post Apr 2 2019, 09:10 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(GBP56 @ Apr 2 2019, 08:43 PM)
Even just like sims and stuff? πŸ€”
Yep MX150 can pack the punch , go youtube videos and take a look at it

You can play AAA games at 720p at medium/low settings. For games like Sims i think you can crank the graphics higher and can enjoy it.....It does gaming way better vs UHD 620

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PRrheooAFUQ (WARNING : INDIAN ACCENT)
ijan
post Apr 3 2019, 01:23 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

Been using the company issued Acer P645. First time pakai excellent Acer laptop, black, carbon fibre, solid shit.

Now waiting for my new T490 delivery after considering all those HP Elitebook 840/1040, Surface and the Dell series. XPS and the Spectre I think going abit over for business notebook, same goes for Surface series.

Chose the T490 for the WL and a smaller form factor compared to the T480. I dun need much storage, thus the 256GB and 16GB ram pun cukup la.
lightbringer
post Apr 3 2019, 04:40 PM

395 posts

Need recommendation

1. Budget : RM3000 - 4500
2. Usage: Internet surfing, youtube, light to medium gaming (preferably can run most modern games in medium to high setting)
3. Size: 14"+
4. Brand: No brand preference, but prefer those with good after-sales services, also prefer common brand aka those I can get easily from local shop, no need to import

My current laptop is Asus N43SL which I have been using for 8 years. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lightbringer: Apr 3 2019, 06:22 PM
dylan_chng
post Apr 3 2019, 04:55 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(lightbringer @ Apr 3 2019, 04:40 PM)
Need recommendation

1. Budget : RM3000 - 4000
2. Usage: Internet surfing, youtube, light to medium gaming (preferably can run most modern games in medium to high setting)
4. Brand: No brand preference, but prefer those with good after-sales services, also prefer common brand aka those I get get easily from local shop, no need to import

My current laptop is Asus N43SL which I have been using for 8 years.  sweat.gif
Illegear Raven. A few quirks but otherwise ok.
TSpandera999
post Apr 3 2019, 05:49 PM

λͺ¨λ“  κ²ƒβ€‹μ—λŠ” μ •ν•΄μ§„ λ•Œβ€‹κ°€ μžˆμœΌλ‹ˆ
6,214 posts

Need recommendation

4. Brand: No brand preference, but prefer those with good after-sales services, also prefer common brand aka those I get get easily from local shop, no need to import

wahh.. the hot model back then.. lol... with this price... Illegear will give you best bang for bucks.. but its 15". with 14", MSI 14-inch FHD PS42 8M-432MY
lightbringer
post Apr 3 2019, 06:27 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 3 2019, 05:49 PM)
wahh.. the hot model back then.. lol... with this price...  Illegear will give you best bang for bucks..  but its 15".  with 14", MSI 14-inch FHD PS42 8M-432MY
Yup, that time I bought for less than RM3k, and can run most modern games in medium high settings. rclxms.gif

Seems like many people are recommending Illegear, after some quick study, seems like it is a local company that sells custom-built laptops, their reputation very good?
Also, their service center is in KL, but I live in Penang, so might be hard if I need to service the laptop. sweat.gif
prasys
post Apr 3 2019, 07:09 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(lightbringer @ Apr 3 2019, 06:27 PM)
Yup, that time I bought for less than RM3k, and can run most modern games in medium high settings.  rclxms.gif
Seems like many people are recommending Illegear, after some quick study, seems like it is a local company that sells custom-built laptops, their reputation very good?
Also, their service center is in KL, but I live in Penang, so might be hard if I need to service the laptop.  sweat.gif
They have presence in Lowyat.net , they basically buy barebone laptops , assemble it

It's cheap and powerful for your gaming needs. Of course it has some downsides but for the price you are getting pretty good quality.

Just opt for the next day delivery/on-site service - so at least someone will collect and send your laptop !
diaBoliQu3
post Apr 3 2019, 08:15 PM

β˜† Untitled β˜†
5,631 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Mar 24 2019, 09:51 PM)
VM ? Oh boy you gotta pump it up even more
Try Shopee , people sell 'cheap' keys. Now where they are sourced from , I am not too sure but it can be legally activated. Bought Windows 10 Pro upgrade from Shoppe
Yeah... Running Windows 7/ 10 in Linux host. How big should I pump it? mega_shok.gif
ZM Fong
post Apr 3 2019, 08:50 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Apr 3 2019, 01:23 PM)
Been using the company issued Acer P645. First time pakai excellent Acer laptop, black, carbon fibre, solid shit.

Now waiting for my new T490 delivery after considering all those HP Elitebook 840/1040, Surface and the Dell series. XPS and the Spectre I think going abit over for business notebook, same goes for Surface series.

