Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

Holocene
post Feb 19 2019, 06:46 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ Feb 18 2019, 09:02 PM)
Hi guys, mind to advise estimated premium for a MLTA policy to cover an one million loan? Thanks. notworthy.gif
1) Life/TPD: RM1,000,000

Premium starts from RM1,905

2) Life/TPD/36CI: RM1,000,000

Premium starts from RM4,300

Do use the information you've found here as a benchmark. Understand what you're signing up for then you'll be alright smile.gif

Best,
Jiansheng
lifebalance
post Feb 19 2019, 06:54 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ Feb 18 2019, 09:13 PM)
31, male, software engineer, non-smoker  smile.gif
Since there are 4 different quotes now, bear in mind how ILP works, the minimum amount that you pay will result in your policy lapsing faster or a lower cash value by end of the term

i.e 3k MLTA vs 5.5k MLTA, the 3k will lapse faster / lower cash value by end of the MLTA tenure as compared to the 5.5k.

Just bear in mind on what you're signing up for. Cheaper =/= Better

An add-on you will also have to bear in mind on how long tenure are you paying for your insurance policy whether it's for 5, 10, 20 or full term (whole life) of the policy.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Feb 19 2019, 06:56 PM
wiind
post Feb 19 2019, 09:20 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Feb 19 2019, 12:26 AM)
estimated around 3k per year. AIA has those term plan that with lower premium if im not mistaken.
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 19 2019, 09:39 AM)
estimated RM5.5k yearly
QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Feb 19 2019, 06:35 PM)
4060/year
QUOTE(Holocene @ Feb 19 2019, 06:46 PM)
1) Life/TPD: RM1,000,000

Premium starts from RM1,905

2) Life/TPD/36CI: RM1,000,000

Premium starts from RM4,300

Do use the information you've found here as a benchmark. Understand what you're signing up for then you'll be alright smile.gif

Best,
Jiansheng
Thank you all for the info, much appreciated! notworthy.gif
wiind
post Feb 19 2019, 09:42 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 19 2019, 06:54 PM)
Since there are 4 different quotes now, bear in mind how ILP works, the minimum amount that you pay will result in your policy lapsing faster or a lower cash value by end of the term

i.e 3k MLTA vs 5.5k MLTA, the 3k will lapse faster / lower cash value by end of the MLTA tenure as compared to the 5.5k.

Just bear in mind on what you're signing up for. Cheaper =/= Better

An add-on you will also have to bear in mind on how long tenure are you paying for your insurance policy whether it's for 5, 10, 20 or full term (whole life) of the policy.
I thought premium will be revised if the generated fund is not enough to cover insurance cost? Mind to elaborate more on ‘lapse faster/lower cash value’?
basSist
post Feb 19 2019, 09:42 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

Bear in mind, the higher amount you pay for ILP the bigger the administration fee (the commission) you have to give.
ckdenion
post Feb 19 2019, 11:20 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ Feb 19 2019, 09:42 PM)
I thought premium will be revised if the generated fund is not enough to cover insurance cost? Mind to elaborate more on ‘lapse faster/lower cash value’?
yeap, true enough it will be revised with given notice. basically you are looking for MLTA (because not knowing in details what you want, i assume you want MLTA to cover your 30 years loan), the range will be minimum around 3k, want it to sustain longer than 30 years then need to put in more. depends on what you want.

QUOTE(basSist @ Feb 19 2019, 09:42 PM)
Bear in mind, the higher amount you pay for ILP the bigger the administration fee (the commission) you have to give.
commission is already fixed at a percentage. smile.gif
lifebalance
post Feb 20 2019, 09:51 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ Feb 19 2019, 09:42 PM)
No, the premium can be altered to determine how the premium paid will determine the future of your policy.

Some agents in the market will tend to not elaborate on this and assume to propose you a "Cheaper" premium to look more affordable/better than another company but in fact, it has its consequences. I have come across countless agents doing that and in fact it seems to work in convincing their prospects laugh.gif I normally bid them good luck and don't complain in the future against their "friend/agent".

