HR refusing to offer the job without pay slip

SUSkidrawk
post Nov 5 2018, 12:05 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 5 2018, 11:57 AM)
Nah, doesn't work in big companies.

HR can not offer ad hoc increment during middle of the year, they are bounded by increment policies and timing.

Even if you perform really well - they can only increase as per their range for top performers (which is limited once again)

Anything more than their standard increment, have to go up to VP level.
Hmm.. the company I referred to IS a big company. Based on my experiences, regardless of timing once you confirmed, you'll get an increment.. be it big or small company. Maybe I got lucky?

By the way, it just a payslip. As long as they don't offer lower than my previous pay, I don't see any problem with it. Unless, like everybody else here said, you lied about your previous salary. If they say like what I posted earlier, just ask them lah if after confirmation will get increment or not.

Wanted to stay at previous company with previous pay, no need to show your payslip.
Wanted to work at new place with slightly better pay, show your payslip. Simple.
nmb3rs
post Nov 5 2018, 12:06 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 5 2018, 12:05 PM)
4th time - second time not showing pay slip.
all of ur previous companies are MNCs?
TSvanbrah
post Nov 5 2018, 12:07 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(nmb3rs @ Nov 5 2018, 12:06 PM)
all of ur previous companies are MNCs?
Yes - Big global MNCs.
SaberCortez
post Nov 5 2018, 12:08 PM

710 posts

I do the same thing as you. Different company dff culture.
TSvanbrah
post Nov 5 2018, 12:15 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Nov 5 2018, 12:08 PM)
I do the same thing as you. Different company dff culture.
We need more people to do this. HR guy was saying that every other candidate gave the payslip.
SUS2feidei
post Nov 5 2018, 01:32 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 5 2018, 11:59 AM)
Have you given your payslip and got anything more than a 20-30% increment?

I haven't - I did offer my payslip early in my career.
As matter of fact, yes, I do.

My view of salary negotiation is I myself and company come into conclusion what is the "fair" compensation for my experience and skills, regardless of what is my previous pay. So, if either party do not come into such agreement, I would politely decline the offer.

If you goes into the negotiation with the above said mindset, unless you inflated your last drawn salary, then, u got nothing to lose to demand whatever you think you deserve.

If they just offered u 20-30% increment, you can just walk away, declining the offer, nothing to lose. But, if they agree to pay what you expected, you got the job. But, now, by not providing your last drawn salary evidence, u totally blew away the opportunity. Are you telling me that you more than happy to accept current salary which is lower than your "expected min" 20-30% increase?

TSvanbrah
post Nov 5 2018, 01:36 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Nov 5 2018, 01:32 PM)
As matter of fact, yes, I do.

My view of salary negotiation is I myself and company come into conclusion what is the "fair" compensation for my experience and skills, regardless of what is my previous pay. So, if either party do not come into such agreement, I would politely decline the offer.

If you goes into the negotiation with the above said mindset, unless you inflated your last drawn salary, then, u got nothing to lose to demand whatever you think you deserve.

If they just offered u 20-30% increment, you can just walk away, declining the offer, nothing to lose. But, if they agree to pay what you expected, you got the job. But, now, by not providing your last drawn salary evidence, u totally blew away the opportunity. Are you telling me that you more than happy to accept current salary which is lower than your "expected min" 20-30% increase?
In my current company I am doing well and all settled, I have built a good name with the management here.

For 20-30% increment, I have to go to a totally new place (smaller company than my current company actually), work hard and build my name all over again - it’s not worth it for me.
DarkAeon
post Nov 5 2018, 01:41 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 5 2018, 01:36 PM)
In my current company I am doing well and all settled, I have built a good name with the management here.

For 20-30% increment, I have to go to a totally new place (smaller company than my current company actually), work hard and build my name all over again - it’s not worth it for me.
then why did u applied elsewhere? if it's just money, surely you could have negotiated with your management, shouldn't be a problem with your good name is it?

deep down inside u must have wanted something that your current co couldn't give
SUS2feidei
post Nov 5 2018, 01:41 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

That's is what you perceived 20-30% increment. But, since you did not agree to provide your current payslip, and they decided to not offer you, you just lost the opportunity to find out.

It work both way, it might be true that they would just offer 20-30%, then, you can just politely declined, cited that the 20-30% not worth the risk you would need to take, or they might offered you something within your expectation.

The moral of the story, you lost the opportunity to know the outcome.
TSvanbrah
post Nov 5 2018, 01:47 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Nov 5 2018, 01:41 PM)
then why did u applied elsewhere? if it's just money, surely you could have negotiated with your management, shouldn't be a problem with your good name is it?

deep down inside u must have wanted something that your current co couldn't give
I was just “looking out” for any possibility of great offers in the market.

Being happy in one company doesn’t mean I stop looking out.
tishaban
post Nov 5 2018, 01:53 PM

3,615 posts

Many people on LYN act as if the company has all the power and the potential employee doesn't. I think this is a result of a feudal way of thinking and the Power Distance issue (people accept and don't question authority).

I completely support what @vanbrah did. From my point of view, if the company is so rigid and inflexible now, what other processes are they going to follow blindly and not willing to relook into? That's not the type of company I want to work for.

