HR refusing to offer the job without pay slip

sukhoi35mk
post Nov 6 2018, 02:41 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 6 2018, 02:29 PM)
HR didn’t go background check (calling and verifying job experience) before hiring him?

He was asked to resign after joining your company?
he asked to resign then jobless for few months before came to my company for interview.... actually that fella is good but he not honest with the info provided...

HR will not dig deeper if they not keen to hire that person..... if u have 100-200 applications per month....i doubt HR will wasting time to call 1 by 1...

This post has been edited by sukhoi35mk: Nov 6 2018, 02:42 PM
TreyLey
post Nov 6 2018, 02:43 PM

370 posts

U know what, fake your payslip
ipohmali70
post Nov 6 2018, 02:52 PM

1,133 posts

Back to the subject at hand, it is TS right not to disclose and company's right not to hire.

Nothing right or wrong with that.

Fact is, TS gambled, and he lost. Fair and square.

If you are not prepared to disclose information despite requested, then you'd better be prepared to go home empty handed.

ipohmali70
post Nov 6 2018, 02:55 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(TreyLey @ Nov 6 2018, 02:43 PM)
U know what, fake your payslip
In my previous company, such a case happened.

He was hired and worked happily for 24 days.

Then he was found out and summarily fired for fraud.

Without pay.

For those who want to fake documents and information, this is fair warning to you.
TreyLey
post Nov 6 2018, 02:56 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 6 2018, 02:55 PM)
In my previous company, such a case happened.

He was hired and worked happily for 24 days.

Then he was found out and summarily fired for fraud. 

Without pay.

For those who want to fake documents and information, this is fair warning to you.
well he must have bragged about it with other backstabber colleague

moral of the story, dont brag
ipohmali70
post Nov 6 2018, 03:01 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(TreyLey @ Nov 6 2018, 02:56 PM)
well he must have bragged about it with other backstabber colleague

moral of the story, dont brag
No, he was found out by HR who did a bit of digging.

It was S.O.P.

Not only he lied about his salary, he was dismissed from his previous job.

This guy was my junior only for 24 days. I like him.... But too bad..

TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 03:01 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 6 2018, 02:52 PM)
Back to the subject at hand, it is TS right not to disclose and company's right not to hire.

Nothing right or wrong with that.

Fact is, TS gambled, and he lost.  Fair and square.

If you are not prepared to disclose information despite requested, then you'd better be prepared to go home empty handed.
Did I really lose?

The hiring manager and the Head of Department both approved me. I quote the HOD’s words - “you are the exact type of candidate we want in our company”

Negotiations broke down due to salary agreement - if I look at things the other way, they lost a potential good employee because of HR’s blunder in negotiation. I refused to provide my salary info even though I knew the job was in my hand - who made the call here?

Your mentality speaks volumes on your thoughts - that we should be thankful for employers to offer us a job.

I don’t think of it on the same angle - I see it as a mutual benefiting relationship - I provide my skills, the company pays. There are no winners or losers here - just win-win or no deal.

ipohmali70
post Nov 6 2018, 03:13 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 6 2018, 03:01 PM)
Did I really lose?

The hiring manager and the Head of Department both approved me. I quote the HOD’s words - “you are the exact type of candidate we want in our company”

Negotiations broke down due to salary agreement - if I look at things the other way, they lost a potential good employee because of HR’s blunder in negotiation. I refused to provide my salary info even though I knew the job was in my hand - who made the call here?

Your mentality speaks volumes on your thoughts - that we should be thankful for employers to offer us a job.

I don’t think of it on the same angle - I see it as a mutual benefiting relationship - I provide my skills, the company pays. There are no winners or losers here - just win-win or no deal.
Sorry to break the bubble my friend, but indeed you lost.

You didn't play the game right.

No point if Jesus/Buddha/@11@h himself approved you if HR didn't.

No need to be in denial.

It was a fair fight after all.

You call their bluff, and they call yours.

In my 20+years in HR management, I've seen all kinds of people, too many to count. Every month I have 200+ applications to sift through.

Most go to the trash though.

But I wish you all the best.

OkuboNX
post Nov 6 2018, 03:23 PM

21 posts

Was in the same boat with you, everything was ok with the hiring managers, HOD etc, (just meet them though, no technical questions since they know my skills), have got the rough figure beforehand (about 110% increment), until the Final stage with the HR, they asked for my payslip, which I declined at first, but like you, they need it to proceed, fine, and as I thought they lowballed the salary offer to just about 50% increment, which I declined, talked with the hiring managers, and finally got to nego to about 90% increment, which I accepted. Bottom line, if you're confident of your chances, just proceed to give them, at least open the chance to nego, if their offer doesn't meet your expectation, you can just decline, it's not like your obliged to accept their offer.

Good luck! =)
Lyu
post Nov 6 2018, 03:32 PM

772 posts

Nice going there

A question was being reported

This post has been edited by Lyu: Nov 6 2018, 06:11 PM
SUSi.TECHnocrat
post Nov 6 2018, 03:36 PM

32 posts

My company had one incident similar to yours.