There will be a set of insurance charges involved, if there is not enough funds/contribution by end of the day, the policy will lapse earlier / end with a lower cash value as compared to a policy that you paid for a higher premium.

Insurance policy = you pay for what you get.

You don't expect paying proton price for a BMW coverage without hidden T&C.

QUOTE(basSist @ Feb 19 2019, 09:42 PM)
The % of the admin charges are fixed.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Feb 20 2019, 09:52 AM
JSZE
post Feb 20 2019, 10:42 AM

65 posts

Hi, any agent here can quote me for medical plan please?

26, F, design engineer, non-smoker
MGM
post Feb 20 2019, 10:58 AM

18,411 posts

Is it still possible and advisable to get medical plan before turning 60 years old?
lifebalance
post Feb 20 2019, 11:14 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 20 2019, 10:58 AM)
Is it still possible and advisable to get medical plan before turning 60 years old?
Medical Plan, if you ask me, is a must, I've seen my friend personally spending a bomb on his medical against Cancer, which easily cost RM20k for a 21 days medication that is just to slow down the spread of the cancer.

Unless you're well funded yourself to pay for your own medical bill i.e 5 - 10 mil ringgit in ur bank account. I'd suggest you get a medical insurance urself.
basSist
post Feb 20 2019, 11:16 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 20 2019, 11:14 AM)
Medical Plan, if you ask me, is a must, I've seen my friend personally spending a bomb on his medical against Cancer, which easily cost RM20k for a 21 days medication that is just to slow down the spread of the cancer.

Unless you're well funded yourself to pay for your own medical bill i.e 5 - 10 mil ringgit in ur bank account. I'd suggest you get a medical insurance urself.
I believe 10mil also insufficient. A 50mil should be well prepared.
ckdenion
post Feb 20 2019, 04:15 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 20 2019, 10:58 AM)
yea possible. just get whatever is within your budget and also the amount needed. always not to forget to have own contingency funds as well for medical purpose.

QUOTE(basSist @ Feb 20 2019, 11:16 AM)
I believe 10mil also insufficient. A 50mil should be well prepared.
biggrin.gif well... if government hospital cant save me, i will just give up. whistling.gif
wiind
post Feb 20 2019, 08:05 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 20 2019, 09:51 AM)
No, the premium can be altered to determine how the premium paid will determine the future of your policy.

Some agents in the market will tend to not elaborate on this and assume to propose you a "Cheaper" premium to look more affordable/better than another company but in fact, it has its consequences. I have come across countless agents doing that and in fact it seems to work in convincing their prospects  laugh.gif I normally bid them good luck and don't complain in the future against their "friend/agent".

There will be a set of insurance charges involved, if there is not enough funds/contribution by end of the day, the policy will lapse earlier / end with a lower cash value as compared to a policy that you paid for a higher premium.

Insurance policy = you pay for what you get.

You don't expect paying proton price for a BMW coverage without hidden T&C.
The % of the admin charges are fixed.
Many thanks for the helpful advices! Will definitely look harder.

shodan11
post Feb 20 2019, 08:07 PM

202 posts

Tokio Marine just launched a new ILP product; iLady.
Seem comparable to PruLady of Prudential but I think with enhanced benefits overall. Looks worth to look into if your child,spouse,mother want a comprehensive cover.

Dunno/not aware about any other women-specific plans by other insurance company.
dgg_123
post Feb 20 2019, 08:39 PM

87 posts

Need help of Sifus here,

Going to enroll my parents (not me) for medical insurance, however, noticed one thing on the health declaration:

Have any of your parents or sibling ever had or died from cancer including breast cancer, tuberculosis, diabetes, hypertension, stroke, kidney disease, heart disease, multiple sclerosis, mental illness or any other hereditary disease or any AIDS related condition?

To be honest, this is quite ridiculous as you know our parents generation have many siblings and since we doesnt really keep in touch, so its really normal that we don't know their health condition. Plus, given that my grandparents has already passed away quite a years ago (the latest one is 20yrs ago) and back then I was either too small or wasn't even born, I dont even know their cause of death - for example, my father was not even sure which disease that my grandfather had, liver or heart issues. Cant really blame them tough, they didnt even finish their Form 5.

