, would love to give it a read on my own time whenever I can instead of spend my fixed limited time waiting and que in the bank. (Which I can, but not prefer to go,
I think everyone understand )
If no one got that, yes I will go to that guy and listen there.
lifebalance
post Feb 21 2019, 12:51 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(shahrul09 @ Feb 21 2019, 11:31 AM)
Just to clarify, now I know it is a investment linked life insurance. “No clue on the investment linked things” means the details of which fund they gonna go for. There are lot funds etiqa go for such as -Premier Global Equity Fund, Dana Pendapatan Prima, Dana Equity Prima etc.
Hence I asked here if anyone know better with the sales illustration etc, would love to give it a read on my own time whenever I can instead of spend my fixed limited time waiting and que in the bank. (Which I can, but not prefer to go,
biggrin.gif okie update us again once you listened to the sales person
Holocene
post Feb 21 2019, 01:18 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(shahrul09 @ Feb 21 2019, 11:31 AM)
Hi shahrul09,

Great to know that you are taking the initiative to do your homework.

SmartWealth is basically an investment linked life insurance plan. Based on the brochure, they are selling the concept of legacy planning with life insurance as a tool. Let's break it down what the brochure is trying to convey.

1) You have RM3,000,000 in total assets = networth

2) You wish to leave RM2,000,000 to his kids and set aside RM1,000,000 for his retirement.

Simple, but the brochure suggest that you do this instead

1) Set aside RM800,360 for life insurance premium payable over 5 years. This will provide you with a life insurance coverage of RM2,000,000 hence freeing up RM2,199,640 (RM3,000,000 - RM800,360) as your retirement fund instead of RM1,000,000

2) Your new networth is as follow:

Life Insurance Coverage: RM2,000,000
Retirement Fund: RM2,199,640
Total Networth: RM4,199,640

As to which fund they go for, it is an option that you can choose and your banker should be able to generate the Sales illustration accordingly. However do take note that Sales illustration projections are merely that, projections. It does not take into account their actual past performance and the projection rates are fixed between 2 - 3% (low scenario) to 8 - 9% (high scenario).

If you are concerned about time, you can always let us know the total sum assured you would like, follow with your Date of Birth, Sex, Occupation, Smoker/nonsmoker and we can all easily provide you with the detailed SI. These kind of investment linked insurance plan is not special to Etiqa rclxm9.gif

P/S: Here's the link to their fund fact sheet if you're wondering: https://etiqa.com.my/v2/investment-linked-funds

Best,
Jiansheng

This post has been edited by Holocene: Feb 21 2019, 01:20 PM
Holocene
post Feb 21 2019, 02:29 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Feb 19 2019, 09:42 PM)
Bear in mind, the higher amount you pay for ILP the bigger the administration fee (the commission) you have to give.
That is partially true, it really depends on the type of plan too.

For example:

Life Insurance: RM1,000,000

Full pay: Premium RM1,907/year = total commision RM1,716.30 over 6 years

6 pay: Premium RM5,573/year = total commision RM1,504.71 over 6 years.

As you can see the difference in commission is only RM211.59.

If you are savvy with your finances/money then the question of Time Value of Money comes into play and lets just say chances are you will opt for the Full pay option.

Best,
Jiansheng
dgg_123
post Feb 21 2019, 10:30 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Feb 20 2019, 10:06 PM)
just ask your parents, if they say no idea/not sure just declare 'no'.
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 20 2019, 11:28 PM)
Just declare what is known to your knowledge. That is suffice enough.
Yeah just make sure you establish the purpose of you buying such plans for yourself before signing up
Does it even matters if their parents (my great grandparents) had those disease after 60 yrs old or 65 yrs old?

When I signed up for my own medical insurance, the questionnaire specifically asked : below 60/65 yrs old.... (cant remember which already)

126 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:00 PM