A girl came for interview, the Manager liked her, the Director liked her. But the HR blocked the employment because she disliked the girl talked very ‘deh’. She said this is not the place for people to “flirt”!
matrix88
post Nov 6 2018, 03:36 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(whyamiblack @ Nov 6 2018, 02:40 PM)
It doesn't matter what his pay was, it's his right to keep it confidential. There's a reason why in business there is negotiation based on your value and leverages. Taking past pay as reference not only gives unfair leverage to the company, it also slows and stunts the growth of the employee. I seriously don't understand why employees would defend this. Negotiation is important, it is part of business. Why make their job easier and limit your own growth?
Exactly. Based on that analogy, what matters is what the car is going to bring you. How much the car is going to cost you should be a negotiation between you and the dealer.
difficult to keep it confidential as the company has the right to know, but not necessary using it as bargaining chip to determine your next salary.

I bet TS bluffed on his salary and when he was offered the job, couldn't produce his salary slip as evidence.

anyhow, it is TS's right not to produce and it is the company's right not to hire. no one is right or wrong here

off course also depends on the company and hiring position, if it is high security company, they might even ask for your wife info,
whyamiblack
post Nov 6 2018, 03:43 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Nov 6 2018, 03:36 PM)
difficult to keep it confidential as the company has the right to know, but not necessary using it as bargaining chip to determine your next salary.

I bet TS bluffed on his salary and when he was offered the job, couldn't produce his salary slip as evidence.

anyhow, it is TS's right not to produce and it is the company's right not to hire. no one is right or wrong here

off course also depends on the company and hiring position, if it is high security company, they might even ask for your wife info,
For what other purpose would that info be useful other than using it as bargaining chip to make an offer?

Idk whether TS bluffed or not but at this point it doesn't matter. Employees often wonder why their growth can't match the environment they're in. This is one of it.
SUShuaweie5830
post Nov 6 2018, 03:52 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 5 2018, 11:34 AM)
I have been interviewing with this big company (MNC) - already pass 3 stages of interview with hiring manager, head of department and now final stage with HR.

Hiring manager and head of department all liked me a lot but HR now is refusing to proceed with my application without my pay slip.

I just kept telling them to pay me as per the value of the job - they said they cant do that, its against their process.

Can only proceed with pay slip.

I ended by not giving it - and of course, I lost the job opportunity.

Has anyone else been in this situation?
Yeah , been there done that

Lost the job also, but nvr regret

I always hate HR to be above the operation needs, this kind of company i sure dun wanna join

Well, really depends whether company needs u more , or u need the job more

SUSchickenshit36
post Nov 6 2018, 03:53 PM

509 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 5 2018, 11:59 AM)
Have you given your payslip and got anything more than a 20-30% increment?

I haven't - I did offer my payslip early in my career.
I did.
I went through a headhunter though so I knew their max range. Plus I was ok with where I was, so I thought why not see how far I can push the envelope. It paid off.
Of course the hr was reluctant since my payslip showed I asked for a sizeable increment and I had also just moved jobs 6 months prior but the headhunter fought for me coz I said I won’t leave unless it’s min x amount

This post has been edited by chickenshit36: Nov 6 2018, 03:54 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 6 2018, 03:55 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(whyamiblack @ Nov 6 2018, 03:43 PM)
For what other purpose would that info be useful other than using it as bargaining chip to make an offer?

Idk whether TS bluffed or not but at this point it doesn't matter. Employees often wonder why their growth can't match the environment they're in. This is one of it.
Most likely is to use to look at what to offer the person. Not necessarily a bargaining chip, but in MNCs, anything above X% will have to be approved by higher authority, thus they will need the payslip to back it up, especially if someone uses bonus to form part of their new salary requirements.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 6 2018, 03:56 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 5 2018, 11:57 AM)
Nah, doesn't work in big companies.

HR can not offer ad hoc increment during middle of the year, they are bounded by increment policies and timing.

Even if you perform really well - they can only increase as per their range for top performers (which is limited once again)

Anything more than their standard increment, have to go up to VP level.
Since when HR cannot offer ad hoc increment?
patricktoh
post Nov 6 2018, 03:56 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 6 2018, 10:24 AM)
This happens more often than you think.

In my team, the range between the lowest and highest paying employee is RM10K - all doing the same job.
Do you think this is right? Salary different as much of 10k but do the same job? Unless this 10k only represents 20% of the salary ie 40k vs 50k. No wonder you started this thread. Ha...
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 6 2018, 03:59 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 6 2018, 12:00 PM)
Every company wants their employees to work their way to the top, and not to jump to the top.

Employment candidates who job hop frequently are not considered for employment at all.  Totally no loyalty there.  Not worth the money for investment.

Still got people seriously believe in this myth.
patricktoh
post Nov 6 2018, 04:01 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 6 2018, 01:54 PM)
Kesian wanna tunjuk macho backfire now come here rant.

You have a right not to show your payslip. They also have the right not to offer you a role.

If you are that good, they will bend over backwards to hire you. If you get stunted because of a payslip, you are not that good of a talent.
+2

15 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0209sec    1.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:58 PM