Please post your experiences on glassdoor, payscale etc. not just on LYN

DarkAeon
post Nov 5 2018, 01:57 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 5 2018, 01:47 PM)
I was just “looking out” for any possibility of great offers in the market.

Being happy in one company doesn’t mean I stop looking out.
if u r happy but you still look out, then good luck to your future employers and to you.

don't get me wrong, everyone lives with the choices they make, i hope things will work out for you in the end
raymondwong1808
post Nov 5 2018, 01:59 PM

285 posts

True story from my side. I been to this interview recently, i provided my pay slip too. When the offer came, it was about 20% increment. However, i bargain to the extend of 80% increment. It does takes sometime to nego to this figure.

My opinion is that you have nothing to lose by providing your current payslip. Now you walk away an opportunity without knowing what they going to offer you. They can offer whatever figure to you, if you happy, just take it else just walk away.
Topace111
post Nov 5 2018, 02:00 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 5 2018, 11:34 AM)
I have been interviewing with this big company (MNC) - already pass 3 stages of interview with hiring manager, head of department and now final stage with HR.

Hiring manager and head of department all liked me a lot but HR now is refusing to proceed with my application without my pay slip.

I just kept telling them to pay me as per the value of the job - they said they cant do that, its against their process.

Can only proceed with pay slip.

I ended by not giving it - and of course, I lost the job opportunity.

Has anyone else been in this situation?
Malaysia law state that HR cannot simply request for your personal information unless you are willing to sign the PDPA form. Most company in Malaysia make it a mandatory SOP to include this provision in before HR even process your job application. Hence, it’s a norm in Malaysia to request for pay slip which is also one of the most reliable document to prove your background.

The law prohibiting payslip is still a new trend. In US, only a few states legalize this such as New York. Some large companies adopt this such as Amazon who ask the HR not to request for payslip. Why this is a trend then? Companies such as Amazon know they are the market leader in their field and they can match almost any company pay. Same thing if you are applying to very large corporations or leading firms. Some have fixed pay grade scale so they don’t even care how much you earn as it’s all fixed range.

I am just curious on why you don’t reject only after knowing the final offer? It may / may not affect the offer package. Just giving away a piece of information may not be heavily detrimental to your bargaining power. It’s like playing chess, everybody hates to lose their queen but it does not mean the game is over. Furthermore, if you are a senior management or a director of a PLC in Malaysia, your salary is public disclosure anyway.

If you want to play chess with them, you have to understand the battlefield too. If you are applying to them, it means you are subject to their SOP. Then you rigged it to your favor by impressing the management of your creds. If the management like you enough, they can change HR SOP. Yes, that’s the inconvenient truth. Management can bypass the max 30% max if they really like you. It’s just most management are indifferent and nonchalant unless the candidate is really impressive. You can pick up the hint during interview. Technically it depends on the corporation also. Some HR are more powerful than the other counterpart. I am not sure which rank you are right now but for higher management position, normally the 30% max rule rarely comes in. The SOP is designed so HR don’t simply match the candidate asking price. The higher the level, the more flexible the arrangement is. It will also have a caveat for management to exceed the limit if they justify.

tailangong
post Nov 5 2018, 02:13 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 5 2018, 11:59 AM)
Have you given your payslip and got anything more than a 20-30% increment?

I haven't - I did offer my payslip early in my career.
Yes, most of the time
omnimech
post Nov 5 2018, 02:15 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

Honestly, I think this mindset is wrong.

You are right in the sense that they shouldn't pay you 20 - 30% increment to go to a new environment.

But exactly, that's why I said the pay slip is in your favour not theirs .

I have negotiated for way higher than 20 - 30%

Willing buyer, willing seller. If they value my knowledge and experience, they pay me my asking price. (within reason of course, know your worth, don't be arrogant)

Thats my 2 cents.
omnimech
post Nov 5 2018, 02:15 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

double post

This post has been edited by omnimech: Nov 5 2018, 02:15 PM
TSvanbrah
post Nov 5 2018, 02:19 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(raymondwong1808 @ Nov 5 2018, 01:59 PM)
True story from my side. I been to this interview recently, i provided my pay slip too. When the offer came, it was about 20% increment. However, i bargain to the extend of 80% increment. It does takes sometime to nego to this figure.

My opinion is that you have nothing to lose by providing your current payslip. Now you walk away an opportunity without knowing what they going to offer you. They can offer whatever figure  to you, if you happy, just take it else just walk away.
I didn’t know HR had the power to reject me after hiring manager and HOD has approved.

How did you nego from 20% to 80%? Give some tips.

Furfur
post Nov 5 2018, 02:25 PM

277 posts

It's standard HR SOP best practice. Big companies especially MNC will practice this. EVERYTHING is to be documented with black and white. The pay slip is a document to justify your pay to directors and stakeholders, no matter if they increase or decrease or pay same with market rate or whatever. It's black and white documentation and procedures. You want to work in big company and MNC, you got to follow procedure. Even CEO and MDs need to follow procedure. No exceptions.

This post has been edited by Furfur: Nov 5 2018, 02:27 PM
TSvanbrah
post Nov 5 2018, 02:31 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(VanDriverRocks @ Nov 5 2018, 02:30 PM)
it obvious something fishy..

there is already integrity issues..
Fishy with who?

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:50 AM