Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

OOKAS
post Apr 1 2019, 10:00 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Mar 30 2019, 04:57 PM)
blacktubi or anyone else
Need help please. I have narrowed down my choices to TP-link MR200 or Huawei E5186 or Huawei E5577.  Having read reviews, it seems that Huawei is better than TP but am not sure how true it is if I'm using it in Malaysia under Yoodo (part of Celcom internet).

Huawei E5577 was recommended by someone in Yoodoo website (that's why I'm considering it) but am not sure how does it compare to my other 2 choices above. Also, read that Huawei E5186 is better than TP-link MR200 but for a IT noob like me, maybe not so advisable to get Huawei? Even for Huawei E5186, there's several types like E5186-22a, 61a. How do I choose?

With regards, to speed, if I can get at least 4Mbps I'm ok.

Am really at a loss. cry.gif  Any help is appreciated.
On hardware specs , E5186 is better than TP-LInK MR200, since E5186 support CAT6 network which maximum download speed can up to 300Mbps, but of course your Telco need to provide this speed also lah, for now 300Mbps download speed still hard to get in Malaysia. MR200 is CAT4, maximum download speed is 150Mbps.

But one thing need to know that, seems most Huawei E5186 are imported Telco set, mean there are not official warranty by Huawei Malaysia, also warranty terms only 1 to 12 months (depends on seller). Not like MR200, which have official 3 years warranty by TP-LINK Malaysia.

E5577 is a portable router, not same range with above two.
OOKAS
post Apr 1 2019, 10:00 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(maruteamatklang @ Mar 29 2019, 10:12 PM)
Thanks for the clarification. So far satisfy with the A6 but i motice that u need to be really near to the router to get the full speed. I was using 2.4 g and away around 8feet from the router and im able to get only around 50mbps. Side by side i get full 100mbps
This is normal to 2.4Ghz, speed will drop a lot Vs distance due to high interference on 2.4Ghz. Try change to the least busy channel at your area for 2.4Ghz, it might help. But of course, connect to 5Ghz is still the best solution.
SilentVampire
post Apr 1 2019, 10:12 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Mar 31 2019, 11:22 PM)

I have just bought TP link AC2300 and 800mbps:-

1) For wired, use CAT 6 and only able to get 600-700mbps for download

2) I use Iphone XS max and 5Ghz to connect, but only to get 300mbps.

Understand, wireless can't get full speed, but won't be difference so much.

Please advise
Yes, that is normal. Wired is still the best. The iPhone XS is only 2x2 MIMO, so you can't expect too much of it.
carlosandy
post Apr 1 2019, 10:22 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Apr 1 2019, 10:12 AM)
Yes, that is normal. Wired is still the best. The iPhone XS is only 2x2 MIMO, so you can't expect too much of it.
But Wired only able to 600-700mbps? Then I request downgrade to 500 better, no point to pay so high fee but only get 600.
SilentVampire
post Apr 1 2019, 10:52 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Apr 1 2019, 10:22 AM)
But Wired only able to 600-700mbps? Then I request downgrade to 500 better, no point to pay so high fee but only get 600.
Wired should be able to get full speed, but again that varies as TM will claim it is ‘best effort’.
carlosandy
post Apr 1 2019, 11:01 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Apr 1 2019, 10:52 AM)
Wired should be able to get full speed, but again that varies as TM will claim it is ‘best effort’.
Yes, that is unstable speed. Some time 600, some time 700, some time 750, some time drop back 650. I keep on complaint, now they only file in report and sent tech ppl to view.
soonwai
post Apr 1 2019, 11:19 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Apr 1 2019, 11:01 AM)
Yes, that is unstable speed. Some time 600, some time 700, some time 750, some time drop back 650. I keep on complaint, now they only file in report and sent tech ppl to view.
Unstable when doing what? I can get stable speedtests of 830Mbps but it's not very productive.
carlosandy
post Apr 1 2019, 12:18 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 1 2019, 11:19 AM)
Unstable when doing what? I can get stable speedtests of 830Mbps but it's not very productive.
I close all the apps, don't use handphone. Speed test a lot of times, some times 600, some times 500. some times 700, never get 800

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Apr 1 2019, 12:19 PM
soonwai
post Apr 1 2019, 01:21 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Apr 1 2019, 12:18 PM)
I close all the apps, don't use handphone. Speed test a lot of times, some times 600, some times 500. some times 700, never get 800
So you doing speedtest? How? Where? What browser? It'll be much easier to diagnose your prob if you're more specific.
carlosandy
post Apr 1 2019, 04:32 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 1 2019, 01:21 PM)
So you doing speedtest? How? Where? What browser? It'll be much easier to diagnose your prob if you're more specific.
I use IE, Chrome, firefox, Edge to test. Test at home
soonwai
post Apr 1 2019, 05:00 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Apr 1 2019, 04:32 PM)
I use IE, Chrome, firefox, Edge to test. Test at home
I can simulate your problem by using Safari and speedtest.tm.com.my. Results will fluctuate between 500-700Mbps.

