Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

TSblacktubi
post Jun 12 2025, 01:43 PM

-
8,397 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Jun 12 2025, 11:28 AM)
Does anyone know how to get support from Tp-link? My Deco X50-5G seems to be broken and is still under warranty
Walk in to service center at Plaza Berjaya
zxxcats
post Jun 13 2025, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Jun 7 2025, 08:40 AM)
I tried this but new DNS does not stick. Dnsleaktest also says that ytl is resolving my queries. For now, I’m relying on per device manual DNS. However, there are some devices that arent configurable like Sonos speakers.

Anyone else have any idea? If not then I might try using my old Unifi router that is already flashed to openwrt firmware, disable DHCP server on NX200 and have that old router connect via ethernet to act as the DHCP/DNS server to hand out IP address and DNS to all devices in the network.
lht911 P
post Jun 15 2025, 04:33 PM

Probation
19 posts

Hi guys, I factory reset my router and now the router internet led is red color. I am using celcom home fiber, does it mean I need to key in password provided by Celcom to get internet access or need contact them to do setting from their side?

TSblacktubi
post Jun 16 2025, 07:30 PM

-
8,397 posts

QUOTE(lht911 @ Jun 15 2025, 04:33 PM)
Hi guys, I factory reset my router and now the router internet led is red color. I am using celcom home fiber, does it mean I need to key in password provided by Celcom to get internet access or need contact them to do setting from their side?
You need to reconfigure the router

Either you do it yourself or get them to do it for you
wira1979
post Jun 27 2025, 08:26 AM

1,052 posts

Just a quick one. Currently on 500 Mbps Maxis plan and staying in a 1,800 sq ft apartment. Would 2 units of the Deco B65 suffice in this environment as opposed to the BE85?
TSblacktubi
post Jun 27 2025, 09:46 AM

-
8,397 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Jun 27 2025, 08:26 AM)
Just a quick one. Currently on 500 Mbps Maxis plan and staying in a 1,800 sq ft apartment. Would 2 units of the Deco B65 suffice in this environment as opposed to the BE85?
Yes
Narako
post Jun 29 2025, 11:51 AM

what?
705 posts

Hi guys

I have a d link dir x3060z from unifi

I want to setup mesh. But it seems that no one suggests D Link Mesh but always TP-link

Is D-link mesh ok to use?
TSblacktubi
post Jun 29 2025, 12:51 PM

-
8,397 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Jun 29 2025, 11:51 AM)
Hi guys

I have a d link dir x3060z from unifi

I want to setup mesh. But it seems that no one suggests D Link Mesh but always TP-link

Is D-link mesh ok to use?
Better to change whole system

Performance from that router isn't that great
Steven_aka_G
post Jul 2 2025, 03:18 AM

524 posts

Hi sifus, I'll appreciate if you guys could recommend me a good WiFi system for 2000 sqft condo. Running on 600 mbps on Time and ideally I want to be able to get at least 200-300mbps in the rooms furthest from the router.

Thanks in advance!
vkashin
post Jul 7 2025, 08:32 AM

332 posts

Hi sifu-sifu LYN

would like an advice on wireless mesh
I am currently using the D-Link DPN-FX3060V combo box from unifi (black) with 500Mbps plan, currently using the combo box as modem + wifi router mode

if i want to add a wireless mesh to this combo box, would i need specific mesh extender/router from d-link or any AX model from them would work?

Or will it be more cost efficient/better performance to switch it to bridge mode and buy a 2 piece DECO mesh instead?
will be using it in a two-storey intermediate terrace house
TSblacktubi
post Jul 11 2025, 01:52 PM

-
8,397 posts

QUOTE(vkashin @ Jul 7 2025, 08:32 AM)
Hi sifu-sifu LYN

would like an advice on wireless mesh
I am currently using the D-Link DPN-FX3060V combo box from unifi (black) with 500Mbps plan, currently using the combo box as modem + wifi router mode

if i want to add a wireless mesh to this combo box, would i need specific mesh extender/router from d-link or any AX model from them would work?

