126 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Bottom

Gerbils Hut V5, I wont bite you, I wont stink either!

akachester
post Sep 8 2007, 09:19 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(holyghost @ Sep 8 2007, 08:50 PM)
my 2 boyz doesnt seem to like me. sad.gif i put the sp deh(new pup) on my palm n he thump on my palm. the sp agouti(the alpha) try dig n 'bite'(definitely not 'nip') my palm trying to get away. is it i shouldnt put them on my palm? instead i should just put them on a clear space n let them run about while i just sit beside n watch?
Just give them some time to bond with you..Spend more time to play with them and hold them. They will surely get used to you smile.gif
holyghost
post Sep 8 2007, 09:43 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Sep 8 2007, 09:19 PM)
Just give them some time to bond with you..Spend more time to play with them and hold them. They will surely get used to you  smile.gif
i hope so too. but the sp agouti really seem like 'drifting' away from me. sad.gif
dien
post Sep 8 2007, 09:49 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Sep 8 2007, 09:37 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif my agouti just pass away ....about 7.00pm just now, i still play with them and feed them water...but at 8.30 just now, suddenly i want to go see them, then saw the agouti lie on an unsual sleeping spot, and when i hold him, his body already hard. but still warm.... cry.gif  why like that one? he is not hurt or anything........... sad.gif  besides, he is only one year old plus.
sorry to hear that..
R.I.P
QUOTE(holyghost @ Sep 8 2007, 09:50 PM)
my 2 boyz doesnt seem to like me. sad.gif i put the sp deh(new pup) on my palm n he thump on my palm. the sp agouti(the alpha) try dig n 'bite'(definitely not 'nip') my palm trying to get away. is it i shouldnt put them on my palm? instead i should just put them on a clear space n let them run about while i just sit beside n watch?
just give some more time..
later they will be ok with you.. smile.gif
hao
post Sep 9 2007, 12:57 AM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Sep 8 2007, 08:37 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif my agouti just pass away ....about 7.00pm just now, i still play with them and feed them water...but at 8.30 just now, suddenly i want to go see them, then saw the agouti lie on an unsual sleeping spot, and when i hold him, his body already hard. but still warm.... cry.gif  why like that one? he is not hurt or anything........... sad.gif  besides, he is only one year old plus.
Sorry to hear that prophet007 sad.gif
nezumitaro
post Sep 9 2007, 01:48 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

oh dear so sorry, but is there any sign b4? bleeding nose? or anything.... what bedding u using? feeding anything extra?

give them more time... smile.gif
jaswwp
post Sep 9 2007, 01:50 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

I'm sorry for your loss, was he losing any weight? Check the teeth too in case its overgrown... Some of my gerbils also died at 1 year plus, I suspected they chew the wire I used to hang my bottle too much until it became a bit rusty and poison themselves,but not sure also.
zoejehuty
post Sep 9 2007, 02:31 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Sep 8 2007, 10:12 AM)
thanks for sharing... i try to load it...tongue.gif not sure if i know how to do.. hahaha
jus quote all the thing into the front page lo,
or else if want then i make it dun in spoiler then u can easily copy and paste lo.

QUOTE(dien @ Sep 8 2007, 05:17 PM)
zoejehuty, i like your DIY cage of the bottles..
sure they will not damage the bottles..
thanks for your compliment, in some point they wont bite the bottle, they will jus bite the wire, but sometimes if some of the edge that they can find then they might bite, but possibility is very rare la.

sory to hear that, RIP for your agouti.

jus give them sometimes, mine also like that. especially for the male, female still ok.
the male i have now also like that, is like totally scared of me,
when i wanna to get hold of him, he run, when manage to get hold, then i put on my palm, he same like u, dig and nip(not bite), and in the same time, he crawl very hard, mostly feel hurt a bit, not from nip, but from crawl.
but then now still ok already, not so scared, but i still no take him out la, jus put my hand inside the tank and play with him.
let him use to my hand then only try to take it out and play.
all u need is jus patient, jus give them sometime and u try to give more time to play with them, dun neglect them.
prophet007
post Sep 9 2007, 07:17 AM

1,048 posts

thx guys. but no sign of bleeding nose, or overgrown tooth. Ya, i also scared they chew the wire, so i use the plastic thing but not secure so the bottle drop down. by the way, I use Delikate Bedding and feed the normal amount of food. But as always, the agouti is a bit thinner if compared to others. I am so regret that I didnt capture a pic of him....sad.gif
kamikazwe
post Sep 9 2007, 11:26 AM

350 posts

sorry to hear bout your agouti prophet007...may it rest in peace...
babymoli
post Sep 9 2007, 02:52 PM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

Sorry for your lost prophet007. May him RIP.

May be anyone of us here should change the wire once a while. Last time i did find 1 of my boys chew the wire as well. So i make sure i change it once i see it's started to rust.
hao
post Sep 9 2007, 03:43 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

I've seen a lot of gerbil keepers use wire mesh, from cage to bottle holder and I've searched high and low about the hazard of the wire mesh to the gerbils but I don't find any yet. Maybe the quality of the wire mesh here is bad than the one from overseas?
zoejehuty
post Sep 9 2007, 04:05 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

for the wire part, u need to check it frequently
if those of your gerbils didnt chew the wire then is ok.
if for those chew one, then u need to make sure the wire not rusted
and when u clean it also make sure u not rust it, if got water on it jus wipe it off, basic science logic.
like hao said, still cant find any hazard info about it, so jus to make sure all the thing is ok lo
hao
post Sep 9 2007, 04:30 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

Or is there anything like stainless steel wire mesh available here?
prophet007
post Sep 9 2007, 05:51 PM

1,048 posts

i only saw my black chew the coconut hanger....but no rust. should I remove it? or is it stainless steel? basically, my tank has no wire...except for the coco hanger.

it is so sudden. one hour before still ok one. then after one hr die d....haiz...so guys, take good care of ur babies b4 too late.
zoejehuty
post Sep 9 2007, 07:03 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

hmm... maybe there is something happen on that we dunno about it...
prophet007
post Sep 9 2007, 08:14 PM

1,048 posts

ya.....but everything seems so normal...sad.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 9 2007, 09:11 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

prophet007

Sorry for your lost. Really puzzling and also heartbreaking when our pets die with no reason..... I have gone through that many times already. Now just watch out and take care.
prophet007
post Sep 9 2007, 10:00 PM

1,048 posts

ya...s0 sad...just now wan to divide some apples for them, then cut into 5 pieces, but then realised I just left 4....think need some time to get used....the tank looks a bit empty now...
zoejehuty
post Sep 10 2007, 12:00 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

hmm... i experience it b4 as well, not gerbils, is my hamster, but then also the same thing...
jus watch out and take care them lo
nezumitaro
post Sep 10 2007, 09:32 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

where u put the gerbil tank? if within one hour it is really a suddent.. too hot?gerbil can hv heartattack ah ??

126 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:38 AM