My simulated problem is solved by using Firefox and speedtest.tm.com.my. Results consistently at 830-850Mbps.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 1 2019, 05:00 PM
abcn1n
post Apr 1 2019, 05:24 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(OOKAS @ Apr 1 2019, 10:00 AM)
On hardware specs , E5186 is better than TP-LInK MR200, since E5186 support CAT6 network which maximum download speed can up to 300Mbps, but of course your Telco need to provide this speed also lah, for now 300Mbps download speed still hard to get in Malaysia. MR200 is CAT4, maximum download speed is 150Mbps.

But one thing need to know that, seems most Huawei E5186 are imported Telco set, mean there are not official warranty by Huawei Malaysia, also warranty terms only 1 to 12 months (depends on seller). Not like MR200, which have official 3 years warranty by TP-LINK Malaysia.

E5577 is a portable router, not same range with above two.
Thanks OOKAS. Am likely going for the TP-Link MR200 then.
XP750
post Apr 2 2019, 02:39 PM

324 posts

Wow dlink ac5300 drop price to rm999 everywhere!! Anybody knows why?
crayonhuat
post Apr 2 2019, 02:59 PM

29 posts

Is anyone using D-Link 882? How is the wireless performance?
OOKAS
post Apr 2 2019, 05:10 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(XP750 @ Apr 2 2019, 02:39 PM)
Now can get even lower than RM900. D-Link is declaring war with TP-Link, using this model to kill TP-Link C5400, C5400X and C3150.

QUOTE(crayonhuat @ Apr 2 2019, 02:59 PM)
Is anyone using D-Link 882? How is the wireless performance?
You may check at user reviews, seems it have overall very good performance. So far no complains from our buyers yet smile.gif

Suggest you look at blacktubi's review: https://www.blacktubi.com/review/d-link-dir-882-review/

skty
post Apr 2 2019, 05:58 PM

There is only one thing I know. That is I know nothing.
4,506 posts

QUOTE(XP750 @ Apr 2 2019, 02:39 PM)
QUOTE(OOKAS @ Apr 2 2019, 05:10 PM)
Now can get even lower than RM900. D-Link is declaring war with TP-Link, using this model to kill TP-Link C5400, C5400X and C3150.
You may check at user reviews, seems it have overall very good performance. So far no complains from our buyers yet  smile.gif
wow. AC5300 pricing at RM825. so high spec but just a little bit more expensive than the blue cave ac2600 that I bought it last week at RM715. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by skty: Apr 2 2019, 08:09 PM
MGM
post Apr 2 2019, 07:56 PM

18,400 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 29 2019, 10:08 AM)
It is on online exclusive model. Promotion at RM169 on Lazada Birthday recently.
QUOTE(OOKAS @ Mar 29 2019, 01:09 PM)
Hi MGM, we actually recommend you to better wait until you get the A6 then only decide need an access point or not. TL-WR841N is too low specs for 300Mbps bandwidth. By the way, A6 able to work as access point also smile.gif

If you really want to use to tahan for now, can oso lah, but need to expect the bandwidth via WiFi around 40-90mbps.

Delivery from Lazada normally is 2-4 working days, if peak season (like 11.11) 3-5 working days.
haha, thanks for your support  notworthy.gif . I always silently reading and really thank you for supporting and recommending us.

My account created since 2012 but never posted anything haha, so this year I try to really start posting more  smile.gif
I have just received my A6 ordered last Friday, after browsing thru https://www.blacktubi.com/tp-link-unifi/ , looks like I need to get the username n password from 100 or livechat. Called 100 n password will be set within 24 hours, and not immediate.

This post has been edited by MGM: Apr 2 2019, 11:24 PM
abcn1n
post Apr 2 2019, 11:08 PM

2,379 posts

OOKAS or anyone, was trying to get the TP-Link MR200 but the store only had TP-Link MR400. Is it ok to get TP-Link MR400 instead? From 4gltemall comparison, MR400 seems to be better but when I looked at the buyer reviews on Lazada, nobody reviewed on MR400 but plenty of good reviews on MR200.

TSblacktubi
post Apr 3 2019, 12:23 AM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Apr 2 2019, 05:58 PM)
wow. AC5300 pricing at RM825. so high spec but just a little bit more expensive than the blue cave ac2600 that I bought it last week at RM715.  shakehead.gif
The Blue Cave will perform better than the DIR-895L and it comes with a firmware that works well. The Intel chipset on the Blue Cave is really that good.
OOKAS
post Apr 3 2019, 10:42 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Apr 2 2019, 11:08 PM)
OOKAS or anyone, was trying to get the TP-Link MR200 but the store only had TP-Link MR400. Is it ok to get TP-Link MR400 instead? From 4gltemall comparison, MR400 seems to be better but when I looked at the buyer reviews on Lazada, nobody reviewed on MR400 but plenty of good reviews on MR200.
Hi, MR400 is AC1200 and MR200 is AC750, mean MR400 can have higher maximum wireless speed compare to MR200. Other major specs are same. Still not seeing many reviews is because MR200 already in market for almost 3 years, but MR400 is just newly launched last month.

301 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:33 PM