302 Pages « < 276 277 278 279 280 > » Bottom

Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

yongtjunkit
post May 14 2024, 02:16 PM

2,517 posts

Hi, just wondering which router would be suitable to replace my AX92u node?

Was thinking maybe RT-Ax86U Pro or GT-AX6000
Looking for future speed upgrade to support higher internet speed down the line, if possible I would like a router with long term firmware support (around 3-5 years at least), if ASUS still supports their router like the ac68u... seems like RT-AX86U pro is having better firmware support for some reason rclxub.gif

Current main router is Zenwifi XT8, 1 pack (nodes are connected via Ethernet Backhaul),
Current internet speed is Unifi 500mbps

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: May 14 2024, 03:48 PM
studentsurvey
post May 17 2024, 12:39 AM

212 posts

Hi Sifus,

Can i get help for quick ques.

Internet Package - Time 600mpbs
Available stock modem and router - 2 unit Huawei

From my previous place, i have:
1. Tp-link Deco X90 - 1 unit
2. Tp-link Deco m9 plus - 2 units

Current set-up, i use both the stock huawei modem & router as I just installed the internet. My question is, how do i now use the Decos instead?

I was thinking:
Modem - Huawei stock (do not change)
Connected to Modem - Deco X90 (not sure how to configure, to get the internet yet).
The other two Deco - spread to potential dead spots

Is the above the best configuration?
PRSXFENG
post May 17 2024, 10:25 AM

2,613 posts

QUOTE(studentsurvey @ May 17 2024, 12:39 AM)
Hi Sifus,

Current set-up, i use both the stock huawei modem & router as I just installed the internet. My question is, how do i now use the Decos instead?

I was thinking:
Connected to Modem - Deco X90 (not sure how to configure, to get the internet yet).

looks good
the huawei devices provided are probably 2 in one modem/routers
simply ask time cs to change it over to modem mode
then connect up your deco wan to lan1 of the huawei and setup with pppoe
Omochao
post May 17 2024, 10:26 AM

835 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ May 14 2024, 02:16 PM)

Looking for future speed upgrade to support higher internet speed down the line, if possible I would like a router with long term firmware support (around 3-5 years at least), if ASUS still supports their router like the ac68u... seems like RT-AX86U pro is having better firmware support for some reason rclxub.gif

Current main router is Zenwifi XT8, 1 pack (nodes are connected via Ethernet Backhaul),
For the future, I think max we can go is 1Gbps or 2Gbps, I don't foresee that we may need 5Gbps or more in the future 3-5 years.

QUOTE(studentsurvey @ May 17 2024, 12:39 AM)
Hi Sifus,

I was thinking:

As I know, for TIME subscription, you may need to call their CS to get your modem/router to be set into bridge mode, meaning just for establishing a connection to their Time gateway only. If you want to use your own router or mesh, just simply plug your router/mesh and select under Dynamic IP.

For deco set up, very straightforward, instead of selecting PPPOE mode, you just select Dynamic IP mode, and plug in the lan cable from your TIME device LAN port to the WAN/LAN port of Deco, and from then on, is all automatic. To pair the other Decos is through the usual method by selecting add more decos from the Deco app.
TSblacktubi
post May 17 2024, 10:39 AM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ May 14 2024, 02:16 PM)

If you are using Ethernet backhaul you won't be needing the tri-band for dedicated backhaul

I like the GT-AX6000 as the performance is actually better than RT-AX86U PRO

Better heat dissipation as well due to the much larger heatsink inside, the router itself is much bigger and heavier as well.
yongtjunkit
post May 17 2024, 11:21 AM

2,517 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 17 2024, 10:39 AM)
If you are using Ethernet backhaul you won't be needing the tri-band for dedicated backhaul

I like the GT-AX6000 as the performance is actually better than RT-AX86U PRO

Better heat dissipation as well due to the much larger heatsink inside, the router itself is much bigger and heavier as well.
I see, which one should I put as the main? Zenwifi XT8 V2 (currently set up as main) or (ax86U pro or GX6000)
TSblacktubi
post May 17 2024, 11:59 AM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ May 17 2024, 11:21 AM)
I see, which one should I put as the main? Zenwifi XT8 V2 (currently set up as main) or (ax86U pro or GX6000)
I would use the AX86U / GT-AX6000 as the main due to the much faster CPU and RAM
duabijitelur
post May 17 2024, 02:56 PM

iPhone 6 :D
1,951 posts

im on 300mbps home unifi plan, using Zyxel EX3220-T0 (this first floor)

if i wanna add mesh (ground floor), its better to get another zyxel ex3220?
or any other options initially wanted to get Deco M4 but seems like downgrade to wifi5

TSblacktubi
post May 17 2024, 04:26 PM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ May 17 2024, 02:56 PM)
im on 300mbps home unifi plan, using Zyxel EX3220-T0 (this first floor)

if i wanna add mesh (ground floor), its better to get another zyxel ex3220?
or any other options initially wanted to get Deco M4 but seems like downgrade to wifi5
Depends on your budget. If you add another same model on ground floor, it will give you around 150-250Mbps at best.

