26 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Gerbils Hut V5, I wont bite you, I wont stink either!

nezumitaro
post Jun 2 2007, 09:04 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

quote jaswwp

1. How to DIY a water bottle hanger

One of the popular problems faced by gerbil owners is the issue of how to provide a source of water for gerbils. Although a dish can be used, but most of the time the gerbil will bury the dish in shavings, making the bedding wet. It is important for a gerbil to have water especially if it is pregnant or nursing. Gerbils have been known to reabsorb fetuses or even eat a pup to get the water it needs if water is not provided.

There are many types of bottles available on the market. If you are able to find a bottle with those suckers or those that stick to the tank wall then it is good, however sometimes the gerbils will chew the suckers or the water bottle itself.
If you have the type of bottle that points downwards, you can hang it from the tank cover, however if you have the normal type of bottle, the kind without a small hole at the top for you to hang wire through..you might have to make a bottle holder yourself.

Example:
Water bottle with no hole at the top provided.

Water bottle with hole provided at the top
2. How to make a split cage

Why need a split cage? Note that gerbils have very short memories and can forget their friends in 3 days or even less. If you have to seperate your gerbils because of breeding but wish to reintroduce them at a later date, you should use a split cage so that they can still see and smell each other. New gerbils can also be introduced in this way for a few days, so that there is less chance of fighting when you finally put them together. Remember that gerbils can fight to the death, dont think that they look so loving and tame to their friends, once they see an unknown gerbil they can fight viciously and cause very serious wounds. I'm speaking from experience here.

This is the simplest split cage you can make for a plastic tank. The sides are rubber hose split into half, the purpose is so that you can wedge the whole thing into the tank, and it wont move or slip. Remember that plastic tanks are wider at the top than at the bottom, so you have to take that into account when cutting and bending the wire mesh. Try to use metal wire mesh with small holes, with big holes the gerbils will keep on chewing at it, and hurt their noses. Make sure it is tall enough, gerbils can climb up the split and crawl through any small spaces at the top.
3. Alternative to tanks

Gerbils given birth and you want to seperate the dad from the mum? Or perhaps your gerbil has fallen sick and you want to seperate it from the other healthy ones temporarily. If you can't get a tank at short notice, you can use a storage box

This is just to give a general idea. Note that the top should be securely fastened, else the gerbil will escape. Usually I put the storage box lid on top covering half the wire, and something heavy on top, but more pegs should do the trick as well.

quote Zoejehuty

small bottle design, put at the corner of tank, this one is for small tank.

this one is i put for the habitrail cover

this is the design for big bottle hanging on the corner of tank, a bit ugly design i think, but works for me.
see there is a like door like that in the lower part, that is to cover the lower part of the bottle from bite
coz b4 this i didnt put the cover up, then jus side cage only, end up they bite the lower part of bottles.
user posted image >>> this design is the one that use on below picture

see the white masking tape there, is the place where my gerbs bite it, got one small hole.
so i put masking tape on it then use uhu gam to glue on the side on the masking tape.
coz i duwan put the gam on the hole direct coz sacred later the gam suck inside the bottle.
if u carefully see on top of the bottle, there still got cage protect it, that is extra one, not from the original design.
this is to prevent from biting the top of the bottle, b4 this i got put also, but then jus cover a bit, now put almost cover the whole top

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Sep 8 2007, 10:59 AM
nezumitaro
post Jun 2 2007, 09:05 PM

4,711 posts

SEXING GERBIL:

WE HAVE GERBILS IN VARIOUS COLOURS AS BELOW:

Black Eyed, White Belly

Black Eyed, Solid Belly

Ruby Eyed, White Belly

Ruby Eyed, Solid Belly

More:

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Jul 11 2007, 02:53 PM
nezumitaro
post Jun 2 2007, 09:06 PM

4,711 posts

Basic Cost:

Plastic Tank: 1.5ft - $28; 2ft -$38
Bedding (recommend Chipsi Classic/Super or Corn Cob): $18 - $25
Hay (Alfafa or Thimoty): $12 - $20
Food: Hamster food. $8 - $20+ depand on brand. (Nezumitaro's Gerbil love Prestige Hamster Nature $17+.)
Water Bottle: $7 - $20 depand on brand.
Toy: Paper Box, Cardboard, Manila Cardboard, toilet roll / kitchen towel tube.

Home Sweet Home:

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Jun 11 2007, 09:37 AM
nezumitaro
post Jun 2 2007, 09:07 PM

4,711 posts

Intro:

quote Babymoli
Intro no need bigger room. Just need a split cage. The tank must have only bedding, water bottle & food bowl. Other things must be out. Change your bedding & wash your tank with detergent before intro-ing. Put the new one inside the split cage & inside the tank. Once you are free, you can start intro them by placing them on a place around 2ft wide such as table one by one. First will be the new fella, then the old fella which you feel is the less dominant one. Watch them carefully. If you see them sniffing each other & don't move, use a cloth to separate them. Once you feel they can get along after few minutes, put in another & repeat the steps till the last one in. If you see the new one like panic then must keep an eye on him/her. If others go sniff him/her & he/she runs away, others will chase him/her. So separate them with cloth.

