Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

MGM
post Feb 20 2019, 10:58 AM

18,411 posts

Is it still possible and advisable to get medical plan before turning 60 years old?
MGM
post Feb 20 2019, 08:51 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(dgg_123 @ Feb 20 2019, 08:39 PM)
Need help of Sifus here,

Going to enroll my parents for medical insurance, however, noticed one thing on the health declaration:

Have any of your parents or sibling ever had or died from cancer including breast cancer, tuberculosis, diabetes, hypertension, stroke, kidney disease, heart disease, multiple sclerosis, mental illness or any other hereditary disease or any AIDS related condition?

To be honest, this is quite ridiculous as you know our parents generation have many siblings and since we doesnt really keep in touch, so its really normal that we don't know their health condition. Plus, given that my grandparents has already passed away quite a years ago (the latest one is 20yrs ago) and back then I was either too small or wasn't even born, I dont even know their cause of death - for example, my father was not even sure which disease that my grandfather had, liver or heart issues. Cant really blame them tough, they didnt even finish their Form 5.

So, sifu-sifus here, if I just tick NO for this declaration, is it ok? Would it even matter in the event of claim?

Dont tell me to ask my agent, I am buying directly from insurance company so I have no agent to serve me.

Thank you.
I think it is referring to your siblings not your parents' siblings.
MGM
post Feb 20 2019, 09:29 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(dgg_123 @ Feb 20 2019, 08:54 PM)
I already have a medical insurance - now I am buying medical insurance for my parents, not myself.
oops sorry.
MGM
post Feb 21 2019, 04:47 AM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Feb 20 2019, 11:16 AM)
I believe 10mil also insufficient. A 50mil should be well prepared.
What 10mil insufficient, how do u know? Like that might as well wait to die without treatment cos how many can afford that. What type of insurance can cover 50 million?
MGM
post Feb 23 2019, 12:13 PM

18,411 posts

Sometime it is not just the plan but the ease of claiming procedure.
MGM
post Feb 26 2019, 03:29 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Feb 26 2019, 01:32 PM)
Not necessarily it's expensive.

Depending on your comfortable budget, an agent will be able to provide you with options from RM2k - RM10k in premium.

But realistically you can consider the following

1) Option 1

- Life/TPD: RM25k

- R&B200
-- Annual limit: RM100k
-- Lifetime limit: RM1mil
-- Deductible: RM2k

Premium: RM3,060/annual

2) Option 2

- R&B200
-- Deductible: RM300

Premium: RM3,660/annual

3) Option 3

- R&B200
-- Deductible: RM300

Premium: RM4,860/annual

So depending on the coverage you're getting for your dad the premium will be charged accordingly. Above is just a sample of what you could get for your dad. Do check with the insurance agent that you're meeting on your options 🤓

Unfortunately for my dad, he's 13 years older than yours so you can imagine the premium I'm paying on behalf 😥

Best,
Jiansheng
Option 2 n 3 exactly the same but different premium?
MGM
post Feb 27 2019, 12:07 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Feb 27 2019, 11:37 AM)
a topic was raised from peer, do we really need medical card if we only depending on government hospital?
CMIIAW if u hold a medical card and but got treated at Govt Hospital for claimable procedure, u can actual claim the difference in medical cost, true or false?
MGM
post Mar 18 2019, 07:26 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Mar 18 2019, 03:59 PM)
Not only difference in premium, benefit quite different too...
Same policy but different benefits?
MGM
post Aug 20 2019, 12:05 AM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(beyinbe @ Aug 19 2019, 05:31 PM)
Hi. I'm on Allianz power link. I've been asking my agent about procedures for endoscopy so he told me it's claimable if there's diagnosis and required for further treatment. So I asked if I got admitted will the fees be covered and he said most likely.

Today I went to do the scope procedures, only to be told that I'm getting "non guarantee" status and that I'll have to pay myself.
This is because my procedure is investigative in nature, unless it's followed by surgery I won't be able to claim. The agent did ask me to submit all bills to try for claims.

What are the chances of me actually getting reimbursed in this case? Already paid for everything and now I'm broke

IIRC i u could be charged at a higher rate if hospital thought that u r claiming insurance.
MGM
post Aug 20 2019, 11:20 AM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(beyinbe @ Aug 20 2019, 11:04 AM)
Thanks for the link, I'm also looking into the possibility if I should change my agent but not sure how to go around it
Feels that way, it's my first time claiming insurance so I'm pretty lost, the total bill was 3.5k
Yeah I will still try to submit, just that if I knew that it wasn't gonna be claimable I could look for cheaper places
If rm3500 Includes both gastroscopy n colonscopy, then I think it is reasonable.
MGM
post Oct 12 2019, 11:06 PM

18,411 posts

What is the pro n con of having ilp-medical plan vs term-medical assuming same medical benefits?

0.2566sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:40 PM