So, sifu-sifus here, if I just tick NO for this declaration, is it ok? Would it even matter in the event of claim?

Dont tell me to ask my agent, I am buying directly from insurance company so I have no agent to serve me.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by dgg_123: Feb 20 2019, 08:59 PM
MGM
post Feb 20 2019, 08:51 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(dgg_123 @ Feb 20 2019, 08:39 PM)
Need help of Sifus here,

Going to enroll my parents for medical insurance, however, noticed one thing on the health declaration:

Have any of your parents or sibling ever had or died from cancer including breast cancer, tuberculosis, diabetes, hypertension, stroke, kidney disease, heart disease, multiple sclerosis, mental illness or any other hereditary disease or any AIDS related condition?

To be honest, this is quite ridiculous as you know our parents generation have many siblings and since we doesnt really keep in touch, so its really normal that we don't know their health condition. Plus, given that my grandparents has already passed away quite a years ago (the latest one is 20yrs ago) and back then I was either too small or wasn't even born, I dont even know their cause of death - for example, my father was not even sure which disease that my grandfather had, liver or heart issues. Cant really blame them tough, they didnt even finish their Form 5.

So, sifu-sifus here, if I just tick NO for this declaration, is it ok? Would it even matter in the event of claim?

Dont tell me to ask my agent, I am buying directly from insurance company so I have no agent to serve me.

Thank you.
I think it is referring to your siblings not your parents' siblings.
dgg_123
post Feb 20 2019, 08:54 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 20 2019, 08:51 PM)
I think it is referring to your siblings not your parents' siblings.
I already have a medical insurance - now I am buying medical insurance for my parents, not myself.
MUM
post Feb 20 2019, 09:19 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(dgg_123 @ Feb 20 2019, 08:39 PM)
Need help of Sifus here,

Going to enroll my parents (not me) for medical insurance, however, noticed one thing on the health declaration:

Thank you.
while waiting for value added responses....
hmm.gif I read your questions and was wondering, ....in the application form, I think they did not seek to have the details of the parents or siblings of the applicants....
now, since the record keeping is almost none existence for those age group generation.....
how are the insurance company going to keep track of the genuine data about the who is who in the family tree?
thus in the event of the happening of the cancer incident, how are they going to trace back on which of the family member has the same history?
if one did not say he/she has a brother...how are they going to trace that family member medical history?

with the current NRIC computerised tracking system....I think the NRIC department can just punch in the NRIC number......then a list of related family members can be seen...the wonder of NRIC

not suggesting that one should lie..... brows.gif

This post has been edited by MUM: Feb 20 2019, 09:29 PM
MGM
post Feb 20 2019, 09:29 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(dgg_123 @ Feb 20 2019, 08:54 PM)
I already have a medical insurance - now I am buying medical insurance for my parents, not myself.
oops sorry.
dgg_123
post Feb 20 2019, 09:32 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 20 2019, 09:19 PM)
while waiting for value added responses....
hmm.gif I read your questions and was wondering, ....in the application form, I think they did not seek to have the details of the parents or siblings of the applicants....
now, since the record keeping is almost none existence for those age group generation.....
how are the insurance company going to keep track of the genuine data about the who is who in the family tree?
thus in the event of the happening of the cancer incident, how are they going to trace back on which of the family member has the same history?
if one did not say he/she has a brother...how are they going to trace that family member medical history?

with the current NRIC computerised tracking system....I think the NRIC department can just punch in the NRIC number......then a list of related family members can be seen...the wonder of NRIC

not suggesting that one should lie..... brows.gif
I think the only way for insurance company to know it is looking at the history taking done by doctor?

Doctor will usually ask patient question like , did ur parents had stroke before? Something like that....

If you answer yes, then doctor will note down in history and insurance company will know that u knew but didn't declare, so kantoi......

But if you answer don't know to doctor, then doctor won't note down , insurance company will have no way to know that you haven't disclosed.....

Am I making correct assumptions here sifu-sifus?

126 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:34 PM