Chose the T490 for the WL and a smaller form factor compared to the T480. I dun need much storage, thus the 256GB and 16GB ram pun cukup la.
T490 is basically Ultrabook, not a true business laptop IMO. T480 is better IMO

Can also consider Latitude 7390/7490 and Travelmate X3410. Why not Elitebook 800 series?
ZM Fong
post Apr 3 2019, 08:50 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

Need recommendation

4. Brand: No brand preference, but prefer those with good after-sales services, also prefer common brand aka those I can get easily from local shop, no need to import

Any preference on weight and battery life?
lightbringer
post Apr 3 2019, 08:56 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 3 2019, 08:50 PM)
Any preference on weight and battery life?
Don't care about battery life, since I will use it plugged to socket all the time.

As for weight, of course would prefer lighter, but I don't really mind if it is too heavy since I would rarely bring it out.

This post has been edited by lightbringer: Apr 3 2019, 09:00 PM
ZM Fong
post Apr 3 2019, 08:59 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(lightbringer @ Apr 3 2019, 08:56 PM)
Don't care about battery life, since I will use it plugged all the time.

As for weight, of course would prefer lighter, but I don't really mind if it is too heavy since I would rarely bring it out.
can check my gaming laptop list for more options, though prices are outdated and some options aren't available more
dylan_chng
post Apr 3 2019, 10:29 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(lightbringer @ Apr 3 2019, 06:27 PM)
Yup, that time I bought for less than RM3k, and can run most modern games in medium high settings.  rclxms.gif
Also, their service center is in KL, but I live in Penang, so might be hard if I need to service the laptop.  sweat.gif
I own Illegear Raven in Penang. Recently I screwed something up and they have been very accommodating so far.
ijan
post Apr 4 2019, 09:03 AM

3,448 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 3 2019, 08:50 PM)
T490 is basically Ultrabook, not a true business laptop IMO. T480 is better IMO

Can also consider Latitude 7390/7490 and Travelmate X3410. Why not Elitebook 800 series?
No one is able to give clear review on the T490 since its still quite new and not yet available in the US. Thinkpad due to the trackpoint and the keyboard, and the supposed durability. I 90% of the time docked laptop, but that 10% of the time, I really need mobility and durability, but not so on the battery life. 6H is very good in my job applicaiton. I'm looking for an Ultrabook, the T490 seems masih boleh pakai with full sized ports (almost all, sad no D-SUB) and all.

I just noticed the newer Acer X3 and X5 (Swift 5). And suprisingly qute cheap. But Acer is Acer, and I think the P series is still better than the X series. But If i'm going this route, I'd rather go with the T480, or budget wise, L/E480.

Elitebook, keyboard not up to my usual comfort level. And color gamut/brightness not that important, when im travelling, its airport, plane, hotels saja. I dun do work like hipster/ig kids at coffee shop, haha!

But thanks for the info, eye opener, haha!
ijan
post Apr 4 2019, 09:05 AM

3,448 posts

ZM Fong You have any suggestion for okay okay cheap reliable USB-C dock?

Min of course, dual digital display (hdmi/dp/dvi) for my dual monitor, and better kalau dpt charge one go.
ZM Fong
post Apr 4 2019, 04:19 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Apr 4 2019, 09:03 AM)
snip
Why I don't like the new T490:
Thinner = less durable (and more expensive)
1 soldered RAM, 1 free RAM slot
No more extra large battery, no external battery
No RJ45

If you're fine with these, it's buyable

Can also consider L and E series, but you're stuck with low sRGB display (except for L380 Yoga/L390 Yoga)
ZM Fong
post Apr 4 2019, 04:22 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Apr 4 2019, 09:05 AM)
Not familiar with USB-C dock, sorry
JetThrower
post Apr 4 2019, 06:43 PM

28 posts

Hi, I'm looking a for a laptop for my sister who is apparently working in a company which doesnt provide an office laptop for her. The given given budget is only RM2K and given that I am active in the PC scene I know that is not enough for what she needs to be working on.Shes a graphic designer and she is working with Adobe, Dimensions, Dreamweaver, Illustrator, Photoshop and other stuffs that typical graphic designer needs. Is there any suitable laptop within that budget that fits my sister's work? Any suggestions are appreciated.

This post has been edited by JetThrower: Apr 4 2019, 07:50 PM
prasys
post Apr 4 2019, 07:17 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(JetThrower @ Apr 4 2019, 06:43 PM)
Hi, I'm looking a for a laptop for my sister who is apparently working in a company which doesnt provide an office laptop for her. The given given budget is only RM2K and given that I am active in the PC scene I know that is not enough for what she needs to be working on.Shes a graphic designer and she is working with Adobe, Dimensions, Dreamweaver, Illustrator, Photoshop and other stuffs that typical graphic designer needs. Is there any suitable laptop within that budget that fits my sister's work? Any suggestions are appreciated.
2K is pretty bad if she's going to get one for her own personal laptop. I am not sure which sort of company doesnt' provide a laptop for graphics design at all

This post has been edited by prasys: Apr 4 2019, 09:01 PM
prasys
post Apr 4 2019, 07:18 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Apr 4 2019, 09:05 AM)

Min of course, dual digital display (hdmi/dp/dvi) for my dual monitor, and better kalau dpt charge one go.
Got a few branded one like Aukey. Look for with Power Delivery so you could charge the computer and all.

Cheap one costs about RM 199 ya

155 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0172sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:53 AM