Anything more you will need at least an AX3000 system.
myrancid
post May 17 2024, 07:09 PM

355 posts

I'm looking to replace my RT-AX1800HP. Is there any better firewall than this? I blocked youtube on url filter (router) and my 7 yrs old son just use private mode on safari ipad browser and he can watch as usual lol

PRSXFENG
post May 17 2024, 10:55 PM

2,613 posts

QUOTE(myrancid @ May 17 2024, 07:09 PM)

I'm looking to replace my RT-AX1800HP. Is there any better firewall than this? I blocked youtube on url filter (router) and my 7 yrs old son just use private mode on safari ipad browser and he can watch as usual lol
using router based firewall is kinda eh these days

ios has poweful screen time management features, why not use that to restrict instead?
studentsurvey
post May 18 2024, 12:33 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(Omochao @ May 17 2024, 10:26 AM)
For the future, I think max we can go is 1Gbps or 2Gbps, I don't foresee that we may need 5Gbps or more in the future 3-5 years.
As I know, for TIME subscription, you may need to call their CS to get your modem/router to be set into bridge mode, meaning just for establishing a connection to their Time gateway only. If you want to use your own router or mesh, just simply plug your router/mesh and select under Dynamic IP.

For deco set up, very straightforward, instead of selecting PPPOE mode, you just select Dynamic IP mode, and plug in the lan cable from your TIME device LAN port to the WAN/LAN port of Deco, and from then on, is all automatic. To pair the other Decos is through the usual method by selecting add more decos from the Deco app.
Thank you!
studentsurvey
post May 18 2024, 12:34 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ May 17 2024, 10:25 AM)
looks good
the huawei devices provided are probably 2 in one modem/routers
simply ask time cs to change it over to modem mode
then connect up your deco wan to lan1 of the huawei and setup with pppoe
Thank you.. will try tomorrow!

Omochao
post May 18 2024, 11:29 AM

835 posts

block his MAC address, or throttle the device speed to only 1Mbps or lower, just enough for basic surfing and email. Let's see how smart he can go.
TSblacktubi
post May 18 2024, 07:16 PM

-
8,421 posts

ASUS models with AiProtection Pro can block media streaming site entirely

However it’s a blanket block, can’t really whitelist

Can be bypassed easily with a free VPN from the App Store as well
BTS1501
post May 19 2024, 09:24 AM

250 posts

Why so troublesome or need to spend money ??

Just create a guest network and turn it on or off when necessary in your router app (delete/forget all other normal network ssid from the ipad)
mivec024
post May 26 2024, 01:28 PM

Hi sifus,

Last week TM already upgrade my speed to 1Gbps

They change the router and now using combo box DPN FX3060V

Is it possible for me to setup the old router (DIR X1860Z) as mesh

I already reset the old router and try pair it using WPS button but no joy

Is there any method or step that can i use
jiaen0509
post May 26 2024, 03:00 PM

3,307 posts

I just purchased the Asus TUF Pro WiFi-7 BE6500 from Taobao for approximately RM 452, taking advantage of offers from the shop and platform, including cross-border free shipping. I plan to replace my main router, the AX82U, as I need an additional unit for another house. Since this is WiFi7, with 2.5G WAN and LAN.

Currently on Unifi 1Gbps connection using the AX82U and TUF AX5400 as a mesh node. I hope everythings goes smoothly and look forward to sharing more about this WiFi 7 router (although I don’t have Wifi7 devices yet and China vers does not come with 6Ghz).

yongtjunkit
post Jun 1 2024, 12:11 PM

2,517 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 17 2024, 11:59 AM)
I would use the AX86U / GT-AX6000 as the main due to the much faster CPU and RAM
Hi, just wondering what would be the difference in terms of coverage between the TUF AX4200 and Zenwifi XT8 V2?
TSblacktubi
post Jun 1 2024, 01:09 PM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Jun 1 2024, 12:11 PM)
Hi, just wondering what would be the difference in terms of coverage between the TUF AX4200 and Zenwifi XT8 V2?
5GHz-2 of XT8 is really solid, definitely beats the AX4200

5GHz-1 is on par

302 Pages « < 276 277 278 279 280 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:56 PM