Split Cage:

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Oct 12 2007, 11:53 AM
nezumitaro
post Jun 2 2007, 09:07 PM

4,711 posts

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Jun 11 2007, 10:28 AM
nezumitaro
post Jun 4 2007, 09:05 AM

4,711 posts

welcome back everyone!! lol moli so good to see coffee is in the clan now!
nezumitaro
post Jun 4 2007, 11:23 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(babymoli @ Jun 4 2007, 10:36 AM)
Hahaha... Me also glad o... That day purposely went to aka place just to intro Coffee into the clan coz he had been in the temporary cage for around 1 month. Then i found out that they were ok when they were out of the tank. Once in tank, Coffee tended to become stress & made others like to chase him (even Teh Boy also chased him  sweat.gif ).

The first intro was failed. So after 1 hour i intro them again but this time i let them played on aka's chair for around 1 1/2 hours before putting them back into the tank. Poor aka is that his chair becomes their toilet. Full of poo(s) & almost 1/2 of the chair is wet. Lol... Then after that i put them back into the tank & watched them. Once i saw one of that 4 fellas stopped & sniffing Coffee, i pushed him away so that Coffee wouldn't get panic. 1 hour plus i sat there & watching them.

Finally Coffee wasn't that panic & started to play with them. phew~~ Watched them another 1/2 hour before i went back home. Eventhough sitting hours there watching them but worth it coz Coffee is in the clan now.  rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif  laugh.gif
yes very happy to know coffee is in the clan smile.gif

nezumitaro
post Jun 5 2007, 10:05 AM

4,711 posts

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Jun 5 2007, 01:29 PM
nezumitaro
post Jun 5 2007, 11:03 AM

4,711 posts

hahhah its clay smile.gif will make more soon.
nezumitaro
post Jun 5 2007, 01:32 PM

4,711 posts

i had edit photo above.. here more

nezumitaro
post Jun 5 2007, 01:34 PM

4,711 posts

aka u teh boy baba, u make for him lah... then got baba smell hahhaha..
nezumitaro
post Jun 5 2007, 01:51 PM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(babymoli @ Jun 5 2007, 01:42 PM)
Foo, the cave is so nice. They all seem so enjoying with the cave. Do you spray the cave with the clear spray?
yes i did, so at least can wipe, anyway i am trying an other one without spray and wipe see if can tahan.
nezumitaro
post Jun 5 2007, 02:45 PM

4,711 posts

i got mine from subang, ikano can get too also.
nezumitaro
post Jun 6 2007, 04:51 PM

4,711 posts

lol clay = gerbil toy, no out topic ler hahahhaa.....
nezumitaro
post Jun 6 2007, 05:07 PM

4,711 posts

lol what to do? later hun scold me hahahhaa....

but its really FUN lah!!!
nezumitaro
post Jun 7 2007, 09:31 AM

4,711 posts

morning..... my 2nd project...

nezumitaro
post Jun 7 2007, 10:28 AM

4,711 posts

lol hahahhahahah..... now i like to make the cave soooo much, crasy for it now.... wait one day i finished my tanks, if hand still itchy, will make and sell lah heheh..

arraille, hv to wait maybe next week or 2 more weeks lah, i finished all already, wait i go buy more ok smile.gif but no packing one lah, just like mud.
nezumitaro
post Jun 7 2007, 10:49 AM

4,711 posts

yes ah in plastic bag loh hahahha... some more is rice bag! hahhahahha gaint rice bag!!!
nezumitaro
post Jun 7 2007, 11:07 AM

4,711 posts

theirs hahahhaha....LOL... really one ah!!!! i may get more this sat, if i do i take pic show u hhhahahaha..
nezumitaro
post Jun 7 2007, 01:47 PM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(arraille @ Jun 7 2007, 12:10 PM)
this 'batu caves' fit for 2ft tank is it...? how much clay u used to make this size...?
terima kasih... thank u... toche toche... sieh sieh... moli... notworthy.gif
canot really remember the small cave is about 4- 5kgs. yes ths big one is in a 2ft tank:)

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Jun 7 2007, 12:15 PM)
haha, this tank is really really heavy
hahha if not moving the tank here n there then ok lah.. but for me still not that heavy loh...tongue.gif big mama here... but i think my rack need a heavy duty rack liao hahah..

this is how the gerbils can go..

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Jun 7 2007, 02:01 PM

26 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0415sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:20 PM