Or will it be more cost efficient/better performance to switch it to bridge mode and buy a 2 piece DECO mesh instead?
will be using it in a two-storey intermediate terrace house
I think it's better to turn it into bridge mode and use your own mesh system instead

The routing performance of that combo box is kinda slow
Exeunt
post Jul 13 2025, 05:34 PM

828 posts

Hi @blacktubi, is the asus rt ax57 is a good replacement for current asus rt ax55 ?

1k sqft, current issue, signal would drop and connect to 2.4 in master bedroom and toilet,

First year of using ax55 it was great solid 5ghz all around the house
TSblacktubi
post Jul 13 2025, 11:21 PM

-
8,397 posts

QUOTE(Exeunt @ Jul 13 2025, 05:34 PM)
Hi @blacktubi, is the asus rt ax57 is a good replacement for current asus rt ax55 ?

1k sqft, current issue, signal would drop and connect to 2.4 in master bedroom and toilet,

First year of using ax55 it was great solid 5ghz all around the house
Yup, RT-AX57 is good stuff
~~5ive~~
post Jul 17 2025, 02:01 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

If my unifi is installed at foyer area, which is before my main door, is it better if i use mesh system? It is condo unit, 1 floor and around 1500sqft.

my living room tv cabinet area there is LAN cable point, would i be able to put 2nd router there and whether is it a better option?

blackbox14
post Jul 18 2025, 12:04 AM

346 posts

Hi. Currently using a TP Link Archer C9. Looking for upgrade to Wifi 6 or 7.

House type: Landed
Features required: Most important is the ability to stand vertically due to limited space on wall mounted rack. Has to be as compact as possible or at least similar dimensions to Archer C9.
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 10~15
Internet Speed: 500Mbps
Budget: RM400~600

This post has been edited by blackbox14: Jul 18 2025, 12:05 AM
TSblacktubi
post Jul 18 2025, 12:08 AM

-
8,397 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Jul 18 2025, 12:04 AM)
Currently using a TP Link Archer C9. Looking for upgrade to Wifi 6 or 7.

House type: Landed
Features required: Most important is the ability to stand vertically due to limited space on wall mounted rack. Has to be as compact as possible or at least similar dimensions to Archer C9.
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 10~15
Internet Speed: 500Mbps
Budget: RM400~600
Choices kinda limited to fit that price range while being a vertical design

Uhm, perhaps ASUS RT-AX59U or something like TP-Link Deco X50 if you don't mind a mesh?
blackbox14
post Jul 18 2025, 12:15 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 18 2025, 12:08 AM)
Choices kinda limited to fit that price range while being a vertical design

Uhm, perhaps ASUS RT-AX59U or something like TP-Link Deco X50 if you don't mind a mesh?
I think the RT-AX59U is the closest to what I am looking for. Thanks.

Also might not be the right place to ask, but if I am willing to learn to configure them, could the Mikrotik and Ubiquiti routers/gateways be a good idea? I noticed they are quite compact. My other plan is to split the routing and the WiFi management by using the Archer C9 (which I will move elsewhere) as an access point for a much smaller router.
TSblacktubi
post Jul 18 2025, 01:08 PM

-
8,397 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Jul 18 2025, 01:59 AM)
blacktubi
I went over Aruba portfolio and found the 735 to be the same spec and league as the Cisco and Ruckus I compared previously.

Even when you buy in bulk of 5, the per unit cost is still more expensive than Cisco

Their post ArubaOS 10 product is really... Expensive

https://www.cdw.com/product/hpe-aruba-ap735...ss-poin/7982210
Moved the discussion here instead

Not sure how their price structure works overseas but over here in MY, total lifecycle cost of Aruba is always cheaper than Cisco even with Aruba Central factored in
artadi
post Jul 21 2025, 11:56 PM

42 posts

Hi, I’m not into network technicalities. I just let network technician setup my wifi and ready to use. But I know basic like changing ssid and password. Anyway, what I want to achieve is setup vpn to some LAN ports in the wifi router to connect my streaming devices. The wifi connection is without vpn. Is this possible to achieve in a wifi router? If yes, what wifi router can you recommend in 800sqf unit. I’m currently in time 600Mbps internet. TIA
ryuken74
post Jul 22 2025, 06:11 PM

438 posts

Hi all, is there anyway to unlock the ZTE MC888S from UMobile to use other service providers? Thanks

301 Pages « < 293 294 295 296 297 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:54 PM